More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.77

Awesome: 10.66%
Worth A Look: 2.46%
Average: 8.2%
Pretty Bad: 10.66%
Total Crap68.03%

9 reviews, 68 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Stylist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hidden Man by Jay Seaver

Writer's Odyssey, A by Jay Seaver

Endgame (2021) by Jay Seaver

Tom and Jerry by Peter Sobczynski

Stylist, The by Rob Gonsalves

Rumble Fish by Jack Sommersby

Saint Maud by Rob Gonsalves

One Night in Miami... by Rob Gonsalves

Wanting Mare, The by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Eye of the Beholder
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Eye of the Bewildered"
1 stars

I can sum this film up in 4 words: "I don't get it". That isn't always a bad thing. I say that at the end of nearly every David Lynch movie, but I still love them. But in the case of "Eye of the Beholder", it is a statement of annoyance and geniune confusion, rather than awestruck admiration. About the only productive thing I can see that came out of this film is that Ewan McGregor and Ashley Judd made enough money to pay the rent for a few months.

The plot, in a nutshell, is that Ewan McGregor is some kind of high-tech recluse secret agent guy, a british agent working for an american agency of indeterminate identity. But the kind of work he does is strictly peeping-tom low-level surveillance. Not the most thrilling of spies, kind of a -007.

On the thinnest of pretexts, he ends up following a mystery woman played by Ashley Judd. She walks around in various disguises, looking sexy and talking tough, meeting men, mating with them, and then killing them. While spy-guy witnesses this through his surveillance cameras, he becomes oddly enamored with her, forsaking his job to pursue after her. An hour and a half later, after a mindless, pointless cross-country pursuit, the film finally ends with a resounding "What the FUCK was the point of that". Oh, and there's also the wierd subplot about spy-guy's relationship with his imaginary daughter who he holds conversations with, even though he knows she's not really there. Nevertheless, she appears frequently out of nowhere, sometimes even more than one instance of her appearing in the same room. Oddly enough, this is one of the more intriguing elements of the film, yet it drops off halfway through the film and is never touched upon again, like a stillborn idea that the filmmakers decided to just give up on.

The actors themselves (including a surprisingly decent KD Lang) can't really be faulted for what is a result of a horrible script and slipshod directing. The whole thing is so convoluted, they really have nothing to work with.

On the bright side, I only lost an hour and half of my life watching this piece of shit, unlike those involved in the making of it, who lost months.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3461&reviewer=258
originally posted: 12/23/01 18:47:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/27/18 rk Garbage. So boring. 1 stars
12/29/17 morris campbell boredom in the eye of the beholder 1 stars
12/29/17 morris campbell boredom in the eye of the beholder 1 stars
12/29/17 morris campbell boredom in the eye of the beholder 1 stars
12/11/17 Thejonez wwhat? 2 stars
6/10/14 PAUL SHORTT DISJOINTED AND CLUMSY 2 stars
5/19/10 ikkin74 One of the worst things I've ever seen. 1 stars
7/26/09 the dork knight Fancies itself a bit of an art film. I wasn't entertained for one minute. 1 stars
12/16/07 mrsinister WOW. Bad. 1 stars
12/02/07 Charles Tatum Never connected to the flick, but not a disaster, either 3 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Underrated, creative exploration of the thin line between love & obsession.Give it a chance 4 stars
9/23/07 Hard Rock Jane Austen Jack Sommersby, please say you're joking. Hundreds of other commentors can't be all wrong! 1 stars
9/22/07 Gretchen Seitz Possibly worst movie ever made until Judd made it look good by comparison to TWISTED. 1 stars
9/19/07 Sugarfoot So hilariously awful, too bad it's meant as a serious thriller. Awful, Awful Awful! 1 stars
10/29/04 Alan Bradbury This film makes Plan 9 from Outer Space look like Casablanca 1 stars
2/06/04 Mike This is literally the crappiest film ever made. 1 stars
12/21/03 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
11/05/03 anonomous bitch this movie suc kkkkks negrooooo 1 stars
10/31/03 Comic book guy Worst movie ever 1 stars
6/09/03 Say it ain't so, Ashley! The scariest part is, Ashley Judd so resembles the role she plays herein! 1 stars
3/27/03 Pam be Dextrous Low expectations when K.D. Lang plays least scary character, but film sinks way below them. 1 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Amisunderstood, shockingly original masterpiece. Judd and McGregor are first-rate. 5 stars
12/31/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
12/17/02 Eccentric Brit Woman kills. Man follows. WHY? Well, they forgot to explain why. 1 stars
12/03/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
11/21/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
11/13/02 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
10/30/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
10/16/02 Dingleberry How funny that the two people who like this can't spell. This is shit on celluloid. 1 stars
9/15/02 Crystal grate 5 stars
6/25/02 Law Ewan rocks, even if the movie did suck 3 stars
6/10/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi come on, i no this was pretty shit, but EWAN WAS IN IT!!! 5 stars
4/25/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
3/27/02 Bill O'Reilly If I can do it for 2 days, Ashley Judd should give Rosie diarrhea for 2 decades! 1 stars
3/04/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
2/19/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty Really a sequel to DOUBLE JEOPARDY? Joanna Eris really Libby Parsons in disguise? 2 stars
1/29/02 Jessica Davis How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
1/25/02 Melissa Zanus Is Ashley Judd Satan incarnate or what? 1 stars
9/20/01 Amber It tried, disappointing ending 3 stars
9/02/01 Kenny Thejet He follow, and follow and follow her until you get tired, and the end is really bad. 1 stars
3/26/01 nowak To me it was wonderful. Saw it twice. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Unbearable...Judd, who was so good in Ruby in Paradise, has gone straight downhill. 1 stars
10/02/00 Image umm....and the point to the movie was.........????? 3 stars
8/18/00 Tim this movie sucked..watching paint dry was more exciting than this movie 1 stars
8/18/00 Bevan R. Clark Beguiling, slick and Ashley Judd is a revelation 5 stars
7/15/00 Kakki Made no sense. Was it an ashley judd fashion show? 1 stars
6/25/00 Emily I liked it! I don't know why it got such bad reveiws, I was drawn to watch it more. 4 stars
6/20/00 mahone crap is in the eye of the director 1 stars
6/07/00 Casper Absolute Crap. What was Ewan thinking???? 1 stars
3/26/00 Bitchface I loved this damn movie.... 5 stars
3/15/00 Lame-Oh sissy movie 1 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Nice to see home again (Montreal), too bad it had to be inbetween naps. 2 stars
2/29/00 cornbun deluxe this ought to win the best picture oscar....kd lang was amazing! i loved it! best film! 5 stars
2/29/00 Mr. Kramitall Horrible beyond recognition. What the hell was that? 1 stars
2/19/00 Mortis I'm haunted by this film..Amazing visuals 4 stars
2/15/00 Pizaster Made you think...about what, i have no idea. 2 stars
2/14/00 the fucker ashley judd's tits are HUGE!!... too bad the movie spoiled our sex! 1 stars
2/10/00 Karen terrible, senseless move, we walked out in the middle 1 stars
2/09/00 PhilmPhreak What the fuck was that? 1 stars
2/08/00 Ann Um...no 1 stars
2/06/00 Lame-Oh What a piece of junk. Can't beleieve I saw that wretched scum-butt! 1 stars
2/02/00 Tom I want my movie back for this crap 1 stars
1/31/00 Richard Hendricks Wife thought this was a nice chick flick.I knew it would suck.I was right. :) 1 stars
1/31/00 Janine Lay, RN Plot like molasses, acting sucked, terribly disapppointing ending, overall-sucked! 1 stars
1/30/00 scorched This movie blows!!! 1 stars
1/30/00 schmegs Completely senseless... 2 stars
1/29/00 Malbert Wow...pretty bad 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jan-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast