More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.27

Awesome53.21%
Worth A Look: 30.77%
Average: 9.62%
Pretty Bad: 2.56%
Total Crap: 3.85%

7 reviews, 114 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Little Joe (2019) by Jay Seaver

Knives and Skin by Jay Seaver

Rabid (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Irishman, The by Rob Gonsalves

Recorder: The Marion Stokes Project by Rob Gonsalves

Kitchen, The (2019) by Rob Gonsalves

Whistleblower, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

Aeronauts, The by Jay Seaver

Jessica Forever by Jay Seaver

Charlie's Angels (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shrek 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Josh Gryniewicz

"Same old jokes…still damn funny"
4 stars

"Shrek" was a satirical parody that gave a kick in the ass to the Disney – ification of fairyland with a self-effacing spin on the world of Mother Goose and Brother’s Grimm while still delivering a parable worthy of Hans Christian Anderson. With the hype that had been built around the sequel it could be assumed "Shrek 2" was more about perpetuating a franchise with its feature character being reduced to a mean green marketing machine for jumbo cola and cheap plastic toy tie-ins and its story a rehash of old jokes.

This assumption, of course, is accurate, but the formula is done well enough not to matter.

"One’s" innovative formula followed foul-mannered, antisocial Ogre, Shrek (given characterization by Mike Myers hammed up Scottish accent) challenging the archetypally villainous motif of the mythic monster to become an unlikely hero by revealing a capacity for friendship, courage and love that was genuinely heartfelt. Paired with the excessively obnoxious, yet, charmingly hilarious talking Donkey (the best role Eddie Murphy has had in years) the two embarked in an all-too-cliché-rescue-the-fairy-princess-from-the-tallest-tower adventure. Inevitably resulting in a love-conquers-adversity-accept-yourself-for-who-you-are conclusion.

Here the late-coming Prince Charming (Rupert Everett) recounts these events in storybook fashion with a narration that sets "Two" in motion. The fresh from a shampoo commercial golden-haired Charming follows the first film’s path only to discover Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) is already on her honeymoon. As whiny as he is arrogant, the mommy’s boy knight complains to Fairy Godmother (Jennifer Saunders) whose made a bargain with the King (John Cleese) that her son’s marriage to Fiona is a sure bet. Godmother has enough dirt on his highness to make him honor the arrangement even after Fiona’s already been wed, forcing the King to make some shady moves enlisting the Zorro imitating and adorably lethal assassin, Puss-in-Boots (fittingly vocalized by Antonio Banderas) to kill Shrek.

My first whiff of "Shrek 2" buzz had tainted my perception; reading of the savvy marketing deal the franchise had struck with retail juggernaut Wal-Mart (including Shrek doing their brainwashing cheer) had disheartened me -- he had sold-out; co-opting the Ogre Rights movement and setting it back for years. Actually, after viewing "One" my first thought had been "please don’t ruin it with a sequel" believing there was no way they could match the flair of the first, but while it looses some of its edge, the result is far more entertaining then anticipated.

An amusing event occurred while watching the film that illustrates how the formula manages to pull off the punch line repetition effect. The row immediately in front of me was packed with 8 year olds, who, in the moments before Shrek chastises Donkey for not entertaining himself (a clip exhaustively played in promotion of the film) began taking turns emulating the character’s annoying lip smacks. When Shrek gave his cue, the row fell silent, only to burst into a fit of laughter as soon as Donkey delivers. Even when the jokes are well worn they can still have the desired impact (especially when, like me, you have a mentality of an 8-year-old).

By broadening the pop-cultural pool of material it parodies – everything from "Beauty & the Beast" to "Cops" with dips into "Spiderman" and "LOTR" the formula strikes a note of freshness. Add to the mix Tom Waits belting out "Little Drop of Poison" as Capt. Hook; Donkey referencing "Sanford & Son"; Larry King as the Ugly Stepsister and the blend captures a new level of cleverness.

Even with all its prepackaged aspects, both the commercialized and plot theme varieties, the sequel captures the touching flavor as the first and remains funny in doing so.

link directly to this review at https://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=9591&reviewer=362
originally posted: 06/06/04 08:13:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/15/14 Mario is the Best My favourite Shrek movie. 5 stars
10/24/13 Bernie My favorite of the series. 4 stars
3/16/12 Sean It was even better then the first installment and it was the last good Shrek movie. 5 stars
11/23/09 Jeff Wilder Not as novel as Shrek. But almost as funny. 4 stars
10/22/09 PAUL SHORTT LIVELY SEQUEL WITH GREAT AMUSEMENT, SPECTACULAR VISUALS AND A WHOLESOME STORY 4 stars
8/22/09 Zach Classic. Just as good as the first one. 5 stars
12/01/08 Roz The 1stwas gr8 cos it parodied fairy tales. This one parodied pop-cultire references. OLD! 2 stars
10/02/08 Shaun Wallner Funny Movie! 5 stars
10/21/07 mb Lame is a good word for this ... even cheap 2 stars
9/08/07 JamesCole Keep drinking that Kool-Aid, folks. 1 stars
5/09/07 Dark Enchantress great movie! 5 stars
4/28/07 Ryan Emmett This movie, I thought, was better than the first one by a long shot. But good review. 5 stars
4/23/07 David Risser A Classic. Very entertaining/funny. Good Adventure 5 stars
3/20/07 dude better than the original 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega A fairy tale that's worth telling. 5 stars
1/13/07 saad muhammud tired of this fucking movie is so fucking lame 1 stars
8/20/06 Bilal perfect 5 stars
7/13/06 David Cohen Nowhere near as good as the first, but not bad 3 stars
5/22/06 Diane P very good and enjoyable for both adults and children 5 stars
5/14/06 kacy schwieder it was good 3 stars
4/22/06 Jack Number 1 rocks. This one dosen't 3 stars
4/02/06 JRE funniest PG movie ever made 5 stars
3/16/06 casey corcoran it was good 3 stars
3/16/06 casey corcoran it was good 3 stars
1/06/06 JM Synth For the 3rd highest grossing film in US history, not that different from Disney DTV sequels 3 stars
12/28/05 tony not as good as the first one.but still has its classic funny moments 4 stars
10/19/05 Valerie Awesome movie. hilarious. 5 stars
8/15/05 Frenzy still a great movie 5 stars
8/14/05 Renee is Gabby Not as solid as the original, lacks steady interest despite some cool moments 3 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy I'm sure there's a story buried under this top heavy voice talent. Less is more etc. 3 stars
6/03/05 monique i thought it was great-!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/25/05 Quigley the pop culture references are awesome (Starbucks) and Puss rocks. I was in tears laughing 5 stars
4/10/05 Ionicera it tries to hard to be hip, but I liked the characters 4 stars
3/31/05 DM Funny and well-cast, but lacks the original's heart and freshness. 4 stars
3/16/05 Amy Lynch Even better than the first, and not only for children, good adult humor 5 stars
2/26/05 Brandy Great movie! Just as funny every time I see it. 5 stars
2/14/05 Jeanine Price Wonderful! 5 stars
1/18/05 wendy we have watched it about 6 times 5 stars
1/11/05 Stacey Peachfuzz Derivative and totally unoriginal. I don't understand the hype at all. 1 stars
12/07/04 Jim Pretty funny. Give Puss his own movie! 4 stars
12/07/04 Samantha diaz that i think that it was a very funny moive that i enjoyed it. It is a good family movie. 5 stars
12/05/04 Kristina Williams the Cops spoof killed me 5 stars
11/24/04 Rich Funny 5 stars
11/22/04 ad really really funny 5 stars
11/20/04 jess smith it was really funny 5 stars
11/06/04 TCIC Another crap sequel if you look beyond the jokes, the first was better but its still good 3 stars
11/03/04 stacey bradshaw wicked 5 stars
11/02/04 marissa matthews shrek 2 is bout being urself and not trying 2 be some1 ur not if ur not comfortable with it 5 stars
10/05/04 Gareth Spencer first was better 3 stars
9/04/04 Valerie Even better than the first! Very entertaining and cute. 4 stars
8/31/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne A tad better'n 1st, but I'd be little the worse if I'd regarded both with Shrekless abandon 3 stars
8/22/04 Daveman Disappointingly inferior to the original but some of the humour here is ingenious. 4 stars
8/11/04 howdinski as usual dreamworks team come up trumps this is great 5 stars
8/10/04 kelkly paratene i thought the movie was a must see it was really really funny i couldnt stop laughing 5 stars
8/02/04 Movieguy The first one was way better 3 stars
7/27/04 lespacified Was definitely worth seeing, but I much preferred the first one! 4 stars
7/22/04 Whitney Bullard Suprisingly, almost as good as the original. 4 stars
7/18/04 Nobody the kind of movie where you walk out and want to walk right back in and see it again 5 stars
7/17/04 legend My third favorite film this year! A must see for Puss N' Boots. 5 stars
7/17/04 Chlo-mo-bo Omg - Puss In Boots - the whole cinema went 'awwwww' when he looked up with those big eyes! 5 stars
7/15/04 Koitus I went to see it with my g-friend (her 2nd time). I agree -- A. Banderas STOLE the film! 5 stars
7/10/04 jodie Antonio Banderas really made Puss in Boots THE BEST -It rocked especially for a sequal! 5 stars
7/09/04 Littlepurch Wow what a great film! SO much better than overrated original.Saunders steals show by mile! 5 stars
7/08/04 jenny it was funny i liked it but i think white chicks was better 4 stars
7/08/04 Denise Duspiva The Cat was cute 5 stars
7/08/04 Karo,ina Trzmiel 5 stars
7/05/04 Sérgio Almeida Olá Shrek!!! 5 stars
7/02/04 Rachia LOVED it. Thought it wasn't gonna be good, as most sequels ARENT, but it rocked! 5 stars
6/28/04 KENT Better than the first; the hairball scene is worth the price of admission! 4 stars
6/26/04 Arse Poet Alright if you're six. 2 stars
6/23/04 Ray Outstanding 5 stars
6/20/04 M Over-rated and messy. looks good though. 3 stars
6/17/04 Jewelies Great Movie and Soundtrack! DVD Buy Definitely! 5 stars
6/14/04 Rowan Hill Exelent would see over and over again very original 5 stars
6/12/04 Melina puss n' boots "cat nip" & "sad eyes" was the best! 5 stars
6/12/04 Raymond Lee Great movie 5 stars
6/10/04 Mark D. Fulwiler Laugh out loud funny, a bit demented and good hearted 5 stars
6/08/04 Ron Miller Better then the first! 5 stars
6/06/04 SF Absolutely fabulous. All the characters were perfect. Puss hillarious! 5 stars
6/06/04 John Aster Habig forget puss in boots donkey is still the funniest and shrek the most endearing 5 stars
6/05/04 The More You Know cutesy at times, mostly hilarious satire. 4 stars
6/05/04 TJ Great, this was way better then the first. Really funny 5 stars
6/04/04 katsat I don't get it - this movie was a little boring - I was expecting so much more 3 stars
6/03/04 Elizabeth Great voice work by the cast and charming. Love that Puss in Boots! 4 stars
6/03/04 paganchyk Just try to find all the pop culture references! Antonio Banderas is the best part. 5 stars
6/02/04 :) Very Funny, a lot better than I expected 5 stars
6/01/04 y2mckay More of the same, but cute. Has the best "Cops" parody since Reno 911 4 stars
6/01/04 Charlene Javier The soup joke is a killer! 5 stars
6/01/04 whatevr best sequel ever 5 stars
6/01/04 jada more adult humour, funny!! 5 stars
5/31/04 Emperor's New Clothes? Nope. Just a Fat, Ugly, Naked, Guy. Not as endearing as the first but as endearing as those darling eyes of Puss in Boots <3 4 stars
5/30/04 winfield wilson I went with my two sons (13 and 17). A great bonding experience. Hilarious. 5 stars
5/27/04 Will i didn't like the pop music in the first or the second one, but that's minor. 5 stars
5/26/04 Larissa Ione Not as good as the first, but still great! 5 stars
5/25/04 dillweed Craptacular 1 stars
5/24/04 Mike Excellent! As entertaining and yet different as the first 5 stars
5/24/04 mfa willie aames almost as good as the first, not quite, go for a matinee 4 stars
5/24/04 E-Rock Antonio Banderas steals the show, but it's all good! A must see for anyone... 5 stars
5/24/04 Movie Expert The first one was great this one is very lame and poorly written. 2 stars
5/24/04 Lord Jiggy Very funnny, but overused songs as emotional bridges. Puss in Boots kills. 4 stars
5/24/04 malcolm i loved the pepper spray & "white bronco" reference 4 stars
5/24/04 Messenger Puppet uninspired, derivative tripe 1 stars
5/23/04 Mazz Why aren't you in line for it right now? Huh? 5 stars
5/22/04 BrianWilly It's that awesome. Seriously. Go see it now. 5 stars
5/21/04 ajay lots of laughs and a TON of movie references... 4 stars
5/21/04 Titus This was easily as good as the first. I'm still laughing. 5 stars
5/21/04 Nick Comes up a little short compared to the original, which says alot given the genius of Shrek 4 stars
5/21/04 Kerry V. Where were the laughs we had in the first one? This one was a waste of time! 1 stars
5/20/04 Ajax Not as fresh as the first one, but still huge fun. 4 stars
5/20/04 Wolf 2.5 *'s. Has some good laughs, but you can TOTALLY tell they only did this for the money. 3 stars
5/20/04 Jeff S Puss in Boots made this movie. Funniest animated character ever. 4 stars
5/20/04 Blakers a great film 5 stars
5/20/04 Superdave better than the first 5 stars
5/20/04 Christina Pray for mercy from Puss-In-Boots!!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-May-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 05-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  17-Jun-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast