More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.15

Awesome: 23.6%
Worth A Look28.09%
Average: 11.24%
Pretty Bad: 13.48%
Total Crap: 23.6%

5 reviews, 59 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Deathstalker II by Jack Sommersby

Ambition by Jack Sommersby

Blackout by Jack Sommersby

Backfire by Jack Sommersby

Hit List, The (1993) by Jack Sommersby

Banker, The by Jack Sommersby

Boogey Man/The Devonsville Terror, The by Jack Sommersby

Truck Stop Women/Stunts by Jack Sommersby

Competition, The by Jack Sommersby

Hollywood Harry by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Eurotrip
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Hello, Michelle Trachtenberg!"
3 stars

It's legal to say that, right? Good. So EuroTrip. Comedy. Road movie. Teen crap. Did I laugh? Yeah. Sorry, I know I should feel dirty, but it made me giggle. The queue to sue me starts to the left.

Picture An American Werewolf In Paris without any werewolves. Picture Van Wilder in Rome. Picture any 80's teen film that grossed under ten million on a $3m budget. That's EuroTrip.

"This isn't where I parked my car."

Scott (the unknown Scott Mechlowicz) is a boring high school grad looking towards college. He's been dating the hottest girl in school, but she's just announced that she's been doing another guy (Matt Damon in a ten-second cameo spot) for the last year, and that he's written a song about it which will be played to the entire graduating class.

So, like, sucks to be you, Scotty.

Thankfully, being as Scotty inhabits a place called Teen Schlock World, he has three friends. One is a slacker with wacky T-shirts by the name of Cooper (the unknown Jacob Pitts), another is a total Carlton Banks (hey, a Fresh Prince reference! - he's played by the unknown Travis Wester), and he's the twin of a hot tomboy who nobody seems to notice is hot (it is an 80's formula film after all - she's played by Michelle Trachtenberg).

So Scott gets dumped, then goes home to his computer with which he's been chatting to a German dude called Mike for a few months. Scott's persuaded by Cooper that this German guy must be gay, so when Mike offers to come to the US, Scott has a minor shitfit and tells the guy not to talk to him anymore. Unfortunately for Scott, Mike's name is actually Mieke - a girl's name in Germany, and Mieke (Jessica Boehrs) is hot. Real hot.

Which makes her a perfect rebound candidate. Only now she's blocked Scott's emails. So rather than set up another email account, he decides he must go to Berlin and see her in person. Cue four friends on the road in Europe trying to help their buddy meet the internet chat partner of his dreams.

"Ah! Here it is, Bratislava. Capitol of Slovakia. Here's an interesting fact: You made out with your sister! "

The original title of this film was The Ugly Americans, and that would totally have been an apt title, because these guys are just boobs. As you'd expect, every decision leads to trouble, every turn is a wrong one, and every person they meet is a European stereotype of the highest order. For example, when they ask a Polack when the train is coming, he says "Soon! They're building it now!" When they make it to mieke's house (she's not there), her little brother paints a Hitler mustache on himself and goosesteps around the living room. Yeah. It's a bit like that.

But what doesn't stink about EuroTrip is two things - first, some of it is actually witty. Most of it falls flat, but enough of it brings laughs for the film to get by without being boring. The other bonus comes from the inclusion of Michelle Trachtenberg, who clearly had been convinced that this was going to be a huge hit that would make people forget she used to be a little kid on TV. Of course, Elizabeth Berkley once made that mistake too, and we all remember what happened there...

Trachtenberg is actually very enjoyable in the film, despite the fact that most of the dialogue and a good chunk of the scenes are weak as three-day old bathwater. She'll be one to watch once she gets off the Teen People circuit and starts stretching her comedy skills stronger stuff. And she's not hard to look at, which helps.

"That's one crazy Pope!"

On the teen gross-out-film scale, EuroTrip rates lower than American Pie and higher than American Wedding, which makes it worth catching on TV at 2am on a drunken Sunday. It's okay... but could have been so much better if someone had bothered getting some actual writers on the case.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=8747&reviewer=1
originally posted: 05/31/04 12:27:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/11/13 Charles Tatum Armisen is funny, the rest is not. 1 stars
3/18/11 art PURE MONKEY BUSSINESS! 4 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Had some funny parts. 4 stars
1/20/08 Dan huntley BEST FILM EVER. Screw the bar-studs who rated this fantastic film poorly. 5 stars
7/28/07 matt amateurish but really funny 5 stars
2/08/07 David Pollastrini hot chicks, not much else 2 stars
11/02/06 3man Disgustingly funny. One of the few movies to make me laugh out loud. 4 stars
9/19/06 PD Uneven but well-meaning, bejeweled with many comedic gems 4 stars
7/13/06 EZ I LOVE BOOBS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/13/06 room42more Poorly written and directed, but still entertaining 3 stars
1/02/06 cody a cool sequel to roadtrip, funny and has sexy girls to boot, use her leg for a humping post 4 stars
9/14/05 matt ignore the critics, absolutely hilarious 5 stars
8/08/05 ffffffffffffff great 5 stars
7/20/05 JayJay NielNiel WimerWimmer Smith IT ROCKED OMG I LOVE IT I WANNA DO JAMIE 5 stars
2/14/05 Littlepurch Had low expectations but actualy laughed harder than i have in ages! Trachtenburg was best. 5 stars
2/03/05 BoyInTheDesignerBubble A badly made movie, but funny in spots. 3 stars
1/20/05 X-naut lol as funny as american pie but cooper is no stifler ^_^ 5 stars
1/15/05 Pee-Wee Herman So, good I help but touch myself 5 stars
1/04/05 M. Diddy This was very funny 5 stars
12/25/04 Freddy hilarious stuff. I can't believe all the bad ratings! 5 stars
12/18/04 Imperfecto Why can't we all just get along? 1 stars
11/12/04 Balint ***** 5 stars
9/27/04 P.Rodriguez about as funny as a wet fart 1 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Funny 4 stars
8/11/04 howdinski a very funny film well worthe a watch by any one who enjoyed the first 1 or american pie 4 stars
8/09/04 Kerry It was so raunchy it was funny. 5 stars
8/04/04 Max heh heh Fluggenhaimer I mean this is definetly where I parked my car 5 stars
7/04/04 petelb The "worst movie ever made". This movie is plain garbage! 1 stars
6/25/04 Gray better than soul plane 3 stars
6/12/04 DJ ERIC 88 cheech and chong woud be proud, made it up as they were filming it! i was embarrased! 2 stars
6/09/04 phoenix Very funny. Matt Damon was hilarious, and heMic 4 stars
6/03/04 Collin Dumb, shallow, potintless and grossly offensive are the terms that best describe this film 1 stars
5/22/04 Sheila Evans One of the better "teen" comedies. A few farts from fight cast members would make perfect! 4 stars
5/16/04 zxc this movie sucks 2 stars
5/16/04 Jenny is right! Sadistic sex is the worst! But I would have expected EricDSnider to report this film to the Pissing Children's Network 4 stars
5/15/04 Jenny Tullwartz (EricDSnider, please note:) Not all of us find defecation (even occasional vomiting) more gross-out than sadistic sex. 4 stars
5/15/04 Stephanie Throckmorton Best feelgood escapist comedy in years. Enjoyable from start to finish. 5 stars
4/29/04 luke matt damon cameo was great 5 stars
3/19/04 ROY L. CAIN,JR. Likable characters and some cool songs. "SCOTTY DOESN'T KNOW!" 5 stars
3/16/04 alex you got mail madafaka.. I almost pissed my pants :)This Movie is funnier then Amer. Pie 1,2 4 stars
3/07/04 FrayLo While somewhat predictable, it was still funny and worth seeing. 4 stars
3/03/04 A F Kyle, why did you see it then? Funny, nice to see something less serious! 4 stars
3/01/04 chris Quite funny - laughed soooo hard 4 stars
2/29/04 actionjackson2099 I thought it was good movie just a step down from Old School and Roadtrip. 4 stars
2/28/04 Kyle Fuck you people. Sucked ass, just like I knew it would. 1 stars
2/26/04 Angolmois Had some chuckles, but not when it was trying to be funny. 2 stars
2/25/04 susan lee totally sucked 1 stars
2/25/04 Star Piss your pants funny!!! 5 stars
2/25/04 Bullshit Detector Surprisingly unfunny , predictable, and lame movie. How'd it get made? 1 stars
2/24/04 josh garbe An amazing movie! My favorite! 5 stars
2/23/04 Greg R. Very good. New stars acquit themselves very well, especially the actor playing Cooper. 4 stars
2/23/04 Igor If you don't take everything so seriously you will laugh your ass off. 5 stars
2/22/04 Paul It was funny as hell 5 stars
2/22/04 Julie Wenders the movie never takes off, only to be held back by all its cheap juvenile antics. 2 stars
2/22/04 Clay Rains Pretty typical and predictable. 2 stars
2/22/04 jdogg Watch Dawn from Buffy mumble through her nose for 90 minutes? Wish I'd said no, thanks. 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Funny 4 stars
2/21/04 KingNeutron Some parts were just WRONG; but on the whole, funny. Lucy L could have done better. 4 stars
2/21/04 nick oswaldo has it moments (the others arent bad either) 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Feb-2004 (R)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2011

UK
  30-Apr-2004 (15)

Australia
  12-Aug-2004 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast