More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.48

Awesome64.81%
Worth A Look: 24.07%
Average: 7.41%
Pretty Bad: 1.85%
Total Crap: 1.85%

3 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Frozen 2 by Peter Sobczynski

Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood, A by Peter Sobczynski

Waves (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


People vs. Larry Flynt, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Not a bad word to say about it."
5 stars

People say that Courtney Love wasn't all that and a bag because she was just playing herself in this movie. I say to that - nobody else in the world could have played it better - ergo: she rocks.

People vs Larry Flynt is the story of a hillbilly strip club owner who worked out he could make more money selling pictures of nekkid women than the real thing.

Along the way, the puritans and religious right try to take him down any way they can, he get's shot up by a zealot and confined to a wheelchair, his wife get's hooked on his drugs, it's a real family tale.

But it's funny as hell, especially well written and performed. Harrelson is deeply annoying, yet you like him and want him to come through. Love is pathetic, but that's what she's aiming for and she nails it. Yes, this perhaps is a character she doesn't have to stretch to play, but why should she have to? She's perfect for the role. When Denzel Washington plays an african american do people say "bah, he's just playing the person he is" or do they say "great casting"?

I don't recall a weak point of this film. It soared. It rocked.

And Courtney get's naked and lesbianic which, while in this case not overly attractive in the true Hollywood sense, is always a nice touch.

"I wish I was black" - Woody's t-shirt

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=671&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/28/98 10:53:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/13/12 mr.mike Better than I expected , still about 20 minutes too long. 4 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef Carey does not impersonate Kaufman. He becomes him. He posesses him. 5 stars
9/02/09 darren courtney love doesn't even make a beleivable addict, and that should come natura, great fil 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini very well done 5 stars
8/24/05 ES Free speech is an ideal that everyone should have equal oppurtunity to wield 4 stars
10/22/04 John suprisingly involving and well made film - good intelligent enetrtainment 4 stars
1/19/04 fhkd A very fine film about American free marketing and liberty. 5 stars
8/09/03 The Man This is not about porn but about American rights. Only flaw- Flynt is too whitewashed 5 stars
6/15/03 Chiasso, Maurimar A importância da luta por uma idéia é a importância da idéia da vida. 5 stars
4/12/03 Jack Sommersby Superb perfs by Harrleson and Norton help this 1-sided, myopic Forman soapbox. 2 stars
2/24/03 Ananta Mainali Excellent 5 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden His Life Was Intering and Exciting, This Wasn't. 3 stars
10/04/01 Bada Bing Crosby Great movie..why do so many douchebags post at this site? 5 stars
7/13/01 bobbuttons pretty good 4 stars
5/07/01 Mikko Salminen Interesting life, average movie. 3 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I'm not a Hustler fan, but this movie is too damn good to ignore... 5 stars
1/19/01 Perverted Pixie Everything from strung-out Courtney to lazy-eyed Crispin was sensational! 5 stars
11/18/00 salvo good stuff 4 stars
8/29/00 Assassin Free speech liberalism at its most disgusting and zombifying. Harrelson is good though 1 stars
5/18/00 Creeper They ALLLL rocked 5 stars
12/08/99 Glitter Berry Fabulous support for the 1st amendment 5 stars
11/06/99 Anthony Ellis A really involving story with great acting and a great screenplay. A real surprise! 5 stars
11/02/99 Bozo learned more about being american from this movie than all the years in school 5 stars
9/03/99 Elizaveta Pure Genius! Edward Norton is the brilliance of this generation. 5 stars
7/03/99 Daria Fantastic performances all around. Great stuff. 5 stars
5/03/99 Michael Grimm good writing and performances 4 stars
12/26/98 Erich, the Mad Bassist The one good thing Courtney ever did. Larry Flynt and Dwayne Tinsley for prez & v.p.! 5 stars
11/26/98 Erika Linden Green I agree! 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty I love this movie!! Anyone who throws oranges at a judge has got to be cool 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce A great fucking film. Outstandingly written, involving, fast and funny. Love stank. 5 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob While this IS a 'F.A.'film, I would LOVE to see a Stone directed interpretation! 5 stars
10/24/98 grunter bio-by-numbers; suprisingly formulaic; porno scrubbed clean with nary a beaver shot, odd. 3 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo Superbly directed and written, and Woody will never be better. 5 stars
8/28/98 Johny Good, minus Courtney Love being way too old for her part 4 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee I really did need to see Courtney Love naked. I loved it. 5 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress i really didn't need to see courtney love naked, but overall it was ok. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1996 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast