More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.45

Awesome: 21.05%
Worth A Look: 23.68%
Average44.74%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 10.53%

2 reviews, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Doctor Sleep by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Peter Sobczynski

Marriage Story by Peter Sobczynski

Better Days by Jay Seaver

Scandalous: The True Story of the National Enquirer by Rob Gonsalves

Paradise Hills by Rob Gonsalves

3 from Hell by Rob Gonsalves

Dolemite Is My Name by Rob Gonsalves

My Dear Liar by Jay Seaver

Truth, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


White Men Can't Jump
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"It's a sports movie. Whaddya want? Shakespeare?"
3 stars

The film that catapulted Woody Harrelson from sitcom schlub to... movie schlub.

Woody is a down-home country boy who can play some hoops. After taking some cash to throw a college ballgame and not actually throwing the game, he finds himself and his annoying ass girlfriend (Rosie Perez - the latino Fran Drescher) on the run from a pair of stereotypical crooks who want their cash back.

In order to make some moolah, Woody likes to hustle homeys on the blacktop. It's while doing this that he meets up with Wesley Snipes. Together they team up to huistle and try to take down the kings of the streetcourt circuit (there's a circuit?)

So does the movie suck? Nup. It's kinda fun. Annoying at times, but fun. Snipes does the basketball hero much better than Damon Wayans (or Marlon for that matter) so it beats Celtic Pride and The Sixth Man in that respect. And it's much funnier than those two and more realistic than Whoopi Goldberg's atrocious Eddie (why is she famous again? For Jumping Jack Flash? For Ghost? For being Ted Danson's bounce-bag?).

Basically, this is better than any other basketball comedy you'll find of late. It's not hilarious by any stretch, it's not romantic, nor dramatic, nor particularly well-written or even acted.

It just doesn't hurt much to watch.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=837&reviewer=1
originally posted: 10/18/98 19:43:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/27/15 stanley welles clever and funny 4 stars
3/16/13 PAUL SHORTT CRISPLY PERFORMED, SMART, ENJOYABLE CAPER 4 stars
8/17/08 John Millheim So funny, Snipes & Woody are great together in this movie 5 stars
8/17/05 ES Rosie Perez's 2nd most mind numbingly, tear my eyes out annoying role 1 stars
4/26/05 Clubber Lang Hysterical, highly entertaining, but loses momentum towards the end. 4 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G This movie owns, andrew and charles suck eachothers 2 inch dicks 5 stars
12/09/03 john good story - exiting sports action and funny too! 5 stars
11/13/02 Charles Tatum Ron Shelton is a hack 1 stars
8/11/02 blakers a goiod film 3 stars
5/26/02 Jessica Davis Marquee read WHITE MEN CAN'T JUMP GRAND CANYON A RIVER RUNS THROUGH IT. 3 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden Such A Demeaning and Stupid Title, and So Is The Movie. 1 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean Wesley and Woody was so great together in this one. It was a fun movie 4 stars
6/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I love this movie. If you think I'm an idiot, then by all means flame me... 4 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Rosie Perez looks good, the rest is cliche and dreadful 1 stars
2/14/01 Jake After game of horse, the movie becomes quite annoying. 3 stars
12/17/00 Speedy Hands down, the funniest sports movies ever. Hilarious insults! 5 stars
7/07/00 Bruce This is my favorite sports comedy, absolutely hillarious 5 stars
6/26/00 Steve Layne If you're not a basketball fan you won't get it. 4 stars
2/28/00 Kris Rothermal Wesley plays some great hoops, the court scenes are great 5 stars
1/19/00 Add If you like b.ball then you'll love this! 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ** (out of ****) Category: "Above Average" 4 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey s'cool 3 stars
2/15/99 Vick Di Brecci I knew guys like Woody and Wesley in college. I guess my years there have set the standard 4 stars
10/05/98 Johny I liked it a lot years ago when i saw it 5 stars
9/05/98 pooky the bald I wanna punch Rosie Perez almost as hard as the French chick in Pulp Fiction. Skank. 3 stars
9/04/98 Badass A fine movie. It's a joy. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Mar-1992 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Ron Shelton

Written by
  Ron Shelton

Cast
  Wesley Snipes
  Woody Harrelson
  Rosie Perez
  Tyra Ferrell
  Cylk Cozart
  Kadeem Hardison



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast