More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome50.75%
Worth A Look: 31.34%
Average: 4.48%
Pretty Bad: 8.96%
Total Crap: 4.48%

3 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Over the Moon by Jay Seaver

Rebecca (2020) by Jay Seaver

Easy Money by Jack Sommersby

Leap by Jay Seaver

Run (2020) by Jay Seaver

Pelican Blood by Jay Seaver

Save Yourselves! by Jay Seaver

Dead by Jay Seaver

Devil All the Time, The by Rob Gonsalves

Wolf House, The by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Bootmen
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"Corny as heck and a lot of fun"
4 stars

Tap Dogs creator Dein Perry moves to the big screen with a film that really should have been titled Tap Dogs: The Movie (why wasn't it?). Shamelessly stealing story elements from his own life, The Full Monty, Flashdance and scores of other like-minded films, Bootmen is a story about overcoming obstacles, doing something with your life, finding real love and respect, making the most of a tough situation, and so forth. You know the drill.

Sean (Garcia) lives in lots of shadows: deceased mother, morose father (Carter), golden-boy big brother Mitch (Worthington), dead-end job in a steelworks, innate talent for tap dancing going to waste. Did someone say tap dancing? For some inexplicable reason, it seems that Sean, Mitch and their friends (Horsey, McDonald, Kaluski, Lee) although losers on the outside--are ace tapsters. So when things start going wrong, why not put on a show to restore some self respect and raise money for a good cause. Along the way, of course, Sean falls (quickly) for a lovely young dancer (Lee), who is caught between the two brothers. And Mitch gets himself in serious trouble with the vile Huey (Hayes), simply because the film needed a villain for us to hiss at.

Sigh. The story and dialog are so corny that it almost sucks our breath away, and Perry struggles to direct any scene that doesn't feature dancing, making up for his deficiencies with an insistently powerhouse score, whizzy camera work and flash-bang editing. The dance sequences, on the other hand, are marvellous--astounding high energy set pieces that work wonderfully (although not as well as Lars von Trier's brilliant use of ambient rhythms in Dancing in the Dark). And to put it mildly, the Big Finale is just a wee bit too impressive for a bunch of no-hopers with no money, borrowing equipment, practicing in their spare time and relying on someone's cousin Newt (Walmsley) for music.

It looks strangely like the opening ceremony of a recent Olympics (Perry designed and choreographed the tap segment), on about the same scale. But never mind. After all the ghastly dialogue, schmaltzy romance and amateurish filmmaking that comes before, it's good enough to leave you smiling.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4359&reviewer=169
originally posted: 10/20/00 14:58:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

4/29/06 Carol Baker If It wasn't for the dancing there would be nothing to this film. 3 stars
5/31/05 Jakub 1 of the best films i ever seen 5 stars
5/19/05 ABomb Hilariously bad! Worth renting just for a laugh. A future camp classic. 1 stars
2/21/05 Captain Craig A dance movie for people who dont know much about dance movies. 3 stars
1/14/05 Craig K One of the writers is Hilary Linstead, a Sydney agent. You can guess how bad it is. 1 stars
11/22/04 casey very good. And very life like. 5 stars
2/16/04 carmen ohhhhhh i loved it i watch it over and over again i am a dancer and it a makes me happy 5 stars
12/20/03 Coral doesn't happen offten where i will watch a film more than once in one day. 5 stars
12/05/03 sarah baldwin what a movie 5 stars
12/05/03 sarah baldwin i loved it, adam garcia is hot talent 5 stars
10/29/03 alicia it's sucha a great movie, the dancings great and adam's hot as!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/22/03 lauren i loved bootmen!bootmen rocks! can there be a bootmen 2?????? 5 stars
8/06/03 Sam this is a great movie and i loved it and could watch it over and over agian 5 stars
6/09/03 Claire makes me want to dance 5 stars
5/30/03 Karrie It was sad where Sean's brother died 5 stars
4/22/03 Anthony Khoury Refreshing Film 4 stars
3/12/03 me it woz ok - havent seen it for agez but i gotta do a essay on it :( 4 stars
2/02/03 pixie it was the best movie ever, i lovedyou adam 5 stars
1/07/03 brianna pritchard it was awarsom 5 stars
11/13/02 Gazza E Incredible dancing, but lame script and average acting. 4 stars
10/09/02 Lynne The movie is absolutely brilliant and riveting 5 stars
9/02/02 george it sucks. how gay do you want your dancers to be 1 stars
5/13/02 Dancing Queen I love it. I love tap dancing!! 5 stars
2/01/02 roxanne edwards 5 stars
11/25/01 jamie mcauliffe it was a bloody good movie 5 stars
11/11/01 jamie mcauliffe it was really awsome i am a tap dancer to but i can't do all of the steps that they do 5 stars
10/27/01 Natasha Howard The BEST movie ever! Adam is HUNK 5 stars
9/29/01 julie cordeau very sexy at the end of the movie 5 stars
8/13/01 Rachael Great film. Worth seeing it purley 4 Adam Garcia 5 stars
7/19/01 Steph A really great movie fantastic 5 stars
7/14/01 jocelyn hill i realiy love to tap dance but i can't find any place with tap danceing 4 stars
5/19/01 Maddie I loved it Hire it out its Good 5 stars
5/03/01 Merry Lou xcellent film 5 stars
3/12/01 talia hadad A really good movie 5 stars
2/25/01 renaye a tribute to the australian movie industry, tap dancing and the very sexy adam garcia. 5 stars
1/25/01 obsessed with adam hubba hubba 5 stars
11/17/00 Tracey Medcalf I loved It, I have seen all the shows but I loved this one 5 stars
11/05/00 Pierce Lanson Fantastic dancing, story so-so, left the theatre tapping my feet! 4 stars
10/30/00 carlie i think tht adam garcia is a babe 5 stars
10/27/00 Anna Finest Australian film I've seen yet! 5 stars
10/27/00 Liz Absolutely fantastic - Adam Rules! 5 stars
10/20/00 Viking The best dance film since Strictly Ballroom 4 stars
10/16/00 C.Chew If u enjoy musical drama, u will probably like this. 4 stars
10/06/00 Carly Simon A Must See 5 stars
10/01/00 Belinda Plenty of talent. Brilliant Aussie oi oi film. 5 stars
9/20/00 annie fantastic 4 stars
9/07/00 Colette Excellent dancing & acting-Adam Garcia is fantastic-This reviewer is nuts 5 stars
9/05/00 ron major aussie movie,bound for glory 4 stars
8/17/00 neil bartlett dull first half, great dancing scenes 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Oct-2000 (R)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Oct-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Dein Perry

Written by
  Steve Worland

Cast
  Adam Garcia
  Sophie Lee
  Sam Worthington
  William Zappa
  Lisa Perry
  Anthony Hayes



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast