More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.87

Awesome: 26.92%
Worth A Look: 19.23%
Average: 7.69%
Pretty Bad: 5.77%
Total Crap40.38%

2 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kajillionaire by Peter Sobczynski

Allan Quartermain and the Lost City of Gold by Jack Sommersby

12 Hour Shift by Jay Seaver

Firewalker by Jack Sommersby

Death Wish V: The Face of Death by Jack Sommersby

Police Academy 2: Their First Assignment by Jack Sommersby

Vibes by Jack Sommersby

White of the Eye by Jack Sommersby

Chasing Dream by Jay Seaver

Airplane II: The Sequel by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Bubble Boy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Stupid funny"
5 stars

I keep telling people that if you want Hollywood fare this summer, your best bet is to go see every stupid comedy and go stoned. Bubble Boy is the stupidest comedy yet and uses anything it can get its hands on for laughs. There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this film. And that's why you should go see it.

Synopsis:

Boy, in bubble, escapes to save girlfriend from marrying some hipster jerk.

Along the way he crosses paths with sideshow freaks, mud wrestlers, bike gangs, a cult (led by Fabio) and snaggle tooth geezers who all either want to get him or help him.

They all come together in the end for a big finale. Its like watching a musical in terms of structure. But this film really does not deserve a discussion about structure. Anyone that goes to see this movie simply won't care.

Bubble Boy is all sketch comedy and gags. And its funny because it just keeps pushing the limit.

With Jake Gyllenhall as the Bubble Boy, Jimmy. Swoosie Kurtz as Jimmy's mom and Marley Shelton (Sugar and Spice) as Chloe, Jimmy's love interest. Verne Troyer (Mini-Me) plays Dr.Phreak, the boss of the freak show who doesn't like to be called "Mini".

Nothing more to say really. It's a stupid comedy and for me, cinematic relief from all the edgy, angsty, intense, moving, poignant, heroic, dark, honest, and genuine indie films I've been seeing a lot of. Screw the wetblankets. You are going to see some dumbass flick anyway may as well see something that's not only funny but that also pissed a few people off because they can't lighten up and take a joke. Well duh, I know that life threatening illnesses aren't funny, necessarily.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5505&reviewer=67
originally posted: 08/25/01 13:28:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/04/07 Ole Man Bourbon About as good as it could have been 3 stars
3/17/06 Matt An entire movie made from a stolen idea from a MAD TV clip that wasnt funny anyway 1 stars
1/18/05 Jeff Anderson My favorite guilty pleasure OF ALL TIME! A high spirited, weird, and enjoyable lark. 5 stars
9/27/03 Chlo (Mrs. Jake Gyllenhaal) Well, Jake, I still think you're hot, but what was with that voice, man?! 2 stars
6/08/03 Chiend This turd is as heartwarming as Shirley Booth in a Nazi swastika and jack boots. 1 stars
5/25/03 BMB Not stupid funnny, just stupid! 1 stars
1/30/03 John Aster Habig worst movie ever next to "8 crazy nights" and "joe dirt" 1 stars
10/07/02 Zaw this movie is made Stupid Funny way!, If you're its stupid funny then you're a dumbass. 5 stars
9/15/02 bob average crappy movie 2 stars
8/18/02 LessThanColleen It was so stupid, but that's why I liked it! Plus Jake Gyllenhaal is one of my fav actors 4 stars
8/14/02 palaboy101 This movie totally SUCKS!!! If you enjoyed this, YOU'RE A LOSER!!! 1 stars
8/06/02 I Can't Swim You just have to forget & forgive the lousy scenes, a good one is minutes away 4 stars
5/28/02 Keith better than I thought it would be, but not great 4 stars
5/24/02 Amy Don't like dumb movies but this was cute and funny - Jake G is adorable. 4 stars
5/19/02 Jeremy If you like road comedies (like Rat Race) you'll LOVE this 5 stars
4/29/02 Reaganski Great freaks. Not bad don't know why people panned it so hard. 3 stars
4/19/02 natasha talented cast deserves a better movie; some nice moments and laughs 3 stars
4/12/02 special K as you would expect. but compared to rat race, this is oscar worthy 2 stars
4/08/02 Spyguy2 Much better than I expected, rips republicans and religious hypocrites, subversively funny. 4 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz I will be killing myself shortly 1 stars
3/07/02 Jenny Tullwartz Makes PC elite balk, but really has most sympathetic portrayal of a Hindu since GANDHI. 4 stars
2/25/02 Bri funny at times, better than rat race 4 stars
2/14/02 Goon its like Pee Wees big adventure. its against abusing religion, not religion itself. grow up 4 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Unfunny Comedy...Has A Tasteless and Mean Plot. 1 stars
10/08/01 Larry Gardner I wrote the song "Bitch Slap Me Jesus" that was used in the film. 5 stars
9/27/01 Unhappy Gilmore This movie was hilarious! Hopefully it'll find its audience on cable/video 5 stars
9/11/01 Kelly Cook I loved this movie! If you did or you just like Jake Gyllenhaal, e-mail me! 5 stars
9/08/01 the scarecrow come on, lighten up! it was funny! 4 stars
9/05/01 Heather It is mocking, and it's terrible! 1 stars
9/05/01 Billy Bob pretty funny 3 stars
9/03/01 Eva It was sweet. Not a classic, obviously, but the best of the summer. 5 stars
8/30/01 Critic It was absolutly hillarious! 500 Dolla!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/30/01 Whooter This movie went over everyone's heads, or they didn't actually see it. 4 stars
8/28/01 James Gyllenhall looks like The next one hit wonder 1 stars
8/28/01 I hate you Only inbred hillbillies could possibly like this film. 1 stars
8/28/01 Kunou I'd say all the comments before me summed it up pretty well. This sucks. 1 stars
8/25/01 Rampage awful, not even worth a matinee *sigh* 1 stars
8/25/01 karen this movie is offensive and lacks total compasion for the ill, if they make a movie like t, 1 stars
8/22/01 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Bastards stole my name. I should sue. And making fun of the handicapped is not funny!!!! 1 stars
8/21/01 Genna Y Waste of time! Not even worth waiting for video. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Aug-2001 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast