More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.71

Awesome: 27.08%
Worth A Look47.92%
Average: 4.17%
Pretty Bad: 10.42%
Total Crap: 10.42%

3 reviews, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hercules (1997)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"So far as the whole Disney animation thing goes, this is up there"
4 stars

The praise heaped on this flick made me want to find reasons to dislike it. Sue me. It's my natural reaction. I only found one, and it's the same reason I always find for hating these kind of flicks. Musical numbers.

But hark! Humour! Fuh-nee stuff! And while there's loveable wacky sidekicks aplenty (as the formula Disney uses demands) they're actually good. You can't go wrong when you have Bobcat Goldthwait doing the voice of one of them.

And speaking of voices, James Woods is a man who, if he wasn't a big ass star, could have made a substantial living doing voice-overs. The guy just fills the role of Satan oh so well.

And what's up with Disney making Satan into a cool guy? Where were the outraged mobs demanding Michael Eisner's head? That would have made the line outside this flick a lot more fun to endure.

So Hercules is the son of Zeus, taken down to earth as a babe, quickly grows into a mondo strong ass guy, but he's simple as two short planks of wood. Satan and his minions are out to get young Herc, Zeus is kind of aloof, Herc goes from zero to hero and sings a lot.

The lesson learned by kiddies? The action figures are on sale at McDonlads for $1.99 each. And isn't that the kind of thing the world needs more of?

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=352&reviewer=1
originally posted: 04/08/99 23:58:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/22/15 WALTER The best Disney film since Beauty And The Beast. 5 stars
9/21/12 Kcaj Loved it as a kid. Bit tame now but still likeable 4 stars
10/20/11 Magic This bastardisation of Greek myth still manages to be entertaining. Miracles happen. 4 stars
2/10/10 JM Synth Disney gets "hip"; smarm overload. Enjoyed it then, but not one that stands up in adulthood 2 stars
5/12/09 Dr.Lao The 90's were a bad time for Disney, and this silly bit of fluff shows why 2 stars
8/25/08 human bestest best disney movie best music 5 stars
4/25/08 Abbie This film is one of the best disney movies ever. Its amazing and i LOVE it. xx 5 stars
4/01/08 Quigley Amusing, dark and very cool. A great Disney film. James Woods is spetacular 5 stars
3/30/08 Pamela White a total flop 1 stars
11/15/06 vela good film nice music great preformance by the ''acters'' 5 stars
9/09/06 Michele cute music 5 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Sharp, fast-moving, funny, and Meg rocks. Gaining more admirers over time. 5 stars
12/09/05 Angizzle My Favorite Movie!!!! I Love It!!! It Teaches About My Favorite Subject, Mythology and its 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Delightfully pleasant. 3 stars
8/20/05 Carolyn Rathburn Now this is a cartoon. Disney always does a lovely job 4 stars
6/21/04 asian dude i shit out things more worth looking at than this movie 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Another great Disney flick. 5 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Disney strikes out again 2 stars
2/04/02 April I adored this movie despite it's from that sack of shit Disney Corporation! 5 stars
12/11/01 Jenny Myszkowski One of my all time favorite Disney Movies, it is fast and hilarious, and I love the songs! 5 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Extremly Great Soundtrack With Magnificant Animation. 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This isn't worthy of "Disney masterpiece" status, but it's still a good movie for the kids. 3 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) That'll teach y'all to scrape Walt Disney's toilet bowl for ideas! 2 stars
2/15/01 lisa hercules hercules! 1 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin lacks disney charm; watch something else 1 stars
10/27/00 viking Greek "tragedy" !!! 2 stars
3/19/00 David Rogers What happened? It went waaaaaaaay to fast. 1 stars
9/28/98 Heather Wonderful soundtrack, and Meg is the best Disney female in a long while! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I wanted to buy the McDonalds figures, but I'm like that. 4 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} It was good. Some good moments. But nothing way special. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Jun-1997 (G)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast