More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.31

Awesome48.89%
Worth A Look: 40%
Average: 6.67%
Pretty Bad: 2.22%
Total Crap: 2.22%

2 reviews, 33 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Wild Goose Lake, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Pump Up the Volume
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Samantha Mathis is great boner material."
4 stars

This film has always been one of my favorites. It's so totally teen angst that it takes a teenager to really enjoy the thing.

Christian Slater was at the peak of his powers as a Gen X spokesman when this film came out. Of course now he's a wife-beating piece of jail-bait, but back then he was someone we all looked up to. He was all badass and fuck you and generally nasty.

Samantha Mathis is great boner material. She's the girl you wished you knew in high school, but you didn't... because all the girls in high school were boneheads. And hated you. Except the fat ones.

So the deal is that Christian-lad is Happy Harry Hardon, a pirate radio DJ who the local kids have started looking up to. He spouts a littany of "why the world is fuct" speeches every night and when the teens start acting up, the old folks want Harry stopped.

In the "been there seen that" 90's, it has a less potent effect than it once did, but if only for the music (which is awesome in a Leonard Cohen/Descendants kind of way), the cool monologues ("all the great themes have been used up, turned into theme parks") and Sam Mathis getting her shirt off, Pump Up The Volume is well worth a look.

Oh yeah, and check out a young Seth Green. That dude's in everything.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=424&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/19/98 23:36:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/07/14 PAUL SHORTT POWERFUL, FAST-PACED TEEN REBELLION DRAMA WITH A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 3 stars
5/21/06 Evyatar best movie ever 5 stars
4/14/06 joey squids one of my favorite movies of all time...christian slater put on a hell of a performance 5 stars
12/15/05 George Franklin Free Radio Lives! 5 stars
7/27/05 joel highly underrated. intelligent, well crafted, and entertaining!!! 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Awesome movie with a message that hits home! Can watch it over and over again. 5 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson A smart and brilliant film. Christian Slater and Samantha Mathis give great performances. 5 stars
5/09/04 stacy awesome! 4 stars
4/01/04 andy if ur 12 yrs old this is the best movie ever 5 stars
9/02/02 cami Brings me back to high school. Love it !! 5 stars
4/24/02 m m 5 stars
3/16/02 katie best movie i have ever seen, can relate to it in so many aspects 5 stars
8/31/01 Johny Alan Ray Didn't see it until 10 years after its release, but I was still wowed. Christian was king 5 stars
7/06/01 mjm103171 excellent teenage movie. loved it! 5 stars
2/28/01 brad.c it is a OK film but wouldn't see it again unless i had to 2 stars
2/10/01 Dan Cook A film that can change lives! 5 stars
1/28/01 Heather Bonsall This film s hard to find in England, but it is worth a lot of searching. 5 stars
1/15/01 God The best movie about teens made!!! Yeah!!!! 5 stars
10/26/00 Phreeq Totally amazing and powerful movie 5 stars
9/30/00 dave handley thought-provoking...? 4 stars
9/08/00 Angus Flenley A fantastic film. Made before 90's teen angst was such a marketable product. 5 stars
8/13/00 Bender Thoughtful, funny and entertaining. The only downfall is that it's a little uneven. 4 stars
4/09/00 perverted pixie "Now Im depressed. Now I feel like killing myself, but luckily Im to depressed to bother!" 5 stars
3/26/00 The Quintissential Teenager A totally surprising slice of attention-grabbing movie brilliance. Slater is astounding 5 stars
2/12/00 steve layne The Most thought-provoking teen movie since the breakfast club. 5 stars
2/08/00 frank paratore 1 stars
10/14/99 Melissa "The Truth Is A Virus" and this film gives you a killer dose!!! 5 stars
9/23/99 Matt Definately one of Christian's best. One good movie!! 5 stars
11/06/98 {{{OZ}}} Not too old to kick your ass, sporky. haha. Kick ass movie though. 4 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob Should be mandory viewing for both Teens and Parents....But not together! 4 stars
9/21/98 spork-girl i just love the fact that oz changed his mind after seeing it again. he's old. haha. 4 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Angry teenage fluff. Fuckers left Leonard Cohen off the soundtrack album. How dare they! 3 stars
8/20/98 {{{OZ}}} I watched it again and... well... it's not aging well. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Sep-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast