More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome: 12.28%
Worth A Look59.65%
Average: 19.3%
Pretty Bad: 3.51%
Total Crap: 5.26%

4 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cop Land
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Stallone playing a putz. Real life meets art."
4 stars

Yeah, it's Stallone. Yeah, it's Keitel. Both of those guys in a film means different things to different people. What it means to me now is "ooooooooh".

Ooooooooh in a good way.

Stallone, who has always been a talentless boob and rendered my collection of Judge Dredd comics virtually worthless after his pathetic portrayal of same a few years back, is stunning in this role as a slightly slow, slightly deaf, slightly drunk cop in a cop-town.

Keitel, who has stopped flashing his private bits, thank fuck, gives a great performance as the head honch bitch-cop of the land. A man who gave Stallone his job and expects Stallone to shit his mouth and look the other way when told to.

Having Bobby De Niro in the supporting cast is no piece of shit and he's a fine, if sometimes annoying piece of the puzzle as an IA officer looking to bring the town down.

But the surprise for me (the biggest surprise, cos there were many) is Ray Liotta. As Stallone's best bud he is "the shit". Steals the show for mine, and in this company that's hard to do.

Overall, no disappointments here. A great film, and Stallone's breakout performance. It's about time he had one.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=351&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/17/98 17:31:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/17 morris campbell good imho 4 stars
1/12/16 Ed Riddick great acting and script, gradually builds to finish. Gets better with every viewing. 4 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT SOLIDLY ENTERTAINING THRILLER 4 stars
7/31/09 Jeff Wilder Good direction, Stallone's best performance since Rocky and a good story. Liotta is great 4 stars
8/13/08 Brenda I found this movie very dull. 1 stars
1/07/08 sweetgrrl1972 Stallone should have won an Oscar for this. Movie has a "High Noon" feel. Well done. 5 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini unexpectedly excellent performance by stallone 4 stars
1/21/06 tatum Really fantastic, actual suspense instead of mindless action 5 stars
1/10/06 Ahnold One of Sly's greatests performances. Same for Liotta, DeNiro, etc.. Good morals play 5 stars
8/12/05 ES Meh, it was ok, seen better= they had their chance and they blew it! 3 stars
4/23/05 Indrid Cold A complex, well-acted story, but the plot just isn't good enough to make it memorable. 3 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson A REALLY GREAT FILM! Stallone, beefy & burly, gives the most real performance of HIS LIFE!! 5 stars
3/02/04 michael sheridan great movie stallone at his best since rambo 5 stars
12/20/03 john Stallone shows he is actually a good actor - good movie too 4 stars
6/23/03 Jack Bourbon Silly, but fun. 3 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Way too episodic and uneven. Stallone and Liotta, though, are excellent. 2 stars
6/03/01 R.W. Welch Good story line but for some reason this ensemble cast doesn't quite click. 3 stars
5/16/01 The Jedi Droid To my suprise, I liked this movie, Stallone was better than I thought he would be 4 stars
3/27/01 malcolm stallone, liotta, keitel, deniro, patrick -- good enuf for me 4 stars
2/17/01 Jake It had a certain energy to it. Stallone was different 3 stars
10/19/00 Ground Zero Rent this movie instead of that armpit Get Carter 4 stars
9/08/00 Terrie Smith Good cast saves this one; a more subdued Stallone makes a better actor. 4 stars
10/30/99 Bozo pains me to say this is worse movie ever filmed in the great state of New Jersey 1 stars
9/23/99 Matt I can't believe anybody would really like this crap!!!! 2 stars
7/30/99 Matthew Bartley Stallone can act! And in a good movie too! 4 stars
3/28/99 HeatherLadyBug Should have called it "Crap Land" 1 stars
2/18/99 Piz cool movie that rips open the biggest frat in NY..the PD. Stallone held it together. 4 stars
12/31/98 Todd I never in my life thought that I would say "Stallone is a great actor" 5 stars
11/23/98 Lord Of The Dunce Really enjoyed seeing Stallone finally show he can act. A good film on many levels. 5 stars
11/05/98 Bad Kosh Stallone as a cop?! Go figure. Worth a look... 4 stars
9/08/98 Johny Good, but seems like it could have been better. 3.5 rounded up. 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Doesn't suck much at all 4 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} Watching Stallone play retarded was great. His first movie I really liked. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Aug-1997 (R)
  DVD: 01-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast