More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.94

Awesome51.16%
Worth A Look: 19.77%
Average: 6.98%
Pretty Bad: 16.28%
Total Crap: 5.81%

4 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Better Than Sex
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"A refreshingly old-fashioned movie."
4 stars

It is almost by accident that wildlife photographer, Josh (David Wenham) and costume designer, Cin (Susie Porter) get together in the first place. They meet at a party in inner Sydney, but it is not until they share a cab home that the chemistry starts to spark.

Josh is returning to London in three days, Cin doesn't want the complications of a relationship, neither does Josh, both reason that they could have a night of fun because in three days he will be gone... so when they reach Cin's warehouse flat, they both think what the hell, she invites him up for coffee and he accepts with a request for tea.

Everything pretty much moves along as you would want and you would expect. Friends find out and gossip. We hear what Josh and Cin are thinking, see some of their fantasies about each other. As one day bleeds into the next they open up more and more to each other and Josh is prevented from running away by a taxi driver who seems to be the couples fairy godmother.

BETTER THAN SEX is a delightfully old fashioned film, scenes of lovemaking and naked bodies aside. A simple fairy tale of falling in love told honestly and openly, not particularly original, but just the same there is a refreshingly joyful energy all the way through. I think this is definitely a film that could handle repeat viewing, though it probably won't lose much on a small screen.--(Cyndy Kitt Vogelsgang)

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4446&reviewer=169
originally posted: 11/06/00 15:30:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

1/06/07 Mark I really kiked it 4 stars
7/04/05 Linda Better than sex! 5 stars
5/19/05 ABomb Worse than you can imagine 1 stars
1/14/05 Lance Lets have more nude freckly people in bright sunlight! 1 stars
2/29/04 Sadie Not too deep, just a really fun movie 5 stars
12/13/03 treats maree the movie isn't really about anything. cath mcclements is awesome, gives the movie an edge 3 stars
4/23/02 tony they got into their characters well 4 stars
4/03/02 basheer saudi 5 stars
3/20/02 melody rary 4 stars
2/17/02 Peter Pak Very intelligent Australian production - makes me a big Susie Porter fan 5 stars
10/31/01 willy fecking shweet... try and get the uncut version tho 5 stars
10/22/01 Boomshanka A little disappointing. Love both the leads, but too 'cute' 3 stars
10/21/01 alif i like to fucking someone 5 stars
10/19/01 t.ryan average just average 3 stars
10/02/01 Andrew Anyone who claims this is a yawn has completely missed the point 5 stars
9/11/01 asd y 5 stars
8/06/01 klara gourault i like the intimacy, pretty rare in the screen, actors are great 5 stars
7/19/01 abdulrhman asdsad 5 stars
5/22/01 Desirey its was the bomb and enjoy it so much! makes me want to go to the loo 5 stars
4/01/01 Kate n Lizzie Love David's uh...work 5 stars
3/05/01 REBEKAH IT WAS GOOD BECAUSE I LOVE MOVIES WITH A GOOD RING IN THEM 5 stars
3/02/01 Darren cute 3 stars
1/07/01 Neil Cammack Might excite the latte set but immature, gauche and succeeds in making sex a big yawn. 2 stars
1/02/01 razi narazi 5 stars
1/01/01 razi narazi 5 stars
1/01/01 qlm sex 4 stars
12/23/00 billy bob totally mad man 5 stars
12/22/00 jack sexmovies 2 stars
12/08/00 jimmy baby it was hot 5 stars
12/04/00 Michelle Rossa Retsores faith in the idea of romance in a stylish, sexy and fun way. Loved it. 5 stars
12/03/00 Francesca we've all been there..simple and witty script! script! 5 stars
12/03/00 Paul Corcoran Cute, funny, falls flat in it's face. Worth a look. Don't reccomend it. 3 stars
12/01/00 ron tritton refreshing different &worth seeing again!! 4 stars
11/25/00 Gigi very funny and realistic 5 stars
11/23/00 Bob Rona Fantasic!! 5 stars
11/18/00 Jane Ferguson fabulous acting by both David and Susie, great story, funny, sexy, very relevant 5 stars
11/15/00 Diane Nails it (so to speak) 5 stars
11/13/00 lil hood excellent movie 5 stars
11/12/00 Masa-Aki N. Emesiochl Great 5 stars
11/10/00 Franko Clever comedy - great story - true to life! 5 stars
11/10/00 joshi ponna i loved this movie 5 stars
11/10/00 PaulJam Wait for the Video 4 stars
11/10/00 anne borish, obvious, annoying, predictable and irritating 1 stars
11/04/00 Belinda Very funny - great acting. 5 stars
11/04/00 david renton it was sexy 5 stars
10/31/00 peter tow a sexy 90 mins with many laughs + many points of recognition 5 stars
10/29/00 bubbles 5 stars!! 5 stars
10/25/00 yazan tv 5 stars
10/25/00 VANI 88 5 stars
10/22/00 peter hayes sex 4 stars
10/21/00 shawn bad 1 stars
10/16/00 OLIVER MANN I AM TOTALLY WITH U 5 stars
10/15/00 archie not much passion 1 stars
10/13/00 dharmawan good 4 stars
10/11/00 dgrwt hgood 5 stars
10/11/00 jespid no comment 5 stars
10/05/00 salleh ok 3 stars
10/02/00 Marcey This movie is great, smart and funny! 5 stars
9/23/00 Marcus Great film; clever and funny 5 stars
9/19/00 KATHY WOW 4 stars
9/11/00 Kookaburra Good date film, women will love. 4 stars
9/08/00 neil bartlett lust, lust and good humor 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Oct-2001 (NR)
  DVD: 29-Jul-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  09-Nov-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast