More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.32

Awesome: 14.07%
Worth A Look: 13.33%
Average: 6.67%
Pretty Bad: 22.22%
Total Crap43.7%

4 reviews, 111 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Demon Slayer the Movie: Mugen Train by Jay Seaver

In the Heights by Peter Sobczynski

Strawberry Mansion by Jay Seaver

Spirit Untamed by Peter Sobczynski

Amusement Park, The by Peter Sobczynski

Amusement Park, The by Rob Gonsalves

Army of the Dead by Rob Gonsalves

Cruella by alejandroariera

Cruella by Peter Sobczynski

Quiet Place, A: Part II by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


13 Ghosts (2001)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Preston Jones

"So mediocre, it's scary."
1 stars

The second in a pair of horror-themed films released just in time for Halloween, 13 Ghosts is an exercise in mediocrity.

13 Ghosts is a frustrating film that has moments of genuine invention and promise becomes bogged down by trite characterizations and a silly screenplay. A remake of the 1960 film directed by horror maestro William Castle, the beginning and end of the film are by far the worst in terms of undermining the fairly enjoyable 45 minutes in the middle.
The movie centers around Arthur (Tony Shalhoub) and his two children, teenager Kathy (Shannon Elizabeth) and younger brother Bobby (Alec Roberts), are down on their luck. Several months ago, Arthur's wife perished in a fire that burned their nice house down, leaving them with no money and a new, crummy abode.
Their bleak fate changes when the family, including live-in maid Maggie (rapper Rah Digga), are visited by a lawyer (J.R. Bourne) that tells them Arthur's wealthy, distant Uncle Cyrus (F. Murray Abraham) has died. If Arthur wishes to accept, Uncle Cyrus has left him a guarantee of lifelong financial security and the key to his house, an awe-inspiring masterpiece of architecture that is made completely out of unbreakable, soundproof glass, making it resemble a carnival "House of Mirrors" maze.
Once inside the house, the family, along with Uncle Cyrus’ worried former partner, Rafkin (Matthew Lillard), becomes hopelessly trapped within its walls. It seems that Uncle Cyrus' house isn't really a house at all, but a meticulously constructed machine powered by the dead--namely thirteen angry ghosts that are nearer to them than they think.
Each time the walls move and the machine reconstructs itself, another ghost is released from its glass-encased cage. Suffice to say, its walls are quickly growing too small to hold everyone.
Director Steve Beck, making his feature film debut, moves events along quickly and finds a pleasant groove for the middle third of the film. Screenwriters Neal Stevens and Richard D’Ovidio punctuate the screams and gore with a few well-placed one-liners, but degenerate into nonsense as the film reaches its climax. The cast doesn’t seem to be too engaged in what’s transpiring onscreen, save for the achingly hammy Lillard as the screaming, hyperbolic Rafkin.
The production design and cinematography are topnotch, however. Sean Hargreaves’ work in creating a living, breathing house is incredible; Gale Tattersall’s camera work throws a few stylistic touches into the film that spice up its already potent visual power.

On the whole, 13 Ghosts is ultimately less than the sum of its parts. There is enough good about the film to recommend it for a matinee viewing, but unless you’re a diehard horror aficionado, 13 Ghosts is better left to haunt other viewers.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4749&reviewer=304
originally posted: 02/19/02 12:08:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Horror Remakes: For more in the Horror Remakes series, click here.

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell passable 3 stars
7/20/17 Mark Louis Baumgart Good design, special effects, make-up, & monsters. Good violent fun for the family. 4 stars
8/14/16 David Hollingsworth A complete waste of a good plot. 1 stars
1/17/15 Lucy C. I think this is a decent horror movie. It set up a sense of foreboding and dread, IMO 4 stars
4/19/12 Sheryl Granholm Vomit Fest. 2 stars
8/01/10 Elizabeth Perfect for late night tv! It was so bad that it was so good! 4 stars
12/26/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Hollywood vomits this out= teens eat it up. 1 stars
12/20/09 FrankNFurter Poor people have nannies? And that's just the mildest of the plot holes.Cool ghosts,though. 2 stars
9/20/09 Jakob Pure unadulterated CRAP! 1 stars
5/11/09 WhenDarknessFalls some nice visual effects, but otherwise a throwaway and pointless "scary" film 2 stars
3/28/09 Total Crap Bad, but passable. Not scary in the least but I liked the split in half scene. 3 stars
11/16/08 Chode Wanted to kill myself after 20 mins of watching this garbage. 1 stars
6/18/08 PAUL SHORTT A LOUD, STUPID AND INCOMPREHENSIBLE PIECE OF JUNK 1 stars
6/06/08 Jenn Passable late night entertainment but not worth any amount of money. Pretty disappointing. 2 stars
5/03/08 Karrie Millheim Scared me good, good plot and lots of scary action 5 stars
12/15/07 Shantyl Umm..this movie is great! So obviously you have no taste lol. 5 stars
11/12/07 ilove26forever this movie's a major letdown. the original was better, and that's really saying something!! 1 stars
10/27/07 Alex I think the movie is brilliant. And I loved Lillard's character. 5 stars
6/19/07 Jessiika i'ld like to take some of those ghosts for a ride 2 stars
5/03/07 Wesley I identify with the dead naked chick in this movie. I wanted to cut myself afterwards. 2 stars
1/07/07 Stephen Far too wierd 2 stars
10/23/06 WTF If anyone gave this movie a 5-star rating, your opinions for any other film are worthless. 1 stars
10/11/06 Pritchett Proof that, no matter how bad, there'll always be some cretin out there who likes it. 1 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist REMAKE+MEDIEOCRACY=LAME,BARELY WATCHABLE POPCORN FLICK!!!!! 2 stars
5/29/06 Anthony Feor The plot kept me watching 2 stars
3/07/06 Steven Lewis It's a little wacky but the I like Shalob and the suspense, i thought, was killer. 3 stars
1/03/06 cody a gory movie with good perf. by matthew lillard but the plot stunk and so did entertainment 2 stars
12/10/05 The Grinch The original was CRAP. This IS a guilty pleasure, but it's great compared to Castle 4 stars
10/25/05 chris fox (the god) dont bother watching this shite 1 stars
9/24/05 Jessica i think the movie was greate i dont know what these other peple are talking about. 5 stars
8/13/05 Mark Louis Baumgart Bad acting, story & characters. Awesome sets, editing & makeup. A true guilty pleasure. 4 stars
7/02/05 Indrid Cold Holds your interest enough to be watchable, but just barely. 2 stars
6/30/05 rachel hall good but not as good has the old one 5 stars
5/26/05 tony Very suspensful. But movie made no sense. This remake was a failure. 1 stars
5/11/05 Wolfrey Maxwel WHY DOESN'T ANY ONE KNOW THE ACTUAL NAMES OF ALL THE GHOSTS(in the book) 4 stars
3/29/05 craig varney "a sleeper" will cure your insomnia 1 stars
3/12/05 Cpt Crunch quite nice FX the rest sucks badly, and it's simply boring 2 stars
1/01/05 Joe England Yeah... I got SO sick of that damn psychic screaming and whining and gnashing his teeth. 2 stars
10/16/04 Don Eckert This defines the statement "Piece of Shit"! 1 stars
9/25/04 Lord Durvok 2 I actually knew some retarded blonde who liked this abomination... 2 stars
9/03/04 Jexxie It's not a good story but it's pretty damn scary 4 stars
8/07/04 ELI Well, I liked the makeup! The rest sucked. 1 stars
8/03/04 paul jonas this movie sux ass 1 stars
8/02/04 American Slasher Goddess Just horrible all away around 1 stars
7/23/04 Jannet Kwan Scary Scary I would never want to be in that house 3 stars
4/07/04 Sig Not a bad concept, Shannon Elizabeth is HOT! & the scene with the sliding glass door... WOW 5 stars
3/02/04 Whatevr If Moses saw this movie there would have been a 11'th commandment 1 stars
3/02/04 blue the ghosts were scary but the movie went straight to shit 2 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge The torso made the movie look promising, but then it died leaving a foul stench. Laughable. 1 stars
1/12/04 Scott An edge of your seat live action graphic novel- "A Lot of Fun" 5 stars
12/27/03 J The ghost could of been scary, but the writer and director were too slow! Retards! 1 stars
12/14/03 Morial Rose Kvasnikoff I think that the film was little bit of scary but more knowledge. 3 stars
12/10/03 Tommy A good movie... 3 stars
11/30/03 Jason Masterbating with a cheese grader is moe enkoyable then watching this crap!!! 1 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess Contains some of the most annoying characters in horror movie history. Avoid at all costs. 1 stars
7/25/03 Nicole The movie was pretty well done, but it was just pointless 2 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus Shaggy and Monk are the men and Jay's Girl friend is cool too lmao!!!!! 5 stars
7/07/03 Terrance Rogers B-o-r-i-n-g But that angry princess ghosts did really have nice tits 1 stars
7/03/03 Y2mckay Hey "Hottie" (dubious) - Fuck WHICH critic? We ALL hated it! 1 stars
6/24/03 Hottie this is my FAVORITE movie and matthew lillard is my fav. actor so fuck this critic 5 stars
6/14/03 Eschenennock Manville There ought to be a law against so egregiously wasting the fabulous Shannon Elizabeth! 2 stars
6/13/03 Sylvie Alice Borden Makes Lara Croft, Tomb Raider look like Lord Of The Rings. 2 stars
4/29/03 The Bint I couldnt get out the theatre, i had been fucking concussed by this mindless shit..... 1 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Suckiness, sure, but lots of fun suckiness. 4 stars
3/11/03 me GREAT 5 stars
3/03/03 Maurice " The Predator" this movie was good!! not the best I've ever seen but still good 4 stars
2/21/03 syrius a movie where shannon elizabeth doesn't take it off?! :gasp: and :sigh: 1 stars
1/21/03 Chase This one's going straight down the crapper. Oh yeah, and chug my love chowder, too. 1 stars
11/20/02 Jim Wasn't THAT bad, but then again I was pretty tired when I watched it ... 3 stars
9/28/02 katrin one of the worst movies i've ever seen 1 stars
8/18/02 mary gibbs it was a great movie 5 stars
8/15/02 Frances i'm a wuss with horror films so i find it scary, however its fucking shite 1 stars
7/31/02 STEVE UM, HOW ABOUT NO? 1 stars
7/22/02 the Grinch If you don't take it seriously (it's a CASTLE movie remake, 4 chrisakes) it's good fun 4 stars
6/15/02 Cat Weaker plot, but it was supported by good special fx, alright cast and was generally creepy 4 stars
6/12/02 Eloise I like it...... I like it alot! 5 stars
6/11/02 crush I thought Matthew Lillard did better than they say!! 5 stars
5/26/02 Charles Tatum Nice effects and set, terrible script 2 stars
5/25/02 darkjosh@hotmail.com What's next? Rah Digga and Martin Lawrence in 13 Black Knights? 1 stars
5/21/02 othree great casting none the less, loved the ghosts! house was cool & it had tha guy from Hackers 4 stars
5/15/02 Blake This movie rocks the screen 5 stars
4/15/02 Vitality1 Had a lot of potential but drops the ball at the ending - wraps up so damn quickly! 4 stars
4/08/02 Spyguy2 13 pieces of undigested corn in a turd "breather". Flush it before it stinks up the room 1 stars
4/08/02 Daniel one of the worst, boring..... movies ever made 1 stars
4/06/02 Danielle Ophelia If it were set to continuous Marylin Manson, it would be my all time favorite music video. 2 stars
4/05/02 Edfink Lombardo A splendid horror film...It's fun (no revelations here) and that's all it's meant to be 5 stars
1/27/02 Monday Morning Whoever edited this piece of mierda should be castrated, unless it was a girl. 1 stars
1/14/02 Anus You have to be retarded to enjoy this. Good thing I saw the bootleg version 1 stars
12/27/01 Lexus Lopeman Great movie. My friend Ev and I loved every minute of it 5 stars
12/26/01 Roy Smith MTV horror, pretty but stupid. Real stupid. 2 stars
12/17/01 Andrew Carden Shannon Elizabeth Gives A Good Performance, The Plot Is Pretty Good. 4 stars
12/04/01 auroradae in a time when new horror movies suck ass, this remake shines a severed head above the rest 5 stars
12/03/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Eat some beans, go see this movie, fart through out it. Then it'll be an entertaining flick 1 stars
11/22/01 Richard Connehey House was really cool, but that was about it. Did anyone hear that one girl say "Tommoree" 1 stars
11/19/01 malcolm better than i expected. a topless Shannon Elizabeth would've gotten it a 4 from me. 3 stars
11/16/01 Baphomet Goddamn what an aweful movie! It was unsettling tho, yet also idiotic & dumb 1 stars
11/13/01 SeeGreg The best part was: The flashing lights and choppy scenes threw me into a fit of seizures 1 stars
11/13/01 jenn looks really cool, i like the character of dennis, he's cool 5 stars
11/12/01 Kevin Really not that bad... for what it is... worth seeing, just dont expect a great storyline. 4 stars
11/08/01 WeirdArchives Obvious remaking a turkey doesn't always make sense. Leave dumb movie classics alone! 1 stars
11/06/01 RazorDog Love the glass house! 4 stars
11/04/01 E-Funk Visually cool. But it's not very frightening and it goddamn well should be. See the old one 2 stars
11/04/01 Matt Gill you think u have it bad? i wasted 8$ 1 stars
11/03/01 ender what do cockboats expect? it's like The Cell, only more pointless 2 stars
11/02/01 7th Guest Watch Matthew Lillard overact like a motherfucker. He kicks ass. Movie is a mess, but fun 4 stars
11/02/01 G-Man It's better than any other horror movie to come out lately. 4 stars
11/01/01 Caiphn Could someone please shoot Shannon Elizabeth in the face? Static, horrible actress. 3 stars
11/01/01 Janine Lay, RN I thought it was really scary, great effects, don't read too much into it! 5 stars
10/28/01 Greyjack It's not the $5 I miss, it's the memory capacity wasted on this movie that pains me. 1 stars
10/27/01 forger Had potential, but the end really sank it...also no naked Shannon E. 2 stars
10/27/01 Jamie Madrox Why did I waste 4.75 and 90 minutes of my life on this piece of shit?! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Oct-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Dec-2001




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast