More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.19

Awesome51.3%
Worth A Look: 26.62%
Average: 16.23%
Pretty Bad: 1.3%
Total Crap: 4.55%

7 reviews, 112 user ratings


Latest Reviews

One Child Nation (aka Born in China) by Jay Seaver

Kingdom (2019) by Jay Seaver

Chained for Life by Rob Gonsalves

Ready or Not by Peter Sobczynski

Nightingale, The by Jay Seaver

Line Walker 2: Invisible Spy by Jay Seaver

Death of Dick Long, The by Jay Seaver

Blinded By the Light by Lybarger

Blinded By the Light by Peter Sobczynski

Good Boys by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Ice Age
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Preston Jones

"Cool as hell."
5 stars

Remembering the days of ink and paint animation makes me feel old. The days of animated (admittedly, mostly Disney) classics like The Black Cauldron and Oliver & Company as well as An American Tail are light years away from what constitutes family animated films nowadays.

With the release of Pixar’s 1995 all computer generated (CG) feature Toy Story, “traditional” animation suffered a tremendous blow. In the years since Toy Story, CG animation has grown by leaps and bounds; the latest all CG offering comes in the form of the wonderful family film Ice Age.
If you’ve seen the ingenious trailer for Ice Age (the wordless one with the furry squirrel-like creature desperately trying to outrun two massive ice flows while holding onto an acorn), then you have an idea what you’re in for.
The film opens at the dawn of, well, I’m sure you can figure that out (just in case you can’t: the ice age). The large population of animals covering the earth are heading south towards sunnier climes. Manfred, a woolly mammoth (voiced by Ray Romano), would rather have no part of the mass exodus. He’s carrying on with life as usual until he runs into the manic sloth (there’s an oxymoron) Sid (voiced by John Leguizamo).
Reluctantly, the duo continues on their journey, soon crossing paths with a vicious pack of saber tooth tigers, led by the grizzled Soto (voiced by ER’s Goran Visnijc). The maverick of the bunch, Diego (voiced by Denis Leary) splits from the group, which is stalking a tribe of humans, and finds himself traveling with Sid and Manfred.
A human baby, separated from its tribe, comes into the ragtag group’s possession. Diego feels partly responsible for the baby so the group decides to return it. Adventures waits around every turn with the three animals forced to turn to each other for survival.
Directed by Chris Wedge and Carlos Saldanha, Ice Age is a perky film that strives to hit some of the same notes as Shrek. The screenplay, by Michael Berg, Peter Ackerman and Michael J. Wilson, is far from original, but the presentation coupled with the excellent vocal performances by the cast help elevate the material.
Speaking—pun semi-intended—of the vocal performances, Ice Age shines in this department. The three principal characters, voiced by Romano, Leguizamo and Leary, all mesh well together. Supporting roles are filled by a who’s who of celebrity voices, ranging from Jack Black (Orange County) as a whiny saber tooth tiger to Cedric the Entertainer (The Original Kings of Comedy) as a stubborn rhino. Without a doubt though, it’s the squirrel Scrat (voiced by Wedge) who steals every scene he’s in.
The computer animation, while not as breathtaking as Shrek’s heightened realism, still manages a distinct style that is pleasing to the eye. A few impressive scenes are scattered throughout the film, with the saber tooth tigers’ raid on the human camp foremost among them.

Ice Age is a pleasant diversion, a film that recalls the days of ink and paint while maintaining a sleek modern edge that will please audiences of all ages.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=5798&reviewer=304
originally posted: 03/11/02 10:22:52
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/16/14 Jarvis Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 5 stars
11/14/14 Fredric Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 3 stars
11/14/14 Porfirio What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/13/14 Lindsay What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 5 stars
11/13/14 Hannah What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 3 stars
11/10/14 Pierre Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 2 stars
10/24/14 Jose I'd like to open a business account <a href=" ">bimatoprost online reviews</a> In the pas 4 stars
4/14/13 Homo habilis I would rather be gored by a woolly rhinoceros than watch this movie again 2 stars
12/24/09 Jeff Wilder Not bad. But Shrek and Monsters Inc were better. 3 stars
5/03/09 Dane Youssef Ice Age melts you heart. Dreamworks' "Ice Age" brings more magic than Disney has in ages. 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. a really good animated film and there are cmnts of a major perv under this. :D 4 stars
8/23/08 Little Buddy Released after Titan A.E and Anastasia. 5 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner My daughter loves this movie! 5 stars
5/19/08 PAUL SHORTT CRACKLES WITH SLICK, EYE-CATCHING ANIMATION AND OFF-THE-WALL-HUMOUR 3 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White just like Jungle Book in the snow 4 stars
10/19/07 mb Not Lasting 3 stars
10/15/07 MP Bartley Better than the overrated Shrek and Finding Nemo 5 stars
5/23/07 caity IT WAS GREAT!!!! 5 stars
2/03/07 David Pollastrini great animation 4 stars
1/26/07 JR The whole fam watched with glee...and a few tears as well. Great! 5 stars
11/13/06 cody one better pixar disney movies that even good for older kids to watch. 4 stars
11/04/06 becky this one was not even close to great. it was average at best 3 stars
10/02/06 Lisa Craven One best kids' movies out there...loved the characters and plot 5 stars
6/05/06 Wipef Funny and touching 5 stars
4/10/06 chris f totally rocks great movie!!! 5 stars
12/14/05 cartoon mania i LOVE Sid, he is some character 5 stars
11/26/05 Kimberly wang It is the best movie i ever saw! 5 stars
11/16/05 Steven Brady Piece of Garbage 1 stars
10/12/05 Tom Burns a good kids movie. adults can enjoy it too. 5 stars
8/22/05 kerry smith best movie ever 5 stars
8/11/05 ES meh 3 stars
7/31/05 rdb I loved it, it rocks, ice age rules!!!!! 5 stars
7/25/05 Luke BlackAdder This is the worstest film ever made 1 stars
7/05/05 Mark Radburn Prehistoric mammals Suck. Thumbs way Down! 1 stars
5/04/05 Quigley the football spoof was totally funny, but the one who steals the show is the dinky squirrel 5 stars
4/01/05 Carolyn Cherry I liked It 4 stars
3/26/05 hannaho Fun, but still no match for any Pixar film. 4 stars
3/26/05 Denise Very funny! 5 stars
3/24/05 me It ain't bad, but I found it somewhat empty 3 stars
3/16/05 Chris Stephens Great Movie lots of fun 4 stars
3/12/05 Alice Colwell loved it 5 stars
3/12/05 STEPHANIE BERMEA THIS FILM IS CUTE AND FUNNY. 4 stars
3/04/05 Littlepurch Perhaps not as good as the Pixar ones but stil great and my 9-year-old cousin jus loves it" 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Hilarious, great addition for a child or adults DVD librabry. 4 stars
1/22/05 veronica Cruz i think is a really good movie. it,s one of my favorites. i love it! 5 stars
1/09/05 Luke Blackadder Ice Age is Gay and it sucks 1 stars
12/01/04 bob Great movie, loved it, classic 5 stars
11/20/04 Mark Ice Age is the Worst Movie ever, Prehistoric Mammals suck 1 stars
10/23/04 mike kinnish very good film for kids and adults 5 stars
7/08/04 Denise cute 4 stars
6/03/04 Daveman Good, but not very original. 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Funny the first time...boring after a while 4 stars
3/26/04 bikehorn I have animated films. But I love this one. I even cried, worth a look 5 stars
2/18/04 Adrian Swift Fantastic! But wheres the Talking Sid the Sloth plushy? 5 stars
1/27/04 Katie Malone Great film, animation could've been better . . . 4 stars
12/10/03 Tdeee the best 5 stars
8/19/03 I Would Once again, as they did in Antz, Dreamworks demonstrate their inferiority to Disney/Pixar. 3 stars
6/16/03 monkey slayer not the most original one on the block, but makes up for it in humor and style. excellent. 5 stars
6/10/03 Goofy Maxwell Not a glacial shift in CGI, but when parched, even the clink of ice-cubes is refreshing. 4 stars
5/23/03 Mr. Do Breathtaking animations, superb expressions on the faces.. I love this one. 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Hilarious homage to Looney Tunes. 5 stars
3/24/03 Jenny This is a movie that no one can beat 5 stars
3/03/03 Francy This movie gives freshness to old cartoon clichés with new interesting ideas. 5 stars
2/07/03 Turtle It reminded me a lot of Shrek and Monsters Inc., but only better. 5 stars
1/07/03 Maggie The squirrel was absolutely spectaculat :D 5 stars
1/06/03 Charles Tatum Funnier than "Shrek," love David Newman's score 5 stars
1/05/03 Punk_Ass The characters were funny, predicatible story but wtf, i was entertained. Scrat Rocks! 4 stars
12/26/02 Chad Wonderful-- Sid is God 5 stars
12/12/02 Josh Makes you appreciate the hard work of Disney and Pixar 3 stars
12/10/02 Keith Good graphics, but boring and predictable. 3 stars
11/23/02 Jon Gotta love that squirrel... 4 stars
10/28/02 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng A combination of Shrek and Monsters Inc. It's worth a watch. Ray Romano you rock! 4 stars
9/03/02 palaboy101 its in the same league as "Toy Story", "Shrek", and "Monsters Inc." 5 stars
8/08/02 ! Entertaining stuff! 5 stars
7/05/02 TEUN:) Very GOOODDDDD 5 stars
6/02/02 Chris If this dones't seem all that fresh, know it was made before Shrek or Monsters Inc. 5 stars
5/30/02 Keith Comeford A fun movie, but feels awful derivative of Disney and Pixar stuff. 3 stars
4/29/02 ReD_OrB SCRAT IS THE SUPREME RULER OF THE WORLD i'm gona buy an acorn see ya 5 stars
4/25/02 AgentDS I just looooooove that squirrel 4 stars
4/25/02 Rachel B. Kickass film...especially Sid..."Uncle Fungis?" 5 stars
4/21/02 Katrin Mechler und Matthias Füchtenkordsjürgen The best we have seen !!! Laugh laugh and laugh ..... laughpain when you see this film 5 stars
4/19/02 john deven this movie is the shit!!! must see this film 5 stars
4/19/02 Richard vause I am a retard 5 stars
4/18/02 Steve Brown Average - lots of animation cock-ups 3 stars
4/18/02 Hannah Ritz SCRAT RULES 5 stars
4/17/02 ESta GREAT! I love it! Very funny at all! 4 stars
4/17/02 reinhard Lambacher Very good, lovley 1 stars
4/16/02 kelvin torres this movie is even better than shrek 5 stars
4/15/02 Emele Darkstar This movie was friggin' cool...even for a kid's movie. Denis Leary is great. Go Diego! 5 stars
4/14/02 sevasti giannaki i never stoped laughing! I also cryed once 5 stars
4/13/02 Thor-Leo Didn't laugh once 3 stars
4/12/02 Lyndsi I loved this movie. It was brilliantly advertised too. 5 stars
4/11/02 Jimmy This is truly a film for all ages. I loved it! Now where in the hell are the film's action 4 stars
4/11/02 Sputnik I laughed harder than all the little kids in the theater put together! 5 stars
4/09/02 Ilia B. Best CG Cartoon Ever! 5 stars
4/04/02 Spanky Beginning and the end are the only funny parts. I hope you like animal falling down jokes. 1 stars
4/04/02 lauren mccreight it's no Shrek....buts its good. 4 stars
4/01/02 spaceworm Yet another CGI animated film better than the over rated SHREK. 5 stars
3/25/02 Michael Grimm don't understand the average reviews, I'm 28 and I laughed ALOT!!! 5 stars
3/22/02 orpy Not bad, great for kids 4 stars
3/21/02 Nightwing Better then Fianl Fuckingpee 5 stars
3/19/02 James It lacked some of the humor that I've come to expect from other cgi movies. 3 stars
3/17/02 Julian LOL, I absolutely loved it! 5 stars
3/17/02 Rampage much better than Antz 5 stars
3/16/02 J I dunno OK, I'm in agreement with 95% of the raters here. 5 stars
3/16/02 Overkiller Fucking Awesome? It's only Friday morning! Just how many people were at YOUR sneak preview? 3 stars
3/15/02 TimmyTomorrow Best movie this year!!! 5 stars
3/14/02 kathesmith Best cartoon I seen this year! Layouts are incredible! 5 stars
3/14/02 linda higham all your thumbs up & then some 5 stars
3/14/02 Mike Kaz awesome!! very funny, and a VERY differnt look. 5 stars
3/13/02 skafunkrastapunk a great film. it has heart. you won't be disappointed. 5 stars
3/12/02 Jesus Christ The world is only 4000 years old, this could not have happened. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Mar-2002 (PG)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Mar-2002




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast