More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome38.24%
Worth A Look: 20.59%
Average: 29.41%
Pretty Bad: 6.86%
Total Crap: 4.9%

5 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

Gemini Man by Jay Seaver

Pain and Glory by Peter Sobczynski

Rusalka (aka The Siren), The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cube
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A low budget thriller that you can't help but giggle at."
3 stars

Ya gotta admire the balls of Vincenzo Natali. He's taken a pretty simple premise, a budget lower than most short films, and one set and he's made a decent flick. Of course, there's a catch. To enjoy this movie you have to ignore the fact that it displays some of the worst acting outside of your local senior citizen's theatre company's production of "Fiddler On The Roof".

Not going to bother naming names. You've never seen them before and you never shall again. They're Canadian, they're cheap, they stink up the joint. Strangely, the best actor in the cast is killed off in the first twenty seconds of the film. Julian Richings (Hard Core Logo, Urban Legend) has the kind of class this film could have used, but they instead used him as an opening title sequence.

A bunch of folks from differing walks of life wake up in a giant cube structure. They have an door on each wall, another on the roof and another on the floor, and every door leads to an identical room. Some contain hidden traps, others nothing.

Why are they there? How can they get out? Who built this thing?

Who cares?

For all the potential internal drama and external terror possibilities, the acting (and some awful writing here and there) brings the whole film crashing down. It's a shame because the production design side of the crew has done exceptionally well, and the effects, most of which were donated by kindly industry folks, are great. The direction is as good as many higher budget flicks and although the film is tough to endure in spots, it's not hard to see the talent just busting to be expressed.

But watching this film and ignoring the awful cast is like eating bran flakes without milk. At times unsatisfying, but mostly painful.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=806&reviewer=1
originally posted: 03/23/99 16:41:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell cool & unique 4 stars
3/23/15 Langano Interesting premise but the script & acting bring it down. 3 stars
3/23/15 Langano Decent premise but the script & the acting bring it down. 3 stars
4/12/14 PAUL SHORTT TEASING, UNPLEASANT LOW-BUDGET SCI-FI 2 stars
4/01/13 dr.lao What pretentious crap! 2 stars
7/12/07 T'Mar Wonderful movie; hypnotic and tense. And it has David Hewlett AND Maurice Dean Wint! 5 stars
9/26/06 Aleksandar (www.psmovies.co.sr) Sensless yet gripping and tense. Poorly written, filled with some cliches and banalities 3 stars
2/11/06 Josh Standlee Fucking amazing! I was on the edge of my seat! 5 stars
9/15/05 Tom Burns Very cool killings in this movie. Good original story too. 5 stars
7/18/05 JFK bad actings, good idea, a little boring 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Quite original, but ultimately there's not much to it. 3 stars
3/14/05 Ronin You don't need big budged to make an excelent movie. The same goes for Blair Witch Project. 5 stars
3/05/05 jeff very original but a bit of overacting by the black dude!!! 5 stars
2/27/05 Graves If it werent for the crappy sequeals this would've been like "The THING"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/05 Maurice EVO totaly wicked! GREAT 5 stars
12/11/04 scott mcvittie restores my faith in the ability to create exceptional sci-fi's 5 stars
11/05/04 America the Cube check the "red" states for booby-traps, I awoke to find myself more afraid for US than ever 4 stars
10/16/04 alice inginious 5 stars
9/04/04 DM Amateurish but gripping - a pleasant surprise 4 stars
8/09/04 BigBlack One of my Country's best exports. Fresh concept that is worth telling your friends to see!! 5 stars
7/25/04 Patrick Puhl Great Concept. Opening Scene is a Top 5 Coolest Death Ever. 4 stars
7/15/04 Joseph Barale Excellent movie. Better than Cube 2 5 stars
5/13/04 Jiz Would have been a lot better if it had a POINT. But the ending kinda ruined that. 3 stars
3/09/04 B. Fresh Interesting then boring then annoying due to lack of explanations 3 stars
12/02/03 Hahner Péter First exciting, then boring, without any reasonable explanation. 2 stars
7/28/03 Ingo Despite some bad acting - it's worth every minute. 5 stars
7/20/03 MadMax Very original. Definitely deviates from the norm. Way better than it's piece of shit sequel 5 stars
7/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik good 4 stars
7/04/03 Jack Sommersby More a concept than a fleshed-out story. The sequel's a bit better. 2 stars
4/04/03 Charles Tatum Funky, cool pic 5 stars
4/02/03 Gray in the end the meek did inherite the earth 5 stars
3/30/03 maja lovriæ Movie is very unpredictable, very tense and very scary 4 stars
3/01/03 cinkcool You cant kill the goddamn girl! 1 stars
2/23/03 Wojo Shit on a poop cracker 1 stars
10/14/02 www.cubederfilm.de it is abstract, intelligent & a masterpiece 5 stars
9/23/02 Vitality1 Loved the concept. A remake would definitely be even better. 5 stars
9/18/02 palaboy101 Very unique plot. Gets my vote! 5 stars
9/17/02 Zefram Mann Decent, fairly ballsy flick. 4 stars
8/18/02 slipperyK best plot in years!!!!1....bad ending! 4 stars
8/18/02 P.Rodriguez Great movie- the ending could been a whole lot. better. Kills Spielberg 10mil+ crap 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi really good wen i shink about it.....interetsing.... 5 stars
4/24/02 Monster W. Kung How the hell did the bad guy come back? So many holes in this. Yuck. 2 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia Claustrophobic, harrowing, slick. Marred only by anticlimacitic ending. 4 stars
4/11/02 Soggy Bottom Boy Very interesting, very low budget sci-fi; Nicole de Boer is great in this one! 5 stars
10/14/01 Silent Screamer An awesome movie. Really makes you think. Definitely worth a look. 5 stars
10/10/01 rjaraya good idea, but not well expressed 3 stars
9/30/01 unigolyn looks damn good for 700K. Ending was a bit of an anticlimax. Hint - let sane people live. 4 stars
9/30/01 the scarecrow low probably fucked up the ending, good anyway 3 stars
7/21/01 isil ambitiguous 5 stars
3/16/01 Sinjoro Ludulo I'd Watch Nikki deBoer in anything. This was not a bad context to see her. 3 stars
3/11/01 ilfrs everything hollywood would have done, would have ruined that movie. it's just GREAT 5 stars
3/05/01 Michael Lee great movie - not your regular linear plot Hollywood crap 5 stars
2/18/01 Kris An incredibly intelligent and mysterious thought provoker 5 stars
12/01/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi As far as geometric-shape movies go...top of the charts. Kicks the shit outta "Sphere." 4 stars
11/01/00 Paul Plot?? Social commentary?? Give me a break nothing new here 1 stars
7/31/00 Matthew Bartley Acting and dialogue was awful but apart from that-wow!-what a find! 5 stars
7/08/00 Heena Pathetic ending - reminds me of Event Horizon - entire cast dead - whats the point? 1 stars
5/04/00 P.Rodriguez A beautiful fable that teaches us what I suspected-only the pure hearted reach heaven 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC Great flick deconstructing humanity down to its roots. 5 stars
1/11/00 SAM One of the best, revealing the structure of cosmos, and even spiritual world. 5 stars
1/10/00 Will it was like a sci-fi/horror short story. And I just love those. 5 stars
11/25/99 Will Hunting Suspensful, smart. Loved the plot, even with its holes. 5 stars
11/14/99 Ken Yuck! 1 stars
8/02/99 Kemma Intriguing, suspenseful, Intelligent. But I didn't like the cop out ending 4 stars
6/24/99 william recagno mind blowing.although a bit tidious at times. 4 stars
3/17/99 davebo Insightful, Interesting, but terrible dialogue/acting 4 stars
12/06/98 George Morgan SAW THE PREMIER AT SUNDANCE - BEST MOVIE I SAW AT THE FESTIVAL. EVERYONE IN THE THEATER SE 5 stars
12/02/98 Evil Buffy cool and creepy i like the theories. the conspiracy is that no one is in controll. creepy 4 stars
11/27/98 John Gray Waiting for Godot meets Hellraiser, but the writers ain't no Beckett 2 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Fascinating premise that quickly defaults into theatrical histrionics and slick pretension. 3 stars
9/14/98 Como Erectus Kept expecting Rod Serling to walk on. 'Tarded. 2 stars
9/09/98 Karl Denninger I thought this was the next Star Trek movie until i finished masturbating to David Hewlett 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Sep-1998 (NR)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Mar-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast