More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.57

Awesome: 28.57%
Worth A Look: 11.11%
Average: 1.59%
Pretty Bad: 6.35%
Total Crap52.38%

3 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Siege of Firebase Gloria, The by Jack Sommersby

Wild Geese II by Jack Sommersby

Trial of the Chicago 7, The by Peter Sobczynski

Way I See It, The by Jack Sommersby

Kajillionaire by Peter Sobczynski

Allan Quartermain and the Lost City of Gold by Jack Sommersby

12 Hour Shift by Jay Seaver

Firewalker by Jack Sommersby

Death Wish V: The Face of Death by Jack Sommersby

Police Academy 2: Their First Assignment by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Welcome To Woop-Woop
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmink Magazine (owes us money)

"Don't say we didn't warn you."
1 stars

If you enjoy doing the cultural cringe 'n' squirm, then Welcome to Woop Woop may be for you. This is not a pretty picture of Australia or Australians, with extreme stereotypes that are neither goofily funny nor adequately satirical. It's a film that Australians hope their relatives overseas will never find out about.

The follow-up to the hugely successful Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert is also hugely disappointing.

The crude Welcome to Woop Woop does not possess one tenth of the wit, warmth or charm of that high camp romp. Returning to the desert, Elliott's new tale revolves around Teddy (Schaech from That Thing You Do), an American con-man on the run in the dusty Australian landscape. He picks up the hitch-hiking nymphomaniac Angie (Porter from Idiot Box and Amy), and life soon takes a turn for the worse.

Angie is from Woop Woop, an outback town run by her dictator-like father, Daddy-O, who's played, bizarrely enough, by Rod Taylor (as in THE Rod Taylor, the Australian who conquered Hollywood in classics like The Time Machine and The Birds).

Daddy-O is the last word in Woop Woop. He has his rules, and uses intimidation - and a gun - to reinforce them. And avoiding further inbreeding in this tiny town is rule #1. So Angie kidnaps Teddy, who wakes up from an unconscious stupor in the grotesque world of Woop Woop, finding himself married to his kidnapper.

Then Teddy falls for Angie's sister Krystal (Smart) - possibly the only half-way likeable character here - and begins the fight to escape Woop Woop. But Daddy-O will shoot him - or anyone else - who tries to leave.

Schaech is competent, but in an essentially Australian flick, and with the wealth of young local talent we have, it's depressing to see an American in the lead role. But after all, cultural cringe is Woop Woop's unwitting theme. Appearances from Maggie Kirkpatrick, Rachel Griffiths, Paul Mercurio and Barry Humphries, plus costumes from Oscar winner Lizzy Gardiner, add the few moments where Woop Woop goes up a notch.

Daddy-O's obsession with Rodgers & Hammerstein and the brief fantasy sequence near the end also work well. But this is the culinary equivalent of loading a mad, rotting, random selection of ingredients into a pot, hoping for the best, and getting indigestible, garbage-disposal fodder instead of a light lunch. Don't say we didn't warn you. ---Annette Basile

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=71&reviewer=14
originally posted: 08/25/98 01:44:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

4/22/11 sam D&G Undies 5 stars
4/12/10 Sophie Love the guy in the d&g undies, what a spunk, what a movie 5 stars
2/21/09 Tracy good film, and i loved the music, i think that is what made the movie 5 stars
8/29/07 chienne Oh, Christ! The most embarrassing pile of tripe I've ever seen. 1 stars
8/18/07 DAvid P Awesome movie, too bad the dvd is so hard to find in the U.S. 5 stars
8/12/07 Kate Chapman gotta love aussie moves - anyone know where I can get a DVD copy? 5 stars
11/06/05 scott schaffer loved it !!!!!! 5 stars
6/01/05 KDK Ugly, unfunny and completely shithouse. 1 stars
3/07/05 wally martin loved it, what a pisser 5 stars
1/16/05 Steamtrousers Alan Finney's 'performance' is the worst in cinema history. And fits perfectly. 1 stars
12/04/04 Mike brilliant satire lighten up 5 stars
11/07/04 Guillaume Nothing like what I've seen b4. LoVeD iT !!! 5 stars
8/22/04 J Albright I should have watched paint drying instead of this movie! 1 stars
8/18/04 Josh fresh and sexy 5 stars
7/08/04 Wayne Webster it was a good movie but then again not a great movie 4 stars
4/26/04 chris loved it 5 stars
4/07/04 zack wow great! 5 stars
1/10/04 Frank Dunstan A send up never intended to be taken seriously. I loved it. 5 stars
1/07/04 Shane Pacholli Great film, Rod Taylor was best actor 5 stars
1/07/04 DJ Yes, an overlooked classic. Makes me re-think Elliott. 4 stars
1/05/04 Amelia Hall I thought it quite quirky and eccentric 3 stars
1/05/04 susie the music was better than the movie 2 stars
10/30/02 Al-Antony Moody I thought it was a bit nutz (not talking about the jock scene lol) :) I liked it! 4 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Most of the poor old commentatoers and critics failed to see the farce! 5 stars
9/16/02 Tiff Bloody Right This Movie Is A Cult Favorite ALready! 4 stars
1/24/02 Sam Clough Great Black humour...Superb acting..Great escapist movie that takes you to the edge. Great 4 stars
9/30/00 Lisa okay so it was stereotypical, I laughed and I dont have a plate in my head, but I think you 4 stars
5/25/00 necro Bloody Bonza Oz Flick Mate! 5 stars
8/16/99 Marshy Fucking hell? What the fuck was that? Fucking sucks. 1 stars
5/23/99 necro Fantastic movie. Loved every minute of this farce! 5 stars
1/02/99 FERAL BERAL some of the lines in this film were funny but overall it was a cringe factor, nightmare 1 stars
12/24/98 The Dude OK here are my two words FUCKING SUCKS. 1 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider No offense, but this Aussie film suck ass to the core. Why? 1 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz A shrill and incoherent mess that pans out to little more than a Bronx cheer. 2 stars
11/27/98 little jerry Everyone thinks this is a dog but it's the surest bet to be a cult fave in years to come. 4 stars
11/25/98 Bad Kosh Woop-woop my butt! Right in the shitter! I'll show you woop-woop! 1 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce No matter if you go see this, rent this or get in free, you'll feel ripped off. 1 stars
10/27/98 Ice Princess THIS MOVIE IS SHITHOUSE!!!! 1 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo The shittiest in years. Why did *this* get a US release when better aussie movies haven't? 1 stars
10/07/98 Korny Island The worst Australian movie in ten years. Just awful in every. 1 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple Just completely awful. Were they even trying to make a good film? 1 stars
9/21/98 MR HOLLYWOOD YOU MUST BE FUCKIN JOKING!!,this is australian at its worst,when was it good??????? 1 stars
9/09/98 Karl Denninger I like the fact that they begin to systematically date rape the entire country of australia 5 stars
8/25/98 {{{OZ}}} What a heap of dingo turds. 2 stars
8/23/98 Dutch I hate Stephan Elliot. Poncey asshole. Puncey flick. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Nov-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Aug-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast