More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.87

Awesome40.38%
Worth A Look: 30.77%
Average: 11.54%
Pretty Bad: 9.62%
Total Crap: 7.69%

3 reviews, 34 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Luxor by Peter Sobczynski

Wander by Peter Sobczynski

Love, Weddings & Other Disasters by Peter Sobczynski

Black Bear by Peter Sobczynski

Poison Rose, The by Jack Sommersby

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom by Jay Seaver

Fat Man and Little Boy by Jack Sommersby

Harry & Son by Jack Sommersby

Shattered by Jack Sommersby

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Kids in the Hall: Brain Candy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Cult comedy that will never die."
5 stars

If the Saturday Night Live gang could make movies based on TV shows as well as the Kids In The Hall did with Brain Candy, it would be a good bet that A Night At The Roxbury and It's Pat would never have happened.

If you've not seen the Kids In The Hall before, you've been missing out. They may be Canadian, but hell they're amusing. Dave Foley from Newsradio was the heart of this ensemble group and in the tradition of the TV show, he and the others play multiple characters in the story.

Explaining the story itself would be pointless, as the appeal of this movie has nothing at all to do with the story, and truth be told the story gets in the way of the fun at times.

But this is one of those videos that you can watch eighteen times and find something new in every sitting. Hunt it down. Buy the laserdisc. And follow it up with Strange Brew, the second funniest Canadian film ever.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=565&reviewer=1
originally posted: 03/08/99 00:49:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

3/22/09 Dane Youssef I laughed TWICE. Otherwise, this is one limp effort. The Kids' weak script is to blame. 1 stars
8/20/05 ES some good parts, some incredibly gay parts (literally) and some crazy parts 2 stars
5/16/05 Dick Edwards a bloody good laugh. 4 stars
3/31/05 anton freakin halarious always have enjoyed kids in the hall. 5 stars
7/28/04 Paul Walker Not the best kids movie, i agree that the wrong guy is a whole lot better, sorry kids 2 stars
7/26/04 george bush it suckx 1 stars
6/15/04 Gerry Ditrich this movie is the apitimy of what the mid 90's were, in a brilliant cuttng and funny way 5 stars
4/27/04 Sam Beddoes Very odd and amusing 4 stars
2/27/03 Nathan Greatest comedy of all time! 5 stars
11/25/02 Doug Blatantly aimed towards Ecstasy use... 5 stars
8/03/02 Kino Amanda, I think you have to be 12 or under, or stupid as hell to be a fan of these fucks. 1 stars
3/15/02 youwishyouwereme This film is fucking awesome. Mike Myers has blatently ripped off Dr Evil from the kids. 5 stars
3/03/02 Unagiboy Really disappointing. See "The Wrong Guy" instead. Dave Foley is classic in it. 2 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen one of the worst movies i've ever seen. i nearly shot myself after viewing it 1 stars
10/19/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Stupid and Almost Totally Laughless Movie That Really Goes Nowhere. 2 stars
9/30/01 Amanda Marsh It was so fucking awesome and I loved David Foley .PS. I'm your only 12 year old fan! 5 stars
9/10/01 Busta The Movie was great but they needed some more characters from the show 4 stars
5/26/01 carissa mmmm david foley 5 stars
11/15/00 MiS^DeMeAnOr The kids in the hall let me down..I like the show better. 2 stars
11/11/00 Rachel it wasnt what i expected, their show was better 4 stars
9/18/00 Dude Like Greg said, Dave Foley was underused. Which sucks since he's the most talented one 4 stars
7/27/00 The Bomb 69 blame canada... for being so god damn funny!!!!!! 5 stars
9/06/99 Emily Absoluty brillient! 5 stars
9/03/99 Myra Pretty cool.. but couldn't been a LOT better. .. Where's Buddy Cole?! 5 stars
5/26/99 iyu Worth seeing just for Cancer Boy. :D) 4 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein KITH have kicked ass since their days on HBO - they still got it! 5 stars
2/07/99 roxy just because the KITH are in it, it's good. 5 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle I LOVE the Kids! But the movie aint that great! But still ya gotta see it if your fans! 4 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Bring back the Kids. No, not the New Kids, the Kids. 5 stars
9/09/98 Bruce Willis' mama. Three words. Cats on ceiling. 5 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy funny movie. KITH fans will love it. great musical scenes. 4 stars
8/28/98 Johny Extremely funny and repeatable 5 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress it's kids in the hall, what more could you ask for?! 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Some sloooow moments but overall a surreal, hilarious comedy. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Apr-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast