More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome62.69%
Worth A Look: 21.64%
Average: 8.58%
Pretty Bad: 2.99%
Total Crap: 4.1%

14 reviews, 184 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Call of the Wild, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Blood Quantum by Jay Seaver

I Am REN by Jay Seaver

Tread by Jay Seaver

Dead Dicks by Jay Seaver

Ford v Ferrari by Rob Gonsalves

Portrait of a Lady on Fire by Peter Sobczynski

Long Walk, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Ride Your Wave by Jay Seaver

Enter the Fat Dragon (2020) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Garden State
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Robert Flaxman

"A perfect microcosm of twentysomething angst."
5 stars

Calling a film like this Garden State is a bit like giving The Shawshank Redemption the name of Maine instead: yeah, it's set there, but that isn't really the point.

Sure, writer/director Zach Braff filmed all over northeast New Jersey, including in his home town of South Orange. He even included a drive-by shot of his old high school in the film Aside from a few identifiers, though, the state's role in the film is anonymously large: the fact that Andrew Largeman (Braff) has returned home is very important, but the fact that New Jersey is that home really isn't.

Andrew has returned to New Jersey for the first time in nine years to attend the funeral of his mother. At one point in the film, he ruminates on reaching a time when "the house you grew up in isn't really your home anymore," and what he finds in New Jersey fits that idea perfectly. The people he went to high school with have mostly turned into shiftless layabouts who spend a lot of their time doing drugs or finding ways to cheat the system.

From the start, Braff nails the awkwardness of returning home to find that things aren't as you left them. Andrew has a hard time relating to friends like Jesse (Armando Riesco), who was paid off handsomely after inventing a form of Velcro that didn't make noise and now spends his days in a mansion driving around in golf carts and doing little else. He doesn't do much better with Mark (Peter Sarsgaard), with whom he spends a lot of his time in the film but whose life choices he clearly finds problematic.

On the other hand, he meets Sam (Natalie Portman), with whom he quickly connects despite the oddity of their initial meeting (in the neurologist's office). Here Braff nails another critical aspect of the lives of those in their early to mid-twenties: the search for meaning. Andrew has had a lot of weird things happen in his life, and his acting work in Los Angeles and refusal to communicate with his psychiatrist father (Ian Holm) are efforts to avoid them. Coming home for his mother's funeral forces him to face a lot of the issues head on, and when he does, his relationship with Sam forces him to decide what he really considers important.

Previously known only for his work on the NBC comedy Scrubs, Braff emerges as a triple threat with Garden State. Not only does he have range as an actor, able to do both comedy and drama and feel totally natural all the way through, but he is also a more than capable writer and an intelligent director. Films where the writer directs - and especially films where the writer/director is the star and has some personal ties to the material even aside from having written it - are often doomed to be bloated and pretentious, as someone so involved has a hard time viewing his own work critically. Braff either has good advisors or astounding personal restraint, because almost none of Garden State feels inessential, a distinction true of few movies of any stripe, and true of even fewer movies about twentysomething angst.

Garden State talks about life without ever sounding too impressed with itself, and much of its comedy lies in subtle moments of interaction that are all the funnier because while slightly blown up, they're never that untrue. The film's most mediocre moments lie in its attempts to work in quirks that make its characters seem more interesting - not necessarily because the quirks are stupid, but because they add an unnecessary element of weirdness to characters that didn't need the prodding to be interesting to the audience. The characters in Garden State are interesting because they feel so real, and adding layers of needless and outlandish complexity draws the viewer out of the film. Braff only makes this mistake in a handful of places, though, so it's hardly a big problem.

Funny, thoughtful, and touching, Garden State is ultimately a surprisingly affecting film. Like last year's Lost in Translation, it gets its claws in and carries the viewer on a ride to an emotional ending that leaves us numb - not because it's downbeat or unsatisfying, but because it takes the characters away from us before we're ready to let them go.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8529&reviewer=385
originally posted: 10/10/04 18:12:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Sundance Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Sundance Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Seattle Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Seattle Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Los Angeles Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Leeds Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Leeds Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

8/29/12 Omlopez8 Great soundtrack 3 stars
6/27/11 DR "I love indie films"...Great. Too bad this one is empty and pretentious. 1 stars
6/06/11 Dorothy Rozdilsky I can relate to frustrated relatives 3 stars
2/07/10 art I don't know which is worse PORTMAN"s exotic dancer in CLOSER,or this NONSENSE! 1 stars
1/31/10 Simon Yes,very overt,purpose-bloated,and slightly immature- but that gets this generation right 4 stars
12/31/09 Dave Worst movie ever made. Appeals to stoners, idiots, and the easily amused. 1 stars
10/12/08 Samantha Pruitt great movie, Zach Braff is so awesome, and i love Natalie Portman! 4 stars
9/03/08 PAUL SHORTT A SIMPLISTIC AND INSINCERE CHARACTER PIECE WITH ELEMENTS OF SMUG COMEDY 1 stars
2/10/08 mb Left after an hour ... it was empty ... lacked life. 2 stars
6/26/07 Bill Witty, intelligent script with great characters, and a wonderful, feel-good ending. 5 stars
5/08/07 Jennifer garden state is this poor fuck's favorite movie. and i'm not even from new jersey. 5 stars
4/30/07 Tristan The most wonderful movie that I can't ever get bored of. Those who don't like it are ugly. 5 stars
2/27/07 Asian God 94 Briliant. Inspirational. Hilarious. Natalie Portman. Need I say more? 5 stars
2/24/07 dbx laughably overdirected, pop-indie film. but some people seem to like that sort of thing . 2 stars
2/18/07 Nick P TO the people who didn't like it, you are wrong, Garden State is great, great acting &story 5 stars
12/16/06 Nici I love this movie. It is the best movie I have ever seen!!! 5 stars
12/12/06 Terra Landolt Freaking amazing movie, and I watch it on a regular basis. It surpassed my expectations. 5 stars
11/18/06 Kirsty Creative and Pensive...mildly life-changing! 5 stars
10/06/06 Bitchflaps Funy at first, but quickly degenerates into maudlin mediocrity. 1 stars
10/04/06 Henrik Fruergaard Hansen One of my personel favourite movies of all time! 5 stars
8/09/06 cico its so special and unique 5 stars
8/06/06 Doug Awesome 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 good film, unique and interesting 5 stars
6/29/06 Ricardo bad movie, bad actors 1 stars
6/27/06 Kimberly I enjoyed watching this one, interesting 4 stars
5/04/06 Christopher Lindstrom Feel good and simply creative...good for sensitive types. 5 stars
3/24/06 Osama Are you kidding me? Contrived, cliched, natalie portman is god awful too 2 stars
2/14/06 Lea Dahmer Best movie ever, 5 stars. 5 stars
11/29/05 Sully excellent, excellent, excellent 5 stars
10/16/05 millersxing One must desperately search the abyss for human relatedness in Garden State. 4 stars
10/10/05 Ionicera good until he screamed into the abyss 4 stars
9/22/05 Fritz Light, likable dramcom, but instantly forgettable. 3 stars
9/15/05 Jonathon Holmes the best directorial debut i've seen since Sam Mendez w/"American Beauty" 5 stars
8/23/05 Naka Pulses with a ethereal beauty and sly sense of humor. One of a kind. 5 stars
8/19/05 ALDO real overrated hip movie that thinks it's slice-of-life and director gets to kiss hot babe 3 stars
7/07/05 Phil M. Aficionado Vivid characters in a reality-evoking fantasy. Read Kandel's review; it's mine, too. 4 stars
6/01/05 Scott Reynolds whimsical, light, full of real feeling moments abruptly shot to hell by a boat in a dump. 3 stars
5/27/05 Indrid Cold Gee, it sure is nice when smokin' hot girls like us ugly guys for no apparent reason. 4 stars
5/21/05 hl good movie 5 stars
5/15/05 Renee Tolson Love it 5 stars
5/10/05 zeitgeist Over-rated, but good. Pretentious in a palatable way 4 stars
4/17/05 sidman656 this movie has a vibe to it, a flow 5 stars
4/16/05 Michael Lloyd extremely good movie, brilliant debut for Zach Braff 5 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway It was okay 3 stars
4/08/05 Lina Correa Great director, funny and "nice" 4 stars
4/01/05 craig varney this garden is in a sad state it's been picked clean of plot and substance 1 stars
3/30/05 Skeeve WARNING: THIS FILM NOT TO BE WATCHED IN A SOBER STATE. 4 stars
3/28/05 Charlene Javier Not so bad. 4 stars
3/27/05 Victor Toledo I really enjoyed this film much more than I originally thought I would. 5 stars
3/26/05 Denise ok 3 stars
3/25/05 hannaho A good movie, but not exactly great. 4 stars
3/24/05 Colleen Goldrick Loved it 5 stars
3/23/05 Alice Colwell good movie 4 stars
3/11/05 The Talking Elbow Sign me up for those five star reviews. 5 stars
2/24/05 GS Over rated - Portman's quirky performaces weren't very good. 3 stars
2/22/05 re morgan cool soundtrack for sho 4 stars
2/22/05 Jeff Incredible film, hip yet introspective 5 stars
2/16/05 Bobby da Squid Fantastic film, top to bottom. Witty, sad, and real. 5 stars
2/14/05 ELI Totally one of the best movies of the year! I LOVED it 5 stars
2/12/05 Ig Great movie 4 stars
2/12/05 John Jankowski Great acting, and one of the best movie soundtracks in a long time 5 stars
2/11/05 Voncile Mayes Great first time effort but not without flaws, however I still loved this film. 4 stars
2/10/05 Maggie Beautifully done, good acting, amazing music, and freakin funny. A must see. 5 stars
2/09/05 Lisa Jochelson It was good. But I didn't get it so much. 3 stars
2/07/05 Kara Neary This is definately one of my favorites...the movie of our generation 5 stars
2/06/05 DM Holy shit. 5 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw It was very good, but it was a bit creepy in some ways to me also lol. 4 stars
2/05/05 Susan Chamberlain Very strange, but I liked it anyway. 4 stars
2/05/05 youreo More interesting watching Ms Portman's performance than flat Zach. 4 stars
2/03/05 Clifford C Gardner Pleasantly surprised - some of these kids can act 5 stars
2/01/05 april gupton LOVED IT 5 stars
2/01/05 Andrea Haresign I laughed, I cried... I wanna see it again! 5 stars
1/30/05 Xander The most beautiful, touching, and powerful film i've ever seen 5 stars
1/30/05 waldo Put a romantic evening together, some wine, some pot, and watch this movie. 5 stars
1/29/05 govenar Great beginning, then a little slow, but still good. 4 stars
1/23/05 Rob McKeown loved it... 5 stars
1/21/05 Uncle Phucker Simple but hit me right in the motherfucking heart. 5 stars
1/19/05 Z Amazing movie... great script, GREAT acting... good quirky 5 stars
1/18/05 chris. not many movie just make me feel good. this one does. 5 stars
1/15/05 TheViper The dialogue between Braff and Portman was artificial. 1 stars
1/13/05 jada quirky doesn't alway mean good 3 stars
1/08/05 Lucas Stenz Only worth watching if you're home w/ the flu 2 stars
1/06/05 ry the most original movie i've seen in years 5 stars
1/03/05 BobK898 Portman's character not believable, couldn't wait till it was over 1 stars
12/27/04 The Mockingbird so let go so let go just get in,for the effort of intelligent writing and honest acting 4 stars
12/27/04 Steve Strangeness for no reason; I just didn't care what happened. 2 stars
12/27/04 SEX PIMP natalie is hot 5 stars
12/25/04 Des Brilliant, i came out of the theater with a smile glued on my face that didnt go away 5 stars
12/20/04 fowle fantastic 5 stars
12/17/04 napoleon dynamite simply brilliant! 5 stars
12/17/04 Carl Utterback more genuinely funny and fun than any hollywood film about an estranged son burying his mom 4 stars
12/13/04 Bonnie Poon A fantastic film which explores depressed and confused people... like myself... 5 stars
12/10/04 xxx xxx 5 stars
12/07/04 Caleb Larson This movie was terrible. The script was artificial & forced, & the characters were grating. 1 stars
12/03/04 dave great movie. seen better, but worth the time & money 4 stars
11/22/04 Aisha Grace Beautiful movie. It made me laugh, cry and I simply just enjoy it. Loved it!! 5 stars
11/20/04 Desperado Apparently the last post was a blind dipshit, great movie one of my favs ever Braff rocks 5 stars
11/17/04 Jimmy Danger This movie totally rocked, I am so glad my friend "dragged" me to go see it. I loved it. 5 stars
11/16/04 josh great movie, like vanilla sky 5 stars
11/16/04 Zel :) this is my favorite movie ever. Gotta love natalie. Zach is great too!!!! 5 stars
11/12/04 Bairbre Ní Mhídheach Such a brilliant film, I'm still laughing at the different bits, it was quirky I love that 5 stars
10/29/04 Rick H This is truly a great contemporary indie insta-classic. 5 stars
10/20/04 Mike V One of the best movies I've seen 5 stars
10/19/04 Erik this movie is a waste of time and money 2 stars
10/19/04 Amber see it with someone you love, you'll fall in love with them all over again. :-) 5 stars
10/18/04 Rachael it's definitely the kind of movie that makes you happy to be alive 5 stars
10/13/04 Patrick one of the best movies i've seen in a long time. 5 stars
10/10/04 bill kaye Walked out. Bored to tears after 45 minutes. 2 stars
10/07/04 ryan it makes you want to fall in love, and if youre already in love, love that person even more 5 stars
10/06/04 T. Maj Deserves all the praise the dreary "Lost in Translation" got last year 5 stars
10/04/04 Ira Fell asleep twice -- movie a total ego trip 2 stars
9/30/04 LJ Life changing movie 5 stars
9/28/04 Justin Zach Braff captures what it is to be apart of this generation in a genuine and unique way 5 stars
9/28/04 ALFRED GOOD ACTING, COOL SONGS,WELL WRITTEN 5 stars
9/28/04 BrianWilly Pure. Genius. 5 stars
9/27/04 alicia it made me want to die and live all at once 5 stars
9/25/04 Valerie Jackson One of the best movies I have ever seen. Zach Braff puts real life on the screen. 5 stars
9/22/04 Franklin Dam Incredible movie, fantastic characters/development - Great Soundtrack 5 stars
9/19/04 mar jones great movie, unbelievable how drugs screw up your life and you continue to do them 4 stars
9/16/04 Clare AMAZING movie; I loved Sam and the deep philosophical themes that this movie brings up. 5 stars
9/16/04 Ray Superb 5 stars
9/14/04 Michael Donnelly so far this year probably the best movie i think people of all ages can relate to this film 5 stars
9/14/04 jessie i saw it twice over the weekend, absolutly drew me in, the characters, moments, music, issu 5 stars
9/13/04 Sean Most beautiful film I've seen since Rushmore 5 stars
9/12/04 karedog loved it 5 stars
9/10/04 Jeanette like, the greatest movie EVAR! 5 stars
9/09/04 Leida Fabulous Movie! Very sweet and entertaining. 5 stars
9/09/04 Prospero7 Despite a predictable ending, the film is beautifully surreal. 4 stars
9/09/04 Jaime Excellent, I laughed, I cryed and I loved! 5 stars
9/07/04 Thom Lyons A scarely accomplished debut - outstanding! 5 stars
9/07/04 Ben Smith the best film since A Beautiful Mind 5 stars
9/07/04 Frank Lynch Worth seeking out 5 stars
9/05/04 gsfan Real and yet surreal, emotional yet unmanipulative, totally honest and refreshing 5 stars
9/04/04 Titus Beautiful and touching, funny and sincere. Great work. 5 stars
9/04/04 Kate Extraordinarily slice of life with a touch of quirky humor - fantastic. 5 stars
9/04/04 Desperado A inspiring movie, one of the best of any genre that I have ever seen, Magnificent 5 stars
9/01/04 Kyle Dude, this is my new favorite movie 5 stars
8/30/04 Gabriella Excellent movie. 5 stars
8/30/04 Tony Frost Almost everything a 20something thinks but can't put a name to. 5 stars
8/30/04 Peter James Touching and well done, also stretches past the traditional romantic comedy 5 stars
8/29/04 Brad Impressive! Great film. Portman and Braff had great chemistry 5 stars
8/28/04 Kate so, so very real 5 stars
8/27/04 Vitality1 Zach Braff has a bright future ahead of him 5 stars
8/25/04 Andrew Wright After being teased by the frou frou song & trailer, this came to town. I'm glad it did. 5 stars
8/24/04 FrayLo Great story, believable emotions. 5 stars
8/24/04 zora Every part of it was well done,interesting+indie feeling.I liked it months before I saw it. 5 stars
8/24/04 JOHN HUMPHREYS ENTHRALLING 5 stars
8/24/04 LynFisher Thoroughly enjoyed it except for the end, where I thought it could have been less predicta 5 stars
8/21/04 Bruce Lamb this movie sucks. It is totally predictable. Not funny, not insightful. Sorry/ 1 stars
8/21/04 Peter James This year's Lost In Translation 5 stars
8/20/04 Erik Intrigued by the preview and then wowed by the movie. Couldn't have been better. 5 stars
8/20/04 A F Amazing. Best film so far this year. 5 stars
8/19/04 Colleen Makes you feel good. Plus the soundtrack rocked. I loved the postal service remake. 5 stars
8/17/04 Tony Gilbert One of my all time top five favorite movies 5 stars
8/15/04 Sherril The movie is touted as a romantic comedy, but it is so much more and it makes you cry. 5 stars
8/15/04 KCobain Quite wonderful 5 stars
8/14/04 Michael Fantastic. I was really expecting a lot from this movie, and it exceeded all my expectatio 5 stars
8/13/04 Elena A little clicheef but very visually innovative and stunning 4 stars
8/13/04 Jin Best in show. 5 stars
8/11/04 jacob max winkler one of the best I've seen. truly wonderful. 5 stars
8/09/04 sam a indie version of 'orange county'.A little cliched but would be great asa series on the WB 4 stars
8/09/04 amanda this movie is fabulous. it's beautiful and funny and just makes you feel good. 5 stars
8/07/04 Kurt Great writing, great acting, great characters. 5 stars
8/07/04 Stryder So Good!! Reminds you how most modern movies stink. 5 stars
8/06/04 Bossy John I'm in my late 20s and this is my new favorite film. Ever. 5 stars
8/05/04 blah blah 5 stars
8/01/04 Kevin I threw American Beauty in the garbage! I've never been so moved by a movie! 5 stars
7/27/04 Jeremy Most moving and real movie I've ever seen 5 stars
7/02/04 Carlie What a Great Movie!!!! 5 stars
7/02/04 jeffrey True & believable story. Wortht the money to see 5 stars
6/25/04 Morgan Davis Simply a classic!!! Zach Braff deserves the highest of praise for his first film. 5 stars
6/18/04 Pinkline Jones Puts Burke's Backyard to shame 5 stars
6/15/04 Jessica saw it at sundance -beautiful, funny, imaginative - can't wait to see it again. 5 stars
6/15/04 Star This film is quirky, brilliant, funny, heartwarming and so crazy that it's believable. 5 stars
6/12/04 Bill Personally, one of the best films I have ever seen. 5 stars
6/09/04 Jeff Saw it at Rockefellar. Very moving, captured my attention! 4 stars
2/27/04 Betty White I personally found myself disappointed with the picture; well-written but overplodded. 3 stars
2/25/04 Mark Very funny stuff, similar in some ways to his character on scrubs 5 stars
2/07/04 brafflover Saw this Sundance! This is the best movies I've seen in yrs. The songs seriously ROCKED!!!! 5 stars
1/31/04 Katherine Saw the last screening @ Sundance, got blown away. Braff = exceptional, inspirational even. 5 stars
1/31/04 Boombah Baby Just fantastic. Loved every second. Laughed from the first scene. 5 stars
1/26/04 sam i too saw garden state at sundance 2004 and i loved it. bravo zack braff! jersey rocks! 5 stars
1/22/04 Andy Tarr Excellent Film 5 stars
1/20/04 Super Fan All the charm of Wes Anderson, but with a lot more heart. A classic!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-2004 (R)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  10-Oct-2004

Australia
  25-Nov-2004


Directed by
  Zach Braff

Written by
  Zach Braff

Cast
  Zach Braff
  Natalie Portman
  Peter Sarsgaard
  Ian Holm
  Jean Smart
  Ron Leibman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast