More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.69

Awesome: 8.46%
Worth A Look: 10.77%
Average36.15%
Pretty Bad: 30.77%
Total Crap: 13.85%

12 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Bedazzled (2000)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"When did one joke told seven times become enough for an entire movie?"
1 stars

Bedazzled is that greatest of Hollywood vices - the cheap remake. In this case it's a remake of an old Dudley Moore flick which, quite frankly, wasn't much good. I guess Hollywood got it right then, since this one isn't much good either. Brendan Fraser movies should come with a disclaimer. "Please note: Watching this film ay induce extreme nausea and suicidal tendencies. But no laughter. Not even a little bit."

Fraser plays Elliot, a geekboy that nobody likes (I can see why they cast him) who is head over heels in love with someone he's never met. Enter Satan, played by Liz Hurley (again, apt casting). Devilgirl offers Frase' seven wishes in return for his soul, a deal he naturally accepts (hey, who cares if you burn in hell, so long as you get some of that A-grade poon first, right boys? Who's with me!).

Now, I'm not telling any secrets here when I ell you that each of the wishes goes a little skewiff. Heck, if you've seen the trailer, you already know that. And if you haven't seen the trailer, it wouldn't take a brain to figure it out. Devil's ain't exactly known for their lack of 'devilish' humor.

But the real problem here isn't the theme, it's the third rate script attached to it. Someone got paid for 'updating' this baby, and they couldn't have sucked harder at the job. It's boring, one dimensional, and the only joke present is the one the entire film is based upon - that if the devil gave you wishes, he/she would end up finding a way to make it work against you.

Fraser is better than he has been for some time, but playing cavemen, jungle goofs, brainless Canadian mounties, brainless kids from the 50's and unloved geekboys must be wearing a bit thin on him. The guy really does have talent, he just seems to have sold his soul, if you'll excuse the obvious, to the Hollywood devil.

Hurley is unrelentingly bad, but this is her thing. If she must be in movies, I guess having her play Satan is probably the best way to go about it. You couldn't seriously cast her as a likeable human being, not if you wanted to sell tickets.

Making up the last of the cast is Frances O'Connor, the Australian actress famous for not just being talented, but having a forehead that could rival Mean Suvari's in terms of mass. She plays geekboy's love interest and doesn't shame herself. She doesn't cover herself in glory either, but it would be a rare creature indeed who could do herself justice with this dire screenplay.

But the worst of this all over horrific train wreck of a film is the ending. I'm not going to go into detail here, because this one is so bad it should be observed with a clear mind and with no preconceptions of idiocy going in. Enjoy it for the woe that it is.

Bad idea. Bad film. Bad feeling in the stomach. Bad head afterwards.

Just bad.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4351&reviewer=1
originally posted: 12/14/00 12:10:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/04/10 brian Dreadful. Dreadful, dreadful, dreadful. Fraser needs direction; Ramis can't deliver. 1 stars
11/02/08 Samantha Pruitt there were some funny parts, Brendan Fraser is always great! 3 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT A CUTE AND CLEVER, GOOD VS EVIL PARABLE 3 stars
6/23/07 DonnyM Brendon does a great job of proving he is a good actor. 3 stars
1/30/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 3 stars
3/16/05 Jeff Anderson Some funny parts, but I enjoyed the original Dudley Moore/Peter Cook version much better! 3 stars
12/02/04 Katarina Pretty Good, But Some Parts dont really fit 3 stars
8/17/04 Herolder A lot of fun 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva funny 3 stars
5/07/04 greater good a well balenced movie 5 stars
4/11/04 alpine liz hurley is the most gorgeous sexy woman ever born and how or bad the film is does not ma 5 stars
4/07/04 archangeljen It was just alright, I laughed at a few things. 3 stars
2/11/04 jessica it was anazing. 5 stars
12/09/03 Amanda Locker Harold Ramis is amazing! Don't ever insult him! He is great! 5 stars
10/25/03 Al Baston You missed it, should of had a hit of so,e fine Humboldt organic. 3 stars
2/18/03 Mitsaso For Harley's sake... 4 stars
11/26/02 bree awesome and funny 5 stars
8/26/02 Dickles McSquick It's...bonertime! 5 stars
8/12/02 Grayyy It's cute watching Liz try her best, but the whole thing still blows 1 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi well...ill go with my rating...pretty bad 2 stars
5/14/02 Danielle Ophelia Elizabeth Hurley's contract with Satan stated she had to play him at least once, I think. 1 stars
4/05/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Elizabeth Hurley always seems to get rotten roles. So why not the devil herself? ~Works. 4 stars
3/02/02 Chowie I'll have to see it again before I can make an educated decision, but from what i remember- 2 stars
1/16/02 David A. Not very exciting--I can't remember anything funny about it. 3 stars
1/14/02 Flick Chick ho-hum zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden OK Comedy. Unfunny, but Amusing. Kills Time. 3 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean HurleAn average comedy with a great message at the end to all religious zealots 4 stars
8/10/01 chouck all those skimpy outfits and this still sucked 2 stars
7/25/01 Suzanne It was funny at times but overall pretty stooopid 2 stars
7/15/01 Nazi dad Great comedy! Brendan Fraser's a riot! 5 stars
6/09/01 Turtle A bit stupid at times, but Harold Ramis can make any movie great. 4 stars
4/09/01 arnold schwaznaggar uuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrggggggggggggghhh! ugh! plz only watch my movies!!! 1 stars
3/31/01 Jesse L If Hurley got naked it would be worth a look.. 1 stars
3/09/01 The Evil Penguin sensitve, athletic, smart, or creative? YIKES!!!! 4 stars
2/18/01 Avenger Girl Liz makes a great devil, wearing many sexy outfits that would tempt any hotblooded male 3 stars
2/02/01 Pierce Lanson Saw it in full theatre,young audience, five laughs.Pathetic. 2 stars
1/30/01 jasmin its very nice movie 3 stars
1/29/01 hum eh, no big deal, just a mildly amusing easy film. doesnt help that hurley cant act 3 stars
1/25/01 Paul "I am a Columbian drug lord! Ha! Ha! Ha! I can't stop laughing! 5 stars
1/06/01 Emily i though brendan showed good comic acting, but the movie stunk. 3 stars
12/19/00 Joe Cool Yes, It does blow, but the chick looks Good!! 5 stars
12/19/00 Paulsj If you want dum fun, check it out but don`t expect too much 3 stars
11/19/00 Bob Fugate You should be watching porn films,you must have a permanent boner on. 3 stars
11/07/00 TruckGirl Pretty FLAT. 2 stars
10/31/00 Philm Phreak Brendan's good, Hurley's a babe, movie's WEAK! 3 stars
10/29/00 YOUR Movie Expert It's Analyze This meets Beetlejuice.....Very funny, but no Caddyshack, Vacation, etc. 5 stars
10/28/00 extar-bags It's not the original, but its not bad. Don't be so hard on it. 3 stars
10/28/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Rent the original, its funnier and way classier. Hurley crosses SAG picket lines, FUCK HER 1 stars
10/26/00 bart Lame with a few laughs. Elizabeth Hurley acting lessons from Joan Collins. 3 stars
10/23/00 Frode! Many funny moments, has an uneven ending 4 stars
10/23/00 fishie so so, the acting makes the movie far better. 3 stars
10/23/00 Daedalus Story and acting were weak, but overall better than most of the crap out there. 3 stars
10/23/00 Ground Zero Like Great Scott! said, suprisingly lazy, predictable and uninteresting 2 stars
10/23/00 Ken Kopin If you like "Deal with the Devil" movies, this one is great. Too short, tho. 4 stars
10/23/00 Dan Forget Affleck, Fraser is the new king of Hollywood. 5 stars
10/21/00 Pandora Mildly entertaining; the lesson in trite morality at the end was unnecessary 3 stars
10/21/00 Stuntman Hurley is great. The 2000 remake of the classic movie is badly done and terribly directed. 2 stars
10/20/00 Dan Fraser is devoid of charisma, but Hurley is surprisingly likeable. The movie is hollow tho. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Oct-2000 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Jan-2001 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast