More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.38

Awesome64.58%
Worth A Look: 21.88%
Average: 5.21%
Pretty Bad: 3.13%
Total Crap: 5.21%

3 reviews, 78 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Secret Garden, The (2020) by Peter Sobczynski

Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker by Jay Seaver

Force of Nature by Rob Gonsalves

Greyhound by Rob Gonsalves

Undercover Vice: Strapped for Danger Part II by Rob Gonsalves

Painted Bird, The by Rob Gonsalves

Relativity by Jay Seaver

Amulet by Jay Seaver

Secret, The: Dare to Dream by Peter Sobczynski

She Dies Tomorrow by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


What's Eating Gilbert Grape
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Wilson

"Whatever is eating at him, itís feeding us a mighty fine film."
4 stars

Think of somewhere youíve always wanted to visit. If you had the chance to go there, would you want to rush through everything and not be able to appreciate this amazing place (it better be amazingÖ you picked it!)? Thatís how one should approach the film Whatís Eating Gilbert Grape.

Except that Endora, Iowa is a place few would want to visit. Bear with me, because Iowa or not, itís worth the trip. Whatís Eating Gilbert Grape is aboutÖ well, Gilbert Grape (Johnny Depp), a young man trying to take care of his retarded brother (Leonardo DiCaprio) and severely obese mother. Itís also about small towns and the strange characters that inhabit them. And when you look really closely, the film is about loyalties and what forces people to choose between their loyalties.

The storytelling has a very relaxed feel to it. Director Lasse Hallstrom, a native Swede, is known for his meditative looks into rural relationships. What especially works in his films is the lack of strictly defined antagonists. The characters are rarely good or bad. Itís their actions coupled with outside forces that provide the opposition. This way we understand why the characters do what they do.

Hallstromís talent really lays in his ability to makes us look at a similar situation with first comic detachment and then a touch of sadness. The best example is how the audience might snicker at how Gilbertís mom weighs down one side of the family car. But after a confrontation in town, the way the car sits on the road becomes much less humorous.

The film is famous for Leonardo DiCaprioís breakout role but there are great performances by John C. Reilly, Crispin Glover and Mary Steenburgen as well. Some may not enjoy the film due to its slow pacing. But those who can see past that will be rewarded with a rich, funny and often moving look at small town life and the loyalties involved in it.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=830&reviewer=400
originally posted: 09/02/05 11:11:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/01/13 Olivia Leonardo dicaprio is stunning in this role and showed great potential that was lived up to. 4 stars
5/21/11 Man Out Six Bucks Good acting. Passive/aggressive town. Sentimental schlock for red state conservaturds. 1 stars
6/06/10 PAUL SHORTT LOW KEY AND OFFBEAT 2 stars
6/07/09 xXx.Pwincess.xXx The film was boring and i think Leonardo DiCaprio did a gd job 1 stars
11/08/08 Tiffany Losco silly movie, loved johnny depp though 4 stars
9/13/08 george ugh. good acting, ridiculous movie. 2 stars
5/08/08 dell the academy award ppl were gits not to beg leo to receive the oscar 5 stars
3/31/08 O'Rourke Pretty good film.But i Hate Leonardo DiCaprio 3 stars
3/19/08 Briseis Amazing performance. DiCaprio is a genius!!! 5 stars
3/05/08 ladavies The best performance from Di Caprio that I've seen so far. 4 stars
1/05/08 Pamela White bravery and compassion when dealing with mother 5 stars
7/18/07 fools♫gold If you have sore eyes late at night, this'll absolutely heal them!!! (so to speak) 10000% 5 stars
7/11/07 VIVEK KRISHNAN VERY GOOD.LEORNADO DI CAPRIO IS THE BEST 4 stars
12/19/05 Bree Depp is excellent, but DiCaprio is absolutely brilliant. 5 stars
11/29/05 Wasabi Pretty awesome. 4 stars
10/12/05 Tom Burns a really good movie. 4 stars
9/21/05 Eric Fortune Great movie. Leonardo DiCaprio should have won the Academy Award. 5 stars
8/30/05 LS Galvin DiCaprio should have won the Oscar for this - phenomenol! 5 stars
8/28/05 D Buckley An entertaining movie that doesn't try too hard. 5 stars
8/17/05 ES if only this depicted Leo's true personality= oh wait it does 3 stars
7/26/05 sara it was the best movie i have watched recently 5 stars
7/19/05 jessie this is one of my favorite movies ever,the acting was terrific,it is very touching 5 stars
2/22/05 Captain Craig The film that proved Leo is an Oscar quality actor. Depressing story. 3 stars
1/15/05 jamexz awesome movie with a horrible plot.. 3 stars
12/02/04 james c worst movie in the world 1 stars
11/23/04 marilyn claudio Excellent 5 stars
9/26/04 Tor Honolulu Tommy Lee Jones has Leo's Oscar but not to worry..movie is great all the way 5 stars
8/09/04 magaafi strange.....but good entertainment; i constantly expctd somtn 2 happn, but notin eva did.. 4 stars
8/02/04 mana college student very good film, watched as a part of media studies and enjoyed greatly 5 stars
7/06/04 aryan leonardo is born to act.I dont understand why he was not awarded an oscar.Its damn unfair. 5 stars
5/14/04 John a serious drama done right - phenomenal performances 5 stars
2/08/04 katie this film is just amazing! See it !! Di Caprio is so good in this! The best role in history 5 stars
1/21/04 Emily It's brilliance beyond description 5 stars
12/28/03 Caitlin I LOVED this movie. Johnny and Leonardo worked wonderfully together 5 stars
12/14/03 Agent Sands Great acting. Pretty cool story & directing, too. 4 stars
11/18/03 he a great film 5 stars
5/16/03 R.W. Welch Rather slow stuff though neatly done. 3 stars
5/04/03 sleepy Depp was wonderful...it's hard playing against all the weird people, holding it all togethe 5 stars
3/07/03 Glenn Why is leo first film the best?? johnny best as usual 5 stars
2/26/03 Marie Cavallaro Hearbreaking but so true 5 stars
2/07/03 Mike Crouch Very dumb movie 1 stars
12/05/02 Kyle I'm not a "fan" of Leonardo, but honestly his performance in this is astonishing! 5 stars
10/16/02 Charles Tatum Fantastic; Leonard before his rep got titanic 5 stars
7/27/02 karen goldstein Very Original & Entertaining - All Actors Were Compelling 5 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden REALLY Heartbreaking, but Also REALLY Excellent. 5 stars
11/08/01 Nanci Fantastic film, DiCaprio was astounding. Definitely worth watching 5 stars
9/22/01 Mark Davidson One of the 5 best films of the 1990s. Amazing 5 stars
9/02/01 Butterbean The Academy were dicks when they dissed Leo. This was a very touching movie. 5 stars
4/12/01 Georges It was great, ignore post below this. Leo & Depp deliver the goods 5 stars
3/27/01 Chris Maloney Really bad movie, it sucked 1 stars
2/09/01 Josephine worth a cry!!! 5 stars
9/29/00 Shelby Just like of mice and men Eh? 5 stars
8/25/00 Terry awesome 5 stars
6/30/00 dtleonard First time I saw it, thought Arnie was being played by person w/mental disabilities. 5 stars
5/24/00 Amanda Great Movie - most actors doing great jobs 5 stars
5/03/00 cort major Well written-fantastic acting-good direction.-SOLID MOVIE- 4 stars
3/01/00 spunky Breath-taking & sweet-hearted! The acting by DiCaprio and Cates breaks the mold! 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Pretty not bad, and Leo is brilliant...still...READ THE BOOK, YOU SEA MONKEYS!!!! 4 stars
12/15/99 Perverted Pixie A film of rare beauty. Depp and Dicaprio shine. I recommend the novel! 5 stars
9/30/99 Bozo The entire movie is great but Leonardo is amazing...how come no Oscar??? 5 stars
5/19/99 Robert Williams Great movie - everything 'Go Swans' said. 5 stars
4/08/99 Purple_Haze The Absolute Best! 5 stars
3/08/99 BabbaBooey Leonardo is allmost universally annoying, but he IS great in this. Terriffic film. 5 stars
2/20/99 Piz DiCaprio's best performance and a movie that pokes at the soul. 4 stars
1/24/99 Melissa The hell with Titanic, THIS film makes Leo. See this movie only for Leo. 4 stars
12/09/98 Andrea Leonardo DiCaprio's performance is worth the price of admission, and then some. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Director Hallstrom will hopefully make more films like this. Beautiful! 5 stars
11/12/98 Jules I can't say enough about this film. So I won't. 5 stars
11/09/98 Lord Of The Dunce A very good film. Nothing but praise for all involved. 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob Another great example of character execution. Depp and DiCaprio are great in this one! 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Great film. Leo might actually have ability after all. 4 stars
10/13/98 jym leo too overrated i could do the same----depp is bad----too gruff for the part 2 stars
10/03/98 wind excellent movie pre-leo maina 5 stars
9/11/98 The incredible, edible GKR I hate dicaprio with a passion, but he plays a damn good retard 5 stars
9/09/98 MikeF If I had a dirty retarded brother, I'd punch him too, but mostly I'd punch cause he's leo. 4 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Huh, I didn't even realize I was watching Leonardo DiCaprio. 5 stars
9/06/98 Helle Marie Fuckin`brilliant, this is. I love it, and I love Leo! 5 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald A good movie. Depp really is a talent. Leo can fuck off. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Dec-1993 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Jun-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast