More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome74.42%
Worth A Look: 15.7%
Average: 4.07%
Pretty Bad: 2.91%
Total Crap: 2.91%

6 reviews, 136 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Dog Soldiers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Grandiose gore and endless entertainment."
5 stars

The 80's and 90's kind of killed the population's thirst for monster movies. Vampires were done to death, slasher films were gutted by the Scream series, and the werewolf flick was pretty much dominated by the classic that was An American Werewolf In London. An American Werewolf in Paris couldn't compete, nor could Wolfen or Wolf or The Howling, and then there was Teen Wolf... Dog Soldiers goes the other way altogether. Instead of being dramatic or goofy it just goes straight for the blood, guts, humor and thrills. It's a werewolf movie with balls - a cross between Predator and Last Werewolf In London. It's a bad ass from start to finish and it's a damn shame you'll have to wait to see it in the USA until it comes out on DVD on November 1.

Sergeant Harry Wells ia a little confused. He's been sent out with his troop to engage in a military training exercise, yet the squad he's supposed to be tracking is in little blood-soaked pieces on the floor. Not a shot has been fired, but no more than a few organs remains. Who, or what, did this?

Werewolves, dude. Werewolves. But not just werewolves, we're talking werewolves that used to be soldiers. Smart werewolves that use military tactics and teamwork to bring down their prey. Big furry fuckers, fast as lightning and able to see in the dark. Are you scared? Well, you won't be watching this, but you will be sufficiently amused, engrossed, and occasionally grossed out.

Like when the Sarge is disemboweled by a werewolf and has to engage in a tug of war with a dog for his lower intestine. Or when the same Sarge has to be put back together with Super-Glue and bandages. Disgusting, but at the same time hilarious stuff.

Made totally in homage to blood and guts flicks like Evil Dead (one of the characters is called Corporal Bruce Campbell), this is a fun romp with no real meaning beyond some fantastic action set pieces, some pretty convincing (for the most part) monsters, great performances by McKidd and Pertwee, humor that makes you almost ashamed to laugh and even the odd pop culture reference.

Soldier #1: "Where did Spoon go?"
Soldier #2: "There is no spoon."

You get a cookie if you can figure out the reference, and don't you just love a flick that can quote other flicks without being easy to spot? Sure, there's some cheesy bits and there's the odd plothole that you see but disregard because you're having so much fun.

There's even a token girl, though instead of treating her like the precious princess that everyone has to save, she gets the more realistic treatment (I won't spoil it for you, but it'll make you cheer).

Never resorting to those cheap jump scares that every teen-slasher film out of Hollywood fills up on these days, Dog Soldiers is perfectly-paced, with well-drawn characters, great big monsters and action scenes that have you honestly on the edge of your seat.

This is the stuff that great monster movies are made of. When the DVD comes out, buy the fucker and enjoy a great ballsy action movie, made the way Hollywood forgot how to make them years ago.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6150&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/20/02 15:33:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/09/17 Mark Louis Baumgart One of the best werewolf movies EVER. Rewatch it all of the time. 5 stars
7/23/11 Rob Superbly paced low-budget masterpiece,a must-see for fans of quirky and stylishhorror 5 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT BLOODY, VISCERAL HORROR FILM 2 stars
10/04/10 jared Spoon is the shit!!!! his fight alone makes this an awesome movie 5 stars
9/18/09 Richard Only plot hole: Megan heard gunfire the night before, yet not a shot gotten off by the SF 5 stars
5/05/09 Ben Awesome 5 stars
11/01/08 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
6/26/07 CODY slow at first but cool action and horror movies, with great looking werewolves 3 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK If the british army cant find a bunch of dogs, we need better funding from blair. 2 stars
10/30/06 Richard Agree completely. Best since An American Werewolf in London 5 stars
9/08/06 Ric Eh, Predator was much better. 2 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist No morph scenes, but still a good, well depicted werewolf flick!! 4 stars
4/12/06 ducka One of my favorites 5 stars
12/23/05 Dan Sylvestre Outrageously gory, refreshingly CGI free, don't miss it. 5 stars
10/04/05 firthy the best film in existance it couldnt be better 5 stars
10/02/05 cooper the uath... tha uath... 5 stars
9/05/05 Kaz Fantastic, Really funny 5 stars
8/30/05 Ian Superb, especially the psychology of the characters 5 stars
8/14/05 scott jebbia great movie 5 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington This movie does NOT FUCK AROUND! Very badass. 5 stars
7/10/05 daveyt Long way from foundation, good work Neil...!!! 5 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Ranks up there with 'Howling', 'American Werewolf', and 'Ginger Snaps'. Cool fucking movie. 5 stars
3/17/05 megan good flim 5 stars
2/16/05 Jack Mack For my money the best werewolf film EVER! 5 stars
2/02/05 buda This movie rocks! 4 stars
11/17/04 Gooey Its the best werewolf movie ever 5 stars
11/14/04 Craig Jeffrey Best brit film in years. I cant get enough. Pertwee is amazing (Again). 5 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Loved when the guy stabbed the wolf 100000 times. 4 stars
10/27/04 Steve Newman Great to see a UK AWESOME film - go watch 5 stars
9/26/04 KD Great action stuff 4 stars
9/23/04 Vince Pretty cool, but maybe slightly overrated by the efilmcritic crowd here 4 stars
8/27/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best werewolf movies in a long time 4 stars
8/18/04 Destroy This Movie I loved this movie. Disregard Destroy 5 stars
8/17/04 Electron Overlord This movie kicked mopped the floor with the other werewolf film. But transformation... 5 stars
7/03/04 Stab Wounds Lots of blood and guts. 5 stars
6/05/04 Dean Rapp The werewolves costumes, took away from the movie. 4 stars
6/03/04 Mr. me Better than American Werewolf in London, & better than the Howling 5 stars
5/15/04 Andrew Lekar This is one of the best werewolf movies that I have ever had the privlidge to see. 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose I wish more movies were made today like this one. 5 stars
5/11/04 me Kickass Shit! 5 stars
5/05/04 Stephanie Mansi The Film was Brillient i loved eevery minute of it . 5 stars
4/18/04 Jon Great big sloppy fun 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Definitely no GINGER SNAPS, but pretty good once it gets going! 3 stars
4/15/04 Naomi Vingoe It's such i kool movie me and my friend watch it in a movie marathon 5 stars
4/05/04 Electricshadow So much potential. BUT! THe werewolfs were embarrasing, as was the dialog as was the plot 1 stars
4/03/04 Lord Durvok 2 Rips off so many movies it hurts 3 stars
4/02/04 steney spoon aka darren morfitt looks like Sam beb he is gorgeous and so are the wolves 5 stars
3/02/04 Charles Tatum Finally, a twist on the werewolf story 4 stars
2/28/04 slimmypee I LOVE DARREN MORFITT AND DOG SOLDIERS 5 stars
2/25/04 Cheyenne Conley LOVEIT!!!! w/ SEXY SOLDIERS 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge Awesome little werewolf movie with soul. A must see for lycanthrope fans! 5 stars
2/03/04 Eloise 10 stars!!!!! love it love it love it love it 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best werewolf flicks in a long time. 4 stars
1/16/04 Vince Entertaining... but not that great. 3 stars
12/12/03 Micheal Fantastico!!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Witherspoon This is a fucking masterpiece. 5 stars
12/09/03 justin o'connor fucking great film 5 stars
12/02/03 Sammy The little film that no one heard or cared about when released... Now a cult classic! 5 stars
11/10/03 Renegade Bushido British swear words, Spoons stand, and awsome werewolves=cult movie classic 5 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee Those werewolves are friggin' huge! 5 stars
10/14/03 Gary GREAT 5 stars
10/12/03 Angel LOVED IT!!! LOVED IT!!! LOVED IT!!! 5 stars
9/29/03 Eloise Fan bloody tastic. Hollywood should be very afraid, this budget flick kicks their fat asses 5 stars
9/09/03 Carly Weston the best, and I've seen a lot lately 5 stars
9/07/03 Mikal Trimm Does for werewolf movies what 'Near Dark' did for vampire movies--made them cool again. 5 stars
9/07/03 R.W. Welch Basically The Alamo with werewolves. Okay, I guess. 3 stars
8/25/03 Amy R. M. Absolutly Awesome!!! I love everything about this film and its my no. 1 fav. in the world! 5 stars
8/17/03 dwukwiat KANIMO@poczta.fm the best fight scene in the kitchen, die dog die 5 stars
8/13/03 Rudiger "I hope I give u the shits, you fucking wimp!" - Classic. 5 stars
8/11/03 trent hughes the best wherewolf movie of all time!! 5 stars
7/24/03 Jan Fan - fucking tastic and Darren Morfitt is gorgeous 5 stars
7/19/03 mcculloch ,???? sweet meat,and a dash of intestinal pleasure! 5 stars
7/12/03 Alice Amusing 3 stars
6/25/03 HEATHER WARGO it's one of the greaties werewolf movies that i have seen and i seen them all. 5 stars
6/23/03 Davey Packer Best portayal of squadies in years, (fuck 28 days later!) 5 stars
6/16/03 Freya Howle I love it! 5 stars
6/09/03 Amanda Roberts As an ex military girl this film reminds me of why I joined up and of how much I miss it! 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon Great accents, dumb dialogue. Fun movie, though. 4 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Didn't like this at all. I didn't care one iota for this crap. 1 stars
4/22/03 Tak ***** 5 stars
4/01/03 YES Best action/horror flick since Pitch Black. The action is fast, intense, and thrilling. 5 stars
3/30/03 Elendil I'm getting too old for this shit. 1 stars
3/29/03 Zedi fuckin brillant 5 stars
3/28/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Yeah! Gore, horror, and humor! 5 stars
3/13/03 Dave Parker Complete agreeance! One of the most entertaining horror flicks in years! 5 stars
3/12/03 Sean Connery Suck it, MrChri5. Suck it long, and suck it hard! 5 stars
3/03/03 MrChri5 whats up with all the reviews? Its nothing special but worth renting. 3 stars
2/16/03 matt awesome 5 stars
1/28/03 TheBomb69 good movie but there was some holes in the story 4 stars
1/17/03 Mike HOT SHIT! BUT NOT AS SCARY AS OTHER MOVIES! 5 stars
1/04/03 DAN ANDREWS 2nd BEST FILM EVER AFTER STAR WARS! 5 stars
1/02/03 Vince Reed THIS BLOODY SOB F'ING ROCKS!!! 5 stars
1/01/03 Debbie Fantastic! Definitely worth OWNING! 5 stars
12/31/02 Stephen Butcher Brilliant, having been patiently waiting for the DVD release to show all my friends 5 stars
12/30/02 Isaac I didn't want the movie to end, it was that good! 5 stars
12/24/02 carl burton funny 5 stars
12/24/02 MASTER ROBIN FLANNIGAN The story was good and the acting was good considering the "type" of movie it was. 5 stars
12/22/02 wishdarrenwasmine this movie kicks ass and spoon was so hot...mmmmmmmmmmm...spoon 5 stars
12/17/02 Becky Great acting, fun horror, and good humor. So good, I even bought it on video. 5 stars
12/16/02 GILBERT FERROL ACE VERY VERY GOOD 5 stars
12/15/02 Brian Iwinski For not much of a budget, they pulled it off. I was entertained from the opening credits! 5 stars
12/14/02 Ashley West the best movie i've seen in ages. it scared the shit out of my mard arse friend. love it. 5 stars
12/11/02 nwo a lot of blood and guts!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/09/02 Paul Doherty Great film. Has true British grit, and humor. UK makes some great films. 5 stars
12/08/02 Sean Horan Good movie, great ending, and a surprise for the genre. 4 stars
12/08/02 weaselteet KICKS ASS 5 stars
12/08/02 MICK SWEEEET!!! 5 stars
12/08/02 Uter A nice homage to the multiple genres. McKidd (aka Tommy) and Cleasby are worth it alone.. 5 stars
12/06/02 Patrick Durkin Best werewolf movie since "American Werewolf in London" and I think better 5 stars
12/05/02 CADET GWA , QUEENS ROYAL LANCERS THE BEST OF THE BEST SIR 5 stars
12/03/02 billy boy its was fucking scary as hell 5 stars
12/02/02 Yo Mama! Holy shit...that was pretty scary....I don't think I'll be eating sausages for a while!!! 5 stars
11/27/02 Ultimate Judge Boring. Not Scary. Ridiculous, crappy monsters. And did I mention that it was BORING.. 2 stars
11/27/02 CutterNewmoon Thoroughly enjoyable despite obvious plot holes and bad physics. 4 stars
11/26/02 Mr. Teeter Quite frankly, the laws of Physics were not evident in this picture which detracted from it 1 stars
11/24/02 Spunk Pumpkin heads body with lassies head? More holes then a pack of swiss, no predator for sur 1 stars
11/24/02 d v good 5 stars
11/21/02 Mason i thought it was dogshit 5 stars
11/20/02 Did We Watch The Same Movie? Great in spots, but the worst looking werewolvessince Lon Chaney 4 stars
11/19/02 Full Moon's Fury FANTASTIC!!!! .And Cooper is so sexy!!!! I luv it when they're gluing the Sarg bac 2gether 5 stars
11/18/02 SilverFang I loved that movie! its awsome! and the werewolves are soo cool! 5 stars
11/18/02 Kyle Fuck. This deserved a U.S. theatrical release... 5 stars
11/17/02 Bullpen "Bloody awful, if you ask me..." 2 stars
11/13/02 me had great black humour to add to the frightning scenes 5 stars
11/13/02 Film Dude Yeah, this was on Sci-Fi back in August... 5 stars
11/12/02 Maggie Griffin Forget the bland horror movies where you only see a shadowy werewolf with bad lighting! 5 stars
11/10/02 Stacey A really great movie... *So much suspense* 5 stars
11/07/02 Robert Sandlan What the Blair Which should have been! 5 stars
11/06/02 i see Wasn't this on SCIFI back in March? 5 stars
11/06/02 Colin McCarthy Finally someone remembers what makes a great horror flick. I love it to bits. 5 stars
11/03/02 STEVE WATCH WITH GINGER SNAPS,HOWLING,CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF AND THE WOLFMAN. 5 stars
10/10/02 Steve.M One of the Best all action horror/action movies ive seen 5 stars
9/26/02 Michael Roberts Best film I ever saw involving werewolves 5 stars
9/23/02 gary salter the best werewolf movie ever!!!!, tons of action, gore,mayhem!!!Saw it at a local horror fi 5 stars
9/23/02 STEVE WHY DID IT NOT GO TO THE THEATRHER?SCOBBY-DOO AND MIB2 DID AND THEY STINK! 5 stars
9/21/02 Rastabub Great werwolf movie, I saw it in the US on the sci-fi channel. See Ginger Snaps, too! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Nov-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Mar-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast