More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome: 13.82%
Worth A Look32.24%
Average: 19.74%
Pretty Bad: 23.68%
Total Crap: 10.53%

10 reviews, 92 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Jojo Rabbit by Peter Sobczynski

Human Lost by Jay Seaver

Tammy and the T-Rex by Jay Seaver

Extra Ordinary by Jay Seaver

Daniel Isn't Real by Jay Seaver

Midsommar by Rob Gonsalves

Blood on Her Name by Jay Seaver

Parasite (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

American Fighter by Jay Seaver

Moon in the Hidden Woods, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


50 First Dates
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"Rom-Com # 4: Average Guy Falls For Eccentric Girl With A Condition"
1 stars

“50 First Dates” is one of this season’s Pleasant Romantic Comedy Guaranteed Not To Offend, Arouse or Provoke Thought. February is often filled with PRCGNTOAoPTs. History has proven the seasonal box office success of this sub-genre with the likes of “The Wedding Singer” and “Just Married,” two movies that perfectly fit the PRCGNTOAoPT mold. “50 First Dates,” like this season’s “The Prince & Me” and countless others, strives for nothing more than to be likable, and it hardly ever is, but most of the time, you’re left sitting there thinking: “I’ve seen this before. Where in God’s name have I seen this before?!? Did I just rent this movie?”

(See also Chasing Liberty, Along Came Polly, Win A Date With Tad Hamilton and The Prince & Me)

Like many PRCGNTOAoPTs, “50 First Dates” stars two well-liked leads—in this case Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore—both of whom have had incredible luck at the box office and seem to be appealing enough to cater to the teenyboppers who will attend. I liked both stars in “The Wedding Singer,” but they usually run hot and cold with me. This movie will likely attract couples who have little to no discriminating tastes, couples who just want a Pleasant night out at the movies where they won’t be jerked around too much by anything unfamiliar, couples who rent “One Fine Day” and don’t mind paying the late fees.


And like many PRCGNTOAoPTs, the story concerns two characters at seemingly opposite ends from one another. “50 First Dates” fits the PRCGNTOAoPT mold of Average Guy Falls For Eccentric Girl With A Disorder. And like many AGFFEGWADs, the Average Guy, Henry Roth (Sandler), and the Eccentric Girl, Lucy Whitmore (Barrymore), start off liking one another just fine. Henry is an island local who works at a Sea World-type amusement park. He has never been married and likes to tell women lies (“I’m a secret agent,” that sort of thing) so they’ll sleep with him

Along Comes Lucy, a nice girl who falls for Henry’s charms, but here’s the catch: She can’t remember him the next day. Eventually it comes out that she has short-term memory loss and forgets everything she learned the previous day whenever she wakes up in the morning. Her family, consisting of her father Marlin (Blake Clark) and her physique-obsessed, steroid-injecting brother Doug (Sean Astin), try to help her out by having the same day over and over again, which I’m not sure really helps. Sure is depressing, though, especially when we learn they actually watch “The Sixth Sense” over and over again.

Eager to win her heart in spite of her condition, Henry does what he can to help her build memories and preserve them. He makes videotapes for her to watch every day when she wakes up and tries to fill her in on all that she has missed over the past year. Her family has mixed reactions to this, but allow him to give it a shot since their methods don’t seem to be working. The movie than goes back and forth between “They’re meant to be” and “they’re not meant to be” and stretches it out to the point where it has more endings than “Magnolia” and “ShortCuts” combined. But it all works out in the end.

So, fine. Nothing wrong with that, except that I didn’t hear that much laughter coming from the average American Teenage Citizen audience with whom I sat. In fact, “50 First Dates” turns into a sad and depressing experience that tries to break the sorrow by inserting scenes of “wackiness” between Sandler and Rob Schneider. Yes, Rob Schneider. This should be illegal. Aside from one truly hilarious moment involving Sean Astin and a chandelier, “50 First Dates” plays like an endless series of possible endings to a Dana Carvey comedy I’ve been trying to forget about.

Most Rom-Coms like this can be frustrating in that one wishes they would either be better or worse. “Just please arouse something in me! Make me sit up and take notice! Make me angry! Just do something!” One likes to come out of a movie remembering something substantial once they bust open the exit doors and throw away their pretzel poppers. That actually happens here! You will definitely walk out staring at the marquees above every other theater door knowing you should have made a wiser choice. But even that part of the experience won’t stay with you because you’ll soon be back in the freezing winter air trying to remember where you parked your car. At that point, you’ll wish “50 First Dates” would feel like a distant dream. It won’t, because the damn thing never, ever, EVER ends!

Unless one of these non-dreamlike PRCGNTOAoPTs is called “50 First Dates,” they usually go down easily. I guess I just prefer rom-coms to stick out like a yawning child sitting behind President Bush during one of his speeches. “50 First Dates” really shouldn’t crowd-please for the duration of its annoyingly non-punctual 90-105 minute running time, but the box office numbers suggest that it already has. One wishes that the writers in Hollywood would figure out a way to create an original love story instead of just recycling old bits from great Bill Murray movies. But as I said before, it’s February and history has proven the success of this sub-genre at this time of year. The biggest challenge we will get out of this film is not how to pronounce AGFFEGWAD, but actually how to sit through it and forget it entirely.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8698&reviewer=233
originally posted: 04/02/04 15:21:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/09/14 Heidi Embrey Love this movie. Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore have great chemistry together 5 stars
2/19/13 the truth a real man only needs 1 3 stars
11/19/12 Sean Harrison Not that grate but still better than anything Sandler has done recently. 3 stars
12/21/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Has some funny moments, but not enough to make up for a dumb ("cute") ending 2 stars
10/25/10 Frank Fontaine If you stop and think about it for 1 second a very depressing movie. Agressively unfunny. 1 stars
9/27/10 jennifer kimberly super funny never get tired of it 4 stars
3/06/09 Elaine i love this film so much.. i saw it with my friends.. and i fell in love with it!! 5 stars
11/28/08 Shaun Wallner Very Funny! 4 stars
7/30/08 the dork knight Adam Sandler is no longer evil. He makes good movies now 4 stars
3/02/08 SamanthaPayntr i really liked this movie! very funny. but sad at the end. 4 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White Sweet romantic comedy one to see over and over 5 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia You'll laugh, you'll puke, you'll roll your eyes, you'll lapse into a diabetic coma. 4 stars
5/11/07 MP Bartley I'm with Rob - surprisingly sweet, touching and winning despite Schneider's awful presence 4 stars
4/18/07 Stevo UK Unfunny and as deep as a thin crust pizza, this marks the beggining of the end for sandler. 3 stars
4/04/07 David Pollastrini Drew Barrymore is hot in this! 4 stars
3/30/07 fools♫gold creative, funny, probably Sandler's best, what more can convert you to watching? 5 stars
3/06/07 Robin Hudspeth Really a tragic story underlying some good comedy. 5 stars
2/01/07 Matt Silly premise, but who cares? Light fluff, enjoy it for what it is. 3 stars
12/06/06 Sharon I LOVE this movie! Great love comedy, A+! 5 stars
11/30/06 Stanley Thai A good funny film. 4 stars
7/10/06 R.W.Welch Hardly Neil Simon stuff, but has some effective scenes. 3 stars
7/08/06 NS Rob Schneider is hilarious! 4 stars
6/09/06 Wendy I love the film very much ! 4 stars
5/18/06 Roy Drew, as cute as ever 4 stars
5/02/06 Anthony Feor Barrymore and Sandler were good once, don't push it! 2 stars
4/28/06 Annie G The only Adam Sandler film I like ... in fact, I actually bought this one. 4 stars
3/07/06 Steven Lewis Adam Sandler is still just as funny in a more calm romantic comedy. 4 stars
12/20/05 kr another great Adam Sandler movie gotta love it 4 stars
12/10/05 cody a very good movie staring adam and drew in best perfomances ever, nice ending 4 stars
8/31/05 natalie love it 5 stars
7/18/05 Nicole Eh....not really my type of film, as I typically do not like Adam Sandler 2 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel Hey Drew...lisping isn't acting. 1 stars
5/12/05 Mike Better than I expected, quite funny in parts. 3 stars
4/11/05 The Talking Elbow Great Premise meets bad Rob Schneider and Sandler jokes 3 stars
2/10/05 Just Me Horrible, like every other Sandler movie. 2 stars
1/29/05 blueviolet Such a sweet love story, one of my faves 5 stars
1/27/05 Stephanie It was an awesome movie, but not the GREATEST from Drew and Adam 4 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams I thought it was cute. 4 stars
10/28/04 Georgie Porgie How sweet was Doug! lother doth the dithes 5 stars
9/27/04 silver I like how Adam Sandler carried the movie 4 stars
7/31/04 John Aster Habig it's ok but Roger Ebert has really lowered the bar 4 stars
7/24/04 Sandy Turynowicz Different,sometimes funny & sad. 4 stars
7/23/04 Jannet Kwan This movie is sort of funny. Rob Schneider stole the show! 3 stars
7/21/04 Harry J Barely an average rating. Not half as good as Happy Gilmore. 3 stars
7/17/04 legend A fairly decent date movie. Had some funny moments. 4 stars
7/09/04 Confessions Of A Teenage Trauma Queen How does the doctor know what J. Edgar Hoover's ass looked like? Apart from a few moments, 2 stars
7/06/04 James Kustes One of the worst Sandler movies 1 stars
7/05/04 michaelb14 one of Sandlers better, a funny sweet movie 4 stars
6/27/04 cinkcool Not bad. 4 stars
6/22/04 Marc Basque One of Sandler's better films...though that's not saying much. 3 stars
5/29/04 J Drew Barrymore and Sandler work great together! 4 stars
5/25/04 Sheila Evans At least Drew Scarymore is a bit less scary than when she played Helen Zass. 3 stars
4/15/04 Jeff MacIver Aside from some strange Sandler-movie moments, I *really* enjoyed this light comedy. 4 stars
4/13/04 ME AWESOME! 5 stars
4/13/04 Chris Sandler made up for "Anger Mangement" with this. Cute, funny but still Sandle = gross 4 stars
4/08/04 Valarie Funny!! 5 stars
4/05/04 David Ground Hog Day clone, but an extremely funny one 5 stars
4/05/04 Charlene Javier Worth the price of admission. 4 stars
3/29/04 Blues Singer Babe Awesome i luv the walrus and the penguin ULA ROKS! 5 stars
3/26/04 Vikki Fox very funny and entertaining 4 stars
3/26/04 Amy Adam and Drew team up once again for another unforgettable romantic comedy 4 stars
3/24/04 Reini Urban Drew was always one of favorites, and though it's not a top movie I love it. 5 stars
3/24/04 sophia 2 THUMBS UP 5 stars
3/21/04 avinash its a good date movie!! 4 stars
3/19/04 sarah nicole is going to be famous one day! f*** see her movies!nicoles beautiful! 5 stars
3/18/04 rachel burke its okay not good or bad 3 stars
3/18/04 Maria Loved the show!! A must see!! 5 stars
3/17/04 Mike Erdelyi I had a great time at the Flick It was a good time. 3 stars
3/16/04 alex funny.. at times. most adam sandler movies are funny though 3 stars
3/14/04 E-Rock A cute movie, with funny moments abound. Could do without Schneider, though... 4 stars
3/12/04 Phyllis Not as good as The Wedding Singer, but if you liked that, you'll probably like this one too 4 stars
3/08/04 Marthe Roe enjoy the movie very much 4 stars
3/05/04 Goofy Maxwell Sun-baked Sandler-Barrymore for mindless consumption?... Brilliant! 4 stars
3/01/04 Sir Spam-a-Lot Freaky, but better than expected 3 stars
3/01/04 sarah clarke excellent 5 stars
2/29/04 actionjackson2099 Rob Schnieder was hilarious but, Drew Barrymore isn't the best actress for a comedy. 3 stars
2/23/04 8=====D it was repetive and boring and sad,dull as dirt plot 2 stars
2/22/04 nancy liked it the 1st time i saw it, LOVED it the 2nd time, as it really grew on me! 4 stars
2/20/04 LEHUA IT WAS AIIGHT, HAWAII SCENES WAS SWEET 3 stars
2/19/04 Cheeseball!!! I love this movie !!! It's my all time favourite! 5 stars
2/18/04 Allie E. I thought this movie showed the sensitive and loving side of Adam Sandler. It was great. 4 stars
2/18/04 Jin This drivel is an insult to Groundhog Day. 1 stars
2/18/04 wicked_3 IT BLOWS 1 stars
2/17/04 ian TERRIBLE 1 stars
2/17/04 Henry Kay I kind of liked it. It's Sandler not Sean Penn. It entertains. 3 stars
2/17/04 Ned Rubin Execrable,exploitative sophmoric "comedy" by and about the brain damaged. 1 stars
2/16/04 T.Kittlitz Great Movie - Makes you feel good 5 stars
2/16/04 Linzo The best part of the movie was the Hawaii scenes. And that just sucks. 1 stars
2/16/04 the gourd Anyone who enjoys this type of shit needs to have their fucking head caved in with a brick. 1 stars
2/15/04 Tony this is getting some harsh reviews 4 stars
2/14/04 cd funny 5 stars
2/13/04 Todd Typical Sandler bullshit. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Feb-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 15-Jun-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Mar-2004


Directed by
  Peter Segal

Written by
  George Wing
  Lowell Ganz
  Babaloo Mandel

Cast
  Adam Sandler
  Drew Barrymore
  Sean Astin
  Missi Pyle
  Rob Schneider
  Dan Aykroyd



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast