More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.89

Awesome: 17.59%
Worth A Look: 18.52%
Average: 14.81%
Pretty Bad33.33%
Total Crap: 15.74%

6 reviews, 72 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Basic Instinct
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Derek

"A waste of my time. Not even bad enough to be funny."
1 stars

I'm so over this whole genre of Michael-Douglas-in-peril movies.

Ever since FATAL ATTRACTION, we've had this whole sub-genre where Michael Douglas may or may not be in mortal danger from a blonde babe. Enough already.

I'M HERE TO TELL YOU THAT THE ONLY ONE OF THESE FLICKS WORTH A RAT'S ASS IS "THE GAME." AVOID "BASIC INSTINCT." IT IS PRETENTIOUS AND STUPID.

If it wasn't for the gratuitous muff shot of Sharon Stone, this movie would have been totally forgotten by now. Unless that kind of thing gives you some sort of testosterone-driven jollies or something, I can think of no reason why you'd want to waste your time with this movie. Even then, you'd be fast-forwarding anyway.

Plot? Who cares? It's all about Michael Douglas as a rich guy who gets involved with Stone as this icy blonde who may or may not have killed someone. Did she or didn't she? Will she or won't she kill Michael? Will I or won't I hit the screen with this box of Red Vines?

The offensive thing here is that this movie thinks it's really clever. It made a ton of money, and shame on all of us for buying the hype and flocking to it. It made Joe Ezsterhaus the highest-paid screenwriter in Hollywood. No doubt he had a nice party in a hot tub with some escort-service bimbos and laughed at our collective gullibility while he strapped a mai tai to his face. He went on the produce the script for SHOWGIRLS, which was better than BASIC INSTINCT for one reason - it was unabashedly trashy. It can be taken as crap and enjoyed as such...it's funny!

This movie is an insult. It could have ended either way, and it figures that however it ends, we will think it's clever. Guess what? I think it sucks!

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=832&reviewer=71
originally posted: 02/24/99 08:32:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/30/19 Louise (the real one) Love your review, Slyder! Hate the film, of course ... 1 stars
1/02/19 Tina Klaeger The best sex scene is Michael Douglas fucking Jeanne Tripplehorn anally over a sofa. 5 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell lame dated lost its shock value 4 sure 1 stars
3/16/17 Louise (the real one) Over-hyped film - realised I couldn't remember a thing about it afterwards. 2 stars
8/24/12 edutra horrible 1 stars
10/22/11 john smith rubbish 1 stars
3/19/10 PAUL SHORTT WELL MADE, SLICK AND ENTERTAININGLY OVERHEATED 3 stars
7/23/08 Renzo Boring as hell. Only woke up to see Sharon's pussy. 2 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner This movie has some great scenes in it. 5 stars
6/13/07 al smith stone is so sexy needs it up the grinner 3 stars
5/29/07 hemant it is engrossing,entertaining till the end 5 stars
7/20/06 David Cohen If the gay community hadn't given it so much publicity, it would have died in the theaters 1 stars
5/17/06 missy it's ko but sum parts of it iz borning 2 stars
5/09/06 ravan dutt class 4 stars
2/20/06 chris f i love this film 5 stars
1/01/06 Jay_kar2004 my top 10 movie for nudity 5 stars
10/03/05 Master T Anyone who gives 5 stars to Pee Wee's Big Adventure or Star Trek 2 DOES NOT KNOW SH#T! 4 stars
9/19/05 tony a keeper! 4 stars
8/21/05 emx incredible 5 stars
5/25/05 ramana good 4 stars
3/27/05 indrid cold Not great overall, but my favorite twist ending of all time. 4 stars
3/02/05 Dr. Lecter Delightfully guilty-pleasure sleaze! 4 stars
2/11/05 Jeff Anderson THE ONLY GREAT THING ABOUT THIS TRASH IS NOT SHARON STONE, IT'S JERRY GOLDSMITH'S SCORE!!!! 1 stars
11/18/04 chris like tearing off amazing looking packaging to reveal a rotten turd 2 stars
5/31/04 Daveman A very stylish and entertaining erotic thriller. Sharon Stone is a fabulous bitch! 4 stars
4/29/04 Earl Dandy eye candy,brain junk food 2 stars
3/23/04 Hitesh Naik Very Good Film 5 stars
3/14/04 rqss rqss 5 stars
1/22/04 randor guy good---made in indian ligos too! 4 stars
1/18/04 Monster W. Kung Slyder is absolutely right. This one is just pure mediocrity that didn't deserve attention. 2 stars
1/12/04 LIAM JACKSON i did not really like it when douglas fucked tripplehorn up the ass. 3 stars
11/29/03 john solid thriller despite the rather contrived script 4 stars
9/21/03 Darryl I like Michael Douglas okay, but he really should keep his pants up. He really should. 3 stars
7/01/03 AD well you got over the sex not much in it 3 stars
5/23/03 mr. Pink Oh come on! Stone is fucking great and it's great fun and exciting! Lighten up!! 5 stars
4/01/03 Lucy Very good and definately worth a look. People who say its crap have no taste. 5 stars
3/14/03 xyyyz fuck and fuck 4 stars
3/07/03 Jin Looking back it really was a piece of shit. Tries too hard to shock. 2 stars
1/11/03 Paul Coleman Flashy, glossy-looking trash, yet spellbinding from beginning to end. 4 stars
11/06/02 Daniel After "Fatal Attraction" (a great one) Michael D. should've retired the psycho-bitch genre. 1 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum Sexy and hot and stuff 4 stars
8/08/02 ! The Fuck Of The Century :) 4 stars
3/29/02 sam very nice 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee Worth seeing solely for Sharon Stone's scorchingly hot performance. 4 stars
11/26/01 Ali Good 1 stars
11/17/01 ss s 5 stars
11/04/01 werty sexy sharon 5 stars
8/20/01 Monster W. Kung Over-hyped and over-discussed for nothing. You know what? It's tiresome and uninteresting. 2 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk This movie is chock full of fuckin and violence...Loved it. 5 stars
7/29/01 Henry Ginsberg Sharon Stone is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO fit . 5 stars
7/27/01 R.W. Welch Blatantly voyeuristic with a plot that doesn't really add up, but has a certain suspense. 3 stars
6/14/01 Terrie Smith Sharon Stone certainly makes the most of it; ending, however, is pretty dumb. 3 stars
6/08/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Starts out a smart, sexy, and sophisticated tale of intrigue but conclusion is too hokey 3 stars
2/23/01 Steve in Prague why is 13 year old ten critic ii reviewing this film?? ARE YOU A VIRGIN MY DEAR!?!?!? 1 stars
2/16/01 Ray McCoy Too much sex, not enough substance, the ending was SOOOO obvious 2 stars
2/15/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) The sex is anything but enticing. But the movie does have its share of kinky charm. 4 stars
2/14/01 christ good 3 stars
2/04/01 Avenger girl A good thriller, although a little slow but with some good intensity at times 4 stars
1/28/01 Speedy's mother sucks cocks in hell! awesome 5 stars
12/16/00 Speedy One of the most poorly written movies ever. 1 stars
11/24/00 Connoisseur Eric S., you suck! 5 stars
10/15/00 shotokan yürek 4 stars
4/29/00 my twat shite! 1 stars
2/10/00 Richard Wright Who cares about Stone's open leg antics, this is an underrated thriller with a good script 4 stars
1/14/00 Dr. D I msturbate to it 2 stars
12/25/99 Obi Wan One of the best thrillers yet!! 5 stars
12/05/99 Eric S. Just a softcore porn film to show off Sharon Stone and Jeanne Tripplehorn's bodies. 2 stars
6/01/99 little jerry Doesn't go far enough.Isn't it high time an A-list director went hardcore? 4 stars
5/08/99 Tim this movie is not all it was cracked up to be. At least you can see Sharon Stone nude 3 stars
1/27/99 Dirty Ol' Bastard DAMNiT FOLKS..can't we make a decent porno!? 4 stars
11/25/98 Mr.Pink Hitchcockian thriller in all the right ways! S. Stone will never top this. Verhoeven rules! 5 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee Any movie where Sharon Stone's snatch is the high point must be total crap. Eszterhas sucks 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Mar-1993 (R)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1993 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast