More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.59

Awesome: 30.82%
Worth A Look32.88%
Average: 12.33%
Pretty Bad: 12.33%
Total Crap: 11.64%

10 reviews, 86 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Maleficent: Mistress of Evil by Jay Seaver

Captain, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Jojo Rabbit by Peter Sobczynski

Human Lost by Jay Seaver

Tammy and the T-Rex by Jay Seaver

Extra Ordinary by Jay Seaver

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Monster's Ball
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Halle Berry, of all people, gives one of the year's strongest performances"
4 stars

“It truly takes a human being to see a human being,” says Lawrence, a character from “Monster’s Ball” who faces execution. This simple thought sits at the center of this densely layered tragedy as we follow two horrendously flawed characters who don’t see each other as they really are until they lose the embodiments of their frustrations. This movie tells two stories of the same characters, one of redemption and one of love. Sometimes, to forgive a human being is to see a human being, and maybe that, in and of itself, is a form of love.

“Monster’s Ball,” a debut film from Marc Forster, tells the story of Hank (Billy Bob Thornton), a white Corrections Officer who works on Death Row with his son, Sonny (Heath Ledger). The next execution will be Sonny’s first on the job. The two live under the same roof with their racist old crank of a father, Buck (Peter Boyle), himself a former Corrections Officer. Hank has inherited his father’s anger and uses it on Sonny. Without a wife or a mother, the two share a prostitute (but not at the same time), with whom they have quick, cold and empty encounters.

We first meet the man about to executed, a black man named Lawrence (Sean Combs), as he bids farewell to his wife, Leticia (Halle Berry), and overweight pre-teen son, Tyrell (Coronji Calhoun). That night, Lawrence’s own Monster’s Ball, which is a term for a prisoner’s last night on earth, he draws sketches of his guards, Hank and Sonny. Sonny, who sees the humanity in Lawrence, can’t make it down to the end of the walk to the electric chair, which sets off an angry outburst in Hank. Later, Sonny gives the anger back to Hank, which results in Sonny’s death.

Meanwhile, Leticia, now a widow, must try and keep her son from over-eating and gaining weight. By humiliating him and beating on him, Leticia is a mother without a plan or guidance as to how to raise her child. Her son weighs 189 lbs and has a drawer full of candy that he keeps secret from her. She has no car, has been late with the rent money on her home and works as a waitress at the local truckstop, where Hank goes to eat after a shift. Leticia and Hank have never met, but that changes when their paths cross as Leticia suffers another tragic loss: Her son.

Hank helps Leticia get her son to the hospital then ends up taking her home. A relationship develops slowly, not out of love and attraction, but out of need. These two have no one else to turn to. Hank eventually sees Leticia not just as a black woman, but as a human being with forgivable flaws. Leticia eventually sees a man in Hank that can make her feel good about herself, even though she remains unaware of the tie that also binds them, her dead husband.

Much has been made about the “steamy’ love scene between Thornton and Berry, almost as though “Monster’s Ball” has some sort of shameless crotch scene, a la “Basic Instinct.” This scene does not play sexy and does not try to arouse. It is a sad scene, a tragic scene, not a rape, but a cry for help. We have already seen these two characters at their worst in past scenes and it stays with us. What happens as a result of the encounter advances Hank’s story as much as it does Leticia’s. It has the power to heal and not complicate. It is not sex for sex sake.

That scene, as well as many others (especially the final), could only be pulled off by the best actors on the planet. While Halle Berry has never really achieved greatness before, she certainly deserves the attention she has been given for her performance. Berry shows every layer of Leticia’s aching soul while also showing fearlessness in her scenes of outright rage and desire. The final scene, the one that brings it all home, depends on the look in Berry’s eyes and it works wonders on the viewer, especially after having been put through one hell of a mill for 110 minutes. This movie belongs to Halle Berry.

Thornton gives a great performance as well, though his somewhat stoic demeanor in the second half goes only a couple notches above “The Man Who Wasn’t There.” But this works in the movie’s favor as Hank instinctively internalizes his deep feelings for Leticia so as not to upset his emotionally barren father, played beautifully by Peter Boyle. Heath Ledger’s performance comes and goes, and while his suicide scene is shocking and tragic, I still wish he would have done the same thing ten minutes into “A Knight’s Tale.” And Sean Combs does give an effective performance as Lawrence.

As hopeful and beautifully unconventional as the ending may be, “Monster’s Ball” probably won’t have you leaving the theater feeling good about humanity. It is a dark, uncompromising film, one that piles tragedy upon tragedy upon tragedy. The screenplay by Milo Addica and Will Rocos often sidesteps conventional confrontation scenes and the perils of interracial relationships, save for Berry’s tension-filled run-in with Hank’s father, which in itself, serves as an example of the screenplay’s powers. But the ending of the movie remains silent, and for this everyone involved deserves applause. The scene will, if nothing else, have you feeling good about the beauty of cinema without words.

Because “Monster’s Ball” has a main character who happens to be a racist, one would expect the story to be about his redemption. Refreshingly, it is not. In a subtle way, it tells the story of Leticia’s redemption. In the first hour, we watch Leticia seeing her son as just a “fat, fat kid.” Only in his death does she find joy in her son’s indulgences. Hank has no fond memories of Sonny, only his uniform. In burning it, he finds himself. In Leticia, he doesn’t look to redeem himself. Instead, he looks to just stop and start over. Romantic love may take a while for these two, but by the movie’s end, Berry’s eyes fill the viewer with a bit of comfort food, like a bowl of chocolate ice cream at the end of a good, tragic cry.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5684&reviewer=233
originally posted: 02/09/02 01:26:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/25/18 morris campbell downbeat but potent & honest 4 stars
1/24/11 Jeff Wilder Acting by Thornton and Berry is good. But overall it lacks the emotional impact it needs. 3 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT DOWNBEAT BUT CHALLENGING DOMESTIC DRAMA WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
9/26/08 Arcane Shit movie...slow as hell. Only watch if you like Halle and wanna see 'her'. 1 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
3/16/08 ladavies I think this movie is going to age well, to become an American classic. 5 stars
3/15/06 Jennifer I think this film was downright awful! 1 stars
9/08/05 bac movie isn't good at all, and the sex scene was unnecessary 1 stars
8/19/05 ES Incredibly hot sex scene wrapped in a boring, flavourless shell 2 stars
7/06/05 Pinkline Jones Berry's performance overrated as is the movie 4 stars
4/01/05 Carolyn Cherry I liked It 4 stars
3/19/05 lora mixed feelings, interesting but no sure I liked it 3 stars
3/04/05 Chris Stephens It was OK 3 stars
2/24/05 Dusty Johnson Loved it - Halle Berry is great! 4 stars
2/23/05 gracecchu The movie was totally not what I expected. Good, though I probably won't watch it again. 4 stars
2/20/05 Charlene Javier Billy Bob is good! 4 stars
2/20/05 abhster Halle Berry was riveting. Very raw and difficult for repeat watching. 4 stars
2/20/05 ashutitan no 5 stars
2/19/05 Denise okay 3 stars
2/19/05 Brenda Riley This one made me cry! 5 stars
2/19/05 april gupton relly creepy movie 2 stars
2/18/05 Shel Actually, I thought this movie portrayed H.B. as an actress and not just a "sex symbol" 4 stars
2/18/05 Colleen Goldrick i liked it 4 stars
2/18/05 Fahad Pinto way cool 4 stars
10/28/04 MEIRAV NORA COHEN Good acting. Sad movie 4 stars
10/01/04 Lourdes WOW 5 stars
7/17/04 Daveman This collection of promising elements unfortunately never quite amount to a unified film. 3 stars
7/13/04 Alfred Guy I don't see an award winning performance. Not even a great story. 3 stars
7/09/04 J Cadiramen This was gritty and harsh... the sex scene was powerful, if prolonged. 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva why did she win the oscar i can't figure it out 3 stars
7/06/04 Talonsoft Boring, Way!!! overated 1 stars
6/27/04 Charlene Javier Didn't like it at first. Love it now. 5 stars
6/17/04 Future NBA player why do white people hate on outstanding beautiful black actresses? White people..get a life 5 stars
5/07/04 Ross Interesting? no, doesn't everybody have sex like that? 2 stars
1/01/04 General Lee Stoned Good beatoff material at the end.. nothing wrong with some halle soft porn 3 stars
9/11/03 Goofy Maxwell To believe anglos invite afro-am's to the "ball" out of guilt is to be the "monster". 4 stars
6/26/03 cochese Best Actress!!?? HAHAHAHAHA. Another token negro gets an oscar. 1 stars
4/19/03 kevin hot 5 stars
4/18/03 Jack Sommersby Predictable and uninsightful. Thornton is superb; Berry is sub-par 2 stars
3/12/03 Shao Kahn Go home Halle you can't act! 3 stars
2/14/03 othree honest fast pace wincing personal story leaves you to take alot for granted 4 stars
2/04/03 Drunk Love Hey Triangle Man, go suck it off Eric's "Benet", have a drink & have a Monster Ball. }> 4 stars
2/03/03 Turtle None of the characters are worth sympathizing over in this badly written, overacted trash. 1 stars
1/23/03 Pinkline Jones Zombi Holocaust was much more entertaining 1 stars
1/16/03 John Bale Powerful romantic drama with outstanding cast. Tennessy Williams would be proud. 5 stars
1/11/03 Can't stand Halle I want (sob) to thank (sob) the Academy (sob) for giving (sob) me this undeserved Oscar 1 stars
12/30/02 Femme_Fataleaa I was thoroughly dissapointed with Halle's choice of roles 2 stars
12/11/02 Ken I actually agreed with Mark Adnum. Who knew? Berry is incredible. And gorgeous. 4 stars
11/28/02 coods tuddtr 5 stars
9/11/02 Francofile Hooray - a movie that makes you think about the tough stuff. 4 stars
8/17/02 baby why would she accept such a degrating role she makes black women look bad she doesnt deserv 2 stars
8/17/02 DGaba Exceptional, Powerful, Incredable, Stunningly Excellent 5 stars
8/14/02 Bryan Brooks Why was this movie made? This has no point. 3 stars
8/12/02 Phil M. Aficionado I watched it twice in a row. It is that good. Lovingly made, tackles tough stuff head on 5 stars
7/12/02 Mark Adnum Sorry Melissa in NYC 4 stars
7/10/02 Bada Bing Crosby Movie is a mess; Oscars are now officially ruined thx to Halle's meltdown on stage 1 stars
7/01/02 Melissa in NYC Marc, your review sucks.Thanks for giving us details that ruins the movie.Fucker! 5 stars
6/24/02 Joe Hally Berry deserved her Oscar!! 5 stars
6/22/02 The Bomb69 solid film, ending left me a bit confused though 4 stars
6/21/02 Dark Barøn Not what I expected. And that's good. 5 stars
6/15/02 CDawson Great movie! Oscar for Halle ... why? 4 stars
6/15/02 natasha set-up is hard to believe, but the payoff is still good 4 stars
5/15/02 hbotis@hotmail.com Amazing! Not what I expected. 5 stars
4/28/02 Magnum Craphole Best movie I've seen in the theaters in quite a long time. 5 stars
4/11/02 Monster W. Kung Easily, one of the best pictures of the year. Very emotional. 5 stars
4/05/02 ^Elendil^ Feel-good movie without the sugar (or you could just read Souter's spoiler!). 4 stars
3/28/02 Natalie Stonecipher Self-redeems in love story, but abuser's abrupt reform after son's suicide a bit incredible 4 stars
3/25/02 Bernice Hamel Amazed & wept by the story & performances. s & story. Wept 5 stars
3/19/02 malcolm supremely acted by the entire cast. slow in a couple of places. 4 stars
3/15/02 Bertha Venation Ugh, a bit of a drag. Lifeless. Illogical. Best characters dead early on. 3 stars
3/12/02 spaceworm The penultimate shot (watch Halle's face) justifies - nearly too late - the Oscar hype. 4 stars
3/08/02 luigi leone stone cold 5 stars
3/02/02 JB This is my kinda movie. Not much optimism. Beautiful movie. 5 stars
2/28/02 TorontoMan Saw it last week, was a fine film for all the reasons given in Eric's review 5 stars
2/26/02 Xaver Overall, a good film. Thornton did a great job. Drunk sex scene could have been better. 4 stars
2/26/02 ownerofdajoint gutsymaterialdealtwithrealunderstandingofthestupidityofracism 5 stars
2/25/02 Georgia Getschow Only went to see Heath Ledger again. Too much nudity --nothing left to imagination. 3 stars
2/23/02 IP Freely Watching the hooker take it from behind was best part of this turd of a film. Total crap! 1 stars
2/19/02 Stephanie Extremely heavy movie. 4 stars
2/18/02 costars2 Captivating; flawless, haunting film; fab performances 5 stars
2/17/02 Gibbo Very depressing, but a powerful and deeply moving story 4 stars
2/14/02 Butterbean Puffy was excellent! But the critics praised Berry only because she did a soft porn scene 4 stars
2/13/02 Ray Charles I *WISH* I was blind 1 stars
1/09/02 Melissa in NYC Absolutely wonderful - every key actor in the film is worth gold. 5 stars
1/05/02 Jake Remarkable film. Very moving and engrossing. 5 stars
12/22/01 Tom Great FIlm like they used to have in the 70's- Greatscript-Halle/BBT /Mos D are great!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Dec-2001 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Mar-2002


Directed by
  Marc Forster

Written by
  Milo Addica
  Will Rokos

Cast
  Billy Bob Thornton
  Halle Berry
  Heath Ledger
  Peter Boyle
  Sean Combs
  Mos Def



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast