More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.62

Awesome74.26%
Worth A Look: 19.8%
Average: 1.98%
Pretty Bad: 1.98%
Total Crap: 1.98%

2 reviews, 89 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

Freaks (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


So Close
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"John Woo’s ‘The Killer’ . . . with GRRRL POWER!"
4 stars

SO CLOSE is the latest Hong Kong action flick from director Corey Yuen (THE TRANSPORTER), and despite a plethora of familiar contrivances and paint-by-numbers plotting, the film excels thanks to some innovative action sequences and the charms of its leading ladies.

So Close isn’t about to re-define Hong Kong action cinema by any stretch of the imagination. It’s the standard “Cop and Assassin team up to take on the real bad guys” routine, with all the usual clichés. Paper-thin plot and cardboard cutout villains? Check. Silly, even inane, dialogue? Check. Sappy, melodramatic romantic subplot with incredibly bland love interest? Check. Heavy reliance upon gadgets, software, and hacking techniques that defy realistic technology and the laws of network infrastructure? Check. Excessive slow-mo and wire-fu? Check.

But still, I’d hate to be the guy that tries to get his money back on this flick.

CUSTOMER: “I’d like a refund. I don’t like this movie”

CASHIER: “I see, sir. May I ask why?”

CUSTOMER: “It’s silly and contrived. The plot is simplistic, the dialogue clichéd, and the action sequences are unrealistic.”

CASHIER: “I understand, sir. But let me ask you something. Does it have hot chicks in it?”

CUSTOMER: “Well, of course it does! I mean, look at the poster!”

CASHIER. “Mmm hmm. And do the aforementioned hot chicks kick ass?”

CUSTOMER: “Well, yeah. I suppose they do.”

CASHIER: “So it’s got hot chicks who kick ass. Is there any other conceivable reason why you would pay to see this movie?”

CUSTOMER: “Well, no. But still-“

CASHIER: “NEXT!”

Yes, that's right. Babes kicking ass? TRIPLE-check!

Lynn (the lovely Qi Shu, also from The Transporter) and Sue (Vicki Zhao) are a sister act assassination team. Lynn does all the trigger work while her kid sister does the planning, hacking, and surveillance. Sue wants a chance to prove herself by taking on an assignment, but the protective Lynn refuses to let her. When an old flame re-appears and sweeps Lynn off of her feet, she decides she wants to quit. Of course, quitting won’t be that easy when the goons who worked for their most recent target are bent on revenge. To make matters worse, a kick-ass she-cop named Hong (Karen Mok) is on their trail. Naturally, Lynn and Hong spend half the movie trying to beat or shoot each other into submission. But when the same bad guys frame Hong for a murder, it’s time to put differences aside in the name of the Sisterhood and break some heads.

Despite all the familiar clichés, the plot occasionally takes some surprisingly clever turns, and the dynamic between the leading characters is charming and effective. Lynn and Hong have an amusing rivalry, while the film adds a vague lesbian subtext with Sue being attracted to Hong (though sadly, it never comes to fruition). Although it’s probably safe to say that Qi Shu’s career is based more on her stunning looks than her acting ability, she is obviously more comfortable acting in her native language, and she carries off the role of the sexy and stylish assassin with ease. Indeed, she is a vision in white as she lays waste to several henchman while the Carpenters' “Close to You” drones softly in the background. And of course, she walks away with nary a hair out of place despite all of the shooting, kicking, leaping, and flying glass. Mok is even better as the tough-as-nails forensic expert who has a photographic memory of suspect files and just happens to be a Kung-Fu expert equal to Lynn’s prowess. Zhao also gets to strut her stuff in the finale', when an orgy of fists and bullets climaxes in a whirlwind duel of Katanas.

SO CLOSE will have you laughing a lot with its exuberant silliness, but you’ll be laughing with it more than at it. This is the kind of film that THE TRANSPORTER almost was, and it stomps all over that CHARLIE’S ANGELS bullshit. Naturally, the leading men are relegated to the role of dull love interest or comedic sidekick, but that’s okay. Those who come to see this film come to see girls kicking ass - and they will not go away disappointed.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=7560&reviewer=258
originally posted: 04/23/03 17:52:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Edinburgh Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Edinburgh Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2003 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2003 San Francisco Film Festival. For more in the 2003 San Francisco Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

3/06/08 B_nadz I really Love this film. Its GOOD!!!!!!FANTASTIC!!!! 5 stars
5/04/07 kay 2 thumbs up 5 stars
12/15/06 julie fe superb!!! awesome 5 stars
10/18/06 Brian Super movie, is very well made. 5 stars
8/31/06 mharcyeo so galing ng duo sisters!!!! 5 stars
3/05/06 Justin good 5 stars
2/07/06 irish millama verry nice bravo! 5 stars
11/18/05 Phil M. Aficionado Stupid me for trying to watch. Slick stunts and photography are not NEARLY enough. Boring 2 stars
8/16/05 joyce this ifilm is great! esp the kiss! wow! 5 stars
8/14/05 Shirley It was really GREAT.... 5 stars
4/11/05 Genevieve its great 5 stars
4/08/05 ivy excellent 5 stars
3/12/05 chirs sachize it was fucking cool 5 stars
3/09/05 jasmine this movie is somewhat creative and great.. girl power!!..i really love it! 5 stars
3/09/05 eumaui good 5 stars
3/08/05 elea it rocks yeah i want to see it again and again 5 stars
3/08/05 april its good!! 4 stars
3/07/05 Rosanne Joy M. Chiong Its the best movie 5 stars
3/07/05 lovelyn eboña the best movie ive ever watched!!! i love the cast especially shu qi,, shes very beautiful 5 stars
3/05/05 Rio Vianca M. Carias a wonderful story 1 stars
2/28/05 martyt i love to watch every second of it 5 stars
2/02/05 BabyAiz it's incredible...i love it! 5 stars
2/02/05 Pink I need the list of moral lesson we picked in the movie So Close 5 stars
2/02/05 minutka u wanna see the most beautigul fight? then see it!!! 5 stars
2/01/05 rhazmhinne lhou la pierre perfect movie 5 stars
1/08/05 Bhadz It's the best, the panorama is cool!! 5 stars
12/28/04 vin great movie! the scast are beautiful! i love them huh! 5 stars
12/25/04 theiy the story and the casts are very good.. 5 stars
12/12/04 yham ruiz nice film, very good actresses 5 stars
12/07/04 ponjie fantasticmovie 5 stars
12/03/04 katrina blancad A Fantastic movie.....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/30/04 argie this is very great and worth remembering... 5 stars
11/22/04 Hsu Qi Lover I LOVE HSU QI!!!! 5 stars
11/21/04 kitten_25 i love the movie..the BEST 5 stars
11/18/04 kataru I like this!!!!!! 5 stars
11/16/04 Renzokuken Battousai Shu Qi is HHOT!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/06/04 maylyn20032003@yahoo.com wow!!!the girls are fantastic!!! 5 stars
11/05/04 katrina wow! its DEFINITELY a must seen movie!!! 5 stars
10/23/04 tiffany ward this movie is the best (it totaly kicks ass) 5 stars
10/05/04 sheena borlongan it's fuckin' cool!!! 5 stars
9/19/04 Killua Zoldyek greatest movie, fantastic and girls do kick ass 5 stars
9/19/04 arvie cool! 5 stars
9/13/04 kristhudass rabert Its really superb film I never such movie ....... 5 stars
9/04/04 jean diaz fantastic, it was a worthi't movie 5 stars
9/02/04 nightmare_stalker Damn,both girls are gorgeous!! I love them! 5 stars
8/25/04 karl ashely its very cool movie i ever seen.... i love it 5 stars
8/19/04 shu the film is the greatest! girl power.. they're stunning! 5 stars
8/19/04 dianne valdez great!!! i love it 5 stars
8/15/04 hottie#17knoll its the best film i"ve ever seen! 5 stars
8/13/04 Lhanie Its very nice movie. wow...so very beautiful. 5 stars
8/12/04 Rolly Shu Qi and Vicky kicked ass, definitely one of the best HK movies I've seen 5 stars
8/12/04 Rolly Shu Qi and Vicky kicked ass, definitely one of the best HK movies I've seen 5 stars
8/11/04 farnz excellent 5 stars
8/10/04 leann it was fanastic!!!!! 5 stars
8/07/04 prunell ferrer cool. i love it. 5 stars
8/06/04 Hilarium A good solid femme fatale actioner, but pretty slim in places. 3 stars
7/30/04 Graeme This movie is on of my best - awsome 5 stars
7/25/04 smith I liked this movie very much 4 stars
7/08/04 Dorothy Herradura i like sue,she is cute!! and now she is my idol go girls power!!!hehe 5 stars
7/04/04 tere its very nice and cool 5 stars
3/26/04 Nomer R. Alvez The movie is really great. I like it! 4 stars
3/21/04 Michael William after i've watched it i'm so amazed,specially the soundtrack close to you! 5 stars
2/27/04 Lisa Movie was great!!! 5 stars
2/01/04 Linda Best action movie I've seen in the last year. Forget Charlies Angels. Gorgeous cast 5 stars
1/08/04 Cougar With all these cuties and no lucy liu? Still love these girls! Great Combo! 5 stars
1/08/04 Vicky all as expected and more! ...wish the kiss between Vicki Zhao and Karen Mok was longer... 5 stars
12/15/03 Edenne B. Cariaga The greatest movie i've ever seen!!! 5 stars
12/02/03 diana vicki zhao is the best in this movie 5 stars
11/30/03 Kim great movie! although ther was a sad part but the action was good 5 stars
11/24/03 Zargo shu qi is really the only great part of the movie. A wasted opportunity, but still ok 3 stars
10/30/03 kristal wow!a very entertaning film!the 3 girls did a great job in executing their moves! 4 stars
10/11/03 Joan Bayo i like the movie so much 5 stars
9/30/03 Sarah this movie is freakin' TIGHT!!!!!! the gurls are very pretty *_* 5 stars
9/19/03 amy awwwwwwwwweeeesomeeeee 5 stars
9/17/03 Fake Fakely This movie kicks arse. 5 stars
9/16/03 Gandalf Bear just because this is some obscure hong kong flick it deserves 4 stars?..come on! 2 stars
9/14/03 Wen Ti extremely entertaining.. forgive the continuity elements and minor negatives!! 5 stars
9/06/03 Maria Milca C. Andres very impressive stunts of Shu Qi(Computer Angel) 5 stars
9/05/03 senga Do go to see, A harder more real version of Charlies Angel 5 stars
9/03/03 choupel this movie is such a asshole 1 stars
7/20/03 LiL_gAnGsTa_SeXi_HoT_bIaTch_69 IT'Z FUKB GOOD MANZ!!!!!! I WATCH IT AL DA TYM!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/13/03 Dark Leader Very Good 4 stars
7/10/03 USA I love Karen. She is very good actress 5 stars
7/06/03 bel despite it's realy confusing plot, the scenes were amazing and the stunts was superb 4 stars
6/24/03 Sol my problem i dont understand their language 4 stars
5/23/03 Rui it's a really great movie! and also the actresses, hi to vicky zhao wei! 5 stars
5/21/03 Peachy Bunnes So cool! 5 stars
5/03/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng A very cool and slick futuristic action film. Fun indeed! 4 stars
4/25/03 Huy Vicki Zhao shines as the naive little sister, much better than Charlie's Angels 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Sep-2003 (NR)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Mar-2003


Directed by
  Corey Yuen

Written by
  Jeff Lau

Cast
  Qi Shu
  Vicki Zhao
  Karen Mok
  Seung-heon Song
  Michael Wei



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast