More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.06

Awesome: 6.4%
Worth A Look40.8%
Average: 23.2%
Pretty Bad: 12%
Total Crap: 17.6%

8 reviews, 77 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Siege of Firebase Gloria, The by Jack Sommersby

Wild Geese II by Jack Sommersby

Trial of the Chicago 7, The by Peter Sobczynski

Way I See It, The by Jack Sommersby

Kajillionaire by Peter Sobczynski

Allan Quartermain and the Lost City of Gold by Jack Sommersby

12 Hour Shift by Jay Seaver

Firewalker by Jack Sommersby

Death Wish V: The Face of Death by Jack Sommersby

Police Academy 2: Their First Assignment by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Evolution
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"B-Grade horror-comedy"
3 stars

Monster movies used to be scary. After a slew of B-Grade films that ended up being valued more for their ironic camp value than for their mystical powers of getting you laid, it makes sense we now have a category called "horror-comedy". On the one hand you have this threat to humanity that should it be allowed to continue will spell certain doom. That's scary shit. On the other hand, you've got prat falls, sight gags and jokes. That's funny. So I say, "What the hell?" Luckily there were plenty of special effects to keep me distracted so I didn't think too much about it. And thank the stars for those special effects. That and an interesting concept and novel creatures redeem a typical plot and typical characters.

In Evolution, the Giant Ants is an alien single celled organism that begins to evolve. Soon, multi-celled organisms are self-replicating through mitosis and the rapid diversification of species breeds ever more dangerous creatures making their way into the local neighborhoods. The evolutionary process loosely told the story of the zoology of earth but some organisms adapted with bizarre characteristics. You get a little pseudo-science lesson thrown in, free of charge.

So why go see this movie? You like Julianne Moore and want to watch her make a successful attempt at physical comedy. You like seeing the fantastical products of someone else's imagination come to life through the magic of puppetry, animatronics and computer generated effects. You like David Duchovny. Jerry Lewis has proven that silly little things will always yank a laugh out of the most hardened audience and Evolution took a lot of notes. Jerry knows how to keep his kids rolling in the aisles. The sight gags and situation comedy liven up a pedestrian but fun film. You'll barely notice that 90 minutes just seemed to disappear. The Truth Is Out There.

Things I learned from Evolution. Even a community college can have a good science department. Just doing your job can lead to things like "Gulf War Syndrome" for which you will take the blame for the big guys game. The periodic table has an esoteric logic. The opposite of any element can be found one square down and one square over. Army Generals are hard headed. Geeks have dandruff. It was an extraordinarily enlightening film. I was taken in by the poster which it turns out, had nothing to do with the film.

I was expecting a movie about human evolution, one in which goofy stoners turn into psychics while pulling the rest of humanity into a new phase of its evolution. You know, that future where we have bigger heads, no pinky toe and telepathy. Put back the pinky toe and take away the telepathy and you are left with Big Heads. So I declare Evolution to be a movie full of big, empty heads. Totally watchable. Just go stoned.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4710&reviewer=67
originally posted: 07/09/01 18:25:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/17 morris campbell it sux 1 stars
5/26/15 JohnnyO Fun movie. It was light on clever dialogue but well cast, good premise, good popcorn flick. 4 stars
5/31/14 KennethC Good vibe, not the best film, but very enjoyable. 4 stars
12/10/09 Chris Tanner My Favourite Movie of All Time 5 stars
11/04/09 Jeff Wilder Very funny sci-fi comedy. Better than Mars Attacks or Men In Black II. 4 stars
5/19/09 Rhys Hughes Crackin' fun film. There's always time for lubricant! 4 stars
6/09/08 PAUL SHORTT FEELS LIKE THE SCRIPT WAS CRANKED OUT TO MEET A DEADLINE 1 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK It looks like a de''Evolution'' in Film making (pardon the pun.) 2 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega 'Ghostbusters' meet 'Aliens'. 4 stars
9/23/06 Charles Tatum Rejected Ghostbusters sequel without the laughs 2 stars
8/27/05 R.W. Welch Slapstick sci-fi. Okay premise devolves into FX for the sake of FX. 2 stars
6/12/05 Gecko Fanfoot A total waste of time and film 1 stars
3/22/05 Jeff Anderson Owes a great deal to director Reitman's GHOSTBUSTERS, but occasionally witty & cast is fun. 3 stars
6/05/04 john bale Another SF spoof in the MIB mold, mildy amusing thanks to a good cast and SFX. 3 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot This film is dog shit.i rarely say that about any film. 1 stars
1/16/04 Gecko Fanfoot A God-awful piece of shit AND a complete waste of time to boot! 1 stars
12/30/03 Littlepurch Funny, clever and enjoyable. Easily as good as Ghostbusters. 5 stars
6/30/03 francis Surely a film must make at least a little sense. This is plain silly. 2 stars
6/23/03 John Aster Habig Sucks like Joe Dirt and Eight Crazy Nights 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Hilariously awful. How can so many good actors suck so bad at one time? 1 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby A few good moments, but this is second-rate, lazy stuff. 2 stars
4/11/03 Jack Bourbon Great chemistry between Duchovny and Jones. 4 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper A complete waste of celluloid. Duchovny should be ostracized for being associated with this 1 stars
10/22/02 Jiz Fun flick, but nothing special. 4 stars
9/30/02 Butterbean The slapstick was stupid instead of funny. 2 stars
7/23/02 Bada Bing Crosby Not just unworthy of Julianne Moore, but all thinking human beings 1 stars
5/11/02 Keith unworthy of Julianne Moore's talents. 3 stars
4/16/02 Danielle Ophelia The cast was an effective compensation for its shortcomings. 4 stars
3/11/02 Jim Amusing and forgettable 4 stars
3/05/02 Alan Smithee The movie's okay, but Ms. Moore as always does a great job. 3 stars
2/27/02 J I'm pretty much with Greg, Y2 & both Eriks on this one. Good movie. 4 stars
2/25/02 Mitja Podgajski Not too bad:). 3 stars
2/10/02 Dawn Someone with "Some High School Chem" could prove their 'scientific' theories wrong! 1 stars
1/30/02 Monday Morning Very disappointing given its cast, director and EFX. 2 stars
1/21/02 The Bomb 69 should have been better, took too many shortcuts 3 stars
1/11/02 max zhang after I took the girl to this movie, she refused to have sex with me. 1 stars
1/03/02 Dave Gonyea This was sooooo bad, it hurt! 1 stars
12/07/01 Dominik Duprelle Terminal, desparate dreck-STINKS OUT THE SWAMP. 1 stars
12/06/01 KMG It was good....scott thinks it's retarded 2 stars
11/15/01 Marlene Steinberg I really enjoyed it. Took my whole family and found it to be very entertaining. 4 stars
11/15/01 Anita McNab As a X Files Fan, I knew that David Duchovny was Funny, and This Movie proves that he is. 5 stars
11/09/01 Mark "Let's shampoo us some aliens!" With quotes like that, how can you not see this movie? 5 stars
10/30/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Orlando Jones and Dan Aykroyd are the best HUMAN characters. 3 stars
10/26/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! one of my all-time favourite films!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/13/01 Bevan R. Clark A derivative piece of shit. 1 stars
9/11/01 cameron it was very very funny. 5 stars
7/28/01 Turtle It's basically just Ghostbusters mixed in with Men in Black. Who said that was a bad thing? 4 stars
7/24/01 Gizzy Fun, despite a silly final 15 minutes 4 stars
7/11/01 Katherine Perry enjoyable and funny though at moments unneccessarily sophomoric. 4 stars
7/10/01 Anne Major cheese, but I had fun anyhow. 3 stars
7/03/01 Matthew Bartley Very funny 4 stars
6/27/01 russrickee Some parts funny, was expecting it to go somewhere, but it didn't 3 stars
6/23/01 Nightraven It did rehash some existing plots, but was still a good way to have fun for a little while/ 4 stars
6/22/01 brent young funny. used the ghostbuster formula. the shampoo part was hilarious. though not all got it 4 stars
6/22/01 ArtiGrafiche Was it a product commercial, or a movie? 2 stars
6/18/01 bobbuttons nothing too serious...a good time: oh yeah, DONKEY LIPS from Salute your Shorts is in this 4 stars
6/17/01 Thor-Leo Slow, flat, predictable, phoned-in performances. Bilked out of $7.50!!! 2 stars
6/16/01 LdyArdRhi Formulaic, scrape off ghosts and put in aliens and you have Evolution...but FUNNY. 4 stars
6/15/01 mc iedh very flat,unfunny,rushed,predictable; meant to be fun and giddy but ended just plain bad 1 stars
6/15/01 BrainPan expected some jokes. I wanted to like this, but no gut-busters. Duchovny still rocks. 3 stars
6/15/01 Rampage at least it beat Starship Troopers and MIB, I think Duchovny was good 4 stars
6/15/01 Brandon Glenn Rogers just saw this film the other day, loved it. 5 stars
6/14/01 JB Poor attempt to revist Ghostbusters. Rent Ghostbusters. Yet the hairy monster was cool. 2 stars
6/14/01 fishie definately worth going to see, orlando jones is hilarous. 4 stars
6/13/01 Jim Kidd I loved it, but it seemed like something was missing from the whole movie 4 stars
6/13/01 bats If Reitman wanted to make a Ghostbusters ripoff, why not "GB II"? Lame. 2 stars
6/13/01 Darren Shea a fun, dumb comedy with good chemistry between the leads. 4 stars
6/13/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Perfect summer fare...Duchovny has amazing comedic timing...Moore's good, too... 4 stars
6/12/01 Biz McNatch Easygoing and affable. Orlando finally has a real performance. Dave should always do comedy 5 stars
6/12/01 TheFirkin It's not Ghostbusters but it was great! 4 stars
6/12/01 Mike TERRIBLE 1 stars
6/11/01 BKrymsin Constant laughs; but ended with a sputter. 4 stars
6/11/01 ArtiGrafiche A piece of product marketing crapola! 2 stars
6/10/01 Benjamin Lesbian What a load of horseshit! Very pedestrian ripoff of Ghostbusters! 2 stars
6/10/01 Turtle Ghostbusters meets Men in Black. What a wonderful experience. 4 stars
6/10/01 Jim Kidd I laughed throughout the whole movie, but I felt that it was also missing something 3 stars
6/09/01 AgentDS I went to see David, nothing more! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Jun-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Jul-2001 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast