More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome39.29%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 30.36%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 5.36%

3 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Wild Goose Lake, The by Jay Seaver

Irishman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Paradise Hills by Jay Seaver

Terminator: Dark Fate by Jay Seaver

Motherless Brooklyn by Peter Sobczynski

Farming by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Romy and Michele's High School Reunion
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Right ON! Funk it up."
5 stars

Mira Sorvino and Lisa Kudrow play dimwitted best friends Romy and Michelle who want to go back to their ten year high school reunion and show everyone up. In the course of trying to figure out what is wrong with their life they figure out what is so spectacularly right about it and the universe tilts on its edge to give them the fairy tale finish to an almost mythic tale.

I give the casting 5 stars. My 10 year was the year this film came out and I didn't even know if were having one. But the telling of the tale reads like Romy and Michelle.

The film is unrelenting in its portrayal of what we think life will be like when we are 18 and what it turns out to be when you are 28. All the illusions of high school are shattered in the grown up world. Those best 4 years of your life, aren't. You should be so lucky to know this before you begin so you can cut through all the bullshit high school propoganda and really sink your teeth into living. Of course, those who do are marginilized and alienated because they are living in a whole different frame of mind. Romy, Michelle, Heather Mooney and Sandy Frank are all outsiders because of their genuine understanding that the four walls of the school gym are hardly even the beginning of the story of their lives and they are not going to wait until graduation to live them.

Romy and Michelle escape the hokey dorkiness of bum-fucked Arizona to live fabulous, fashion ridden lives in LA. They have no other direction than that. No plan how to get it. The movie, in fact, is the practical working out of teenage high school fantasizing. "When I grow up and get the fuck out of this town I'm going to LA (Chicago, San Francisco, New York, Austin - you name it) and I'm going to be ME to the hilt and fuck all these brain-dead cro-magnons." And you thought you and the three other people in your school who listened to the Cure were the only ones. I guess those three people grew up and started making movies.

Alan Cumming plays the awkward geek, Sandy Frank, who becomes a multi-millionaire based on a scientific patent and Janeane Garofolo, as Heather Mooney is the brooding, black-cladden, world-hating introvert who probably secretly writes sensitive love poems about her wounded heart but has a razor blade tongue and steel spiked armor 30 feet thick and who ironically, also made a fortune off a scientific patent.

Romy and Michelle is a movie that I would bet money on started out as a conversation about "I wonder whatever happened to". It hits all the nostalgia buttons for anyone who remembers being shunned because they didn't listen to Debbie Gibson.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=321&reviewer=67
originally posted: 12/14/99 10:50:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival For more in the 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/10/15 david froman most underated comedy of the 90's 4 stars
10/23/10 Jeff Wilder Has heart. But would've benefited from a more biting approach to the material. 3 stars
9/28/07 David Duh! I am with the worst movie of 1997, and maybe beyond that! 1 stars
5/24/07 ES The movie you can't help but forget, like that one with Diaz and Applegate 3 stars
11/27/06 sirina it was such a funny movie ten stars 5 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. I've seen this movie many times over the years and it's ALWAYS funny!!! 5 stars
6/01/05 Emily Swenson it's wonderful 5 stars
1/16/05 Jeff Anderson Forget Lisa Kudrow, the incredibly sexy Mira Sorvino is the absolute high point in this gem 5 stars
7/18/04 Samuel A very funny movie indeed. 5 stars
6/29/04 Jack Sommersby Bubbly star performances and bouncy direction keep it watchable. 3 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt My personal favorite comedy of all time! A smart film disguised as dumb! Great dialogue! 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon Rent if for the in-your-face, all-out coozefest of Phoebe and Woody's Whore. 4 stars
4/03/03 R.W. Welch Has some nice touches but just par for the course overall. 3 stars
3/14/02 Kirsten Abercrombie Two leads terrific but plot flawed and Jeneane Garofello just a plain gross-out. 4 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 Okay, but not as good as it could've been, and sometimes annoying. 3 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden It May Sound Strange, but This Was Very Realistic. 5 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean A cute movie. 3 stars
8/23/01 Ginger I think the movie is really good due to Mira Sorvino, Lisa Kudrow, and Alan Cumming. 5 stars
8/10/01 Audra I loved it, Lisa Kudrow and Allan Cumming rule! 5 stars
1/29/01 Nic I cry laughing EVERY time I watch this movie. It's on my list of BEST movies.. ever!!! 5 stars
9/01/00 Terrie Smith On the silly side, of course, but Kudrow and Sorvino make it work. 4 stars
5/14/00 Daria Top-notch silly fun 5 stars
4/14/00 Elvisfan The dance number bet. the girls & Alan Cummings made the movie 4 stars
2/14/00 steve layne The jokes are extremely unfunny, but the movie is semi-entertaining and the music is great. 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski "I LOVED it, Stan!" "Me too, Kyle!" "AHHH!!!!" :-) 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Am I, like 14 again??. Loved it.. great soundtrack, the memories it stirred up.. ahhh... 5 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle I just love this movie! Its so cute and funny, teh characters are great! 5 stars
12/22/98 PirateGirl Even though it means I have to disagree with Pete -- watch it drunk, with girlfriends! 5 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Why can't I hate this movie more...it just kinda creeps in there. 3 stars
10/24/98 grunter caught me totally offguard; modern screwball comedy that works; rewards repeat views. 5 stars
10/06/98 katherine i like it, but a little dumb 4 stars
9/23/98 Jason Rosenbaum Hands down worst movie of 1997. Lisa Kudrow must be killed. 1 stars
9/23/98 Rob Forey Funny but very predictable, Lisa Kudrow is great in it. They both look awesome! 3 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Good fun fluff for a lazy Sunday afternoon. Janeane Garofalo rocks, as usual. 4 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Would have got low scores if not for the presence of Garofalo, who never disappoints. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress it had it's comedic value. 3 stars
8/21/98 Pete I HATE THIS CRAPFEST. It was as annoying as 12 year old girls. Grrr arrgh. 1 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Saved by Kudrow, Mira's okay, the jokes are sometimes funny and the story? It's okay. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Apr-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  David Mirkin

Written by
  Robin Schiff

Cast
  Mira Sorvino
  Lisa Kudrow
  Janeane Garofalo
  Alan Cumming
  Julia Campbell
  Mia Cottet



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast