More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.12

Awesome46.15%
Worth A Look: 34.62%
Average: 8.24%
Pretty Bad: 6.59%
Total Crap: 4.4%

9 reviews, 128 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Ad Astra by Jay Seaver

When Lambs Become Lions by Jay Seaver

We Are Not Princesses by Jay Seaver

Hustlers by Jay Seaver

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Fightin’ Frenchies, Drinkin’ Rum, and Sailin’ ‘Round the World!"
4 stars

MASTER AND COMMANDER had a couple of things going against it during its theatrical release. One was the cumbersome title, which smacked more than a little of pretentiousness. The other was the inclusion of volatile leading man Russell Crowe, who had become a favorite whipping boy of the tabloids, and who most people were just sick of hearing about - I know I was.

So imagine my surprise when MASTER AND COMMANDER (a bit redundant, that) turned out to be a pretty seaworthy flick. Sure, it was never going to nab Crowe another undeserved Oscar (He was good in Gladiator . . . but that good? C’mon), and there’s really not much plot to speak of besides a two hour-long cat and mouse chase. But if 17th century naval adventure and strategy are your bag, or if you think that Russell Crowe is just dreamy, then you could sit through a lot worse than Master and Commander - like Pirates of the Caribbean, for example.

Crowe plays Captain Jack Aubrey, master of the H.M.S. Surprise (a fitting name, considering what he does with the ship to lure in his enemy much later on). He’s been dispatched to hunt down the Acheron, a heavy French frigate with twice the armor and guns of the Surprise – not that Aubrey’s going to let little details like that slow him down. The Acheron has been preying on His Majesty’s merchant ships en route to and from the New World, and so “Lucky Jack” (as his crew call him) follows the Acheron’s trail to the coast of Brazil. Thus begins a long chase in which each ship changes from hunter to hunted, depending on weather, skill, and chance. The chase includes some clever and memorable twists, such as the deployment of a rather effective decoy during night maneuvers, and is book ended by two excellent battles. Seeing spaceships and what-have-you getting blown to bits in the movies is all fine and well, but there’s nothing quite like watching two majestic wooden sailing ships getting ground down into toothpicks by cannon fire at point-blank range.

In-between the battles are the requisite amounts of filler that passes as a plot. It’s not terribly deep, but it is mostly entertaining, perhaps with the exception of an inordinate amount of screen time being dedicated to the ship’s doctor (Paul Bettany) and his obsessive desire to study the local flora and fauna as the chase takes them through the Galapagos Islands (personally, I would have been more interested in studying the Brazilian hotties that came a-calling when they stopped for supplies in the first act . . . but that’s just me).

While Crowe has made a bit of a spectacle of himself in the past few years with both bad temper and bad music, the man delivers when in front of the camera. Maybe he is an arrogant prick in real life, but on the screen he’s as stalwart of a Captain as any man jack could ask for. Equal parts bravado and compassion, he walks the fine line between caring for his men without becoming too familiar with them and losing their respect. He treads the even finer line between keeping those men alive, and fulfilling his duty. While the pain of losing men is evident in his features, he succinctly tells the doctor “I have a duty to fulfill, and I will grind whatever grist the mill requires in order to get the job done.”

So maybe it’s time we cut Crowe some slack, because all personal faux pas aside, the man’s a pretty damn solid actor. Besides, he was Gladiator, man. Gladiator!

While a bit light on story, and a bit waterlogged during the middle act, MASTER AND COMMANDER is a visually impressive and well-acted film. Those in search of seafaring adventure, with ample doses of both tactics and testosterone, should find the film commanding . . . if not quite masterful.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8323&reviewer=258
originally posted: 05/05/04 03:48:28
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.

User Comments

4/02/18 John Olson Have watched this film at least 6 times 5 stars
9/13/17 morris campbell good needs 2 be shorter tho 4 stars
5/02/14 Qqypfvih The prices with the pills in these and then back once more as about all of pounds by curbin 3 stars
9/19/10 Jan Patterson I fell in love with the Sea and the ship. Direction, acting, sound, camera- all A+ 5 stars
6/25/09 Dan One of the best movies I've ever seen. If you enjoy history, this film is for you . 5 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. i don't usually watch this sort of thing, but i actually enjoyed this. 4 stars
12/02/08 Chris Stunningly well-made modern classic, gripping intellectual drama 5 stars
11/03/08 Shaun Wallner Well made. 5 stars
9/26/08 Annie G My guys love this film, but I’ve never managed to stay awake through it. 3 stars
5/21/08 PAUL SHORTT THIS EPIC ADVENTURE STEERS A TRUE COURSE THROUGH STORM AND SACRIFICE AND ARRIVES TRIUMPHANT 5 stars
11/21/07 G. Webster loved it! visually beautiful.great acting by russell crowe 5 stars
9/25/07 Joe Kacmarynski One of the BEST films I have ever seen. A real Swashbuckler, but yet poignant. 5 stars
7/08/07 crombie excellent-to those with a brain, not a joystick 5 stars
4/21/07 Tarik WOUNDERFUL FILM , Best scene is the scene with the fog when the acheron attacked the Surpri 5 stars
3/11/07 Roy F. Moore Special effects and music made this film soar...or sail, as the case may be. 5 stars
1/05/07 Watch This Movie! possibly one of the greatest depictions of life on a ship of war ever. 5 stars
1/02/07 MO very gripping and exciting. good characters mostly. 5 stars
9/28/06 BadBoy Fantastic scenery and massive sets,a lot of wrk has gone into this film.Russle Crow ws GR8! 5 stars
9/13/06 Bitchflaps Exciting, but dumb. Would have benefitted from the omission of its talkier segments. 4 stars
8/22/06 jeanne You've got to love a man who can perform abdominal surgery on himself! Bravo! 5 stars
6/25/06 MP Bartley Terrific attention to detail, great characters, super action. Weir does it again 5 stars
6/10/06 Dan One of the best movies my eyes have ever had the good graces of grazing. 5 stars
5/21/06 Kcaj ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
5/03/06 R.W.Welch Runs on a bit but well captures the era of wooden ships and iron men. 4 stars
2/26/06 Quigley the movie is a bore most of the time, with really choppy confused action. russell was great 2 stars
1/08/06 gerry dunne best movie of this decade so far (jan 20060 5 stars
11/26/05 Joe Z Its not just an adventure film for adults its incredible for everyone my second favorite mo 5 stars
11/21/05 tatum The best seafaring movie ever 5 stars
11/11/05 Bob Paddington 4 stars
11/06/05 Ken Schroeder It's a slice of life on the salty seas; it's all about the journey. 2 stars
9/29/05 Jessica An AMAZING Movie......I Love Watching It! 5 stars
9/19/05 Jonathon Holmes zzzzzzzzz 2 stars
8/19/05 ES lesser of two weevils = priceless 3 stars
6/17/05 Hasanin Abdelsamad an excellent film,i almost lived among the details 5 stars
5/24/05 Nathan Westfall one of the greatest movies I have ever seen 5 stars
5/07/05 smitty A truly breathtaking film, but bloody beastly trying to decipher what the hell's being said 4 stars
4/25/05 Quigley this awful movie screams "STYLE OVER SUBSTANCE!" Even Russsell Crowe can't save this oyster 1 stars
4/04/05 Ric A thrilling journey, this is a sweeping adventure that matches the best of naval cinema. 5 stars
2/17/05 kathleen4691 Good film, but don't expect the book. 4 stars
1/29/05 Don GREAT! 5 stars
1/22/05 Tjalda L. Schiel Terrific rendition of O'Brien's work. 5 stars
11/17/04 Danish Cookie Two thumbs way down. Crowe worst movie 1 stars
11/12/04 anti - russell crowe this movie should be banned!!! It gave me a panic attack from the gory scenes! terrible! 1 stars
11/01/04 Charles S. Lewis by far..and outstanding film! When does the adventure continue? 5 stars
10/12/04 Marilee An absolutely splendid film. I was pulled into the world of the sailors and swept along. 5 stars
9/12/04 Dan Wtf? Pwnt. 5 stars
8/14/04 Daveman Terrific fun. Paul Bettany is outstanding, Crowe is pretty damn great too. 4 stars
8/09/04 Ron Good but the novels by Patrick O'Brian are even better. 4 stars
7/30/04 DJ Wtf? Pwnt. 5 stars
7/30/04 Phil boorrriiiiinnnngg!!!!!!! too long, not enough action.....*sigh* 2 stars
7/20/04 Harry J Pretty good. Seeing it once is enough though. 4 stars
7/20/04 Stephanie I loved this movie more than life itself. James D'arcy was fabulous! 5 stars
7/12/04 Dan I'm a 16 year old kid, and let me tell you. This movie rocks. 5 stars
7/01/04 Mikey Crunt But the books had gay sex scenes. Where were they?? 3 stars
6/23/04 Phil M. Aficionado Well crafted, acted, and filmed. Engaging character (Crowe). Needs subtitles for accents. 4 stars
6/20/04 Jim Pretty good sea battles and performances, like "Star Trek" on the ocean. 4 stars
6/19/04 Denise Duspiva good but i would have liked a little more story 4 stars
6/08/04 Ron Miller Good.... but Best movie nominee... don't think so! 3 stars
6/07/04 Caroline LOVED the music, scenery, and acting- will definitely buy DVD 5 stars
6/04/04 Gregmond Liked it :) 5 stars
6/03/04 Littlepurch Kid whose arm was amputated is my gran's, sister-in law's, friend's grandson! I'm so proud! 5 stars
5/31/04 Nobody Great with a capital G!!! 5 stars
5/30/04 Frazier Worth a look, a one time see, but surprisingly boring. 4 stars
5/29/04 Irene fantastic and wonderfully historical 5 stars
4/29/04 Taylor Fladgate Grandiose scenery, thin plot & script. 3 stars
4/24/04 Shams Huque Good looking film - overrated though. 4 stars
4/20/04 ALI HBOUS the cinematography is a work of art 4 stars
4/17/04 Albert H. Taylor Jr. I've read the book and I like the movie. 4 stars
3/09/04 holly awesome! 5 stars
3/06/04 Goofy Maxwell Refreshing adventure, driven more by curiosity than character. 4 stars
2/10/04 Jenny Tullwartz Another super-hyped "What's all the fuss about" film. Galápagos scenes only intresting part 3 stars
2/03/04 Alexia Katz Thin on plot, yet so compelling that it is impossible to look away 5 stars
1/20/04 Suzi Mitchell loved every minute 5 stars
1/11/04 Angela The film's exciting indeed, but not deep enough...another typical hollywood piece?! 3 stars
1/06/04 Chris Alittle too long and not enough plotlines but still very good. Crowe is oscar worthy. 4 stars
1/03/04 Tony Mazzeo Read the books Movie works 4 stars
1/02/04 OnlyChild Storm scenes were amazing, other than that, it was bordering on boring 3 stars
12/30/03 John Bale Crowe is no Laughton, but gritty creation of 19th c. Naval life is excellent 5 stars
12/29/03 Michael Strauss Re: "Master and Commander/ The Far Side of the World" I cannot take it any longer. How can 1 stars
12/27/03 Elizabeth Loved it! History on the high seas. 5 stars
12/26/03 Jon Fine except the plot was terrible. I found myself not caring about the characters. 3 stars
12/26/03 PATRICK Very realistic battles, good story, good soundtrack 5 stars
12/20/03 Martha Cast A fine rendition of some excellent books, although they put too many of them in one movie 5 stars
12/19/03 Zanthan A movie about men taking action and making their own destiny, not just fulfilling one. 5 stars
12/18/03 alien assassin Grow up and get a life, Mike. This is one of the BEST films of 2003 !!!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Mike This film was boring and awful in every respect 1 stars
12/11/03 ira crowe undoubtedly, an oscar contender 5 stars
12/05/03 Helen Bradley great photography, poor acting/script 2 stars
12/05/03 katsat Well-made, lotsa action but character development was sacrificed. Not my cuppa tea. 3 stars
12/05/03 Terry Stewart One of the best this year 5 stars
12/04/03 CK Better sea battle sequence than Pirates of the Car..whatever 5 stars
12/04/03 Koitus "Okay." Pity the woman in my row .. she was "tappity, tappity" at "those" two scenes! ;-) 3 stars
12/02/03 moira I thought it was very enjoyable! 4 stars
12/02/03 Dan the Man Really great sea adventure 5 stars
12/01/03 KingNeutron Deserves better reviews. Some grim scenes, but enjoyable anyway. 5 stars
11/30/03 john a sensational adventure movie - 5 stars
11/26/03 Lord Chu Love it. 5 stars
11/26/03 Gi Gi the amputation scene was awesome 5 stars
11/25/03 nancy I loved it! Plenty of character development plus action. 5 stars
11/23/03 Mary I saw 3 awesome seconds, some really fake scenes, the rest was average.. 4 stars
11/22/03 Walton This is a complete piece of trash. 1 stars
11/22/03 Fitz This movie expects more out o f the viewer, then most movies. Enjoyable! 4 stars
11/21/03 Artist Freak Good solid high seas adventure. Not great art, but good fun. 4 stars
11/21/03 homer simpson Great battle scenes, other wise it sucked 3 stars
11/21/03 horndog huh? oh I just woke up after my nap during this turd! 1 stars
11/21/03 Andrew The name is enough - I refuse to pay money to see this turd baby! 5 stars
11/20/03 Brian Lutz Most overrated film of 2003...or ever 2 stars
11/20/03 Jack Bourbon A classic a la Shawshank. Not GREAT filmmaking, but solid and entertaining for sure 4 stars
11/19/03 Josh Standlee It was okay, but not Oscar worthy. 3 stars
11/19/03 john excellent , fun, sound fine 5 stars
11/19/03 Johnny's Been Rotten I saw it. I loved it. 5 stars
11/19/03 Buffalo Mike Very good, excellent cinimatography. However, will dissapoint video game freaks and cats. 5 stars
11/18/03 Joe Entertaining, but felt like a mishmash of highlights of incidents in the books. 3 stars
11/18/03 gioconda alberi aw c'mon guys this is pretty great compared to the malarkey that's been released this year 4 stars
11/18/03 Alonzo P. Tucker i thought it was "Masturbating Commander", but nun the less enjoyed it. 5 stars
11/18/03 Elizaveta lots of fun! strong cast, plain good entertainment 5 stars
11/17/03 Lord Jiggy Lacked something...but still fairly compelling 4 stars
11/17/03 paganchyk High action and subtle character interplay - gorgeous 5 stars
11/17/03 Margaret Zumas Naval history with heart 4 stars
11/17/03 Bitty Art film meets documentary 4 stars
11/17/03 Ryan Beautiful, sometimes exciting, nice detail... 4 stars
11/17/03 malcolm a guy movie in the caliber of 'Shane' 5 stars
11/16/03 Aaron Shore Just like being there in 1805 4 stars
11/16/03 Cameron Slick An extremely realistic, high seas adventure. 4 stars
11/15/03 Rikyrah Snow I don't usually watch Russell Crow movies. But, I LOVED this one. 5 stars
11/15/03 RLBucko very solid but for an O'Brien reader the plot is drawn from several books - causing literar 4 stars
11/15/03 Farker it's not a "massive galleon", Scott!!! 5 stars
11/15/03 Zengator very true to the books = great action + characters 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Nov-2003 (PG-13)
  DVD: 20-Apr-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  04-Dec-2003


Directed by
  Peter Weir

Written by
  Peter Weir
  John Collee

Cast
  Russell Crowe
  Paul Bettany
  Billy Boyd
  James d'Arcy
  Lee Ingleby
  George Innes



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast