More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.09

Awesome58.97%
Worth A Look: 17.09%
Average: 9.4%
Pretty Bad: 3.42%
Total Crap: 11.11%

6 reviews, 81 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Apollo 13
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Just gets better every time you view it."
5 stars

Ron Howard's seminal space flick has legs, baby. Yep, unlike many films that just get weaker with time and repeat viewings, Apollo 13 just picks up speed every time you see it. With a cast about as cool as any you could gather (Tom Hanks, Gary Sinise, Bill Paxton, Kevin Bacon, Ed Harris and Clint Howard!), a director at the top of his game and a kick butt screenplay, this is not only a great depiction of the events of the time, but also a fantastic flick in itself.

Man has just walked on the moon, the world watched and was enraptured but now, a year or so down the track, nobody cares about space travel anymore. Nobody that is except the guys who've made it their life's work to walk on the moon - a team led by Hanks and consisting of Sinise and Paxton. They're looking forward to getting their turn in a few years when suddenly the news comes in that they're being fast-forwarded into action. Yee-haw!

But when the base doctor decides that there's a slim chance that Sinise will pick up the measles and jeopardize the mission, a hotshot rookie, Kevin Bacon, is brought into the mix in his place. Just as well, because when the ship begins to fall apart heading towards the moon, it's Sinise's home-based expertise that will be one of the only hopes of getting the ship back with its human cargo intact.

In all honesty, if the events depicted in Apollo 13 hadn't have actually happened, we probably would have rolled our eyes and put this story down to Hollywood going too far with believability. The fact that it did happen, and that this is a fairly true to life depiction of the Apollo 13 incident makes the film all the more amazing.

Howard's direction manages to keep things taut, the cast keep themselves in check and avoid taking away attention from the true star of the show - the events and the images - and a cavalcade of side characters (Ed Harris' flight commander sticks especially in the mind) turn a great film into an epic work.

Never dull, never cliche and totally deserving of the Oscars it won, Apollo 13 is a film that you shouldn't just see, you should own it.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=712&reviewer=1
originally posted: 09/10/02 06:22:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell tense film good effects 4 stars
12/26/16 Anne Way too long3 hr length w. commercials,annoying music 3 stars
9/19/13 Annie G Fact is stranger ... pretty historically accurate film. 5 stars
5/25/12 Ed Totleben Jr Great take on NASA's most dramatic moments 4 stars
6/06/11 AEB It made me feel like I was there for one of the most dramatic space events ever. 5 stars
3/22/11 Alun The most believeable acting and dialogue I have seen in a movie 5 stars
2/05/11 Jeff Wilder Ron Howard crafts one of his best movies with this one. Hanks is better here than in Gump. 5 stars
12/24/10 Helena o ke kai It was my 20th viewing...I NEVER WATCH A MOVIE TWICE. Great 5 stars
7/06/09 Frisian Boy Awesome movie! One of the best I know!!! 5 stars
6/12/09 Mike Quinn An awesome movie it made me want to go out and join the space program 5 stars
6/11/09 rabnilraj soooo long it was the worst movie ive ever seen.... 1 stars
8/27/08 catherine One of the best movies ever made, by one of the best actors ever to live 5 stars
8/25/08 PAUL SHORTT VAPIDLY CHRONICLES THE MOST DRAMATIC SPACE FLIGHT IN HISTORY 4 stars
8/12/08 Shaun Wallner I love space movies! 5 stars
1/05/08 Pamela White A few good men make history 5 stars
11/04/07 Guy Hoevenaars The mission was a failure YET such a success of human ingenuity. Great story, Superb film 5 stars
2/19/07 mb Good movie. 4 stars
2/17/07 David Pollastrini too long but still good 5 stars
1/17/07 Matt Unembellished and brilliant, one of the best films ever 5 stars
1/17/07 James Classic 5 stars
9/22/06 Marge This movie is a good one..even when Kevin Bacon is in a towel...:D 5 stars
8/16/06 Sepi53 Almost perfect motion picture!! 5 stars
7/13/06 EZ K-Dog is insane!!!!!! This movie is incredibly awesome!!!! 5 stars
5/20/06 MP Bartley Gripping, intense and emotional. Howards only good film. 5 stars
5/13/06 Lucy This film Inspired me to want to be 1 of the first women to walk the moon!!! 5 stars
10/03/05 CaDizzle In the Top 10 movies of all time, anyone who says different should be shot! 5 stars
9/09/05 Elinna Yau Its was OK and it got even more exciting 4 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel Better if we didn't know beforehand how it comes out 3 stars
4/06/05 Ethan Great story, great acting, riveting film 5 stars
2/20/05 A A 1 stars
10/24/04 susan tavis this movie is one of the bestmovies i have ever seen, i have seen it over 5 times. 5 stars
6/22/04 T. Maj Wonderful homage to duct tape 4 stars
6/13/04 John solid all the way but never really original or exiting 3 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Astounding! One of the best films ever. 5 stars
4/18/04 Alan Solid, dramatic story telling 4 stars
1/15/04 Samuel amazing film, with a fine cast, and a great director! 5 stars
11/03/03 nw breathtaking powerful true story - well acted 5 stars
5/17/03 George Jung Don't like it, don't hate it. It's like the movie had no reason to exist. 3 stars
2/26/03 Francy Breathtaking music, fine actors, careful direction. Be nice to yourself. See. 5 stars
9/23/02 George Shut up, trendwhores, this movie rocks. 5 stars
9/07/02 Ramblin Wreck Can't wait to see this in glorious IMAX!!!! 5 stars
8/05/02 KMG BORING TYPICAL TOM HANKS VEHICLE. 3 stars
6/28/02 Justin Kiss my ass, if you hate this movie! 5 stars
6/26/02 Film Guy a FANTASTIC movie Tom Hanks gives the preformance of his carrer 5 stars
5/15/02 Blake This movie SUCKS on ice! 1 stars
4/06/02 Justin Tom Hanks is excellent in his performance! 5 stars
3/14/02 Rockitman007 What a great movie! 5 stars
3/03/02 jennyK It was good. 3 stars
2/03/02 dan K-Dog, you are the biggest idiot on the Internet 5 stars
12/31/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Tom Hanks can act. It might get slightly boring here & there, but it's basically cool! 3 stars
9/06/01 Gary Nothing more than a flashy, oversized, superficial money project. Utter shit. 1 stars
8/31/01 Henry Ginsberg Superbly made. 5 stars
5/24/01 Erik North Great movie--even better because it is based on a true story, and well-done to boot! 5 stars
5/21/01 R.W. Welch Authentic and well acted though not quite up to The Right Stuff. 4 stars
5/17/01 Leia The mission might have been a successful failure; but the movie was a successful success! 5 stars
2/16/01 James Truly captivating and exciting. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla intense, exellent, and i want my dad to see it, and you too!!!! 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Remember: There is NO sound in space 3 stars
10/27/00 stevie ward loved it! 5 stars
8/23/00 K-Dog Killer K-Dog you are a fucking moron. Pull your head out of your pimply ass and leave this place. 5 stars
7/22/00 Tyler Peterson No comments on this site will change the fact that this is the best movie ever made. 5 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Three words...Boring...Boring...Boring. 1 stars
2/21/00 Stay Puft Marshmellow Man Brill/sprite619004, stop being a queer. Braveheart was MUCH better than this horse SHIT! 2 stars
1/19/00 amanda sorry, loser aussies, the last time you were in space was...never! 5 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Good drama 5 stars
11/06/99 Anthony Ellis 2 hours of "We Americans are just sooo wonderful". This movie was boring patriotic crap! 1 stars
9/06/99 godsdog Good suspense,spacecoast folks will like it. Why is patriotism such a bad thing, people? 4 stars
7/23/99 E.H. Phenomenal and good to see over and over again 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 4 stars
6/14/99 Dylan a two hour long yawnathon. 2 stars
6/04/99 lucasd jackson it was a true story,but it was not exciting at all 3 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness this movie really opened my eyes to what really happens up there.the whole cast was awesome 5 stars
2/01/99 Vick Di Brecci Forgettable crap. Hence... 2 stars
1/03/99 Jules Good, but no Right Stuff 3 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink Boring, patriotic bullshit!!!! 1 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Just misses 'F.A.'. Expertly crafted and engrossing telling of a true heroic story. 4 stars
9/16/98 Lonatic Boring. 2 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) 3 guys in a can. Already knew how it ended. Fuck Tom Hanks. Watch a documentary,much better 3 stars
9/05/98 Jon Awesome 4 stars
9/02/98 Johny A Fine Film 4 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Good flick. Kath Quinlan can do no wrong in my eyes. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-1994 (PG)
  DVD: 29-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  31-Aug-1995 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast