More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.57

Awesome45.51%
Worth A Look: 16.29%
Average: 5.62%
Pretty Bad: 14.61%
Total Crap: 17.98%

5 reviews, 148 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Human Lost by Jay Seaver

Tammy and the T-Rex by Jay Seaver

Extra Ordinary by Jay Seaver

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

Homewrecker (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Grease
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmink Magazine (owes us money)

"The most enjoyable musical of all time."
5 stars

Grease is the most enjoyable movie musical of all time. Sure, contenders like The Sound Of Music, West Side Story, A Hard Day's Night and Jailhouse Rock get their feet in the door, but when it comes to the crunch, Grease really is the word.

And now, for its twentieth anniversary, it's back on the big screen with specially revamped colour and sound. Just where it belongs. For those that have only seen this classic on video, you can now see a pre-weight gain Travolta and a spunky, sprightly Olivia strutting their stuff to some great tunes.

For those that don't know, Grease revolves around the kids (who all look suspiciously older than eighteen) of Rydell High, and in particular the T-Birds and the Pink Ladies, the two gangs that rule the school. A summer romance between tough guy Danny (Travolta) and good girl Sandy (Newton-John) hits the rocks when they get back to school and realise that their relationship has a serious image problem.

Throw in a thrilling, rip snorting car chase, expertly choreographed dance sequences, wacky dialogue, charmingly ironic cameos (Sid Caesar, Eve Arden, Frankie Avalon) and superbly catchy tunes, and the fifties JD film smashes head on with the seventies event picture.

The most financially successful musical of all time, and a subsequent video favourite, Grease is flawless as a piece of entertainment. Travolta is at his lithe, sexy best and Newton-John hits notes that she never came close to recapturing on screen. Channing is excellent as the sassy bad girl Rizzo, though she definitely qualifies as one of the most prematurely aged high school students to ever wield an HB pencil.

The high career point of most involved (what's happened to Kenickie, Frenchie, Marty and everyone else?), Grease is a smashingly entertaining, almost evangelically joyous movie that will have you tapping your feet in time with its hectic, up-beat rhythm. An absolute must. ---Erin Free

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=85&reviewer=14
originally posted: 08/26/98 13:59:33
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/24/15 stanley welles cheesy and juvenile, and thats just the characters! in this limp, poorly made plotless puke 1 stars
12/11/12 Andrea Best musical ever. 5 stars
7/20/12 keith miron A good cheesy musical 3 stars
5/08/12 Jimmy Web The Clowns who gave this 1 star are Truly Idiots!! 5 stars
6/21/10 Sarah Best musical ever. Better than Mamma Mia! 5 stars
1/29/10 PAUL SHORTT A MUSICAL LACKING GRACE 2 stars
1/03/10 ACTION MOVIE FAN THIS IS NOT WHAT GNAGS ARE ABOUT 1958 NAKED CITY EPISODE NO MORE RUMBLES IS 1 stars
11/01/09 art ONLY FOR DUMMIE"S! 1 stars
6/24/09 art OVERRATED CRAP! 1 stars
5/30/09 art GREASE IS GREASY! 1 stars
1/13/09 Dark This movie was a real disaster.. al quaida used it to brainwash childrens 1 stars
10/26/08 tel You don't laugh at the jokes, but at the lack of common sense. 2 stars
5/27/08 Rune This movie sucks. Maybe the songs are well-made, but I shure don't like them. It's a B-movi 1 stars
4/12/08 casey oneill loved grease it was so cool 5 stars
4/03/08 Janice Keymer Fuck off you idiots who call it crap. Wankers. Grease rocks! 5 stars
3/23/08 mike crap crap crap 1 stars
1/27/08 ARJIE B.VARGAS I LOVE THE FILM TH GREASE ESPECIALLY THE MOVES OF JOHN TRAVOLTA 5 stars
1/12/08 Terri loved it.. gave a speech over it!!!! 500 stars!!!! 5 stars
11/07/07 mc nogin crap 1 stars
10/25/07 Pink Ladie who dosnt like this movie i mean common if you dont li this movie something worong with you 5 stars
10/20/07 Jordyn Ross BEST MOVIE IN THE WORLD!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/07 klove I loved it. 5 stars
7/18/07 ~chu chu~ Omg! i loved every minute of it da best movie ever! im goin 2 get da pink ladies jacket!!! 5 stars
7/10/07 Bitchflaps Nauseating and half-arsed. Still, it's not as bad as anything by Andrew Lloyd Webber. 2 stars
3/22/07 anggggg i liked it.. the people ARE kind of old though 4 stars
2/22/07 Beau ovverated and very cliched!!! great performances but dirty dancing id better 2 stars
2/21/07 action movie fan this is not the 1950,s it,s a joke 3 stars
2/17/07 RAQUEL CANO IT IS A WONDERFUL MOVIE!!! 5 stars
2/15/07 Sharon L I loved the movie it was cool . 5 stars
11/28/06 vince The movie will outlive this review.. 5 stars
10/04/06 kim its the best movie 5 stars
10/02/06 paul kretchmer they have altered and wreaked the soundtrack 1 stars
9/27/06 MeEeE THIS IS THE WORLDS BEST MUSICAL 5 stars
9/15/06 harry yeah its good 5 stars
9/15/06 Lisa BEST musical of all times LUV IT!!! 5 stars
8/14/06 Sharon this movie is brilliant and J.T. is sexy in this movie I want him 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena Fun to sing along too...a must see 5 stars
4/21/06 Becky What can I say... I love musicals. Stockard Channing is great. 5 stars
10/31/05 Wisamane This movie is better that now day musicals like chicago or Moulon rouge 5 stars
9/30/05 ed rubbbish 1 stars
8/16/05 ES Musicals + JT= boring, snooze ride for all 1 stars
7/20/05 Chris Overrated crap 1 stars
6/22/05 erin this movie will always be a classic in my eyes! 5 stars
6/21/05 Amanda Roberts I love this movie,I have been stuck watching it for about eleven years now ,good girliemovi 5 stars
5/28/05 jan martin I love this movie im actually doing a play on it at my high school!!!! 5 stars
5/24/05 jenn pretty good for its time. comedic and fun. 4 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers Classic! It does'nt get any better than this! Never gets old!! 5 stars
3/10/05 joan claudette its cute...and sandra has a very very good voice... as well as the others 4 stars
2/23/05 jj it was good 5 stars
2/19/05 Jeff Anderson THE PERFECT FILM FOR WHEN YOU'RE IN A BAD MOOD! LONG LIVE THE CLASSICS, SUCH AS THIS!!!!!!! 5 stars
2/17/05 Daveman All the quality of this film is on the surface, never to be taken too seriously. 4 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams stupid beyond belief 1 stars
9/01/04 samma GREASE IS THE WORD! 5 stars
8/19/04 Charles Pruitt WHO THE HELL ARE YOU TO SAY THAT STOCKARD CHANNING HAS NO TALENT, PULL YOUR HEAD OUT OF YOU 5 stars
8/16/04 PERLA E 2 stars
8/06/04 DM Fun but it's hard to believe someone like Rizzo would have existed in the 1950's 4 stars
8/02/04 Erin Best movie ever made 5 stars
7/25/04 Albert Fish all i can say is: cheesy cheesy movie...... 2 stars
5/05/04 Denise Duspiva Great cast 5 stars
5/04/04 Joseph Cicala nostalgia rules!!! 4 stars
5/02/04 Jack Sommersby Call me insane: I dig the sequel but have no love for the original. 2 stars
4/19/04 Newbia They can't sing, dance, or act. My school play was done better than this. 2 stars
4/14/04 Katie Townsend I loved it. how could anybody hate it? 5 stars
4/07/04 Ashley how could u dis this movie? 5 stars
2/29/04 Marilyn Wanamaker Whoever doesnt enjoy this movie has no imagination. The music and actors were great. 5 stars
2/26/04 manuel Wonderful movie on the youngs of working class in the US. The 50s are just an excuse, 4 stars
2/22/04 me a great film 5 stars
1/27/04 Carl Henry I think the movie was & still is awsome. 5 stars
12/19/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. I seen this movie 100 times! The last best musical of the 20th century. 5 stars
12/09/03 Samuel Why in the HELL did i watch this ?!? 1 stars
12/07/03 john charming and fun - a well done musical 5 stars
10/25/03 Megan Incredible 5 stars
9/12/03 kori this movie has an awful message, i think all copies should be burned 2 stars
9/08/03 Sugarfoot Twas okay... 2 stars
8/07/03 P.Rodriguez I really dislike this movie!!!!!! 1 stars
7/03/03 Lush It's not up there with West Side Story or Singin' In The Rain, but still very entertaining. 4 stars
6/07/03 emma kay r........ it was a good movie so every 1 stop knocking it,,,, for cryin out loud 5 stars
5/27/03 defranco71 Not just one of the best musicals, but one of the best movies ever. 5 stars
5/27/03 shelby mcelrath i think this movie was great. one of the best. 5 stars
3/19/03 mellor wicked 5 stars
3/18/03 Redbeard Good cinematography, good (not great) soundtrack, but pathetic characters and crap story. 2 stars
3/17/03 G-man great musical and film 5 stars
1/12/03 Dave Go and watch a true musical like the Wizard Of Oz or West Side Story, not this crap! 1 stars
1/07/03 John Aster Habig how does a punks attempt to devirgin a nice lady seem like a good idea for a musical 1 stars
11/25/02 BAM A GREAT MOVIE 5 stars
9/29/02 Peter Sherlock Nostalgia tops! 5 stars
9/04/02 Chris Wright Silly, but a lot of fun. A great feel good movie. 4 stars
9/03/02 Ramblin Wreck The Last of the Great Hollywood Musicals...........Grease is still the Word!! 5 stars
7/06/02 Roy Smith ONJ was tasty, tasty, but I'd rather not see it again either. 3 stars
6/15/02 PRiNCeSs Best by far!!!!!!!! Go the Pink Ladies 5 stars
6/11/02 qtpie Great musical and movie. 5 stars
4/03/02 Priscilla Postlethwaite Youth seem obsessed with this drivel. No wonder our youth are in trouble. 1 stars
3/20/02 Kandlle Great musical at a time when musicals weren't the "in thing." 4 stars
1/06/02 Lainey Johnny baby makes me cream 5 stars
11/20/01 amy taylor totally wicked it is the best film and will be remembered for many many many years to cum, 5 stars
11/16/01 Marie delCastillo great for the early 80's 3 stars
9/18/01 Butterbean My favorite musical! Channing will always be "Rizzo" to me! 5 stars
9/14/01 Kafrin & Stena I loved this movie! 5 stars
6/29/01 Mister Robinson better than the second 5 stars
6/21/01 dale hardiman australia 4 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe I never miss a movie where high school kids are played by 30 year olds 4 stars
6/14/01 Gary Junk, but highly enjoyable junk. Fuck John and Olivia, Channing is the star. 4 stars
6/09/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Definitely dated, but strangely charming. 4 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Very good movie. 5 stars
5/25/01 louis cunningham OLivia in tight pants -what more can i say Awesome 5 stars
5/23/01 Tim Maness Olivia rocks! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is the best musical ever. I love Newton-John and Travolta! 5 stars
3/12/01 Danny It was good. 1 stars
2/19/01 shelie it rocks 5 stars
2/17/01 patrickernspiker@hotmail.com this is the most successful hollywood musical EVER,in terms of money makers 5 stars
1/03/01 R.W. Welch Believe it or not, there once was a world pretty much like this. 4 stars
12/28/00 Turtle Great fun and great music! 4 stars
12/13/00 mankind BEST MOVIR OF ALL TIME! 5 stars
11/29/00 Cristopher Revilla it was a great musical, i liked it 5 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin kinda good, but preeeeetty boring 3 stars
10/05/00 Jed Sorry Oz I have to go against you. Flawed but overall great movie. 4 stars
10/05/00 lainey louise johnny baby rules 5 stars
7/31/00 Elijah Kick-ass soundtrack Livvy/Travolta exc.support cast-brilliant 5 stars
2/27/00 Richard Wright The songs are brilliant obviously, but am I the only one who thinks the scripts good too? 4 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Kinda hackneyed, kinda just-there, but enough oomph and gusto to keept it afloat. 4 stars
2/03/00 joe this movie sucks 1 stars
12/13/99 Brian Jacobson I give it 5 stars! grease is the word!! 5 stars
11/22/99 Linsey N. Maricle Grease is the best musical of all time. 5 stars
11/11/99 Rachael John Travolta is HOTT!!! Great Musical and A Great Movie. 5 stars
10/18/99 Larissa One of the best movies of all time! - a genuine classic 5 stars
10/12/99 natalie & amber this film is the best film we have ever seen and we love the music 5 stars
9/20/99 the Grinch Fuck this movie and fuck all you drama people who continually recite it!! 1 stars
9/06/99 Weird Andy American pop culture at its most vapid. 1 stars
6/25/99 David Keech The sound editing is lousy, and the script is terrible. Still, the songs are cool. 3 stars
6/22/99 Elizaveta One viewing and you are permanently scarred... 2 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 one fine creation! 4 stars
3/18/99 AMANDA I LOVE THIS MOVIE! 5 stars
3/04/99 Rachel Hey, it's kitsch, but it's still cool. 5 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Before my time. Nevertheless, pretty damn cool. 4 stars
1/10/99 twisted barbie overly dramatic, cheesy musical...FABULOUS!!!! 5 stars
11/01/98 Bad Kosh This movie will haunt you forever and ever. Permanently. 1 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob How can such a crappy film be sooo much fun...? 3 stars
9/29/98 katherine okay, so its a bit cheesy. but my friends and i have SO much fun singing and dancin goofily 4 stars
9/28/98 Heather Born to hand jive, oh yeah! 4 stars
9/27/98 Maegs This movie always has and always will PISS ME OFF. 1 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha i can sing that chang chang changaty chang shi bob thing you know? 5 stars
9/06/98 Helle Marie Please don`t shoot me for it- this is fuckin` great! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Summer days. Drifting away. Because I watched this movie. Damn women. 1 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Livvie's hair lookks stupid ass nowadays. Rizzo ruled. 3 stars
8/17/98 Miss Stress DANNY! that's about the only line i remember, and that's sad 3 stars
8/16/98 Johny God am I glad Travolta doesn't do this anymore 2 stars
8/15/98 Senor Frog It deserves a big poo on the head 3 stars
8/14/98 {{{OZ}}} I never understood all the fuss. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jun-1978 (PG)
  DVD: 19-Sep-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1998 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast