More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.53

Awesome: 6.25%
Worth A Look: 16.25%
Average32.5%
Pretty Bad: 13.75%
Total Crap: 31.25%

7 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Big Momma's House
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Seriously, people who enjoyed this need to lift their expectations."
1 stars

Hey kids, it's a ghetto Mrs Doubtfire! Lawrence plays 'da black cop'. Paul Giamatti plays his white buddy. And there's a woman with breasts and a nice bot. And there's a kid that knows karate. Still wanna pay eight bucks to see it? Man, you're an easy audience.

Martin Lawrence dresses as a suspected criminal accomplice's grandmother while she's away on holidays, nobody notices any difference despite the fact she's slamdunking basketballs, but then Martin falls in love with the woman he's supposed to be investigating. And writers get paid for thinking these ideas up... Fart jokes. Fat jokes. Basketball playing grandmothers. Oh yeah, the full comedy buffet is on offer here, kids.

The film also features the world's easiest-to-arrest super villain. I can't even tell you the guy's name, because he was only there for like two seconds at the start, another three in the middle, and long neough to get kicked in the head at the end. I could have caught this mook, and I'm thick.

Not satisfied seeing Eddie Murphy play sixteen characters at once? Not happy with network TV repeats of Robin Williams doing Doubtfire? Think Martin Lawrence is funny because he says "boyee" instead of "boy"? Well then this one's for you. Personally, I have self respect. I have a brain. I have dignity.

Not only would I not be caught dead watching this tosh again, I'd not wish to be stuck in an elevator with someone who would. End of story.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4349&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/11/00 17:17:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell cute & harmless 3 stars
9/22/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
1/25/08 LA Top film! So funny! 5 stars
4/14/07 emy the movie got a great bang, hilarious worth spending spare time on 4 stars
12/27/06 Charles Tatum Truly a heartbreaking horrible film watching experience 1 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai A good sweet funny harmless film. 3 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman It was alright, I could watch it whenever im bored 4 stars
7/22/05 tony This moivie drives me nuts! But it was still funny 2 stars
8/20/04 SHARON GABRIEL I WATCH IT WEEKLY 4 stars
8/29/03 Double G a bit lower than average 2 stars
6/30/03 Monster W. Kung Beyond pathetic. If Martin Lawrence's not one of the worst comedians, don't know who is. 1 stars
6/24/03 Big Momma's Underwear This movie kicks arse! But man, Big Momma's arse is some freaky shit! 5 stars
1/01/03 dtdhhhd fhfjjfkjkdsko 3 stars
7/29/02 Croweater Everything about this film blows chunks, Martin Lawrence is god awful. Die Martin Die! 1 stars
7/04/02 Film Dude One of the worst movies I've ever seen. 1 stars
5/28/02 hilary worth a look- kinda discusting but worth a look 4 stars
5/23/02 Kyle What fucking "Happy Days" part are you talking about?Andrew if I ever meet you, u will die. 1 stars
11/01/01 Andrew Carden The "Happy Days" Scene Was So Funny That I Wet My Pants!!! 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean More corny than funny. I would only rent it to watch Terrence H. looking hot. 3 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa Martin Lawrence is a spoiled cry-baby. Read the article in Entertainment Weekly for details 2 stars
3/09/01 Jake And the trailer looked so good..LOL 1 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Some funny parts, but not enough. 3 stars
2/02/01 Bob Barker Martin Lawrence is an idiot in pantyhose, but a funny idiot 1 stars
10/16/00 Dan Martin Lawrence is on my Hollywood Hate List now. Fucking terrible. I cried with pain. 1 stars
9/29/00 Viking Come back Mrs. Doubtfire. All is forgiven !!! 3 stars
9/13/00 Jenna koch THIS MOVIE IS TOATAL CRAP!!! 1 stars
9/13/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Martin Lawrence is the new Step N Fetchit. 1 stars
8/11/00 Klute. Did they even try? 1 stars
8/02/00 k.j.tomko total, tasteless crap 1 stars
7/01/00 Anon E. Muss OK 3 stars
6/20/00 kim boyd I laugh out loud many times. More non-blacks than blacks in the movie. Everyone laughing. 5 stars
6/18/00 cinesuerte see big momma nekkid 3 stars
6/13/00 PJ save for some funny moments, the movie was a piece of shit! uninspired, and moronic 2 stars
6/12/00 FilmStar This was retarded 2 stars
6/08/00 Clarance If you are looking to lighten up your day!! dang this is the movie for you!!! HILARIOUS!! 4 stars
6/07/00 Alma Marquez Blak guys are verry funny ( I`m not racist) pretty good 4 stars
6/05/00 Mhack Whack Diggity Dog So horribly excruciating. Just as awful as Nutty Professor & Mrs. Doubtfire 1 stars
6/03/00 toneely This movie is Silly. I did laugh a lot.It was really fun to watch 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  07-Sep-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast