More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.23

Awesome36.84%
Worth A Look: 18.42%
Average: 7.89%
Pretty Bad: 4.39%
Total Crap: 32.46%

3 reviews, 96 user ratings


Latest Reviews

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Primal (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Last Christmas by Peter Sobczynski

Midway (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Wild Goose Lake, The by Jay Seaver

Irishman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Paradise Hills by Jay Seaver

Terminator: Dark Fate by Jay Seaver

Motherless Brooklyn by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Kung Pow!: Enter the Fist
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"As deadly to brain cells as huffing paint thinner, but more delightful!"
4 stars

Maybe It was one beer too many. Maybe it was the group of friends I watched this with. Or maybe I was just in the right frame of mind. For whatever reason, though, this movie had me laughing so hard that I forgot how embarassed I was to be laughing at it.

As David St. Hubbins (Michael Mckean) said in the movie Spinal Tap, "It's such a fine line between clever and stupid." Truer words were never spoken by a fictitious character, and Kung Pow : Enter the Fist not only treads that razor-thin line, but shuffles, slides, dances, and skates along it at breakneck speed. It's a stupid, stupid, stupid movie that somehow lands on just this side of clever.

The brainchild of writer/director/star Steve Odekerk, it is a mocking but loving homage to all those old, grainy, poorly-dubbed Kung-Fu movies of the early seventies. Maybe I've just got a soft spot for it because I grew up watching movies like the one that Odekerk flays here, but this one tickled my funnybone in most of the right places. Odekerk has essentially taken an old kung fu movie called Tiger and Crane Fist and inserted himself into it via blue-screen effects. He plays "The Chosen One". His family was killed by an evil Kung-Fu dude named Master Pain, but who likes to be called "Betty" and talks in a high, effeminate voice that is provided by Odekerk. Come to think of it, most of the other characters are voiced over by him as well, including that of love-interest Ling, whose wretched falsetto and constant mewling noises had me cracking up throughout the film.

And let's not forget the cowfight, either! That was the funniest Matrix bullet-time parody I have seen to date, hands down. There is a lot of other funny, funny stuff to be found here as well. The concept is certainly not original (comedy troupes like "The Groundlings" have been doing this sort of thing improvisationally for decades), yet it still works. However, even at its scant 80+ minute running time, it starts to feel a bit long in the tooth. And there were some recurring bits, like those featuring "Toungie" (The Chosen One, for some reason, has a tongue with its own eyes, mouth, and teeth) that I could have definitely done without. Many of the running gags are milked beyond reason, but some of the ones I thought would be the most annoying still had me rolling at the end. Overall, it had me laughing consistently, which was a lot more than I expected.

Drive-In Triple Feature Guilty Pleasure Picks for Kung Pow: Enter the Fist:

Mystery Science Theater 3000: The Movie - or any other MST3K episode will do just as well. Nobody can turn pure shit into comedic gold like Mike (or Joel) and the Bots.

They Call me Bruce: Stupid but sometimes hilarious flick about a clumsy Korean chef who people keep confusing with Bruce Lee.

Or, you could rent Kentucky Fried Movie and skip to the Fistfull of Yen segment, which is shorter and funnier.

While this is certainly not the kind of movie you want to bring up at your book club meetings, it's perfectly acceptable Friday-nite fare that goes well with your buds, beer, and baseline brainwave activity. I doubt I'll ever watch it twice, but that first time was a doozy!

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5716&reviewer=258
originally posted: 09/22/02 09:45:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/27/14 Nick Quite. 4 stars
4/30/14 Qsdjshrv The IAEA's Denis Flory noted Monday that its Bt exceeds the bio-diversity of the late 80s w 5 stars
3/19/14 Wjlxydke While the national team, the power is the official expected toll of human ordinariness, as 2 stars
3/18/14 Euisvpxz The capacity of the fiscal year 2012, including hybrid teen styles, quality of the fuel jap 5 stars
2/15/14 wvGwlcaJhyxHhvy PsWyIYSTmCDk 3 stars
2/02/14 MomMxvkkW psXRWdIUTG 4 stars
10/26/09 Mr.Carrot74 The book now has a one-man show to go with it, and an interactive public exhibit called Fam 5 stars
10/26/09 Gangster11 My concern is rather intentional or not, the tone and replies strike me as a desire to stee 3 stars
10/25/09 Stinky26 Without signaling, she cut across two lanes, and I had to swerve onto the left shoulder to 4 stars
10/25/09 Wolf49 A popular format with an almost exclusively male demographic in most areas, sports radio is 3 stars
10/23/09 Red23 That what our purpose is in the business. , 5 stars
9/21/09 alohajoes.com Many people, myself included, were very confused by the revamped interface. , <a href="ht 4 stars
9/04/09 HsvsRsvsesv none 4 stars
6/16/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess A guilty pleasure of mine. Why isn't the original 'Tiger And Crane Fists' on DVD? 4 stars
12/06/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was stupid! 1 stars
8/09/07 Marcos very funny 4 stars
11/11/06 Marianne nice and funny movie 1 stars
10/17/06 Craig Do you people have any sense of humor?! Amazing moive...someitmes morons can't hear a joke 5 stars
9/13/06 David Cohen This piece of $#@! was done by the same guy who did the "Thumb" shorts? No way! 1 stars
4/09/06 mike couldn't breathe from laughter! 5 stars
5/04/05 Quigley had some drop-dead hilarious sequences, but i could have expected more. a lot more. 3 stars
11/14/04 Mark J The greatest movie of all time 5 stars
11/06/04 Dwane First time stupid, the thirdtime, couldnt hold the tears of laughter 5 stars
10/04/04 DM Hilarious, original, and intelligent - If you're a stoned amnesiac retard. 1 stars
6/13/04 The Inquisition =][= Hella awesome! If you thought it was crap, you obviously have no sense of humour. 5 stars
4/10/04 Boxman Virtuoso Anyone who thinks this movie sucks, has obviously never met my friend, MJ... 5 stars
4/06/04 Ken Stryker 5 stars movie spoof, made fun fun of kung fu great 5 stars
3/22/04 Pinkline Jones The best Kung Fu flick since Schindler's Fist 5 stars
2/09/04 Steven Baldwin It was so bad, it looped right back around to funny 4 stars
1/01/04 l_mcgregoruk Dissapointing to say the least 1 stars
12/31/03 bash seen it 4 times and it's actually just as good each time. love it. 5 stars
12/28/03 jessica it's so stupid it's brilliant 5 stars
12/27/03 J I fell down laughing for hours!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/28/03 yoda hilareus 5 stars
10/28/03 Juvenihilist complete piece of crap - no redeeming features 1 stars
10/15/03 Tonatiuh Moreno It goes far beyond bad filmmaking. It's SO absurd it is jaw-straining funny! 5 stars
9/08/03 l3LacleZ I think Jon missed the point..the dubbing was supposd to be bad hehe. Made it hillarious. 5 stars
8/31/03 Brown Jenkin GIVE ME CANCER NOW, GOD! 1 stars
8/27/03 Lara Freeborn IT WAS FUNNY AS @#$%IN' HELL!!!! 5 stars
7/15/03 Jhon Hope Best Movie Ever 5 stars
7/15/03 Zach A silly and stupid movie that is hysterical! Your sides will hurt! Wee Ohh!! 4 stars
7/09/03 Freddy This is one of the funniest movies i have ever seen! 5 stars
6/28/03 weeZ its hilarious 5 stars
6/25/03 S S 5 stars
6/24/03 Beavfist & Bashead This is the best movie I ever seen 5 stars
6/24/03 Jack Bourbon Funny but boring. They should have made the girl's voice with a balloon, IMO. 3 stars
6/24/03 Jon Lyrik It THINKS itís clever and funny, but it really isnít. 1 stars
6/16/03 chuck ballew I too was suprised to find this movie completely enjoyable. it is simply idiotic. 4 stars
6/09/03 Zeke Ogburn A hilarious movie when you accept it for what it is. A simple, silly, stupid movie. 5 stars
6/09/03 Steve Hinckley On a scale of 1 to 10, this movie is a 1! 90 minutes of crap! 1 stars
6/03/03 Matt To all you people who think it sucks: you suck! This is some funny shit! 5 stars
5/28/03 Al Medinger This movie is the funniest i have ever seen!! 5 stars
5/22/03 joe mama KUNG POW IS THE BEST DAMN MOVIE EVER MADE, AND IF YOU DISAGREE GO TO HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/20/03 Symbol What the hell am I supposed to say?? Screw you guys, I'm gonna go watch it a again! 5 stars
4/17/03 Goofy Maxwell Watching this w/ any PC hangups is like using the "face-to-fist" technique. Hit & miss. 3 stars
3/16/03 DrTobasco Pretty offensive to asians in general, and the only funny scenes were from the original mov 1 stars
2/14/03 Smokey McDuff All those critics are mad, i think cause they just dont get it. idiots! 5 stars
1/01/03 John Aster Habig good if you tolerate the "stupid funny" genre 4 stars
11/13/02 Tar Mac Good idea, bad writer/director/star. 2 stars
10/17/02 JesseL If you don't like this, I have some yellow liquid for your popcorn, non-dairy. heh heh heh 5 stars
10/05/02 Brian This is the best parody of the kung fu flick I have ever seen. Goddam is it good 5 stars
9/26/02 ibengmainee Sucks all ass makes the movie look good 1 stars
9/03/02 AshFan I don't care what anyone says: This movie rocks! I laughed my head off and into the aisles! 5 stars
8/14/02 Del Somewhat boring in parts- Hot Chinese chick, though 3 stars
8/12/02 Mike The worst of the worst 1 stars
8/01/02 palaboy101 Do you really have to think that much when watching a comedy? Come on!!! 5 stars
7/28/02 Hal Comedy doesn't have to follow any rules! And that is why this movie rules! 5 stars
7/25/02 spyguy2 Funny. 4 stars
5/21/02 Butterbean Oedekerk was hilarious when he did Thumb Wars. With just 2 funny scenes, this was annoying. 2 stars
5/11/02 Veronica Foxx (The Raven-Haired Temptress) Anyone involved with this brainless trash, deserves to have my fist enter their ass. Horrid 1 stars
4/12/02 Stephanie Throckmorton Suspends gravity for laughs -CROUCHING TIGER HIDDEN DRAGON should've gone for laughs too. 5 stars
3/28/02 Chris Ņ° I was amazed. Really, I was. They actually put this shit out in theatres. 1 stars
3/26/02 Adam Lloyd-Jones The Funniest Movie Ever Made 5 stars
3/19/02 Steve This is the funniest movie i have seen in years, perhaps ever. Cheese to please! 5 stars
3/15/02 Jim Sturdivant I was super impressed! Mainly that this "pile of poo" didn't go straight to video. 1 stars
3/14/02 Greg Awesome if you like parody (and you think Leslie Nielson movies suck serious ass) 5 stars
3/10/02 mike engel it would have been funny if there wasnt the old godzilla effect goin on with their mouths 4 stars
3/06/02 RID What a waste of my bloody time and money !!! 1 stars
3/04/02 Zesty has some funny lines, but leaves you with a creepy feeling 3 stars
2/28/02 Banky Edwards Not as bad as everyone (almost) says...actually quite funny, laughed thru most of it!!!! 4 stars
2/25/02 Punky Brewster Very few funny scenes, this just got too annoying to watch after awhile 2 stars
2/23/02 Jason farr KICK ASS 5 stars
2/22/02 C'est La Vie So when's Hollywood going to stop being racist? 1 stars
2/22/02 The Boy In The Designer Bubble Just got back from seeing this. I love Steve, but Mr. Show was way funnier! 3 stars
2/20/02 Roy Smith Very funny but also painfully annoying...ouwe-ouwe-ouwe 4 stars
2/12/02 Stonedog Fucking great. Stupid but good 5 stars
2/01/02 the scarecrow The spoof genre should have been outlawed already!! 1 stars
1/30/02 AverageJoe I should have known from the crappy commercials this would suck! 1 stars
1/30/02 Butterbean I love and understand stupid movies(Pootie Tang, Half Baked). But this flick is annoying! 2 stars
1/29/02 I Hate Kung Pow: Enter The First! The Worst Movie Ever! 1 stars
1/28/02 Mister Char I clearly understood the MST3K style of the movie, and thus i really liked this film 5 stars
1/28/02 Jesus Christ I condemn this movie. 1 stars
1/27/02 Jamie Madrox Sucks Ass Words can't describe how bad this movie is. Destroy all copies NOW! 1 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Just Horrible. Unfunny, and The Guy Is An Unfunny Rip-Off Of Ben Stiller. 1 stars
1/26/02 Joe Deblow Kung Pow! Exit The Theater 1 stars
1/26/02 James What a waste of FUCKING money!!!! TERRIBLE MOVIE!!! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jan-2002 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Feb-2002


Directed by
  Steve Oedekerk

Written by
  Steve Oedekerk

Cast
  Steve Oedekerk
  Tad Horino
  Philip Tan
  Jennifer Tung



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast