More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.34

Awesome37.31%
Worth A Look: 19.4%
Average: 7.46%
Pretty Bad: 11.19%
Total Crap: 24.63%

10 reviews, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Very Bad Things
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"It's 'Heathers 2: Five Years Later'. How can that be bad?"
5 stars

I think a lot of people miss the subtlety of this flick. It's not the kind of film that 'announces' it's comedy, or endeavors to keep you laughing throughout. It's more like a car wreck rolling across the black-top for two hours. It's horrific, it's disgusting, but damn it, you can't bring yourself to look away.

Peter Berg can lick my nuts as an actor, but as a director I'm a new-found fan. Being a newbie has allowed him to be different from the mainstream, and you have to love different.

He starts this misadventure darkly, even when the scenes are nothing but nuclear-bright, by jamming the camera into all kinds-a close-ups and twisted angles. The music is down and dirty, the hooker is in da house, the coke is being sucked up like a Richard Pryor benefit - these boys are down for a last night of unholy 'geddin-it-orrrrn' before one of them is to marry.

As the night wears on, the hooker has snuffed it. Some raucous rumpy-pumpy has left her impaled on a coat-hook and the kids have a problem. Enter Christian Slater, doing the character he does so well, the man with the plan and just a little psychosis thrown in.

So what's good about this flick? In my opinion, everything. It's (to quote Frosty) "nastay". It has all the gross-out touches of There's Something About Mary, mixed in with a little 'killing for a cause' a la Heathers, and a lot of the old Slater "I've got a gun and I like using it" aggro that I grew up adoring.

When the movie starts off with Slater calling Daniel Stern a "fucking jew", you kinda know that political correctness is out the window. When people are getting rammed with cars, gutted with corkscrews and rammed in the head with hatstands it's all very easy to start taking things seriously. But you shouldn't. This is humorous violence. It's funny, dammit!

Maybe not Jim-Carrey-talking-out-his-ass funny, but sneaking up on you funny.

I mean, whether it be watching Slates, half dead, blood everywhere, dragging himself up a stairwell seeking vengeance screaming "spawning salmon, baby", finding demure Jeannie Tripplehorn is a kung fu housewife, hearing a little kid calling a legless Favreau a "fucking gimp", watching Cameron Diaz just completely losing the plot and going into convulsion in the middle of the street, or even the elevator muzak that was often playing in background as someone was de-bowelled, it's all funny, but in a giggling to yourself kind of way.

It's a movie that you deep down dig, but on the surface feel compelled to write off as gross. I mean I've been waiting for many years to see some of these people die horrifically and I finally got my wishes.

It's a case of needing to watch it again to catch everything. I was hearing and seeing things in the background of this film that made me hysterical with giggles and I'm sure much of it was missed by the majority.

The cast. Let me be clear on this. Jon Favreau I consider to be awful (see my Swingers review). Cameron Diaz I consider to be talentless (see my There's Something About Mary review). Daniel Stern I consder to be the next Ernest (see my Celtic Pride review).

But people... they were goooood. Favreau was boring, sure, but that was his character and he was fine. Diaz, who I never gave any credit to for having a humorous bone in her body, was great. She was irritating, sure, but that was her character. Stern... never seen the guy, or anyone for that matter, lose it so completely and compellingly. I was loving watching this guy go through personal hell. It was something I waited years for.

But Slater. Not so much great, as just the same ol' same ol'. And that same ol' was what made him Mr Generation X for all those years.

The end scene of the movie... I laughed all the way home. See this film. If you've seen it, go see it again. Get drunk first. Or whacked out of your tree stoned. And then sit back and see this how it was intended - as a dark as hell poke in the ribs to every convention and pretention Hollywood is built on. There's no semen in the hair, but dammit there's everything else you never expected.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=745&reviewer=1
originally posted: 01/31/99 13:40:44
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/04/19 CARTER BEST DARK COMEDY OF ALL TIME 5 stars
7/27/18 Rick Savages the Facebook mentality. Couldn't stop laughing. 5 stars
9/16/17 morris campbell unpleasant & boring & point less pure trash 1 stars
5/20/13 Tim Sardonic, very dark, and misunderstood, the macabre humor grabbed me in a second viewing. 4 stars
7/06/10 PAUL SHORTT GRUESOME, GRIM BLACK COMEDY 1 stars
7/05/09 mr.mike These things always lose steam towards the end, still well done. 4 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner This Film was well made!! 5 stars
10/25/07 Mr SK Has to be seen at least twice... if not 3 or 4 times - great movie. 5 stars
12/28/06 ben_a I thought I was the only one who got this movie. Great movie! 5 stars
5/06/06 dionwr Haven't seen it 3 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A I should probably watch this again... 3 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius ----- 3 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH paper st. mayhem 4 stars
4/13/06 joe arbuckle Even the 'normal' stuff is hilarious. Even better when you dont know the premise! Whizzers 5 stars
6/07/05 R.C.F. The longer I'm watching this one, the less I care what the whole absurd bloodbath is about. 1 stars
2/20/05 Jeff Anderson Sick insanity DONE RIGHT! Great performances, directing & script TRULY TRIUMPH!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/09/04 Mitch De Costa Very Bad Things - Not to be forgotten 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff was this supposded to be a comedy or horror flick?? 1 stars
6/24/04 the bride GO HOME YOU FUCKING MURDERER! 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley FUCKING WHIZZERS!!!! 5 stars
10/20/03 Josh Standlee Christian Slater played the best damn psycho he could! Bravo! 5 stars
9/04/03 eddie it was good because i say so - BOOYAH 5 stars
8/26/03 AD fucking awful 1 stars
6/30/03 B Boring as hell. Not the least bit entertaining. 1 stars
4/01/03 Rebecca Hated it the 1st viewing; Loved it by the 3rd viewing 5 stars
3/16/03 123 a dark disturbing brutal fucked up movie with some characters 4 stars
3/10/03 Stevo very bad film. ok, predictable line, but this is SHIT 1 stars
7/19/02 Film Dude No Caligula, I will not cut my throat and die. 5 stars
6/09/02 Kyle Dark as fuck. 5 stars
4/19/02 R.W. Welch Black comedy that's too black to be a comedy; Aptly named. 2 stars
3/30/02 fjkdljskfds the most FRUSTRATING movie ever, and i LIKE dark comedy. wanted to walk out. 1 stars
2/28/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Why waste Cameron Diaz on a role that Ashley Judd would envy? 2 stars
2/22/02 CCPunk PIece of shit movie with no understanding about what makes dark comedy still comedy 2 stars
11/16/01 Geto Smurf Now THIS is comedy. 5 stars
7/31/01 KA Fucking Wizzers! Wizzers! 4 stars
7/08/01 Caligula IF YOU THINK THIS IS GOOD CUT YOUR THROAT AND DIE! 1 stars
7/06/01 SBM Shocking and very messed up! Great if you can HANDLE & UNDERSTAND dark comedy! 5 stars
5/06/01 Louis Really fucked up 5 stars
3/28/01 Monster W. Kung Mediocre attempt at satire with tiresome cliches all over it. Plus, the end sucks. Badly. 2 stars
2/18/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Very Poor Taste. But it had a few (albeit sick) laughs, and an above average soundtrack. 4 stars
2/13/01 Jake Way too dark macabre for my taste. Though Stern was hilarious in scene about the Whizzers. 2 stars
9/03/00 Boyo You have to approach this knowing it's not totally serious. It's blackest of black comedy 5 stars
5/30/00 natasha funny parts overwhelmed by pointless murder, maiming, and dismemberment 2 stars
5/18/00 Richard Wright Gory, disgusting and morally dubious film without a witty or decent bone in its body. 1 stars
4/14/00 Pyro I was drunk, but it had nudity and sensless violence!! 5 stars
3/07/00 J. Alán Blankenship Deliciously deviant and grotesque...I loved every minute of it! 4 stars
2/11/00 Steve Layne I liked it better in the theatre, but I still think its a very entertaining black comedy. 4 stars
10/19/99 JonnyAngel Very Bad Movie (ha ha, that was too easy) 1 stars
9/16/99 mr. pink lesson learned: violence and shouting are not enough for a good dark comedy. 2 stars
8/10/99 Kat savage fun 5 stars
6/28/99 Steve Bashakus There's a big fucking difference between "very dark" and just plain shitty. Bite me. 1 stars
6/26/99 David Offensive is fine as long as it's funny...SHOUTING IS NOT FUNNY 1 stars
6/11/99 The Bomb 69 over the top in some places but funny in most 4 stars
3/17/99 Ah Dooey Not bad, but a really good warped movie. 5 stars
3/13/99 Cool Thing No guffaws, but many guilty chuckles. Enjoyed this immensely. 5 stars
2/28/99 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Very,Very Dark,more so than Pulp Fiction,some funny bits but very depressing. 4 stars
2/09/99 chuck-d damn. funny. laughed out loud for two hours 4 stars
1/12/99 cynthia truly disturbing. but very good.i would see again 5 stars
1/09/99 crc loved it. if you're a prude, you'll hate it. what's so dark about it? funnyfunny and unique 5 stars
1/03/99 Lauren Baker Okay, so, I got the "dark" part, but where did the "comedy" part come in?Run from this. 1 stars
12/24/98 Chip Sprague Funniest Movie Ever (If you can laugh at death) 5 stars
12/13/98 kozmic great movie for those who like to see how a situation can get shockingly worse,it was fun 5 stars
12/12/98 frank the most twisted movie i've ever seen. 5 stars
12/11/98 Daddy Rich I enjoyed it up until the very end. Other than that, pretty entertaining and funny. 4 stars
12/10/98 Bryan Incredibly hateful and unfunny movie! 1 stars
12/07/98 cyanide rush i almost fell over laughing on the way out of the theater(the little kid called him a gimp! 5 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Cameron Diaz is the film's only bright spot. 3 stars
12/04/98 Jeff C. It was poor. It got boring fast. It was fun to see CD as a total bitch. 2 stars
12/01/98 The Dude This movie was so fucking funny i almost pissed my pants thinking about it on the way home 5 stars
11/30/98 Johny Scores points with me for it's "screw-em if they can't take a joke" attitude 5 stars
11/24/98 Freyja Oh yeah, killing chicks while fucking them is fucking hilarious. har har! OK, it WAS funny! 2 stars
11/17/98 StenoHead Not at all for pussies. 4 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool I just saw a preview of Very Bad Things... oh my god... it rocked! 5 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Loved this film. Lots of great performances, great writing-directing from a debutant. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Nov-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Feb-1999 (R)


Directed by
  Peter Berg

Written by
  Peter Berg

Cast
  Christian Slater
  Cameron Diaz
  Jon Favreau
  Jeremy Piven
  Daniel Stern
  Jeanne Tripplehorn



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast