More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4

Awesome: 31.15%
Worth A Look54.1%
Average: 4.92%
Pretty Bad: 3.28%
Total Crap: 6.56%

3 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Four Weddings and a Funeral
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"If you think Andie MacDowell is foxy, rent this. I don't & won't."
4 stars

There's one thing that ruins this film for me. And the word "thing" is apt. Andie MacDowell.

I'm sorry, but I just don't get the Andie thing. She's not attractive (well, okay, I'd do her, but really, is that saying anything shocking?), she's not a great actress (show me one scene in ANY movie where she portrayed anything like emotion or true pain) and when it comes right down to it she's the wrong side of 45 for a guy like Hugh Grant.

Now, Devine Brown... THAT would have been some inspired casting, but alas she was still hooching herself for crack rocks at this point.

The story is this. A bunch of friends are one by one getting married, Hugh Grant's character decides he should be following suit, but after meeting the afore-mentioned Miss MacDowell he develops a huge crush on her. Alas, Andie's getting hitched to a Scottish gent much older than she (bullshit, he's just not hiding it as well as her) and Hughbie is all crushed, so he in turn get's engaged to a wench of a woman that he doesn't love, then leaves her at the altar and goes after dream-dog again. Oh yes, don't we all feel something for this man... What a cock-knock.

So meanwhile, Kristin Scott Thomas is a sarcastic woman who can't find a man... why? Because she want's Hugh. All the other friends either die, marry or bonk.

The movie is funny. It's mostly entertaining. But when it comes right down to it the entire premise fails on Andie MacDowell's thick-ass moustache. She's just not the dream-girl who should have been in this role. Liz Hurley? That would have worked. Catherine Zeta-Jones? Yes indeed. But not "hair-lip, big-hip, old as my mom" MacDowell.

A rental. A decent rental. But will someone end Andie's 15 minutes already? Or give her some roles that suit her?

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=749&reviewer=1
originally posted: 10/02/98 12:00:01
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/11/17 Suzanne my favorite Hugh Grant movie; also love the supporting cast 4 stars
3/16/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING COMEDY WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 3 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. a really good comedy and one of hugh grant's best. 4 stars
9/19/07 Ben Larson Funniest movie i have ever seen. 5 stars
3/20/07 Brian Clever, cute and hilarious, but not devoid of hideous moments and sappy dialogue 4 stars
9/20/06 rebecca favorite movie ever! laugh every time i watch it. 5 stars
5/20/06 chienne Andie was totally miscast, who's the casting clown in this film? Great film despite her. 5 stars
5/06/06 Ashley Hinz Amusing. Not your typical comedy. 4 stars
12/02/05 Indrid Cold A letdown given how famous it is; about as deep as a frisbee. Frequently funny though. 4 stars
9/29/05 faith shallow, boring sex role-reversal crap - Hugh: "You never rang, you never wrote..." - 2 stars
7/12/05 Tom Benton Terrific, very funny romantic comedy. Curtis' script is great, as is Hugh Grant. 4 stars
3/09/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble Always has been one of my favorite films. 5 stars
2/23/05 julia one of best movies ever 5 stars
1/03/05 UMER great comedy-great movie 5 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams that gorgeous poem during the funeral scene is the best part 5 stars
10/27/04 Carolyn Metz one of my all - time favourites 5 stars
8/19/04 Peter B. Simply great and funny! 5 stars
2/22/04 Dagmar Raulin Hugh Grant was great and his supporting cast was also. 4 stars
12/09/03 john a wonderfully charming film - one of the best of its kind 5 stars
11/08/03 Littlepurch Can't fault it! Loved almost every minute. Atkinson, Fleet & other actors all gr8 5 stars
10/21/03 Rebecca pretty funny 4 stars
6/08/03 John Bale Classic British comedy - they do it well. MacDowell least well. 5 stars
4/06/03 R.W. Welch Droll, if somewhat predictable. The writing saves it. 4 stars
12/30/02 Tam Funny and endearing. With the exception of McDowell, characterisation is strong & profound 5 stars
11/23/02 CVJ Andie McDowell is crap but is still a great movie. 5 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum Andie's character is so repugnant, how can anyone fall in love with her? 1 stars
3/16/02 Frances ANDIE MCDOWELL SUX ,THE SHITTY CRACKWHORE! and dont insult us english u yankee bastards. 4 stars
2/02/02 Anus Naysayers go back to Americunt fart jokes you fucknig lamers. 5 stars
11/27/01 KMG There's no way to polish a turd, folks 1 stars
10/29/01 Gary Likeable, not too sentimental rom-com. Well-acted, and MacDowell isn't too annoying. 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Great British comady .Andie Mcdowell is a mega babe . 5 stars
3/30/01 Shenai Anderson Its a brilliant movie and was well acted. 4 stars
3/22/01 Thomas J. should have been titled FOUR FUNERALS AT THE WEDDING 1 stars
3/24/00 Lesley i didn't like it I'm afraid! 3 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Tripe. 2 stars
3/02/99 Rachel I loved this movie. Best part is the moving eulogy at the funeral. 5 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Isnt it good to know rich people have crap love lives too? 1 stars
1/24/99 Hannah I was highly entertained. Liz Hurley?!? Come ON. MacDowell was good enough. 5 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce He should have married Fifi. Or Duckface. 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Holder Love this movie! Packed with wit, humor, and a poignant view of singledom. 5 stars
9/26/98 Maegs I loved it. Andie MacDowell must DIE for the performance that ruined the movie. 4 stars
9/02/98 J-Guy eh. it was all right. 3 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee a lot more boring than it's given credit for. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Mar-1994 (R)
  DVD: 31-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1995




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast