More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.54

Awesome: 23.94%
Worth A Look33.8%
Average: 18.31%
Pretty Bad: 19.72%
Total Crap: 4.23%

4 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Birdcage, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A waste of a damn fine cast."
2 stars

A cultural divide can sometimes be a canyon.

When The Birdcage was released it went over big in the USA. The rest of the world, thinking it must be something special, awaited it's release eagerly.

Well how we all laughed at the USA when we finally saw it. This film was unfunny as hell. Anyone who had seen Priscilla: Queen Of The Desert would look at The Birdcage as a sad attempt at the same genre.

So why did the USA viewing public love this film? Men in dresses. It's that simple.

In the US, sexuality is evil. You can show people being gunned down in cold blood, but if a woman takes her top off all of a sudden the editor's scissors are busted out. You can stick a knife in someone's ribs but if you say the word "fuck", you're out of a job.

So when the sexually-protected American public are suddenly exposed to (GASP!) gay people, well we're just talking a barrel of laughs. Of course those gay people have to be outrageously gay so as to not be completely hated by Joe Public, so the result is something that the rest of the world looks at, tilts it head at, and then walks away from.

The Birdcage, a remake of the French classic Le Cage Aux Folles, has no message, it makes no grandiose statement and if you take away the slapstick, it's just not very funny.

Nathan Lane does a great screaming queen, but this kind of stereotype died with the cancellation of The Benny Hill Show. Robin Williams plays it straight (in an acting sense, not a lifestyle sense) and does well enough as to not shame himself, but Gene Hackman looks like he didn't know what the hell he was doing.

In short, this film is about ten years behind modern society. Maybe five years behind American society, but ten years behind *modern* society.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=527&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/06/98 22:28:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/14/18 Suzanne one of my favorite comedies 5 stars
12/28/17 morris campbell overrrated & silly full of stereotypes 1 stars
11/18/14 Anthony Barker My favorite comedy of all-time! 5 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef All the actors sparkle. Firey, tawdry, spicy, sultry, jagged, wicked and bitchy. 4 stars
8/02/09 Samantha Pruitt really great movie, no matter how many times i see it, it's funny! 5 stars
3/16/08 Lala Enh. the brilliant LA CAGE dumbed down, de-sexed...AKA made palatable for the str8 masses. 3 stars
1/19/08 Pamela White williams pulls off the gay role funny 5 stars
7/08/07 Stacy It's very funny, Nathan Lane is great and Robin Williams controls himself. 4 stars
8/30/06 Sepi53 not great but bad at all 3 stars
7/14/06 David Cohen Hilarious 5 stars
2/27/06 Cho Momma! This movie was awesome. Chris Parry really was off the mark here. So Deal with it! 5 stars
10/11/05 Becca Excellent Movie! Speaks the truth! 5 stars
9/24/05 playa hata taylor fladgate, your diseased mother sucks nigger dicks in hell. DIE FAGGOT. 1 stars
9/10/05 Taylor Fladgate "Chris Parry" can go screw himself. This is a classic comedy. 5 stars
6/14/05 Indrid Cold A fairly limp, one joke movie. 3 stars
9/14/04 SF Fuck the review! This was a funny film with great allround performances 5 stars
7/04/04 JimmyC Great Movie 5 stars
5/05/04 John funny and actually comes close at times to the unbeatable original 5 stars
12/01/03 *A Monotonous Creton Who Loves Tom Hulce* i luv Hackman+Williams!! Lane is hilarious!! Flockhart must die!!!!!! 4 stars
2/08/03 Wolf Loved it - LOL. Worth the rental. 5 stars
2/08/03 Jack Sommersby Williams is refreshingly restrained in this too-tasteful remake. 2 stars
2/03/03 Richard Williams and Hackman are solid, as is Weist. Lane and Azaria are outstanding! 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Lane steals this movie, which is a clone, not a remake, of the original 4 stars
8/04/02 KMG THE SCARY THING IS ROBIN DIDN'T KNOW HE WAS FILMING A MOVIE 3 stars
7/10/02 Bada Bing Crosby Best moments-'I call it home because you're there', and Agador/Spartacus by Hank Azaria 4 stars
6/20/02 y0rt Funny stuffs. 5 stars
1/25/02 Monster W. Kung Please get the original. It's better in every conceivable way. 2 stars
10/21/01 Andrew Carden A Bad Rip-Off Of "Mrs. Doubtfire" That Basically Has No Laughs and A Dull Script. 2 stars
9/21/01 Chris it was pretty good. it can be gay and good too. what's the deal with that train of thoug 4 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Hank Azaria was great! Not a bad movie at all 4 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa It's alright, but not as funny as I was told. It was still a little funny, though. 3 stars
5/21/01 balle sex 5 stars
5/03/01 BrainPan Once again proving our theory that gays are hilarious. 4 stars
2/16/01 Jake Not funny! Waste of fine cast. Williams at his worst 2 stars
3/11/00 David Rogers It was funny, but not that funny. But one of Robin's best. 4 stars
3/07/00 J. Alán Blankenship One of the funniest movies of all time... 5 stars
2/25/00 Bozo Gay man, as presented by Hallmark. Hank Azaria is best as Aggador/Spartacus 3 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski Drag-lite--i.e. Inoffensive to the more conservative set. Very funny. 4 stars
2/07/00 Lame-Oh saw this on TV, and all I saw were guys wearing dresses... yuck! 2 stars
4/20/99 jimmy jam FUNNY ASS MOVIE!!! 5 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink Word-for-word remake of original, not interesting 2 stars
10/07/98 Maegs I have always been a Nathan Lane fan, now is no exception 4 stars
9/09/98 Johny I didn't laugh at all. Maybe I expected more. 1 stars
8/26/98 Pete Pssst. I think Nathan Lane might be gay. Don't tell anyone. Alright flick. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress I thought this movie was fucking hysterical 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I'm sure the south would find this funny. But I have no idea why. 2 stars
8/23/98 {{{OZ}}} Men wearing dresses. BAHAHA. Not nearly as good as Priscilla: Queen Of The Desert. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  08-Mar-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast