More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.07

Awesome: 10.81%
Worth A Look: 4.05%
Average: 16.22%
Pretty Bad: 18.92%
Total Crap50%

4 reviews, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Richard Jewell by Peter Sobczynski

Dachra by Jay Seaver

Little Joe (2019) by Jay Seaver

Knives and Skin by Jay Seaver

Rabid (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Irishman, The by Rob Gonsalves

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project by Rob Gonsalves

Kitchen, The (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Whistleblower, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Aeronauts, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Inspector Gadget
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Improv King

"For God's Sake, Stop Disney before they kill again!"
1 stars

Let's add an amendment to the U.S. Constitution - one that makes it illegal for the cynical corporate bastards at Disney to take another old TV show, cartoon, or movie and shove it through their tie-in laden sausage grinder. Then abortions like Inspector Gadget will never darken our theatres again. (As if My Favorite Martian wasn't bad enough!)

Inspector Gadget was one of my favorite cartoons growing up - I remember when it was first run on pay-TV here in Canada. The premise was simple - Don Adams basically reincarnated his bumbling Maxwell Smart character as the cyborg secret agent Inspector Gadget, fighting Dr. Claw's evil M.A.D. organization around the world. Of course, because Gadget was a complete idiot, he got lots of behind-the-scenes help from his niece, Penny (the first cyberchick ever) and her dog, Brain. Great formula, entertaining.

Now, I know that Disney couldn't transplant the old formula wholly into a live-action film - I didn't expect the movie's Brain to be a master of disguise. But apart from the opening music, Disney chucked out everything that was good about the cartoon and replaced it with Hollywood formula shlock.

Let's start with Matthew Broderick. He was the only (repeat, ONLY) reason I wanted to see this flick in the first place. Unfortunately, both actor and script take the wrong tack with the character. What Gadget needs is an attitude like Clouseau (or Maxwell Smart) - complete confidence in himself, even when he's doing the wrong thing. Instead, Broderick plays the Inspector as a mousy little schmuck. Except when he plays Gadget's evil double - then he rips off Jim Carrey's whole Mask schtick - right down to the fake teeth.

Joely Fisher as Dr. Bradford, the scientist who creates Gadget, was completely useless. Gadget doesn't need a love interest! Besides, little girls would better identify with Penny, a kickass cyberpunk! (Too bad Penny gets almost no screen time.) As the evil Sanford Scolex (aka Claw) Rupert Everett's "American" accent is so bad it's embarrasing. And whoever decided to make the Gadgetmobile a talking character is this film should be horsewhipped and dragged naked through the streets. The real Chris Tucker is bad enough! A third-rate impersonation - by D.L. Hughley- is infinitely worse.

If all that wasn't bad enough, the film suffers from mistakes a first-year film student wouldn't make. Day turns to night and back into day in the same scene! The pacing of most of the action scenes is equivalent to a third grader on crack, and the constant boinging and pinging on the soundtrack gave me a headache. It felt like the script was written in a day, and the film shot in a week.

There is one laugh in the entire movie, and it's at the end. Claw's henchman, now reformed, speaks at a support group for former minions. In the audience are lookalikes of Tattoo, Igor, Oddjob, and Jaws - Richard Kiel himself. (Ha ha.) There -now you don't have waste 90 minutes of your life like I did.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=796&reviewer=114
originally posted: 07/28/99 13:51:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

8/13/09 Jeff Wilder Memo to Hollywood. Time to knock it off with the damn Saturday Morning Cartoon remakes. 2 stars
10/07/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
3/15/08 Charles Tatum Pretty painful, whether you are a fan of the toon or not 2 stars
8/05/07 Jeff Anderson I love the cartoon, but THIS is truly unwatchable & gets the toon completely WRONG!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
7/06/07 shari king i love it. but why does claw have to be an asshole 5 stars
6/22/05 darick At most a 2.5/5: pretty inaccurate to the cartoon 3 stars
2/17/05 Janet Crandall okay 2 stars
9/15/03 Diana/Ryoko VERRY STUPID! its not the true cartoon Inspector Gadget! THIS FILM SUCKS ASS! 1 stars
10/24/02 qtpie a great film 5 stars
3/27/02 Claxner Oxjaw Too far-fetched to even be a fantasy. 2 stars
12/08/01 Monster W. Kung Unwatchable garbage. No entertainment, no laughs; just pain. 1 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Never Gets Anywhere, and What Could Of Been An Action Filled Film Is Dull. 1 stars
10/10/01 Butterbean I was disapointed, but the kids will like it. 3 stars
8/14/01 J I admit I actually liked the movie though I won't go as far as Turtle did. 3 stars
6/18/01 WOW! Andy Dicks the sexiest man alive! 5 stars
2/08/01 Erin Collins ANDY DICK IS A BUTT UGLY ASS 1 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Non-stop fun! One of Disney's better live-action films. Much better than the show. 5 stars
11/24/00 The Evil Penguin liked the show; the film is pppppuuuuurrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeee dog turd 1 stars
10/09/00 Ground Zero mind exploding stupidity! 1 stars
9/30/00 Anthony C. Notaro I must be from Mars.....This movie was great for the kids! 5 stars
5/09/00 Pansy it's a movie for dorks and dopes 1 stars
2/22/00 Mr. Kramitall it's a movie for dweebs. liked the cartoon... the movie was shit! 1 stars
1/29/00 Tom Middlemiss I loved the movie and i'd like to Rate it G 5 stars
1/20/00 Jedi15 Loved the show. HATED the movie! 1 stars
1/15/00 James none 5 stars
1/15/00 Marli it's a movie for babies 2 stars
12/26/99 Frank Barker The grandchildren enjoyed it. I put up wit it. 2 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Don't waste your money on this peice of crap! 1 stars
10/23/99 Datawolf Great job relating to the show! Very funny! Dr. Claw's hand needed work. Otherwise great. 4 stars
10/23/99 James I think that this movie was funny at times but simply lacked in content and energy. 3 stars
10/20/99 pave väisänen No huh huh mitä paskaa 1 stars
10/14/99 Lame-Oh Loved the cartoon, but... WHY do this? 1 stars
10/10/99 Tom Absolute torture 1 stars
10/10/99 Viral Messiah [[[barf]]] 1 stars
9/16/99 Ratso I didn't know that children made children's movies. 1 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Nope 1 stars
9/03/99 Kenya Give up, Disney...stick to theme parks & tv networks; the cinema world has passed you by. 1 stars
8/25/99 badman it sucked 1 stars
8/20/99 Getsome Yo, Broderick! Find another profession... please! 2 stars
8/19/99 Admiral Crunch liked the characters, and why was the GadgetMobile such a jerk? 1 stars
8/02/99 JimBob expected more with suc actors 3 stars
8/01/99 J. Random Hacker There is no God. 1 stars
8/01/99 Zoit Different from the old favorite, but great for the new generation. Good kid's flick 3 stars
7/31/99 Blue sky It was a very cute and somewhat humorous movie. You've got to remember it's a kid's movie. 4 stars
7/31/99 Michael Highly energetic, but equally annoying & instantly forgettable -- wait, what movie is this? 2 stars
7/27/99 Laz Most reviews have been awful..hey,it wasn't all that bad.The kids loved it,it was fun! 4 stars
7/26/99 Imaginer I'd rather be related to a whore than someone who worked on this movie. I'd feel less shame 1 stars
7/25/99 blue an absolute travesty against the cartoon that most of us grew up with and loved 1 stars
7/25/99 Ah Dooey loved the cartoon, hated the movie 1 stars
7/24/99 Vampyre9mm words simply can't describe. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-1999 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Dec-1999 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast