More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome: 33.33%
Worth A Look43.75%
Average: 8.33%
Pretty Bad: 5.21%
Total Crap: 9.38%

5 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Out of Sight
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Clooney has never been better. Not hard, but still..."
4 stars

I kow, I know. You hate George Clooney and Jen Lopez has a big butt.

Well guess what. It don't matter. This movie is so well made, so well paced, and so much what Jackie Brown should have been that it's a must-see.

Clooney is great in this role, because he isn't playing Batman. Not even close. He's a thief who fucked up, went to jail, escaped from jail, is being hunted by a cop who also happens to get seduced by him. Sounds ornery? It isn't.

Just the right level of romance, comedy, action and... well sex.

Okay, maybe I'm gushing too much. The ending does take a certain level of suspension of disbelief to deal with and the Jackie Brown cameos (won't give them away, but they're purty funny) are really tacked on in a clumsy way, but overall this is a quality flick.

Take it from someone who avoids Clooney films like he avoids Culkin films (what ever happened to him, anyway?), Out Of Sight is a worth admission flick.

The girl I saw it with hated it, but she likes Boyz ][ Men.
What can you do?

Oh yeah. And Lopez's big butt... well, let's just say I wouldn't kick her out of bed if she shit. But she'd have to sleep on that side. SEE MOVIE!

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=32&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/14/98 07:33:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/22/18 Anne Selby lousy and boring 1 stars
3/23/10 PAUL SHORTT INTERESTING THRILLER DISGUISED AS A ROMANTIC COMEDY 3 stars
2/15/07 AJ Muller This flick is awesome - Leonard adapted right. Sexy and funny and suspensful. A winner. 4 stars
8/26/05 ES easy to forget, not so easy to forgive 1 stars
6/08/05 Steve Newman Great film. Definately see again. Lopez to look at is stunning - loved it 4 stars
9/08/04 Douglas Reese Good! Jennifer Lopez deserved an Oscar. So did Clooney 5 stars
4/06/04 Agent Sands Among the best of heist films, screenplays, acting, music, & direction of all time. 5 stars
1/14/04 Suresh In my top five, one of the few movies I'll call "sexy" 5 stars
10/24/03 BratlerJlo J-Lo's only good film, she's as sultry as hell in this, Cloony cool as usual 4 stars
5/17/03 Mr. Hat (I'm Back Mo'Fos!) REALLY entertaining, fun, and VERY well-scripted. 5 stars
4/18/03 Andrew Carden Lopez Is Good and Provides Sex Appeal, but The Film Isn't Anything Special. 2 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Trciky narrative structure can't disguise underwhelming story. Nice performances. 2 stars
1/06/03 Hacim25 soderbergh's best 4 stars
11/14/02 Dave da New Yorker It sucked, Lopez has no talent big butt tho 1 stars
8/15/02 R.W. Welch Completely unrealistic but stylishly done caper pic. 3 stars
6/13/02 hilarydsur awesome 5 stars
6/10/02 Francis mildly enjoyable rubbish 3 stars
5/23/02 Butterbean The ending was good. But the rest of the movie was a snore. 2 stars
12/18/01 Monday Morning "Just Average" as hell. 3 stars
11/26/01 Tam Lopez-Clooney chemistry is good, but plot was mediocre. 3 stars
8/19/01 Edwin Menguin Superfly, Is Tatantino the only other director on this planet, you daft cunt 4 stars
6/18/01 James W Pure Shit! The only good thing about it is Jennifer Lopez! mmmmm sexy 3 stars
4/16/01 LiL Great movie, George is so sexy. Jennifer Lopez is pretty good too. 4 stars
2/21/01 jaybo2 Jen Lopez is masturbatable 5 stars
2/12/01 Jake Way overrated! It sounded good on paper but looked ridiculous on film. Romance was forced. 1 stars
6/24/00 Naushad Khanji Not many Twists.Slow and moves at snails pace. 2 stars
8/26/99 LushZero the best movie of 1998, the best leonard adaptation 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech Lopez [proves hot women can act, and Don Cheadle proves he kicks ass. Super stuff. 5 stars
6/03/99 Matthew Bartley Slow at times but Clooneys and Lopezs chemistry make up for it 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson Great movie, the DVD's got lots of nice extras too. 5 stars
4/07/99 Michael Grimm only redeeming quality was Lopez's ass, Michael keatoon seemed lost 1 stars
3/11/99 Meg Soderbergh's still shots make this film great, the music rules 5 stars
2/10/99 jaybo Clooney' best work, Lopez (and her butt) are very hot, Cheadle is excellent as always 4 stars
1/21/99 jvt That rare mainstream film that has some quality to it, but the pacing does seem off 4 stars
1/11/99 Joe C. SO hot my VCR melted! Lopez and Clooney smolder on screen... 5 stars
12/29/98 tr one boring piece of crap!!! 1 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink I loved every moment, it's very funny and thrilling, and Lopez and Clooney are HOT! 5 stars
11/17/98 Jeff C. VERY dull, don't spend time or money on it 2 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Superb adaption, the style of directing really made this work. Clooney's best. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob A really good film on all fronts. Great news for E.L. fans...This one works!! 4 stars
10/23/98 Ike Clever, hilarious. Even better than "Get Shorty." Brilliant acting & dialogue. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Lopez has to be the most sexual actress around. Chemistry, thy name is Clooney & Lopez. 5 stars
9/14/98 Como Erectus A fuckin' great flick. What Jackie Brown should have been. 5 stars
9/14/98 anonymous bad movie 1 stars
9/13/98 loriann no 1 stars
9/12/98 Joanne Clooney and Lopez were awesome. Loved the style of this movie. Great editing. 5 stars
9/12/98 norawild not very good 1 stars
9/12/98 ethel Awesome movie. George was terrific. 5 stars
9/12/98 MHen Summer's best (year's best) little crime caper. Should do great on video. 5 stars
9/11/98 Matthew Malouf worth a look not too bad not too good 4 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein This wwas very cool, but the ending was kind of stupid. Enjoyable. 4 stars
9/06/98 ethel Loved it!!!!!!! George was fabulous!!! 5 stars
9/06/98 Con Cave Clooney is great in this good film. The character Jack Foley belongs to Clooney. More!!! 5 stars
9/06/98 Karen Z. Out of Sight finally brings to the screen the actor we glimpsed in Red Surf.Check it out! 5 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee Lopez got me hard and I didn't hate Clooney. 4 stars
9/05/98 CHRIS ??? 5 stars
9/05/98 Ida Kern Clooney at his finest! 4 stars
9/05/98 Spiderworman Best Summer Movie! 5 stars
9/05/98 magda It made me feel so horny! 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass "I never forget a man I cuffed and shackled" Great entertainment! 4 stars
8/26/98 zubilicious Good flick to see with a significant other. It puts you in the "mood" for lossa sex. 4 stars
8/25/98 Kimberly Jennifer Lopez is sooo sexy! 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Some really big plot holes, but some big performances too. It was okay. 3 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Tres sexual. 5 stars
8/16/98 Johny A little slow, but cool 3 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} The kind of film Jackie Brown should have been. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jun-1998 (R)
  DVD: 02-Sep-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Oct-1998




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast