More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.04

Awesome50%
Worth A Look: 28.85%
Average: 7.69%
Pretty Bad: 1.92%
Total Crap: 11.54%

1 review, 46 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Promare by Jay Seaver

Tokyo Ghoul "S" by Jay Seaver

BrightBurn by Rob Gonsalves

Booksmart by Rob Gonsalves

Dead Don't Die, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fagara by Jay Seaver

Rezo by Jay Seaver

Depraved by Jay Seaver

Linda Ronstadt: The Sound of My Voice by Peter Sobczynski

Goldfinch, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Adventures of Ford Fairlane, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"'Clint Eastwood? I fucked him. OHHHH!'"
4 stars

I was such a fan of this movie I made everyone I know go see it.

And every one of them hated it. Well, distinctly disliked it.

Here's the skinny on why this film rules all hell.

1) Lauren Holly before she became an action heroine/Mrs Carrey. In a word "rrrrrOWrr!"

2) Andrew Dice Clay before he coked himself to hell, started looking like your chunky uncle Carmine and forgot how to be funny.

3) Gratuitous sexist humor. Look, I can be the nice charming guy, but amongst the privacy of my own VCR I like to chuckle at the stronger sex's expense. Sue me.

4) A koala muppet.

Okay, the koala muppet was the suckiest part of the movie, but the other three are damn fine reasons.

The deal is this. Andrew Dice Clay is Ford Fairlane - Rock'n'roll Detective. Lauren Holly is his underpaid, overharassed office assistant. Ford's boyhood chum (played funnily and digustingly by Gilbert Godfried) is murdered so Ford's on the case. His only link to his buddy's past is a freaked out chick called ZsuZsu Petals. Who was the killer? What does this have to do with rock'n'roll? How is Wayne Newton involved?

It's not a tit flick, but it is a cleavage flick. Not Porky's, but looking in the same direction.

But mostly it's Dice at his best. He truly was a funny comedian back in the early 80's, but the icky death of his buddy Sam Kinnison and a general trend away from Dice's chauvinistic brand of humor seemed to take the wind out of his sails. Now he pops up in cheesy UPN sitcoms and is mercilessly slammed on Howard Stern's radio show to the point of complete embarassment.

Despite the sadness Ford Fairlane now brings to me and despite it's low-brow humor, it is one hell of a funny movie. A guilty pleasure that you'll tell everyone you hate, but in reality you'll watch again.

Find it, rent it, keep it to yourself and laugh your ass off.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=885&reviewer=1
originally posted: 10/16/98 00:17:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/29/15 Paco Greatest Dice film ever made 5 stars
8/15/14 PAUL SHORTT VULGAR AND CLUMSY 1 stars
8/25/13 dr.lao Artifact form the month Hollywood execs thought that Clay actually had talent 1 stars
2/05/13 matthew thompson dalldorf Pretty decent for a Dice movie 3 stars
6/28/10 Josie Cotton is a goddess Semi-funny detective spoof. 3 stars
1/24/10 art WAYNE NEWTON is a HAMMY VILLIAN! is the,only highlight. 3 stars
3/10/09 Dane Youssef The Beautiful Swan Song Of The '80's. And it's only NOW appriciated on that level. Retro! 4 stars
4/02/07 brent gerald mejia sr. totally overlooked by the ACADEMY& GOLDEN GLOBES 1 stars
11/26/06 Zach ANY movie that kills off Wayne Newton deserves its time in the sun. 4 stars
9/02/06 Geoff If you don't get the irony, just take a look at his shoes in the opening scene. 5 stars
8/25/05 tatum A stunningly bad clunker 1 stars
7/04/05 Jeff Anderson Oh, and the smoking hot & talented Kari Wuhrer ROCKS in this awesome film!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/31/05 JF A very funny film. Will offend both the PC and those who can't abide swearing. 5 stars
4/14/05 Boomby Simply the greatest movie ever made. 5 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson THE GREATEST ANDREW DICE CLAY FILM EVER MADE AND DIRECTOR RENNY HARLIN'S GREAT ONE TO DATE. 5 stars
10/21/03 Dean Rapp Great, not a "chick movie" in the slightest 5 stars
9/26/03 Sugarfoot Hilarious, but strangely maligned. 4 stars
9/08/03 Ahe unfuckinbeliveable 5 stars
6/22/03 cochese hicokry dickory dock. this movie dont suck cock. 4 stars
2/19/03 Bogart Yup. It's low, it's dirty, and so f...in' cool! 4 stars
2/08/03 Mat here's to you suckin my dick 4 stars
3/13/02 Bola Absolutely the best comedy ever made ! Andrew Dice Clay rules. 5 stars
9/20/01 Butterbean AHHHHH!!! AHHHHH!!!! My hair!! 5 stars
9/13/01 Antonio Requejo The whole film is a memorable quote 5 stars
8/30/01 Chevy Nova Robin Leach....I fucked 'em! OOHHH!! 5 stars
8/06/01 Tuomas K. Have a twinky snapperhead! 5 stars
8/05/01 Hud its Booty Time! 5 stars
6/23/01 Hiawata Unfucking beliveble 5 stars
5/07/01 Mikko Salminen Not a piece of art, but a very good comedy. 4 stars
4/28/01 Jbert This movie IS the goods! Fuckin critics... 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Too bad Dice became so controversial..This is great of its genre! 5 stars
3/20/01 da_Spudda Crazy Good Movie 5 stars
3/19/01 masterhit top 5 stars
3/01/01 nicce Unfuckinbelieveble 5 stars
12/20/00 Hans Goossens best comedy ever: it 'll teach them not to take everything so serious 5 stars
11/25/00 Marcus West Thoroughly politically incorrect you snapperheads!!! lol 5 stars
10/30/00 Jere Great movie! 5 stars
10/19/00 redneck_swede Dice is the man... 5 stars
12/21/99 RAD Classic. Non stop laughs. Dice rules. 5 stars
9/06/99 Clint Eastwood...OH! Whats the defination of Vagina? 5 stars
9/05/99 Weird Andy better than I expected. 4 stars
6/14/99 Lashan Lynn This is proboly Clay's best work. "Don't...talk to me." I liked it. 3 stars
3/18/99 Madcap "I Ain't Got You" was cute...so was Jaz...beyond that...tripe 2 stars
9/28/98 Johny I can appreciate angry, running at the mouth humor, but this just wasn't funny 1 stars
9/15/98 Bruce Willis Aside from Ed O'Niels funny moment, this movie is horrible. "This movie- I fucked it, ohhh! 1 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee Andrew Dice Clay in his hey-day. It's all gone so downhill from here. Fun movie. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jul-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1991 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast