More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.3

Awesome: 14.97%
Worth A Look: 11.56%
Average: 10.88%
Pretty Bad: 13.61%
Total Crap48.98%

6 reviews, 111 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

Ambition by Jack Sommersby

Blackout by Jack Sommersby

Backfire by Jack Sommersby

Hit List, The (1993) by Jack Sommersby

Banker, The by Jack Sommersby

Boogey Man/The Devonsville Terror, The by Jack Sommersby

Truck Stop Women/Stunts by Jack Sommersby

Competition, The by Jack Sommersby

Hollywood Harry by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Scooby-Doo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Are you ready for the critical pounding? Too bad. I didn't hate this film."
3 stars

Yes, sad as it may seem, after months of slamming this thing, sight unseen, it pains me greatly to admit that I really didn't hate it at all. I tried to. I even downloaded it, rather than paying o see it, just so I wouldn't contribute to the box ofice tally, but in the end I just can't say, with all honesty, that it was anything close to as bad as Master of Disguise, Men in Black II, or even Austin Powers 3. I honestly wouldn't have believed anyone who had told me I'd enjoy Scooby Doo more than Austin Powers 3, but there you have it. World to end soon.

See, through all the blather and bluster and abuse I've heaped upon the makers of this film in the past, I always said that it was the CONCEPT that stunk up the joint. Of all the things that could be turned into a film, why a bad Saturday morning cartoon that featured guest stars like Don Knotts and the Harlem Globetrotters? And why fill the cast with such luminaries as Freddie Prinze Jr and Matthew Lillard? Seriously, no film with that as a concept can ever be worh more than three stars, so that's what I'm reviewing this out of.

As an adaptation, Scooby Doo stays pretty close to the source material. Sure, they've updated a few things here and there, and they cerainly make fun of the characters more than the characters ever made fun of themselves, but the essence of the cartoon is all there. The storyline is ridiculous, about as hokey as they come, but it's Scooby Doo, so it's not like the plotlines weren't ridiculous to begin with.

Where does it come unstuck? Well, pretty much everywhere. And extended scene involving Lillard and Scooby farting for distance sure as heck could have been left at home, and the animation really isn't all that, esepcially compared to flicks like Stuart Little, or Monsters Inc, which stretch animation to breaking point.

If there's a movie to compare this to, it'd have to be The Flintstones. It's really not a very good movie, but the novelty of seeing the cartoon adapted in such a way, and seeing the characters do what we always suspected they would when the cameras were off, is enough to get you through the running time.

Freddie Prinze Jr is vile, incompetent and wooden as Fred. Which is okay, since the cartoon Fred was vile, incompetent and wooden himself. Lillard hits Shaggy right on the money, but he's still Lillard, which means you still want to punch him out and take his lunch money whenever you see him. Sarah Michelle Gellar's Daphne is a little on the cheesy side, especially when it becomes clear she's suddenly not only a black belt, but she has the sort of gravity-defying martial arts skills that a 6,000 year old xen master would be envious of.

Ultimately, Scooby Doo is not going to push the cinematic art form at all, and it's a total crime that such an obvious money grab was rewarded with such a gigantic box office, but if you're going to take a supremely unoriginal idea and transplant it to the big screen, you might as well do it with a little humor - and despite its limitations, Scooby Doo does just that.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=4824&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/01/02 08:39:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

4/14/17 Susan Denise Nymm The Scooby Movie didn't break me. Having Scrappy be evil broke me. Some of us like him! 1 stars
10/30/09 wow im high this movie is aweful when your high... why is scrappy doo evil?? i mean i hate em. 1 stars
10/20/09 Barker What happened to Velmas Breasts?!?! That was Sarah M Geller?!?!?! Horrible acting/script/pr 2 stars
8/13/09 Jeff Wilder Scooby Doo run run away from this awful movie! 1 stars
12/05/08 Shaun Wallner Hilarious Movie! 5 stars
10/15/08 PAUL SHORTT COMPLETE LACK OF ORIGINALITY, CLEVERNESS OR EVEN VISIBLE EFFORT 1 stars
9/11/07 Steph Loved It!!! Dudes don't be jealous that your not on tv 5 stars
6/18/07 ian strange I absolutely hated it. 1 stars
4/13/07 David Pollastrini Never was a big scooby fan 3 stars
2/10/07 Joe Matthew Lillard's got Shaggy pretty much nailed, but that's the only bright spot here. 1 stars
10/01/06 zaid-ur-rahman rahman 1 stars
7/12/06 David Cohen At least they acknowledged that Scrappy Doo is evil 2 stars
6/20/06 George It was okay 4 stars
4/02/06 JM Synth It's not like the original was THAT good, anyway 3 stars
12/21/05 miss patience 5 it is ok =) =( 4 stars
11/26/05 hunt the movie was dorky and nasty but kinden fun 1 stars
11/26/05 cr This movie mess up the mystery inc. and acting was pretty good, story alright, crappy 2 stars
8/30/05 ES Didn't like scooby-do as a kid, like it even less an an adult 1 stars
8/25/05 Eden Why set it on an island? Why have real monsters? Why have Scrappy Doo? 2 stars
8/04/05 ^podo i used to love this movie.... 3 stars
7/22/05 tony This moivie drives me nuts! 1 stars
6/20/05 darick Makes the cartoon look riveting in more ways than one (CGI, acting, plot, etc.) 1 stars
3/12/05 crandall101 I like this one 4 stars
2/20/05 Jeff Anderson MATTHEW LILLARD & ESPECIALLY LINDA CARDELLINI'S PERFORMANCES SAVE THIS! A BAD FILM VERSION! 1 stars
9/18/04 American Slasher Goddess A medicore cartoon padded out into a crapfest live action remake. 1 stars
8/25/04 jan horrible. loved the tv series, but this? they stole me 90 minutes of my life. smg=just bad 1 stars
8/22/04 Anthony G Fuck, thelma is so fucking hot, I love me a nerdy bitch! 3 stars
7/07/04 WestJay Scooby at his best! Great graphics! I loved it!! 5 stars
7/05/04 kelsey lehmann freddie prinze jr. is sexy 5 stars
7/05/04 spritely Forget the plot; see it for Matt Lillard and the humor 5 stars
7/05/04 Brian C0urtney Silly but hilarious 5 stars
4/29/04 Jamie A very good movie. 5 stars
4/10/04 Coco Chanelle My favourite movie, and i cant wait to see the next one 5 stars
4/03/04 da hood what the fuck are they thinking? i had to get shitfaced immediatly after i saw this shit!!! 1 stars
4/02/04 Jeff A disaster pure and simple. Hollywood needs to stop with the damn cartoon/TV remakes. 1 stars
3/31/04 re It was grear 5 stars
3/22/04 Littlepurch So bad it was good. Hate that saying but it applies here. Atkinson was good. 4 stars
3/01/04 ME THIS FILM ROCKS 5 stars
2/06/04 tatum Idiotic fluff, why did you people plunk down $ to see this?? 1 stars
11/15/03 KR Who knew Velma could be so hot in real life? The movie still licked balls, though. 1 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Such a neat concept: animating human shit and watching it try to entertain. 1 stars
10/07/03 neasa Its my fav movie so shut-up 5 stars
10/03/03 Samuel Justus Ebert & Roeper say everything suck, so i dont even listen to critics anymore! 4 stars
9/28/03 snowconehead I admit velma has everything to do with my rating 5 stars
5/31/03 mee AWESOME 5 stars
5/20/03 Jack Sommersby It's at least more spirited than the ultra-lame "Spider-Man". 2 stars
5/17/03 olivia great 5 stars
3/01/03 ME THIS FILM ROCKS 5 stars
2/07/03 123 bad acting, bad plot, bad humour 1 stars
2/04/03 Turtle It did what it was supposed to, and did it pretty well. I'd gladly see it again! 4 stars
1/09/03 Movie-Going Public ... And we hate you too, schism. Also Linda is uber hot. Pleez take off ur clothes thx. 4 stars
12/07/02 BAM NOT AS BAD AS THE PEOPLE SAY 5 stars
11/12/02 Andrew sucks like that attack of the craps this summer 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano The screenwriters didn't emerge from the haze of marijuana smoke to see the original. 2 stars
10/21/02 Bruce Hollendonner Like a cartoon turd hawking perfume at 8 bucks a ticket. 1 stars
10/19/02 Ken Lillard born to play Shaggy. A bad cartoon makes a terrible movie. 1 stars
10/17/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite 'Neath lotsa ornate window dressing, it's just another girls-don't-fart fantasy. 3 stars
10/15/02 Joana It could be SOOO much better!!! 2 stars
10/14/02 palaboy101 GOOD IDEA marred by a RIDICULOUS script (Scrappy-Doo planned world domination thru aliens!) 2 stars
10/14/02 STEVE NOT THAT BAD NEITHER IS IT GOOD THOUGH...LOVED THE GCI SCOBBY 3 stars
10/12/02 qtpie YOU ALL SUCK THIS MOVIE ROCKS 5 stars
10/12/02 C Anderson It sucks!!!!!!!! 1 stars
10/07/02 Russ. OZ, 3 Stars!? WHY, Ah hell, we all get drunk and do something stupid everyone and awhile. 1 stars
9/16/02 blakers The best movie ever 5 stars
9/01/02 J I believe I'm going to go with OZ on this one of sorts. 3 stars
9/01/02 Jessie I really liked this movie! I thought it was really good!! 5 stars
8/28/02 viking an embarrassment to the Aussie film industry. 1 stars
8/25/02 Turkish gay as shit, jus like everyone that gave this movie a good rating 1 stars
8/24/02 Helen Freddie Prinze Jr. cannot act and the plot was so stupid 1 stars
8/17/02 AJ Very disappointing 2 stars
8/17/02 Andrew Patrick This Might Be The Best Worst Movie I seen 3 stars
8/13/02 What a bleeding, pus-filled, infected hemorrhoid! Gellar is fuckable. Cannibus 1 stars
8/12/02 Max No way this movie should be taken seriously. As such is hilarious 4 stars
8/11/02 Michael Carruthers Great fun, some jokes aren't that funny, but still worth a look. Lots of fun! 4 stars
8/08/02 Bobmer00 i concur, the movie sucks ass 1 stars
7/29/02 Jon Spitting on the cartoon's grave. Since when did scooby doo have real ghosts in? grr... 2 stars
7/28/02 Kino I liked it... probably just because I was stoned off my ass. 4 stars
7/24/02 Titus Shaggy and Scooby stole the show. Not great, but fun. 4 stars
7/18/02 Rod Williams I laughed at the trailers & more in the movie. Scooby & Matthew = hilarious. Movie sucked. 2 stars
7/14/02 Phoenix I kept looking at Sarah Michelle Gellar's breats, could barly watch the movie though. 2 stars
7/13/02 ! nice movie! 4 stars
7/12/02 bob leather jacket Mis-casting and poor script 1 stars
7/12/02 Veronica Foxx I could make a better movie with puppets, cardboard sets and a friggin' kaleidoscope. 1 stars
7/09/02 iambubby Ruh, ro! What a piece of rhit! 1 stars
7/09/02 Linda Cardellini Why oh why did I agree to do a movie with Prinze Jr. 1 stars
7/05/02 Joe Bacon Where's the Odorama Card when you REALLY need it???? 1 stars
7/05/02 RIC B JUST PURE KIDDIE CRAP 1 stars
7/02/02 KMG I didn't see it but wanted to just lower the score even more! 1 stars
7/01/02 J. I'm with tad on this; the movie sucks! 1 stars
6/28/02 K its supposed to be fun... it is 5 stars
6/27/02 J I've somewhat changed my mind, this is a decent at best movie. 3 stars
6/26/02 bullit17 Where is the "0 Star" rating on HBS when you really need it? 1 stars
6/25/02 Rhesus Any one who gave this above a 1 STAR should get a kick in the nuts(or the cunt; it may be.) 1 stars
6/24/02 Gary Vidmar's Illegitimate Daughter, Gladys I've always hated the cartoon, but with the addition of Prinze Jr., this is 10x worse. Bad! 2 stars
6/22/02 Law great kids flick 4 stars
6/22/02 gunter simple retarded fun 4 stars
6/20/02 Chris Oh, Come on. It's more annoying than the TV show and it's crappy and old. 1 stars
6/19/02 Mr Math Unbelievably bad. Are film fans really so easy to please? For crying out loud, people! 1 stars
6/19/02 Ken Kopin Roaring great fun, with and ending you have to admit you did NOT see coming. 5 stars
6/18/02 Roy Smith Linda and Sarah....rowr! Actually not too bad, stupid but fun. 4 stars
6/18/02 Angry Black Man Has anyone noticed that its the cast of "Scream" repackaged? 1 stars
6/18/02 Brian Great fun for fans. Everyone else, go away. 5 stars
6/18/02 Nessus Not as bad as I was expecting. Some good in jokes. Mostly retarded. 3 stars
6/17/02 Lexy Z Not nearly as bad as it could've been with Mr. Prinze Jr. I actually was quite entertained 4 stars
6/16/02 MyztiQ i loved it 4 stars
6/16/02 Flick Chick boring/dumb for adults,scary for little kids, brats ages 8-10 will like it 2 stars
6/16/02 Rampage WTH was that! And worse than the movie trailer! 1 stars
6/15/02 MArijuana Dogg What were the directors smoking? This was terrible! 1 stars
6/15/02 William Hanna My God, here's the proof that the Anti-Christ is alive and well. 1 stars
6/14/02 The Chronic Mastubator For the mere fact that they used a bunch of teenybopper faves to get the twerpy teen dollar 1 stars
6/09/02 Scooby DON'T! Saw a preview screening, worst movie since Rollerball 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Jun-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Jun-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast