More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.1

Awesome: 3.7%
Worth A Look: 6.17%
Average: 23.46%
Pretty Bad: 29.63%
Total Crap37.04%

6 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Harry & Son by Jack Sommersby

Shattered by Jack Sommersby

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

Ambition by Jack Sommersby

Blackout by Jack Sommersby

Backfire by Jack Sommersby

Hit List, The (1993) by Jack Sommersby

Banker, The by Jack Sommersby

Boogey Man/The Devonsville Terror, The by Jack Sommersby

Truck Stop Women/Stunts by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Loser
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Infuriating. Simply because it wasn't bad enough."
3 stars

There's nothing worse than a movie you go see because you think it'll stink and you'll have something to laugh about later, only to find it's just not that bad. Much as it disappoints me to admit it, Loser's just not that bad. Okay, it has the quickest ending known to mankind. Yes, the characters aren't exactly what you'd call realistic. Sure, there's no particular scene that leaves you gasping for breath with hilarity. But it doesn't stink.

Jason Biggs is a loser (oddly enough). He's such a loser that he wears a big fur hat. Everywhere. This is a guy who wants to not fit in. There's eskimos in the deepest tundra who would take off their fur hat if they ever got to New York. Not this kid. He's a loser, see?

And his roommates are animals. The kind of animals who eat their young. Because all the cool kids in college are like that. And then there's a girl who talks to him, so of course he falls in love with her, but she's seeing a nasty professor who doesn't really love her and only loser-boy knows how to treat her right because he's the only guy in the world who isn't a complete neanderthal. And there's parties and humiliation and kittens and you know about ten seconds in how it will all end up and just hope against hope that there'll be some interesting way of it all getting to that point. There isn't.

The ending comes out of nowhere, the features some of the worst background music I've ever witnessed ("What if I were Romeo in black jeans", oh lord), but even with all of that crappery… it doesn't stink.

I know, I know, it sounds like it should stink. It sounds like it DOES stink. But it doesn't. It's kind of… creepily nice.

Inneffectual, friendly enough, hard to hate. If you ever saw Return To Me, you've already been exposed to this phenomonon. In that film, a man dies and falls in love with the girl who gets his wife's heart for a transplant, cue tears when he finds out, tragedy, broken hearts, blah blah blah, stupid stupid stupid, but it doesn't suck. It's hard to hate. Loser runs this same gamut, it never stretches it's legs into anything original or smart, but it's just… I don't know… hard to hate. The only reason I can think of for this immunity from flamage is Biggs, Mena Suvari, Greg Kinnear. These actors know their stuff. They keep things going nicely, Suvari playing girl next door and Kinnear playing an Armani-clad Dr Evil with tenure, Biggs doing the same smiling geek schtick he showed in American Pie.

It's far from science, but it doesn't hurt. That puts Loser well above box office storming garbage like Big Momma's House and The Klumps on my scale. But do yourself a favour, wait for the video release.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4361&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/23/00 00:21:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/03/16 Anne unbelievable characters..... 2 stars
4/08/12 keith miron My favoite part is when mena savari sang in the street 2 stars
12/03/10 PAUL SHORTT CLUMSY TEEN COMEDY 1 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef Biggs and Suvari make sparks fly. Some charm and edge. Alright movie. Not a classic. 3 stars
7/22/07 gr117 One of the few movies that almost made me walk out. Awful. 1 stars
10/01/06 Beau good movie, theres just something i love about it, good acting, music and i love mena 4 stars
7/02/05 kyle what song was everclear playing when he went to the concert? 4 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson A BIG, BIG DISAPPOINTMENT FROM AMY HECKERLING! Mean-spirited, shallow, & it left me cold. 1 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G horrible 1 stars
5/29/04 Suzette The movie sucked but Kinnear was so awesome! 2 stars
1/23/04 Chloe Brody Hmm, it's okay-ish...Mena is such a cool actor though... 3 stars
8/02/03 Double G why doesn't any1 like this movie 5 stars
6/23/03 John Aster Habig come on underdog movie=funny movie 4 stars
3/04/03 WestcoastPunk wow 2 hours of shit 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby Second-rate writing with second-rate performances. Quite underwhelming. 2 stars
5/11/02 Veronica Foxx Not awful, had a bit more charm and promise than most in its genre, but still unpleasant. 3 stars
4/02/02 Vitality1 My GOD. I am speechless, this movie has inhibited my ability to think. 1 stars
2/05/02 toneely three homos playing three straight room-mates...sooo stupid 1 stars
2/05/02 toneely Hi Were the three room-mates friends of the director? because they sucked so bad!!! 1 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty wish Jason Biggs would play serious character in film not implying all other guys're creeps 3 stars
11/12/01 Kristen Sucked Ass! The only light at the end of the tunnel was when this piece of shit was over! 1 stars
9/18/01 Vicky I think it was a good movie 4 stars
7/21/01 Annie Marshall Thomas Sadoski suched all ass. 1 stars
6/11/01 King Jackass Amy Heckerling usually has pretty good movies... but something went wrong with this one. 1 stars
6/03/01 Thrillhouse BORIIIING 1 stars
3/13/01 John Callahan Good actors stuck with an awful script 3 stars
12/25/00 The Bomb 69 i like amy heckerling but this shit blew 1 stars
12/16/00 Elvisfan Unbearable; wouldn't watch it again even if I paid to do so 1 stars
11/09/00 D. Bartow I thought it was OK. 3 stars
10/23/00 Justin It was a cool movie,although it could lose the "dating the professor" part 5 stars
9/12/00 Ground Zero like the title says, this movie is for LOSERS! 1 stars
9/04/00 Brianna I thought it was fairly crap & wouln't reccomend it! 2 stars
8/29/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Amy Heckerling is the Anti-Christ. Destroy her NOW. 1 stars
8/26/00 baddazz69r biggs should stick a gun to his head and his dick to a cannon I blew $8 on total shit 1 stars
8/26/00 Stuntman absolute bullshit 1 stars
8/26/00 Joe Levy This movie smelled worse than my brother Mikey's farts!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/01/00 noone wasn't bad 3 stars
7/30/00 starbucksweetie "Oh, I guessed they slipped Amy Heckerling a roofie." 2 stars
7/29/00 Dave George This movie fucking blows 1 stars
7/25/00 Chris Bratton Blah, Jason Biggs could have done better. 1 stars
7/24/00 Tom Sadoski Poorly written, everybody's evil & Mena is whiney. But Greg Kinnear is funny & I like Biggs 4 stars
7/23/00 bockharn After 40 minutes, I walked. 1 stars
7/23/00 Digitalus Unfunny movie, somebody shoot Jason Biggs, for God's sake! 1 stars
7/23/00 YO, landa! This movie was depressing and stupid and joked about things that are not funny 1 stars
7/22/00 **~**Persnickety**~** wow, what has the world come to? i thought a shitty movie such as this was beyond possible 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Jul-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Aug-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Amy Heckerling

Written by
  Amy Heckerling

Cast
  Jason Biggs
  Greg Kinnear
  Mena Suvari
  Craig Montoya
  Jimmi Simpson
  Thomas Sadoski



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast