More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.8

Awesome38.24%
Worth A Look: 20.59%
Average: 29.41%
Pretty Bad: 6.86%
Total Crap: 4.9%

5 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Kingmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cube
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The Opinionator

"suspenseful sci-fi thriller that won't insult your intelligence"
5 stars

The Cube is a wickedly intelligent film with a rock-solid script and mesmerizing special effects.

The Cube (sci-fi 1998), recently released on video by Tri-Mark, provides stunning special effects, suspense, and a subtle (or not so subtle, depending on how closely you analyze the movies you watch) commentary on human nature. The characters go to sleep in the normal world and wake up in a maze constructed of seventeen thousand Plexiglas rooms. Some of the rooms are booby trapped, and no one knows the way out.

The acting in The Cube is nothing to write home about. In fact, some of it is terrible, and I suspect that the filmmakers used their limited budget of $700,000 to hire overly dramatic stage actors. Still, I really enjoyed this movie -- loved it, actually -- because its heart is in the right place. Let me clarify. The autistic character hates the color red, covers his eyes whenever forced into a red room, and begs for gumdrops when his partners praise his ability to decipher prime-power numbers, but he doesn't want red gumdrops because he hates them. I get the idea that the scriptwriters know this character, and they remain faithful to him throughout.

The Cube is also chock full of cutting social commentary on topics ranging from the pointlessness of ambition to the value of being happy with your current position in life, regardless of your limited options. The film communicates these messages effortlessly. If you are looking for substance, it is here in abundance.

But let me tell you what I liked most about The Cube. This movie did not insult my intelligence. The writers paid close attention to the technical details. For example, the mathematics that the prisoners must master in order to escape is drawn directly from the pages of college calculus and geometry textbooks -- this is real stuff. I hate movies that pretend to be smart, when they haven't really done their homework. Take for example the little girl in Jurassic Park who mistakenly identifies a computer as a Unix system and demonstrates the amazing, apparently God-given ability to click the right button in order to lock the door and prevent a raptor from ripping her head off. Moronic episodes like this immediately remove all credibility from a movie. The Cube, on the other hand, cares about the honesty of its details, both in characterization and scientific concepts. It was a breath of fresh air in a Hollywood polluted with pseudo-scientific nonsense.

If you like original movies that care about the technical details of their scripts, rent The Cube.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=806&reviewer=66
originally posted: 02/02/99 11:32:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/14/17 morris campbell cool & unique 4 stars
3/23/15 Langano Interesting premise but the script & acting bring it down. 3 stars
3/23/15 Langano Decent premise but the script & the acting bring it down. 3 stars
4/12/14 PAUL SHORTT TEASING, UNPLEASANT LOW-BUDGET SCI-FI 2 stars
4/01/13 dr.lao What pretentious crap! 2 stars
7/12/07 T'Mar Wonderful movie; hypnotic and tense. And it has David Hewlett AND Maurice Dean Wint! 5 stars
9/26/06 Aleksandar (www.psmovies.co.sr) Sensless yet gripping and tense. Poorly written, filled with some cliches and banalities 3 stars
2/11/06 Josh Standlee Fucking amazing! I was on the edge of my seat! 5 stars
9/15/05 Tom Burns Very cool killings in this movie. Good original story too. 5 stars
7/18/05 JFK bad actings, good idea, a little boring 3 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Quite original, but ultimately there's not much to it. 3 stars
3/14/05 Ronin You don't need big budged to make an excelent movie. The same goes for Blair Witch Project. 5 stars
3/05/05 jeff very original but a bit of overacting by the black dude!!! 5 stars
2/27/05 Graves If it werent for the crappy sequeals this would've been like "The THING"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/05 Maurice EVO totaly wicked! GREAT 5 stars
12/11/04 scott mcvittie restores my faith in the ability to create exceptional sci-fi's 5 stars
11/05/04 America the Cube check the "red" states for booby-traps, I awoke to find myself more afraid for US than ever 4 stars
10/16/04 alice inginious 5 stars
9/04/04 DM Amateurish but gripping - a pleasant surprise 4 stars
8/09/04 BigBlack One of my Country's best exports. Fresh concept that is worth telling your friends to see!! 5 stars
7/25/04 Patrick Puhl Great Concept. Opening Scene is a Top 5 Coolest Death Ever. 4 stars
7/15/04 Joseph Barale Excellent movie. Better than Cube 2 5 stars
5/13/04 Jiz Would have been a lot better if it had a POINT. But the ending kinda ruined that. 3 stars
3/09/04 B. Fresh Interesting then boring then annoying due to lack of explanations 3 stars
12/02/03 Hahner Péter First exciting, then boring, without any reasonable explanation. 2 stars
7/28/03 Ingo Despite some bad acting - it's worth every minute. 5 stars
7/20/03 MadMax Very original. Definitely deviates from the norm. Way better than it's piece of shit sequel 5 stars
7/18/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik good 4 stars
7/04/03 Jack Sommersby More a concept than a fleshed-out story. The sequel's a bit better. 2 stars
4/04/03 Charles Tatum Funky, cool pic 5 stars
4/02/03 Gray in the end the meek did inherite the earth 5 stars
3/30/03 maja lovriæ Movie is very unpredictable, very tense and very scary 4 stars
3/01/03 cinkcool You cant kill the goddamn girl! 1 stars
2/23/03 Wojo Shit on a poop cracker 1 stars
10/14/02 www.cubederfilm.de it is abstract, intelligent & a masterpiece 5 stars
9/23/02 Vitality1 Loved the concept. A remake would definitely be even better. 5 stars
9/18/02 palaboy101 Very unique plot. Gets my vote! 5 stars
9/17/02 Zefram Mann Decent, fairly ballsy flick. 4 stars
8/18/02 slipperyK best plot in years!!!!1....bad ending! 4 stars
8/18/02 P.Rodriguez Great movie- the ending could been a whole lot. better. Kills Spielberg 10mil+ crap 5 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi really good wen i shink about it.....interetsing.... 5 stars
4/24/02 Monster W. Kung How the hell did the bad guy come back? So many holes in this. Yuck. 2 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia Claustrophobic, harrowing, slick. Marred only by anticlimacitic ending. 4 stars
4/11/02 Soggy Bottom Boy Very interesting, very low budget sci-fi; Nicole de Boer is great in this one! 5 stars
10/14/01 Silent Screamer An awesome movie. Really makes you think. Definitely worth a look. 5 stars
10/10/01 rjaraya good idea, but not well expressed 3 stars
9/30/01 unigolyn looks damn good for 700K. Ending was a bit of an anticlimax. Hint - let sane people live. 4 stars
9/30/01 the scarecrow low probably fucked up the ending, good anyway 3 stars
7/21/01 isil ambitiguous 5 stars
3/16/01 Sinjoro Ludulo I'd Watch Nikki deBoer in anything. This was not a bad context to see her. 3 stars
3/11/01 ilfrs everything hollywood would have done, would have ruined that movie. it's just GREAT 5 stars
3/05/01 Michael Lee great movie - not your regular linear plot Hollywood crap 5 stars
2/18/01 Kris An incredibly intelligent and mysterious thought provoker 5 stars
12/01/00 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi As far as geometric-shape movies go...top of the charts. Kicks the shit outta "Sphere." 4 stars
11/01/00 Paul Plot?? Social commentary?? Give me a break nothing new here 1 stars
7/31/00 Matthew Bartley Acting and dialogue was awful but apart from that-wow!-what a find! 5 stars
7/08/00 Heena Pathetic ending - reminds me of Event Horizon - entire cast dead - whats the point? 1 stars
5/04/00 P.Rodriguez A beautiful fable that teaches us what I suspected-only the pure hearted reach heaven 5 stars
4/16/00 JDC Great flick deconstructing humanity down to its roots. 5 stars
1/11/00 SAM One of the best, revealing the structure of cosmos, and even spiritual world. 5 stars
1/10/00 Will it was like a sci-fi/horror short story. And I just love those. 5 stars
11/25/99 Will Hunting Suspensful, smart. Loved the plot, even with its holes. 5 stars
11/14/99 Ken Yuck! 1 stars
8/02/99 Kemma Intriguing, suspenseful, Intelligent. But I didn't like the cop out ending 4 stars
6/24/99 william recagno mind blowing.although a bit tidious at times. 4 stars
3/17/99 davebo Insightful, Interesting, but terrible dialogue/acting 4 stars
12/06/98 George Morgan SAW THE PREMIER AT SUNDANCE - BEST MOVIE I SAW AT THE FESTIVAL. EVERYONE IN THE THEATER SE 5 stars
12/02/98 Evil Buffy cool and creepy i like the theories. the conspiracy is that no one is in controll. creepy 4 stars
11/27/98 John Gray Waiting for Godot meets Hellraiser, but the writers ain't no Beckett 2 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz Fascinating premise that quickly defaults into theatrical histrionics and slick pretension. 3 stars
9/14/98 Como Erectus Kept expecting Rod Serling to walk on. 'Tarded. 2 stars
9/09/98 Karl Denninger I thought this was the next Star Trek movie until i finished masturbating to David Hewlett 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Sep-1998 (NR)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Mar-1999




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast