More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.6

Awesome: 6.03%
Worth A Look: 2.59%
Average: 8.62%
Pretty Bad: 11.21%
Total Crap71.55%

8 reviews, 68 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eye of the Beholder
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"If there's beauty in the Eye Of The Beholder, it was bloody well hidden."
1 stars

No matter what the critics say, there's one important thing to note. It's not Stephan Elliot's fault. When they accuse this film of being disjointed, unbelievable, overly surreal, completely botched, boring, long, vapid, and unexciting in the extreme, just remember… it's not Stephan Elliott's fault. Someone hired him. Blame them.

Yes, Eye Of The Beholder topped the US charts for a number of weeks. Why? Two reasons. The first is nothing else opened against it due to the oncoming juggernaut of Star Wars Episode One. The second is, Eye Of The Beholder stars Obi Wan Kenobi, Ewan McGregor, and scores of pointy headed Star Wars freaks made their way to get an early look at his gear.

Be sure, Eye Of The Beholder is a big budget 'small budget' film. It's quirky, on a blockbuster rep. But most importantly, it's awful.

Ashley Judd is a black widow type, a woman who lures fellas in and snuffs them out. Why? Nobody really ever knows or cares, she just does. Ewan McGregor is The Eye, a British 'spy type guy' who becomes obsessed with the wench after seeing his long lost daughter in her photo. Wank wank wank so he follows her around the US while she kills this guy and that, only deciding to actually go talk to her when she takes a job as a waitress in an Alaskan café, a year after he starts following her.

Unsexy, unsultry, unlikeable, Ashley Judd has never been worse than she is here, and that's saying something if you've seen Double Jeopardy. Why she only takes on roles that allow her to change outfits EVERY single scene (she changes wigs too in this one) is beyond me. The production notes of Eye Of The Beholder boast that at one stage she was wearing a $100,000 outfit. God, do second hand wigs really cost that much in Hollywood?

The problems this production has are many. From Elliott's determination to create a 'style', to his fascination with snowglobes (go hard on the symbolism, Stephan!), to Ashley's preference of walking around for half the film with cameras zooming in on her barely clad derriere, to Ewan's seeming amnesia when it comes to remembering how to emote for the camera, to the absolutley unsatisfactory ending, to the obviously large number of scenes cut from the final product (note to the marketers, write your production notes AFTER scenes have been cut out of the film, this will help your notes make sense and not give away that the film didn't work first time out), Eye Of The Beholder is a great example of industry morons giving a guy the helm of a big budget film without having the slightest idea of whether he's up to the task. Stephan Elliott is clearly an ideas guy, only his ideas are not always good ones. His last project, the unglorious Welcome To Woop Woop (which bombed harder than Saddam) was rank with the stench of unfulfilled expectation. His latest is an exercise in overstretching a badly considered premise, badly adapting a hard to adapt book and then marketing the whole she-bang into a ridiculous mess.

The audience will sigh, those with better things to do will look at their watch a lot, but nobody will applaud.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3461&reviewer=1
originally posted: 06/21/00 23:49:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/27/18 rk Garbage. So boring. 1 stars
12/29/17 morris campbell boredom in the eye of the beholder 1 stars
12/29/17 morris campbell boredom in the eye of the beholder 1 stars
12/29/17 morris campbell boredom in the eye of the beholder 1 stars
12/11/17 Thejonez wwhat? 2 stars
6/10/14 PAUL SHORTT DISJOINTED AND CLUMSY 2 stars
5/19/10 ikkin74 One of the worst things I've ever seen. 1 stars
7/26/09 the dork knight Fancies itself a bit of an art film. I wasn't entertained for one minute. 1 stars
12/16/07 mrsinister WOW. Bad. 1 stars
12/02/07 Charles Tatum Never connected to the flick, but not a disaster, either 3 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Underrated, creative exploration of the thin line between love & obsession.Give it a chance 4 stars
9/23/07 Hard Rock Jane Austen Jack Sommersby, please say you're joking. Hundreds of other commentors can't be all wrong! 1 stars
9/22/07 Gretchen Seitz Possibly worst movie ever made until Judd made it look good by comparison to TWISTED. 1 stars
9/19/07 Sugarfoot So hilariously awful, too bad it's meant as a serious thriller. Awful, Awful Awful! 1 stars
10/29/04 Alan Bradbury This film makes Plan 9 from Outer Space look like Casablanca 1 stars
2/06/04 Mike This is literally the crappiest film ever made. 1 stars
12/21/03 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
11/05/03 anonomous bitch this movie suc kkkkks negrooooo 1 stars
10/31/03 Comic book guy Worst movie ever 1 stars
6/09/03 Say it ain't so, Ashley! The scariest part is, Ashley Judd so resembles the role she plays herein! 1 stars
3/27/03 Pam be Dextrous Low expectations when K.D. Lang plays least scary character, but film sinks way below them. 1 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Amisunderstood, shockingly original masterpiece. Judd and McGregor are first-rate. 5 stars
12/31/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
12/17/02 Eccentric Brit Woman kills. Man follows. WHY? Well, they forgot to explain why. 1 stars
12/03/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
11/21/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
11/13/02 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
10/30/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
10/16/02 Dingleberry How funny that the two people who like this can't spell. This is shit on celluloid. 1 stars
9/15/02 Crystal grate 5 stars
6/25/02 Law Ewan rocks, even if the movie did suck 3 stars
6/10/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi come on, i no this was pretty shit, but EWAN WAS IN IT!!! 5 stars
4/25/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
3/27/02 Bill O'Reilly If I can do it for 2 days, Ashley Judd should give Rosie diarrhea for 2 decades! 1 stars
3/04/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
2/19/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty Really a sequel to DOUBLE JEOPARDY? Joanna Eris really Libby Parsons in disguise? 2 stars
1/29/02 Jessica Davis How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
1/25/02 Melissa Zanus Is Ashley Judd Satan incarnate or what? 1 stars
9/20/01 Amber It tried, disappointing ending 3 stars
9/02/01 Kenny Thejet He follow, and follow and follow her until you get tired, and the end is really bad. 1 stars
3/26/01 nowak To me it was wonderful. Saw it twice. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Unbearable...Judd, who was so good in Ruby in Paradise, has gone straight downhill. 1 stars
10/02/00 Image umm....and the point to the movie was.........????? 3 stars
8/18/00 Tim this movie sucked..watching paint dry was more exciting than this movie 1 stars
8/18/00 Bevan R. Clark Beguiling, slick and Ashley Judd is a revelation 5 stars
7/15/00 Kakki Made no sense. Was it an ashley judd fashion show? 1 stars
6/25/00 Emily I liked it! I don't know why it got such bad reveiws, I was drawn to watch it more. 4 stars
6/20/00 mahone crap is in the eye of the director 1 stars
6/07/00 Casper Absolute Crap. What was Ewan thinking???? 1 stars
3/26/00 Bitchface I loved this damn movie.... 5 stars
3/15/00 Lame-Oh sissy movie 1 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Nice to see home again (Montreal), too bad it had to be inbetween naps. 2 stars
2/29/00 cornbun deluxe this ought to win the best picture oscar....kd lang was amazing! i loved it! best film! 5 stars
2/29/00 Mr. Kramitall Horrible beyond recognition. What the hell was that? 1 stars
2/19/00 Mortis I'm haunted by this film..Amazing visuals 4 stars
2/15/00 Pizaster Made you think...about what, i have no idea. 2 stars
2/14/00 the fucker ashley judd's tits are HUGE!!... too bad the movie spoiled our sex! 1 stars
2/10/00 Karen terrible, senseless move, we walked out in the middle 1 stars
2/09/00 PhilmPhreak What the fuck was that? 1 stars
2/08/00 Ann Um...no 1 stars
2/06/00 Lame-Oh What a piece of junk. Can't beleieve I saw that wretched scum-butt! 1 stars
2/02/00 Tom I want my movie back for this crap 1 stars
1/31/00 Richard Hendricks Wife thought this was a nice chick flick.I knew it would suck.I was right. :) 1 stars
1/31/00 Janine Lay, RN Plot like molasses, acting sucked, terribly disapppointing ending, overall-sucked! 1 stars
1/30/00 scorched This movie blows!!! 1 stars
1/30/00 schmegs Completely senseless... 2 stars
1/29/00 Malbert Wow...pretty bad 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jan-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast