More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.44

Awesome58.82%
Worth A Look: 32.35%
Average: 4.9%
Pretty Bad: 1.96%
Total Crap: 1.96%

7 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Black Christmas (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Richard Jewell by Peter Sobczynski

Dachra by Jay Seaver

Little Joe (2019) by Jay Seaver

Knives and Skin by Jay Seaver

Rabid (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Irishman, The by Rob Gonsalves

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project by Rob Gonsalves

Kitchen, The (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Whistleblower, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Grosse Pointe Blank
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"You may well enjoy it a lot more the second time around."
5 stars

Strange case, this movie. So much to appreciate, a little to squirm at. The question is does the good outweigh the bad? The answer is a resounding yes, but perhaps only if you went to school during the 80's.

Everybody's favorite everyman, Johhny Cusack, is a hitman. He's a good hitman. He's all Bridget Fonda n'shit.

But he's a sad hitman. He wonders if this is all there is. Can he really go through life taking sniper shots at diplomats and drug dealers? Can he survive the unionization of his business? Can he make it through his high school reunion?

Much was made of the soundtrack to this film, and I too had big expectations, but for mine, it didn't deliver. It was better than The Wedding Singer's soundtrack (no shock there, as the Wdding singer was unholy garbage), but it was still a ways short of encapsulating the 80's like, say, Pretty In Pink did.

Going in, I have to also admit, the cast looked shoddy. Dan Aykroyd has a helper monkey approving his scripts for him these days (Celtic Pride? My Girl 2? Blues Brothers 2000? What was he thinking?) and Hank Azaria's career highpoint has, to this date, been falling on his face in The Bird Cage - but somehow it all comes together regardless. Minnie Driver is great, both Cusack's together are always great, Azaria doesn't shame himself (like he did in Godzilla) and Aykroyd saves his career from heading to Denny's by not sucking at all. In fact, he's quite outstanding.

Then there's the story. Assassin goes to high school reunion and finds the girl he stood up at the prom years earlier. Sounds fine, works well for most of the film, but towards the end it does get very improbable and mushy and 'hijinx' happy and... sentimental.

The first time I saw it I was unimpressed. I expected more. Then I saw it again a few months later and, lo and behold, I loved the damn thing. The difference? Maybe I was feeling older, maybe I was more caught up in the habit of 'looking back', maybe I was feelig a little more nostalgic, maybe I'd gotten used to he idea that Minnie Driver could actualy be hot.

Don't ask me why, I have no idea. But for some reason this film played out way better the second time around.

So I guess the lesson here is if you haven't seen Grosse Point Blank yet, give it a crack. There's enough good stuff in it for you to certainly enjoy the experience. And if you have seen it before, give it another shake. You may well enjoy it a lot more the second time around.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=312&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/19/98 23:14:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell boring point blank is more like it 1 stars
3/21/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK, HIP AND CLEVER 3 stars
10/27/08 The Dork Knight Cute romance with a generous amount of Blam Blam 5 stars
10/14/08 Dr.Lao One of the few Hollywood "black comedies" that is actually funny 4 stars
6/06/07 R.W. Welch Clever plot device with good follow-through. B+ 4 stars
8/25/05 ES if this is what they mean by dark comedy than what's not to like = see it 4 stars
2/23/05 julia anything with john cusack is sure to be a hit 5 stars
2/14/05 Naka Smart, hilarious, engrossing, touching...the funnest dark comedy I've seen yet 5 stars
1/03/05 Landshark the Jon Stewart of the hitman subgenre: fresh, hip, irreverent 5 stars
8/25/04 Agent Sands This is one of my favorite movies in a LOOONNG time. It's just perfect!!! 5 stars
2/27/04 Nomah This movie is WRITTEN! 5 stars
12/31/03 Tocco Great town and movie. 5 stars
10/21/03 Dean Rapp A thinking persons black comedy 4 stars
10/12/03 laura paterson one of the BEST film's ever! hilarious! 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Overblown comedy/actioner veers fatally off-tone. Some snappy dialogue helps. 2 stars
2/17/03 nanite happy, black and clever at the same time. who would wanr more? 5 stars
1/08/03 Phil M. Aficionado Way over the top comedy and satire with brilliant performances; LOL moments and great pace. 5 stars
11/09/02 Stevo Madly underrated. Extremely entertaining for every second. One of the best of the decade. 5 stars
10/10/02 Sparticus Boy You are the ones who are the ball lickers!! This is the best movie ever made! 5 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean This was awful! I had to turn the tape off halfway. 1 stars
11/29/01 KMG This is a grossly pointless movie that makes one's mind go blank after 2 hours 3 stars
10/15/01 Meg J John Cusack. Nuff' said. 5 stars
10/08/01 jawsboy pretty sweet movie. Cusack kicks ass!! 4 stars
8/19/01 Edwin Menguin It made me feel slightly unstable, very 'cool'. Fuckin' Cunt Eyes 3 stars
7/28/01 Geebo Cusack was good, the movie was also 5 stars
7/20/01 dBoy(!) One of my favorite films 5 stars
6/08/01 Laurian Diaconescu I loved the movie,it was really good.One of the best black comedy I've ever seen. 5 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One awesome 5 stars
4/17/01 BrainPan Ten years!! ten yearrrrrs. 5 stars
2/17/01 Jake very slick film. Both Cusacks were good. 4 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin Cusack at his best 4 stars
7/17/00 The Bomb 69 well written, Dan Aykroyd can actually be funny with the right material 5 stars
5/01/00 Steve Layne Very good premise, but it doesn't deliver that well. 3 stars
1/09/00 John Markham A class film.John Cusack is at the pinnacle of cool. 5 stars
6/25/99 Andrew P. My favorite movie. Cusack as a hitman! You can't go wrong there! 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Great. 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn I fell asleep.. enough said.. ZZZZ 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm different kind of humor, made you think 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills Cusack hits a homerun and Piven takes it to new levels. 5 stars
3/25/99 James Coffey Great dark comedy, however Aykroyd seemed a bit out of place to me. 5 stars
3/04/99 Rachel It was OK, but i think I'm gonna have to see it a third time. 4 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Cusacks the coolest thing since Nicholson 4 stars
1/27/99 Kooky Sal This was a sincerely good film in almost every respect, though the soundtrack was medicore. 5 stars
11/27/98 G great script, great acting, great movie 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules Boring. I expected more. 3 stars
10/20/98 Haskell Daniels Awesome all over. Cusack rocks and Aykroyd hasn't done a movie this good for years. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo This movie makes me want to write, every time I see it. 5 stars
10/01/98 Flea Bitten Nut What a great God damned movie. Hype on the 80's soundtrack was misdirected, but it ruled. 5 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan "You can never go home again, but apoparently you can shop there." 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg Makes yah wonder what ever really happened to Lloyd after "say anything," eh? 5 stars
9/23/98 Anna Karenina Dope. Saved Aykroyd's career. Cusack's can do no wrong. 5 stars
9/05/98 Badass Existential grief has never been captured on film so vibrantly 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I was ready to blow Aykroyd up until this, but since BB2000 he's back on the list. 5 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee No argument here. I'd do Minnie. Mouse. haha. 5 stars
8/21/98 Mike F this move is dabomb 5 stars
8/21/98 Pete Cusack=good. Great flick. Stands up to repeat viewings. 5 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious Cusack is awesome with this sketchy role. His timing just makes it even better. 5 stars
8/17/98 Johny Cusack rocks, movie funny, kickass 5 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) really dug it. in fact, I am going to go buy a gun, now. 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Get's better the more times you see it. A great movie all around. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast