More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.13

Awesome: 17.31%
Worth A Look24.52%
Average24.52%
Pretty Bad: 21.15%
Total Crap: 12.5%

14 reviews, 124 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


World is Not Enough, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"When did Bond go back to being a lawsuit waiting to happen?"
2 stars

Holy cow, even that fruity icon of chauvanism Roger Moore would have baulked at this puppy. More sexual innuendo than the Enquirer. More packed with 'headlights' than that 70's classic "Wet T-Shirt: The Movie". More Denise Richards than you can get without 3D glasses. The schmaltziest chase scenes and gadgets ever. The floppiest Bond chest in history. The dumbest cameo since Clooney walked on to the set of Thin Red Line. And the best Bond villain in about thirty years. How can one person be completely intrigued yet comepletely disgusted?

Let's be clear - I hated The World Is Not Enough. Nobody else in the audience did. They sucked up the sugar like a jailbitch called Lenny. They dug the crap sexual intrigue. They bought into every stupid pun. They dug the cameo an dpaid no mind to the horrendous loss it signals. They didn't once think Dame Judi Dench was ashamed to be on screen. They didn't think twice at the stupidity of the stunts. They baa'ed their way through this two hours of Hollywood hell like it was tomorrow's winning lotto numbers being broadcast today.

But then, it had Denise. Ah, Ms Richards. Such an awful actress, such a wonderful creature to observe. She's a bird of paradise; amazing to look at, but ultimately serves no purpose at all.

Brosnan is a good Bond. Not a great Bond, but a good Bond. Last outing they tried to make him more the cool guy than the sexist pig. T.W.I.N.E. heralds a hark back to the 50's, when all Bond had to do was cast an eye across a heaving boob and it was between his teeth inside a minute. This is an awful thing, but I'm not going to be the one to walk out on it. I mean, duh, I'm a guy?

The story is weird. We're talking Mission Impossible weird. Four oil pipelines are being built across Europe, Sophie Marceau owns one and is everyone's favourite heiress, and Bond needs to protect her though something just doesn't add up with her plans.

Now, call this a spoiler if you really want to, but if you can't figure out this chick is the bad guy within 0.034 microseconds of her first scene, you need to go fire that guy called OJ that you just hired to babysit your kids. First, she's French. Always a dead giveaway. Second, she can act and they never let the gals who can act be good guys. It's a waste because the good guy gals are only around to look good and have sex with Bond.

But as much as Sophie is eville, it's Robert Carlyle who posseses the stones in this Bond flick. As 'Renard The Anarachist', he's the kind of crook they just never had in previous Bond movies - a bad ass. Keep your Dr Evil clones, keep your evil Rupert Murdoch clones, this guy just wants to be a nastay prick. He's Scottish, nastay is what they do. And Bobby Carlyle can do nastay, just ask anyone who saw Trainspotting or Ravenous.

But Carlyle, admittedly, is all wrong for this movie. He's a cockroach in a humungous bowl of fruit. Sophie Marceau can't take three steps without changing into another flowing robe or stopping to straddle another bedsheet (not very scary Soph'), Robbie Coltrane (as a wealthy Russian gangster - go figure) has showgirls jumping all over his fat ass (proving that everyone in this movie is getting more sex than you and I), the assorted henchmen look like the kind of Guido's you'd find playing out their very own Night At The Roxbury fantasies outside a cheap nightclub, Denise Richards' "world reknowned nuclear scientist' (God damn, those nuke scientists are always hot, aren't they Nicole?) and the finale is juuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuust simplistic.

So the order of the day is fruit, sugar, innuendo, chauvanism, sexism, cheapened careers for actors who should know better, confusing plot, floppy bodies on macho spies and for some reason every single scientist except Q is a ravishing woman who has sex with Bond daily.

It really is crap. Think of it as to the heterosexual community what Batman And Robin was to the gay community. We don't need it, we don't want it, it's entirely inappropriate. But you won't leave early. Fool.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=717&reviewer=1
originally posted: 11/19/99 00:15:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.

User Comments

11/10/19 Karen S great script & pacing, the wonderful Q, even M's acting & talking human, A+ 5 stars
10/11/17 Louise Marceau's accent kept slipping.Not one of the better Bond films. 3 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell kind of dull 2 stars
12/05/15 1800suckmydick Extremely boring in spots, like most Brosnan films. Good villainess. 3 stars
9/03/12 roscoe bette rhangoldeneye and tomorrow never dies 5 stars
8/30/09 Jeff Wilder On a par iwth Tomorrow Never Dies. 4 stars
8/06/09 Simon it's par for the course, a cheesy good time 3 stars
3/01/09 T^3 The WINE suffers from severe Bond Villain Syndrome, even Mi6 succumbs to fatal gullibility. 2 stars
2/02/09 PAUL SHORTT THE SCRIPT IS NOT ENOUGH 2 stars
10/06/08 Mark Gibson Okay as it is, I liked the action sequences a lot and Brosnans bond is great in it 4 stars
10/05/08 Lenny Zane Poor Denise Richards! -- so terribly overtrashed for this, so now we never see her anymore. 5 stars
7/30/08 chris f very under average not very good at all 1 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight Pretty crazy. But the co-stars liven things up quite a bit 4 stars
12/14/07 Jason Elektra King & George Bush, James Bond meets Peak Oil! Great movie.Realistic plot. 5 stars
11/24/07 mrsinister Sophie Marceau elevates this movie a few notches. 4 stars
10/12/07 Charles Denise Richards as a nuclear scientist? Need I say more?? ALMOST left the theatre... 2 stars
9/01/07 johnnyfog Best of the Brosnan Bond films. Robbie Coltrane's back, yay! 4 stars
5/28/07 order valium arthritis pain relief 1 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Lots of action, but it wasn't great. 3 stars
2/16/07 johnnyfog The best Brosnan Bond film. I hated Denise Richards though! 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Great 007 action/adventure film. 4 stars
2/02/07 laboo IT FUCKING RULES 5 stars
1/25/07 Dirk Pitts hair Bogged down by a boring plot and a dodgy villian 2 stars
1/02/07 ProSneakyD Best bond film of the 90's, intelligent story & 1st class action, no one should miss it. 5 stars
6/11/06 Yorkee Marceau not sexy? - MP you must be kidding. Confusing plot and too slow. 3 stars
5/29/06 inty yeyey best bond ever it rules ya 5 stars
5/10/06 omar its ok 3 stars
4/26/06 CUT AWAY It is a great Bond, if u want plot u got it 4 stars
4/02/06 poo it rules 4 stars
3/13/06 date movie sucks great 4 stars
2/11/06 Mack a great one 4 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor The best Bond since the 60's 4 stars
11/21/05 chris satisfactory bond movie but nothing special 3 stars
9/28/05 Indrid Cold Interesting attempt at a female arch-villain, but unsatisfying and forgettable. 3 stars
8/26/05 Eden Only awesome in comparison to Die Another Day 3 stars
5/27/05 tony Chris perry needs a lesson in reviewing. Exellent flick with spectacular plot. good action! 4 stars
4/02/05 Alice Colwell typical 007 movie 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton Those it suffers heavily from poor editing, this is a stylish and very cool 007 film ... 4 stars
1/08/05 keithers.. Too much attention on action not enough on plot, bond has come diehard....boooo 3 stars
12/07/04 some guy yeah it's quite good, your reviewer guy is shit. 4 stars
9/23/04 Al Guy Good for a rental.I forgot about it as soon as I cut it off. 3 stars
7/18/04 Daveman Perhaps the most tiresome, boring film in the series... avoid! 1 stars
5/31/04 Nobody They should make a realistic bond movie where he gets an STD 3 stars
5/08/04 Littlepurch. If not for Goldfinger, this would be the best by far. Seed boat chase MUST be a classsic! 5 stars
12/02/03 tatum Benign Bond, but better than Brosnan's first two 3 stars
11/29/03 john Ms Richards is about as believable as a nuclear scientist as my uncle would be as 007 - 1 stars
11/28/03 R.W. Welch Passable Bond flick has everything but the kitchen sink -- and believability. 3 stars
10/22/03 Littlepurch Gr8 film! Boat chase best bond action scene EVER!!! Story better than other brosnan's too!! 5 stars
8/02/03 Stefan Halka This film had good action in it, but the storyline lagged. 3 stars
7/06/03 Paul S. Classic bits: the entire first 20 min., Elektra, torture chair, x-ray casino scene,Q`s exit 5 stars
12/04/02 Jiz So unmemorable I forgot it in less than a year. I remember it sucked though 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Too much product placement. 3 stars
9/17/02 CVJ Brosnans best bond movie to date 5 stars
8/16/02 scott great 5 stars
7/21/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa Denise sucks! Sophie rules! Bond conquers the world! 5 stars
5/15/02 Stud The world is not enough. 4 stars
3/31/02 Zargo the best brosnan so far 5 stars
3/13/02 Stewy Evans The only goog thing about the film was Q's speed boat 3 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee The only thing that Denise Richards brought to the table were her great tits. 2 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Shallow and boring, bring back Connery! 2 stars
2/22/02 Ashley Corpening Superb! Denise Richards much better than all the hype has said 5 stars
2/22/02 Julia Cox Good except Sophie Marceau would be more appealing having a good bowel movement. 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. Bond is good but Brosnan is weak. Roger Moore is the REAL Bond! 4 stars
10/01/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good! but not good as Tommorow never dies, but the plots good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Carlyle's character couldn't feel pain, but nothing cool was done with him. Very dull flick 2 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Over rated 4 stars
7/10/01 TLsmooth How in the fuck do people sit thru this bullshit? Brosnan is shitty. 1 stars
6/08/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Denise Richards as a genius?? Uh-huh, and I can chew nails & spit out quarters. 3 stars
4/02/01 fifu neat first half but jumps off a cliff when "christmas" come in what a fucking horrible name 3 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung Very mediocre Bond movie. Even Robert Carlyle seems weak in this. 2 stars
2/16/01 James Lackluster and pointless. 2 stars
11/26/00 Connoisseur Pierce Brosnan is good, but this movie sucks! 1 stars
10/24/00 Gremlin Not as good as Goldeneye but Denise Richards makes up for it......oooh...denise.....oooh... 5 stars
7/07/00 Terrie Smith Good looking women; lots of action but I'm going to miss "Q" 4 stars
6/28/00 Naushad Khanji The Bond premise is stale.Brosnan is terrible and makes the worst Bond 2 stars
6/03/00 danilo worst bond movie ever 1 stars
5/29/00 Cooke Bond is awesome. 5 stars
5/20/00 mahone It made me wonder if the series doen't need to be put to rest with dignity. 2 stars
5/20/00 The Bomb 69 richards annoys but the rest was pretty enjoyable 4 stars
5/03/00 cort major Brosnan is a good bond-but the franchise is going downhill faster and faster-FLUFF- 1 stars
2/28/00 Neil Austin Boys will always be boys and bond will always be bond 5 stars
1/24/00 Cibeus This is the best of the three for this Bond. Saw it twice! 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Not bad, but instantly forgettable. 3 stars
1/09/00 John Markham Everyone looked lost and confused. 3 stars
1/04/00 Gotham DK The best Bond film in awhile. As much as I love Richards, she isn't convincing as a Nuke Dr 4 stars
1/01/00 LJ Kong Absolutely the best BOND film 5 stars
12/31/99 Janus Just because its bond its a must see but it was not comparable to tomorrow never dies 4 stars
12/30/99 Richard Miller I think Pierce masterbated before every scene, I hated hated hated hated hated this movie!! 1 stars
12/30/99 K. Lackey Yet another Bond film in which mediocrity prevails as bond blows stuff up & gets the girl. 3 stars
12/21/99 saMas when will he die 3 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz So thick with puns and double-entendres it plays liek a Marx Bros routine. 1 stars
12/16/99 Ezra Xenos The movie claims to be nothing more than it is, a fun two hours, at which it is successful. 4 stars
12/15/99 Jason S. Biggest waste of time(Besides Wild Wild West) of the year, toss a crappy Supernova trailer! 1 stars
12/15/99 Heather Bond fans will see this anyway, good, but not as brilliant as Goldeneye, Tomorrow 4 stars
12/15/99 Ara Margossian one of the best bonds in decades 5 stars
12/13/99 voyant Good Escape movie 4 stars
12/12/99 Tyson Stewart Everything I want in a Bond film! It's great! 4 stars
12/08/99 JonnyAngel "Carlyle chewing the scenery"? What movie were you watching? He didn't chew, he just sucked 3 stars
12/06/99 Ryan Mathers Not bad as Bond films go 3 stars
12/02/99 Doug Paulsen WAY to many one liners. 2 stars
12/02/99 Chris It's a good bond film. They should have done more with the bad guy. 4 stars
11/30/99 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules I was in awe of all the talent. If it wasn't for end of days Id say best picture right here 1 stars
11/29/99 Mic What a great last line. The old formula still works reasonably. 3 stars
11/28/99 Chet Patel Worse than GoldenEye, Tommorow Never Dies kicked ass compared to this movie. 2 stars
11/27/99 nootch Even Salma Hayek could've played a more convincing nuclear physicist! 2 stars
11/27/99 Kevin Cho - Movie Junkie Broznan's BEST - Great action, well worth the trouble. One of the bes t- Highly recommend. 5 stars
11/27/99 Matthew Smith brosnan has bond written all over him 5 stars
11/26/99 Rachel B. i thought this was another sweet Bond film. In my opinion Pierce Bronsan is the best guy . 5 stars
11/24/99 Jamie It's exactly what you expect from bond. Hot women cool gadgets and bad humor 4 stars
11/23/99 Lianne I thought it was one of the best Bond Movies in a long time. 5 stars
11/23/99 Jason S. Good action movie....shitty James Bond movie 2 stars
11/23/99 john carpenter excellent, first rate 5 stars
11/23/99 Mr. X A waste of Robert Carlyle 2 stars
11/23/99 Zaw Oo Denise Richards Can't act.. she was funny make me laugh everytime she say something. :-). 3 stars
11/22/99 Mr. K The cold-blooded Bond is back. He sleeps with the good girl and the bad, then offs the bad! 5 stars
11/22/99 majawat more breasts, less talking 2 stars
11/22/99 anon Good acting by most, good action, poor script. Denise Richards was not convincing. 4 stars
11/21/99 SJKelley I grew up reading Ian Fleming. I threw up watching this. Way too many "WHAT?" scenes. 2 stars
11/21/99 Jqirish A solid Bond, but nothing knew 4 stars
11/20/99 C.A.T.M. With Brosnan as Bond, Richards' bouncing chest, and the stunts, you can't lose. Great ! 5 stars
11/20/99 Dax It's the 19th Bond movie. You get exactly what you'd expect. 4 stars
11/19/99 Tay It sucked 1 stars
11/14/99 george Oh give me a break, its Bond! Everyone loves bond! 5 stars
9/30/99 the Grinch First Pierce Brosnan, now DENISE RICHARDS? Brosnan's bimbo enough! They're fucking up 007! 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Nov-1999 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Nov-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast