More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.15

Awesome51.91%
Worth A Look: 25.95%
Average: 10.69%
Pretty Bad: 7.63%
Total Crap: 3.82%

9 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Billy Elliot
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Quaint."
3 stars

Smalltown boy is made to take up boxing by his dad and ends up staying late to take part in ballet lessons instead. And that about sums it up. Oh yeah, there's a miner's strike, so dad's poor. Dad thinks dancing's for queeahs, like. But Billy, he just wants to pirhouette. And, I'll be buggered, I spelled that correct first time!

Inasmuch as the subject matter will half the potential audience (do guys go to ballet movies in large numbers?), and the small town England setting will halve the remainder (American's can't dig that green stuff), those brave souls left will have a great, if eventually forgettable, time with Billy Elliot.

If you cut away the dance, what you're left with is a great little family drama, bustling with big acting, tons of emotion and the kind of ending that, while a little bit sugar-on-top, does get the pulse racing and toes tapping. Where it fails is in it's predictability. We all know dad will find out eventually that Billy is wearing a tutu and that the little hamlet they live in will have a tough time accepting the young poof Billy and his young poof mate. And of course, Billy will fight his dad's insensitivity and survive the odd beating to dance on regardless.

But despite the obvious nature of the story, Billy Elliot has much to like. Julie Walters as Billy's dance teacher isn't really stretched, and the newbie cast that surround her give things a good shake a best they can. Some of the characterisations are almost surreal, particularly Walters' screen daughter, who comes over all unsettlingly funny, like.

All in all, it goes right down the middle of respectability and tosh. I'd be hard pressed watching it again as there wasn't many surprises to begin with, but if you like your entertainment on the fluffy side, Billy Elliot will taste great without spoiling your appetite.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4464&reviewer=1
originally posted: 10/19/00 00:45:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/05/09 Anonymous. the most charming movie i've ever seen, i loved it :] 5 stars
9/04/08 Rachel Hard to understand the heavy accents sometimes, but makes anyone want to get up and dance. 5 stars
6/01/08 David Cohen Cliched tripe without a single likeable character 2 stars
8/14/07 Hello Stranger predictable but awwwwww so great to watch 4 stars
1/26/07 Shanaynay Great characters and very heartwarming and inspirational 5 stars
1/20/07 Davo Brilliant flim, Jamie Bell Superb Actor, can watch it time and time again 5 stars
1/01/07 A The best thing ever. You should also see the musical. AMAZING!!! 5 stars
9/17/06 james fabulous and now that i'm starring in the new musical as billy, it is an inspiration. 5 stars
7/23/06 Daveman A resident of County Durham, I can tesify we do NOT talk like that and we are NOT that poor 2 stars
4/02/06 Riki Who is that kid?! 5 stars
8/18/05 boogy man do you want to see my fanny? hahahaha i have to do it 4 yr 10 baa boooring 1 stars
7/23/05 Captain Craig A WOW..onderful film. Left me wanting more! 5 stars
7/14/05 Rabbi Ledinski I have to study this stupid movie for year 12, it used to be cool, but i'm bored of it. 1 stars
7/06/05 muhammad ehsan it is superbly boring 1 stars
6/03/05 anon amazing film-really good! 5 stars
5/16/05 Litty I loved it but not as much as I love Mcleods Daughters 4 stars
5/10/05 Samantha I think it was pretty, daun good 5 stars
4/20/05 Georgina Definately has entered my list of favourites 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig A really wonder story, well done and quite original 5 stars
1/29/05 movie boi :) gr8 drama :( 5 stars
10/29/04 Elaine Pang Good enough to make my friend cry. bad enough to make another sleep. Could be done better. 1 stars
10/28/04 Kristen I dug it !!! 5 stars
9/27/04 NJ Cup Winner 95-00-03 The gold standard for movies about aspiring dancers living in squalor 5 stars
4/02/04 Paola Great Film Highly Recomended 5 stars
2/14/04 Jose O. Isidro Billy Elliot will always be my number one movie. 5 stars
2/11/04 teri reilly fantastic 5 stars
2/02/04 john bale Simple heartwarming stories sometimes make great cinema, this is one such. 5 stars
9/14/03 J I have seen this movie hundreds of times and it is still the best movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
5/28/03 Jessica I LOVE BILLY ELLIOT! 5 stars
4/30/03 rik i dont trust any critic who doesnt think this is great, because it is! 5 stars
3/06/03 Dina Smith I saw this in school and I tought it was wonderful 4 stars
11/16/02 Big Ted Great film. Very underrated work from Gary Lewis. 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Wonderful film...just wish it had subtitles. 5 stars
10/02/01 alf awful tawdry take on english northern life and why were t rex featured in 1984? 2 stars
9/10/01 Malin hln I love the scen when Michael kisses Billy! Its so sweet! And Stuart Wells is very cute!!!! 5 stars
9/06/01 Bada Bing Crosby I can't imagine the soul of the person who thinks this is crap 5 stars
8/18/01 Dana loved it!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/13/01 KCobain Very inspirational. Jamie Bell was terrific. Dance scenes were dazzling. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg This is not the greatest British film of all time . 4 stars
7/24/01 Pia Wesley Really good movie based on true situations of males being homaphobic. 5 stars
7/10/01 Monday Morning Just like Billy Jack except with dancing instead of head-kicking. Seriously, 'twas lame. 3 stars
6/23/01 Onyx Wonderful story. Enjoyed it. The ending was beautiful. 4 stars
6/14/01 Courtney THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE AND IT ALWAYS WILL BE! I LUV JAMIE BELL 5 stars
6/09/01 Girl 9 NO BILLY NO! Everything about this film has been overrated, from the story to the actors. 2 stars
5/17/01 nowak The reviewer for iF Magazine is simply pathetic. 5 stars
5/14/01 Dave Truly a piece of "shite" 1 stars
5/12/01 Emilio Touching, funny, an excellent film! 5 stars
5/05/01 Bada Bing Crosby The only movie I could see myself watching on a daily basis 5 stars
5/03/01 Antonio Excelent!! The best film year!! 5 stars
4/26/01 Twang Kern Zern If I never see another movie in my life, I'll die happy because I've watched Billy Elliot. 5 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe A touching story that makes us believe all our dreams can come true no matter how difficult 4 stars
4/08/01 Hawkeye A great film- if the acting doesn't stick with you, the soundtrack will. Go see it! 5 stars
4/03/01 Lisa Great Movie. A must see! 5 stars
4/01/01 BILL BUSTER BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN 10 YEARS! 5 stars
3/21/01 Jeferdi MAGNIFICA 5 stars
3/17/01 Steve Wright Wonderful example of talent transcending barriers 5 stars
3/04/01 Suzz loved it 5 stars
2/06/01 Rob One of the best movies ever made 5 stars
1/25/01 Elvisfan If you don't like this, check your pulse, you might be dead 5 stars
1/17/01 Dan Rich I really enjoyed this movie. The contrasts between ballet and violence were very astute. 4 stars
12/19/00 Mic Though cliched, those who think this movie is gay, do yourself a favour and watch it 4 stars
12/07/00 Matthew Bartley Go, Billy, go! 5 stars
12/05/00 A GREAT FILM 5 stars
11/28/00 pipeman Great little flick. 5 stars
11/15/00 basilsmom wondeful, warm and touching Jamie Bell is super 4 stars
11/14/00 Flare28 This was one of the best films of the year! 5 stars
11/14/00 Maureen Inspired me to pursue my talent. I loved this movie! Bought the soundtrack. 5 stars
11/13/00 D Pedersen Aw... how sweet 5 stars
11/10/00 spork-girl you are all just gay-dancing bashing 5 stars
11/07/00 Heather Heartwarming little movie, loved the ending and the T-REX soundtrack 5 stars
11/06/00 Sall S I hardly ever say this with confidence but this movie is a must see! Amazing. 5 stars
10/30/00 neil bartlett heart in the right place. Some inappropriate music & costuming for 198 3 . Take some tissue 4 stars
10/28/00 Rich Knock it all you want, Greg and Oz, I thought it was a great little movie. 5 stars
10/24/00 Daniel Marcusso One of the most wonderful and touching portraits of the childhood I've ever seen. 5 stars
10/22/00 Gonzo Film of the year 5 stars
10/19/00 Klute Pleasant enough, but no life-changer. 3 stars
10/11/00 John JR Absolutely brilliant - tear-jerking, Billy is amazing 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  03-Nov-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Nov-2000 (M)


Directed by
  Stephen Daldry

Written by
  Lee Hall

Cast
  Julie Walters
  Jamie Bell
  Jamie Draven
  Gary Lewis
  Jean Heywood
  Stuart Wells



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast