More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.44

Awesome: 10.42%
Worth A Look: 10.42%
Average: 27.08%
Pretty Bad: 16.67%
Total Crap35.42%

4 reviews, 24 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lucky Grandma by Jay Seaver

Vast of Night, The by Peter Sobczynski

High Note, The by Peter Sobczynski

Taking of Tiger Mountain, The by Jay Seaver

Trip to Greece, The by Peter Sobczynski

Night God by Jay Seaver

Alice (2019) by Jay Seaver

On a Magical Night (Chambre 212) by Jay Seaver

Driveways by Jay Seaver

Free Country by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


2 Days in the Valley
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Should be called ď104 minutes in rip-off cringe-landĒ"
1 stars

Another crapfest from John Herzfeld, yep, the same hack that gave us the immensely stupid and laughable ďGrease wannabeĒ Two of a Kind and would later again bone studio execs to make another crapfest called 15 Minutes. Somebody should've told Herzfeld his 15 minutes of "Don King: Only in America" fame were up a long time ago.

Iím not going to bother with the plot because just like he tried to cash in on the John Travolta/Olivia Newton-John formula that worked wonders in Grease into his own Two of a Kind, Herzfeld now wants to regurgitate the same formula that Quentin Tarantino made popular with Pulp Fiction in order to make his own movie of it. To say that itís a Pulp Fiction rip-off would be an understatement.

Throw in a series of pointless and boring stories culminating into one stupid ending, some great Charlize Theron tits and ass plus the usual humping, and a large waste of acting talent involving Jeff Daniels, Danny Aiello, Glenne Headly, Marsha Mason, James Spader and several others, including Teri Hatcher and you get one big pointless moronic mess.

Also, why is it that in most films in which Spader appears, he always gets the part where he gets to fuck the babe? Iíve always wondered that, and hell sometimes I wonder if it is because he wants to be in the same league as Richard Gere, whoís had God knows how much pussy in his life.

Ultimately, this film is pointless. If youíre one of those people whom canít tell whole milk from white-tinted serum (AKA skim milk), this film is for you. Otherwise if youíre an intelligent person, youíll be better off downloading Charlize Theronís sex scene via the Internet and watching Pulp Fiction rather than this moronic wannabe. 0-5

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=637&reviewer=235
originally posted: 10/16/04 04:43:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell entertaining crime comedy spader & theron are great 4 stars
5/27/15 stanley welles solid, tense entertainment 4 stars
12/20/10 Mike Pulp Fiction knock-off is passable, but missable 3 stars
11/15/05 Indrid Cold Not nearly as hip or funny as it thinks it is. Some cute girls in underwear though. 3 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson Flawed, but undeniably entertaining. Aiello, Spader, & Theron stand out in a good cast! 3 stars
3/30/04 The More You Know Inspired by a better film, Bread and Chocolate, but Valley drew me into it's ups and downs. 4 stars
4/05/03 Jack Sommersby Ditto, Charles. 1 stars
3/07/03 Charles Tatum Tarantino wannabe 3 stars
4/24/02 Butterbean If Pulp Fiction and A Fish Called Wanda had a baby with a clubbed foot. 3 stars
4/07/01 Monday Morning This is one smart flick; great balance of black comedy, mystery and thriller. 5 stars
2/04/00 arnold entertaining 5 stars
12/07/99 CATM I found it to be very entertaining, Charlize is gorgeous, and the cat fight was just great! 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Aiello saves the day. What more do you want? 4 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine Decent acting salvages a lame script. What's the deal with Jeff Daniels' character? 3 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein This movie was written by morons. It is a turd floating in the toilet.damn you Bill Paxton. 1 stars
3/14/99 Love Donkey Fast, funny. I saw it twice. 5 stars
11/13/98 Jules Here's an idea, bad dialogue, stupid story, characters no one cares about... Lets do it! 1 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz As crime films go, this one is a clever toe-tapper. 5 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald The video cover said "Out Pulp Fiction's Pulp Fiction". This was NO Pulp Fiction. 2 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy watched it drunk. it didnt help. this movie blows ass. 1 stars
8/29/98 Matt I wanted to enjoy this flick, I really, really did, but i was let down 3 stars
8/29/98 Johny Just a lame as hell PULP FICTION ripoff 1 stars
8/26/98 Pete I LOVE Charlize Theron. I wish I could say the same for this flick. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Charlize Theron is great. Stoltz is great. Everyone else was "Movie Of The Week". 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Sep-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Sep-1997 (MA)


Directed by
  John Herzfeld

Written by
  John Herzfeld

Cast
  Greg Cruttwell
  Jeff Daniels
  Eric Stoltz
  Charlize Theron
  Danny Aiello
  Marsha Mason



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast