More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome74.42%
Worth A Look: 15.7%
Average: 4.07%
Pretty Bad: 2.91%
Total Crap: 2.91%

6 reviews, 136 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Ad Astra by Jay Seaver

When Lambs Become Lions by Jay Seaver

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Dog Soldiers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"This Movie Rocks Harder Than Ron Jeremy's Bed during an 8.0 Quake"
5 stars

You know, I see a fair amount of movies. Some I hate, some I love, some I am indifferent towards. But every once in a while, a movie will come along that just works for me on all the right levels, and turns me into that annoying specimen of humanity that I usually dread encountering the most - The Fanboy.

So excuse me as I wax ecstatic when I say THIS IS THE COOLEST FUCKING MOVIE SINCE EVIL DEAD 2. Based on what little I'd heard, I was expecting to like it. I wasn't expecting to SALIVATE over it.

So why is this movie so great? Well, it's not necessarily due to its originality. Every major plot element in this film has been done somewhere else in films like Evil Dead 2, Aliens, Night of the Living Dead, Southern Comfort, and about half a dozen others that I can think of off-hand. But if I may paraphrase a quote I once heard - steal one idea, you're a plagiarist. Steal them all, you're a fuckin' genius!

Whether you want to call it stealing (right down to a few lines of readily recognizable dialogue), or a homage (the spirit in which it was obviously intended), it's still one kick-ass viewing experience. Why? Because it's got all the little things that matter. You know, those little things that usually get overlooked when you have 80 million dollars to throw around on egomaniacal A-list stars, and bloated special effects. Things like great acting, great writing, and a very talented freshman director. I don't know what Neil Marshall's next endeavor will be, but after Dog Soldiers, I am SO on this guy's bandwagon.

Dog Soldiers begins with a squad of British soldiers on an unexpected "routine" training mission in the Scottish Highlands. Routine, that is, if the opposing squad in your exercise all end up slaughtered and huge wolf-like shapes stalking you through the trees can be considered "routine". Before all the carnage begins, however, we are introduced to the squad, and this is what makes the rest of the film so great - we actually like and care about these guys, and we recognize the role they each fill in the squad camaraderie. Witherspoon (Darren Morfitt) is the smart-ass. Joe (Chris Robson) is the guy with the attitude who's pissed-off because he's missing the big game. Cooper (Kevin McKidd) is the second-in-command who recently washed out of the Special Forces selection because he chose his principals over following orders. And at the head of the squad is Sergeant Wells, or "The Sarge" (Sean Pertwee, who is a fucking god in this role). Although Wells is a man who can crack jokes with his men (and tells one of the best campfire tales ever), he is obviously someone who means business and is ready to die for his team.

When they find the Special Forces team they are supposed to be playing war against, each of them slaughtered without getting off a shot, The Sarge quickly takes stock of the situation and deduces that they are up against some bad mojo. While retrieving all the weapons and hardware they can, they stumble across one survivor, Captain Ryan (Liam Cunningham) - the guy who washed Cooper out of the Special Forces selection because he refused to shoot a dog. It's quite obvious that Ryan is a shady bastard, and knows more about what's going on than he's telling. But before they have time to properly interrogate him, they find themselves being chased by 8-foot tall werewolves. While bullets hurt them temporarily, they don't seem to slow them down for long.

Just when all would appear to be lost, they stumble upon a backwoods road, where they are picked up by the dead-sexy zoologist Megan (Emma Cleasby). Not only does she rescue them and drive them to a nearby farmhouse, she also provides the requisite attractive female character to counter-balance all of the testosterone. When they get to the farmhouse, they soon realize that the wolves have followed them there, surrounding them and disabling their vehicle. Now they're just four walls and a few clips of ammo away from being lycanthrope droppings. Let the carnage begin!

I can't remember the last time I was this caught up in a movie. The action sequences and suspenseful pacing are top-notch, made all the better by great acting and a slew of quote-worthy dialogue (why is it that the banter in Brit soldier movies is always just a little bit cooler?). Not since Evil Dead have the confines of a cabin looked so vast, yet so claustrophobic. The squaddies have just the right amount of bravado, while the werewolves seem to have a mischievous streak, preferring to play with their food before eating it. But what really makes this film great are the performers themselves. Mckidd and Cunningham are completely convincing, and Pewtree should get a fucking Oscar or some damn statuette from someone for his efforts here. I'm sure there are a few plot holes and inconsistencies in there somewhere, but I've watched it twice and haven't spotted them yet. Maybe I'll try to stop enjoying the thing so much on my next viewing and actually be analytical. But then, isn't a movie supposed to be so enthralling that you don't mind or notice the little flaws?

Carnage and Carnality

-Woman used in tug-o-war between boyfriend and werewolf (guess who wins?)
-Soldierkabob
-sausage stuffing with krazy-glue surgery
-lots and lots of werewolf-shooting (and one scene where they shoot back!)
-Broadsword-enhanced lycanthrope limb lopping
-mail slot abuse
-Man vs. Werewolf heavyweight title fight with drop-kick assisted projectile incisor
-The gratuitous explosion of every structure in sight (well, all two of them)
-Silver shiv
-Emma Cleasby looks mighty fine when she strips down to a braless wifebeater.

Drive-In Triple Feature Not by the Hair of My Chinny-chin-chin or the 800 rounds a minute of my Assault Rifle Picks for Dog Soldiers:

Watch this movie. Then watch it again. Then watch the director's commentary. Then go watch The Howling.

In the DVD "making of" featurette, Director Marshall says "I set out to make a soldier movie with werewolves, not a werewolf movie with soldiers," and that's an important distinction. It is the soldiers, and the bond between them, that makes this film stand out. It's not quite SAVING PRIVATE RYAN with werewolves . . . but it's pretty damn close.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=6150&reviewer=258
originally posted: 11/19/02 12:45:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/09/17 Mark Louis Baumgart One of the best werewolf movies EVER. Rewatch it all of the time. 5 stars
7/23/11 Rob Superbly paced low-budget masterpiece,a must-see for fans of quirky and stylishhorror 5 stars
11/11/10 PAUL SHORTT BLOODY, VISCERAL HORROR FILM 2 stars
10/04/10 jared Spoon is the shit!!!! his fight alone makes this an awesome movie 5 stars
9/18/09 Richard Only plot hole: Megan heard gunfire the night before, yet not a shot gotten off by the SF 5 stars
5/05/09 Ben Awesome 5 stars
11/01/08 Shaun Wallner Friiggin Awesome!! 5 stars
6/26/07 CODY slow at first but cool action and horror movies, with great looking werewolves 3 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK If the british army cant find a bunch of dogs, we need better funding from blair. 2 stars
10/30/06 Richard Agree completely. Best since An American Werewolf in London 5 stars
9/08/06 Ric Eh, Predator was much better. 2 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist No morph scenes, but still a good, well depicted werewolf flick!! 4 stars
4/12/06 ducka One of my favorites 5 stars
12/23/05 Dan Sylvestre Outrageously gory, refreshingly CGI free, don't miss it. 5 stars
10/04/05 firthy the best film in existance it couldnt be better 5 stars
10/02/05 cooper the uath... tha uath... 5 stars
9/05/05 Kaz Fantastic, Really funny 5 stars
8/30/05 Ian Superb, especially the psychology of the characters 5 stars
8/14/05 scott jebbia great movie 5 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington This movie does NOT FUCK AROUND! Very badass. 5 stars
7/10/05 daveyt Long way from foundation, good work Neil...!!! 5 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Ranks up there with 'Howling', 'American Werewolf', and 'Ginger Snaps'. Cool fucking movie. 5 stars
3/17/05 megan good flim 5 stars
2/16/05 Jack Mack For my money the best werewolf film EVER! 5 stars
2/02/05 buda This movie rocks! 4 stars
11/17/04 Gooey Its the best werewolf movie ever 5 stars
11/14/04 Craig Jeffrey Best brit film in years. I cant get enough. Pertwee is amazing (Again). 5 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Loved when the guy stabbed the wolf 100000 times. 4 stars
10/27/04 Steve Newman Great to see a UK AWESOME film - go watch 5 stars
9/26/04 KD Great action stuff 4 stars
9/23/04 Vince Pretty cool, but maybe slightly overrated by the efilmcritic crowd here 4 stars
8/27/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best werewolf movies in a long time 4 stars
8/18/04 Destroy This Movie I loved this movie. Disregard Destroy 5 stars
8/17/04 Electron Overlord This movie kicked mopped the floor with the other werewolf film. But transformation... 5 stars
7/03/04 Stab Wounds Lots of blood and guts. 5 stars
6/05/04 Dean Rapp The werewolves costumes, took away from the movie. 4 stars
6/03/04 Mr. me Better than American Werewolf in London, & better than the Howling 5 stars
5/15/04 Andrew Lekar This is one of the best werewolf movies that I have ever had the privlidge to see. 5 stars
5/13/04  Shaun Rose I wish more movies were made today like this one. 5 stars
5/11/04 me Kickass Shit! 5 stars
5/05/04 Stephanie Mansi The Film was Brillient i loved eevery minute of it . 5 stars
4/18/04 Jon Great big sloppy fun 5 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt Definitely no GINGER SNAPS, but pretty good once it gets going! 3 stars
4/15/04 Naomi Vingoe It's such i kool movie me and my friend watch it in a movie marathon 5 stars
4/05/04 Electricshadow So much potential. BUT! THe werewolfs were embarrasing, as was the dialog as was the plot 1 stars
4/03/04 Lord Durvok 2 Rips off so many movies it hurts 3 stars
4/02/04 steney spoon aka darren morfitt looks like Sam beb he is gorgeous and so are the wolves 5 stars
3/02/04 Charles Tatum Finally, a twist on the werewolf story 4 stars
2/28/04 slimmypee I LOVE DARREN MORFITT AND DOG SOLDIERS 5 stars
2/25/04 Cheyenne Conley LOVEIT!!!! w/ SEXY SOLDIERS 5 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge Awesome little werewolf movie with soul. A must see for lycanthrope fans! 5 stars
2/03/04 Eloise 10 stars!!!!! love it love it love it love it 5 stars
1/22/04 American Slasher Goddess One of the best werewolf flicks in a long time. 4 stars
1/16/04 Vince Entertaining... but not that great. 3 stars
12/12/03 Micheal Fantastico!!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Witherspoon This is a fucking masterpiece. 5 stars
12/09/03 justin o'connor fucking great film 5 stars
12/02/03 Sammy The little film that no one heard or cared about when released... Now a cult classic! 5 stars
11/10/03 Renegade Bushido British swear words, Spoons stand, and awsome werewolves=cult movie classic 5 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee Those werewolves are friggin' huge! 5 stars
10/14/03 Gary GREAT 5 stars
10/12/03 Angel LOVED IT!!! LOVED IT!!! LOVED IT!!! 5 stars
9/29/03 Eloise Fan bloody tastic. Hollywood should be very afraid, this budget flick kicks their fat asses 5 stars
9/09/03 Carly Weston the best, and I've seen a lot lately 5 stars
9/07/03 Mikal Trimm Does for werewolf movies what 'Near Dark' did for vampire movies--made them cool again. 5 stars
9/07/03 R.W. Welch Basically The Alamo with werewolves. Okay, I guess. 3 stars
8/25/03 Amy R. M. Absolutly Awesome!!! I love everything about this film and its my no. 1 fav. in the world! 5 stars
8/17/03 dwukwiat KANIMO@poczta.fm the best fight scene in the kitchen, die dog die 5 stars
8/13/03 Rudiger "I hope I give u the shits, you fucking wimp!" - Classic. 5 stars
8/11/03 trent hughes the best wherewolf movie of all time!! 5 stars
7/24/03 Jan Fan - fucking tastic and Darren Morfitt is gorgeous 5 stars
7/19/03 mcculloch ,???? sweet meat,and a dash of intestinal pleasure! 5 stars
7/12/03 Alice Amusing 3 stars
6/25/03 HEATHER WARGO it's one of the greaties werewolf movies that i have seen and i seen them all. 5 stars
6/23/03 Davey Packer Best portayal of squadies in years, (fuck 28 days later!) 5 stars
6/16/03 Freya Howle I love it! 5 stars
6/09/03 Amanda Roberts As an ex military girl this film reminds me of why I joined up and of how much I miss it! 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon Great accents, dumb dialogue. Fun movie, though. 4 stars
4/25/03 mr. Pink Didn't like this at all. I didn't care one iota for this crap. 1 stars
4/22/03 Tak ***** 5 stars
4/01/03 YES Best action/horror flick since Pitch Black. The action is fast, intense, and thrilling. 5 stars
3/30/03 Elendil I'm getting too old for this shit. 1 stars
3/29/03 Zedi fuckin brillant 5 stars
3/28/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Yeah! Gore, horror, and humor! 5 stars
3/13/03 Dave Parker Complete agreeance! One of the most entertaining horror flicks in years! 5 stars
3/12/03 Sean Connery Suck it, MrChri5. Suck it long, and suck it hard! 5 stars
3/03/03 MrChri5 whats up with all the reviews? Its nothing special but worth renting. 3 stars
2/16/03 matt awesome 5 stars
1/28/03 TheBomb69 good movie but there was some holes in the story 4 stars
1/17/03 Mike HOT SHIT! BUT NOT AS SCARY AS OTHER MOVIES! 5 stars
1/04/03 DAN ANDREWS 2nd BEST FILM EVER AFTER STAR WARS! 5 stars
1/02/03 Vince Reed THIS BLOODY SOB F'ING ROCKS!!! 5 stars
1/01/03 Debbie Fantastic! Definitely worth OWNING! 5 stars
12/31/02 Stephen Butcher Brilliant, having been patiently waiting for the DVD release to show all my friends 5 stars
12/30/02 Isaac I didn't want the movie to end, it was that good! 5 stars
12/24/02 carl burton funny 5 stars
12/24/02 MASTER ROBIN FLANNIGAN The story was good and the acting was good considering the "type" of movie it was. 5 stars
12/22/02 wishdarrenwasmine this movie kicks ass and spoon was so hot...mmmmmmmmmmm...spoon 5 stars
12/17/02 Becky Great acting, fun horror, and good humor. So good, I even bought it on video. 5 stars
12/16/02 GILBERT FERROL ACE VERY VERY GOOD 5 stars
12/15/02 Brian Iwinski For not much of a budget, they pulled it off. I was entertained from the opening credits! 5 stars
12/14/02 Ashley West the best movie i've seen in ages. it scared the shit out of my mard arse friend. love it. 5 stars
12/11/02 nwo a lot of blood and guts!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/09/02 Paul Doherty Great film. Has true British grit, and humor. UK makes some great films. 5 stars
12/08/02 Sean Horan Good movie, great ending, and a surprise for the genre. 4 stars
12/08/02 weaselteet KICKS ASS 5 stars
12/08/02 MICK SWEEEET!!! 5 stars
12/08/02 Uter A nice homage to the multiple genres. McKidd (aka Tommy) and Cleasby are worth it alone.. 5 stars
12/06/02 Patrick Durkin Best werewolf movie since "American Werewolf in London" and I think better 5 stars
12/05/02 CADET GWA , QUEENS ROYAL LANCERS THE BEST OF THE BEST SIR 5 stars
12/03/02 billy boy its was fucking scary as hell 5 stars
12/02/02 Yo Mama! Holy shit...that was pretty scary....I don't think I'll be eating sausages for a while!!! 5 stars
11/27/02 Ultimate Judge Boring. Not Scary. Ridiculous, crappy monsters. And did I mention that it was BORING.. 2 stars
11/27/02 CutterNewmoon Thoroughly enjoyable despite obvious plot holes and bad physics. 4 stars
11/26/02 Mr. Teeter Quite frankly, the laws of Physics were not evident in this picture which detracted from it 1 stars
11/24/02 Spunk Pumpkin heads body with lassies head? More holes then a pack of swiss, no predator for sur 1 stars
11/24/02 d v good 5 stars
11/21/02 Mason i thought it was dogshit 5 stars
11/20/02 Did We Watch The Same Movie? Great in spots, but the worst looking werewolvessince Lon Chaney 4 stars
11/19/02 Full Moon's Fury FANTASTIC!!!! .And Cooper is so sexy!!!! I luv it when they're gluing the Sarg bac 2gether 5 stars
11/18/02 SilverFang I loved that movie! its awsome! and the werewolves are soo cool! 5 stars
11/18/02 Kyle Fuck. This deserved a U.S. theatrical release... 5 stars
11/17/02 Bullpen "Bloody awful, if you ask me..." 2 stars
11/13/02 me had great black humour to add to the frightning scenes 5 stars
11/13/02 Film Dude Yeah, this was on Sci-Fi back in August... 5 stars
11/12/02 Maggie Griffin Forget the bland horror movies where you only see a shadowy werewolf with bad lighting! 5 stars
11/10/02 Stacey A really great movie... *So much suspense* 5 stars
11/07/02 Robert Sandlan What the Blair Which should have been! 5 stars
11/06/02 i see Wasn't this on SCIFI back in March? 5 stars
11/06/02 Colin McCarthy Finally someone remembers what makes a great horror flick. I love it to bits. 5 stars
11/03/02 STEVE WATCH WITH GINGER SNAPS,HOWLING,CURSE OF THE WEREWOLF AND THE WOLFMAN. 5 stars
10/10/02 Steve.M One of the Best all action horror/action movies ive seen 5 stars
9/26/02 Michael Roberts Best film I ever saw involving werewolves 5 stars
9/23/02 gary salter the best werewolf movie ever!!!!, tons of action, gore,mayhem!!!Saw it at a local horror fi 5 stars
9/23/02 STEVE WHY DID IT NOT GO TO THE THEATRHER?SCOBBY-DOO AND MIB2 DID AND THEY STINK! 5 stars
9/21/02 Rastabub Great werwolf movie, I saw it in the US on the sci-fi channel. See Ginger Snaps, too! 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Nov-2002 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  20-Mar-2003




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast